ARCHIVED - Session 3 - Building and Maintaining a Safety Culture - Mark Fleming, Professor - St. Mary’s University

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Safety Forum - June 5-6, 2013

Mark Fleming, Professor
St. Mary’s University

Mark - can you give us some examples of safety culture measures?

There are a wide range of safety culture measures available. The following are reviews of safety culture assessment tools:

Most of the published tools focus on perception questionnaires, yet it is widely recognized that questionnaires provide a limited view of the culture and in fact the results can be misleading. There are a number of safety culture self-assessment guidance documents under development at the moment (e.g. the IAEA is about to publish a document). The following is a link to a previous IAEA guidance document although this is a bit old.

Should the level of compliance be increased so that 'best practices' are the norm in the industry as opposed to something that 'leader organizations' do?

I am not really in a position to comment, but I am not in favour of a compliance based approach to regulation and that by adopting goal orientated regulation based on Safety Management Systems all organizations can be expected to adopt best practices.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Séance 3 - Création et maintien d’une culture de sécurité - Mark Fleming, professeur - Université Saint Mary’s

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Forum sur la sécurité - 5-6 juin 2013

Mark Fleming, professeur,
Université Saint Mary’s

Mark, pourriez-vous nous donner des exemples de mesures relevant d’une culture de la sécurité?

Il y a une grande diversité de mesures disponibles dans ce domaine. Je mentionnerai des relevés des outils d’évaluation qui existent dans ce domaine :

La plupart des outils diffusés consistent en questionnaires sur les perceptions, bien qu’on reconnaisse largement que les questionnaires n’offrent qu’une vue limitée d’une culture et que leurs résultats peuvent induire en erreur. Un certain nombre de guides d’auto-évaluation de la culture de la sécurité sont en chantier à l’heure actuelle (l’AIEA est sur le point d’en publier un, par exemple). Voici un lien vers un guide antérieur de l’AIEA, mais un peu vieillot :

Devrait-on hausser le niveau de conformité de sorte que les « pratiques exemplaires » deviennent la norme de l’industrie au lieu d’appartenir aux seuls « organismes de tête »?

Je ne suis pas vraiment en mesure de commenter. Je ne suis pas favorable à une approche « conformité » en matière de réglementation. Je ne pense pas qu’en adoptant une réglementation axée sur des objectifs en fonction de systèmes de gestion de la sécurité, on puisse s’attendre à ce que toutes les organisations optent pour des pratiques exemplaires.

Date de modification :