ARCHIVED - Session 2 - The Role of Leadership - Russ Girling, CEO - TransCanada PipeLines

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Safety Forum - June 5-6, 2013

Russ Girling, CEO
TransCanada PipeLines

Do you measure safety culture? If you do, high level, how do you do it?

TransCanada has used surveys developed by behavioral safety specialists a number of times in the past to gauge the response of senior managers, first level supervisors and front line employees to a broad range of questions relating to key elements of corporate safety culture. The results of these surveys are shared with employees and provide the basis for identifying and implementing improvements to programs that can influence a positive safety culture within the organization. There are a number of internal metrics TransCanada has also used to gauge the degree to which employees are fully “engaged” in positive safety culture behaviors, these include near hit reporting, participation in 24/7 safety programs aimed at taking safety principles into the home place, and participation in voluntary safety related assignments such as employee based safety committees and training.

Are there any specific collaborative initiatives (knowledge sharing, R&D, etc.) across companies or across industries?

TransCanada safety culture survey results are compared to the consulting company’s database of previous surveys and can provide a means for determining areas for improvement relative to the best practice performance of the other participants. Workshops to review results and share best practices are usually facilitated depending on interest. When it comes to the broader topic of advancing operator’s knowledge of pipeline safety there are numerous collaborative efforts going on within the industry to increase the collective knowledge and state of the art within the industry. Joint research projects through organizations like NRCAN and PRCI are very common. Conference and information forums sponsored by industry organizations such as CEPA, the Canadian Gas Association, the Interstate Natural Gas Association of America, the Southern Gas Association, the American Gas Association and the American Petroleum Institute (to name only a few) are focused on sharing learnings from incidents and results of best practices focused on improving the quality and safety of the continent’s oil and gas pipeline infrastructure. Standards development organizations like the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), NACE International, the American Society of Safety Engineers, and the Canadian Standards Association (CSA) are dedicated to the development of high quality safety standards for use across our industry as well.

Is a zero risk or zero incidents something that is communicated to the public?  It sounds like a dangerous precedent

The industry is working toward a goal of zero incidents that have an effect on personnel and public safety or the environment. This commitment has been shared extensively within a number of industry and public forums and one that we are committed to and proud to be pursuing. It is based on the knowledge that we do not have all of the tools and solutions today to prevent every pipeline incident from occurring, but that we are committed to developing and deploying the necessary technologies and methods that will lead to continuous improvements in the integrity of our pipeline infrastructure and eventually, over time, the elimination of serious incidents that can have tragic consequences. The majority of society recognizes and supports the path that we are on, and while there should be no tolerance for high consequence events that result in widespread damage or losses, the public expects that in the rare event that a pipeline incident may occur that responsible operators and emergency responders have been well prepared to respond quickly and effectively and can do so to minimize the consequences of the incident to the maximum extent possible.

To Russ: Industry working together - If a safety practice is best practice and seen as a competitive advantage, how do you share?

When it comes to safety, our objective is not only to ensure TransCanada is at the leading edge, it is also to ensure the industry is using best practice. We take a leadership role in our industry associations and we invest with vendors in the development of new technology. An incident in our industry impacts every company and we want to make sure everyone is operating with best practices. That said, in a competitive environment, customers have choice and I believe in a world of focus on safety, customers will align themselves with those companies which employ high standards, are industry leaders and have a history of strong safety performance.

The objective is to achieve 0 incidents. Is there a desired timeline on this?  If not, should there be so that this is a very tangible goal?

In addition see response to Question 3. The challenge is developing meaningful leading and lagging indicators that clearly indicate that the industry is progressing, year over year, in the direction of that goal. Industry is working closely with the NEB on the development of these performance measures, the production of which will result in a more tangible way of demonstrating our collective progress.

Re: next question, the goal is 0. The objective should be getting as close to 0 as possible so annual targets and measures are needed to be tangible.

See response to Question 3 and Question 7.

Does the goal of zero meet the requirements of goal setting science i.e. realistic and achievable?

See responses to Question 3 and Question . What will be realistic and achievable will be the interim goals and objectives we set on the leading indicators and action programs that will serve as the milestones for our journey to zero.

All of you are from finance backgrounds-that doesn't sound like a background for an operations, safety focus. How did you get to safety first?

One of the primary functions of a CEO is to develop a balanced executive management team that possesses all of the required expertise to effectively prioritize and appropriately manage ALL of the responsibilities, requirements and complexities of their respective businesses. Another important function of the CEO is to ensure that a culture exists within the organization where every employee feels comfortable and obligated to raise their hand and identify issues that require the focus and attention of senior management. As it relates to safety being first among those priorities it comes from a fundamental belief that financial losses can always be compensated for but the loss of a single life as a result of our business activities can never be recovered. Beyond that principle any other supporting rationale seems trite; however, there is a compelling correlation between a company’s safety performance and its financial performance. It does not come as an entire surprise that the same type of initiative, leadership, and sound processes and programs that are required to maintain a tight ship from an occupational and operational safety perspective might also be the same type of attributes that can contribute to responsible and repeatedly strong financial management and performance. And finally, distantly beyond the tragic consequences of an accident and the irreparable damages and loss that can occur as a result of a serious incident, is the cost of reparations and compensation which can be financially crippling to an organization, the collapse of the organizations reputation and in some cases the forfeiture of its social and literal license to operate. Based on the foregoing, no matter what one’s educational background, it is easy to get to safety first.

While zero is well intentioned is it eroding trust and belief at the worker level?  Is it driving wrong types of behaviors in the company?

It is critical that frontline workers (and their leaders) have a clear understanding of what the rationale and basis for the goal is and what programs and what commitments underpin the approach to achieving it. It is equally important to ensure that the right behaviors and the right “leading” measures are used to reinforce and recognize the contributions of frontline staff in achieving progress towards these goals. If focus is solely on a lagging indicator and it is an absolute (such as zero) that is perceived by frontline workers to be unachievable and for which they will be solely held accountable then it is unlikely to be an effective motivator and could, in fact, to the point being raised, result in the wrong behaviors.

How do you know you have a positive safety culture?

See Question 1.

Who can provide a credible scientific voice on the industry practices and help influence public perceptions?

According to communications research there is no one voice that 100 per cent of the public will trust explicitly for information on a given subject, nor should there probably be. Influencing public perceptions on industry practices is everyone’s responsibility. The regulator has an enormous responsibility to create and communicate effective regulations to govern industry practice and enforce them in a fair and credible way that is transparent to the public. Industry, in spite of the perception by some of a bias, must continue to openly share information with the public regarding their practices and be responsive to requests of them for information. They are, after all is said and done, the de facto experts in the disciplines relating to the safety of their own infrastructure. The scientific community and our educational institutions have an obligation to conduct unbiased studies and research on industry practice and communicate this to the public in a clear and effective way as well. The media also holds a responsibility for ensuring that their reporting is balanced, fact based and well researched. And finally the public themselves have an obligation to familiarize themselves with the facts and review all of the information that is available on matters that are pertinent to them and formulate their own opinions based on due diligence and science as opposed to speculation and conjecture.

How do you manage the indicators that may conflict with safety performance such as cost reduction?

TransCanada uses a balanced scorecard for assessing its overall performance. This assures that all aspects of the business are given appropriate consideration when determining the ultimate success of the organization. In the case of safety, however, decisions are based on certain thresholds that must be met or maintained and if they are not, they effectively “trump” any of the other criteria that are being used to make a certain decision. This provides an extra degree of assurance that initiatives such as cost reduction will not inadvertently compromise values such as safety.

Where does PAS-55 or ISO-55000 fit into the CEO's perspective of the future - management systems, including safety and ability to audit?

These are industry standards that can be adopted by an organization that can provide a useful framework and governance model for controlling an organization’s management system. There are a number of management system standards available that can provide equivalent benefits and many companies have developed their own proprietary management systems that share many of the same elements as these standards. The On Shore Pipeline Regulations now require pipeline operators in Canada to have a management system that meets certain minimum elements, many of them common to the PAS55 or ISO-55000 standards. What is more important than the standard that is used for the management system is the fact that organizations operating complex energy infrastructure have robust management systems that embody the concepts that are universal to all of the quality standards that are currently in place today, AND that there is a culture of safety within those organizations that ensures that the systems are properly implemented and sustainable

Do you believe the integration of corporate communications into safety practices would benefit a company (internal/external communication)?

Yes, TransCanada has often engaged its corporate communications teams in assisting with the delivery of internal and external safety related messages and information.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Séance 2 - Rôle du leadership - Russ Girling, chef de la direction - TransCanada PipeLines

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Forum sur la sécurité - 5-6 juin 2013

Russ Girling, chef de la direction
TransCanada PipeLines

Mesurez-vous la culture de la sécurité? Si la chose existe et à un haut niveau, comment vous y prenez-vous?

TransCanada a utilisé plusieurs fois par le passé des questionnaires mis au point par des spécialistes des comportements en matière de sécurité afin de jauger les réactions des cadres de direction, des superviseurs et du personnel de première ligne à une grande diversité de questions concernant les principaux aspects de la culture de sécurité d’une entreprise. Les résultats de ces sondages, qui sont communiqués aux employés, servent de base à la conception et à la réalisation des améliorations à apporter aux programmes au profit de cette culture dans l’organisation. TransCanada recourt également à un certain nombre de mesures internes pour juger du degré d’adoption de comportements positifs relevant de la culture de la sécurité au sein du personnel, qu’il s’agisse de déclarer les accidents évités de justesse, de participer à des programmes permanents d’intégration des principes sécuritaires au milieu familial ou d’accomplir des tâches dans ce domaine à titre volontaire (formation, travaux de comités du personnel en matière de sécurité, etc.).

Existe-t-il des initiatives précises de collaboration (transmission des connaissances, recherche-développement, etc.) entre entreprises ou entre industries?

Comparés aux données des sondages antérieurs dont dispose l’entreprise-conseil, les résultats de sondage de TransCanada donnent la possibilité de juger des aspects à améliorer par rapport aux pratiques exemplaires des autres participants. Selon l’intérêt manifesté, TransCanada anime habituellement des ateliers d’examen des résultats et facilite la mise en commun des pratiques exemplaires. S’il s’agit plus généralement de l’avancement des connaissances des exploitants sur la sécurité des pipelines, il faut dire que beaucoup d’efforts se font en collaboration dans l’industrie en vue d’enrichir et d’actualiser le savoir collectif. Il est très fréquent que des projets communs de recherche soient réalisés avec des organismes comme RNCan et PRCI. Dans des conférences et des forums d’information parrainés par des organismes sectoriels comme l’ACPE, l’Association canadienne du gaz, l’Interstate Natural Gas Association of America, la Southern Gas Association, l’American Gas Association et l’American Petroleum Institute (pour ne nommer que ces organismes), on s’emploie à propager les enseignements tirés des incidents et les résultats obtenus par les pratiques exemplaires, le but étant d’améliorer la qualité et la sécurité de l’infrastructure d’oléoducs et de gazoducs du continent. Des organismes de normalisation comme l’American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), NACE International, l’American Society of Safety Engineers et l’Association canadienne de normalisation (CSA) se vouent à la conception de rigoureuses normes de qualité de la sécurité à l’intention de toute l’industrie.

Une situation d’absence totale de risques ou d’incidents est-elle une chose communiquée au public? Certains y verraient un précédent dangereux.

L’industrie vise à abolir les incidents ayant des effets sur la sécurité du personnel et de la population ou sur l’environnement. Elle a largement fait connaître cet engagement à un certain nombre de tribunes sectorielles et publiques. Elle tient à cet engagement et est fière de l’avoir adopté. Le principe est que nous ne disposons pas d’ores et déjà de toutes les ressources et solutions pour prévenir chaque incident de pipeline, mais que nous entendons concevoir et mobiliser les techniques et les méthodes devant permettre de constamment accroître l’intégrité de l’infrastructure et, avec le temps, d’abolir les accidents graves aux conséquences tragiques. La majeure partie de la société reconnaît et appuie la mission que nous nous sommes donnée. Bien qu’on doive être sans tolérance aucune à l’égard d’événements lourds de conséquences en dommages et pertes, le public s’attend à ce que, si un événement se produit dans un pipeline, l’exploitant responsable et les intervenants d’urgence soient prêts à y réagir rapidement et efficacement et puissent agir de manière à atténuer les répercussions au mieux.

À Russ : Sur le plan de la collaboration de l’industrie, comment partager là où une pratique en matière de sécurité est considérée comme exemplaire et comme conférant un avantage concurrentiel?

En matière de sécurité, notre but est non seulement de veiller à ce que TransCanada soit à l’avant-garde, mais aussi de faire en sorte que l’industrie adopte les pratiques exemplaires. Nous jouons un rôle de chef de file dans nos associations sectorielles et nous investissons avec les fournisseurs dans la mise au point de nouvelles technologies. Tout incident qui survient dans notre secteur a des conséquences sur chacune des entreprises et nous voulons être sûrs que toutes adoptent des pratiques exemplaires. Cela dit, il reste que, dans un milieu de concurrence, le client a le choix d’aller où il veut et que, dans un monde où la sécurité compte avant tout, il ira plus volontiers vers les entreprises qui appliquent des normes élevées, jouent un rôle de premier plan dans leur secteur et arborent une solide feuille de route dans le domaine de la sécurité.

L’objectif est toujours la tolérance zéro. Y a-t-il un délai à respecter dans ce domaine? Sinon, devrait-il y en avoir un pour que l’objectif devienne tout à fait concret?

Voir en plus la réponse à la question 3. Le défi est de se doter de bons indicateurs avancés et retardés par lesquels on puisse clairement voir que l’industrie progresse d’année en année vers l’objectif. L’industrie collabore de près avec l’Office national de l’énergie à la production de mesures de rendement qui démontreront plus concrètement à quels progrès collectifs nous parvenons.

Pour en revenir à l’objectif de tolérance zéro à la prochaine question. Ça devrait être de s’approcher le plus possible de la valeur zéro et, par conséquent, les cibles et les mesures devraient être bien concrètes chaque année.

Voir les réponses à la question 3 et à la question 7.

Cette tolérance zéro est-elle conforme à une science de la fixation d’objectifs réalistes et applicables?

Voir les réponses à la question 3 et à la question 7. Ce qui sera réaliste et applicable, ce sont les buts et objectifs provisoires des indicateurs avancés et des programmes d’action servant à baliser notre passage à une situation de « zéro incident ».

Tous vous avez des antécédents dans le domaine des finances, cela ne semble guère préparer à aborder des activités opérationnelles axées sur la sécurité. Comment en êtes-vous venu à vous occuper de sécurité?

Une des principales fonctions d’un chef de la direction est de former une équipe équilibrée de cadres supérieurs possédant toute la compétence nécessaire pour encadrer de priorités efficaces et d’une gestion appropriée l’ensemble des responsabilités, des exigences et des facteurs de complexité de son entreprise. Une autre fonction d’importance est de veiller à ce que règne dans l’organisation une culture où chaque employé se sente à l’aise et se reconnaisse l’obligation de signaler les problèmes devant solliciter l’intérêt et l’attention de la haute direction. En ce qui concerne la sécurité comme priorité, le constat fondamental est que les pertes financières peuvent toujours être compensées, mais que la perte d’une seule vie causée par les activités de l’entreprise est irréparable. À comparer à ce principe, toute autre justification paraît éculée. Il reste que le rendement sécuritaire est hautement en corrélation avec le rendement financier dans une entreprise. On ne s’étonnera pas que l’esprit d’initiative, le leadership et la solidité de processus et de programmes nécessaires à la sécurité professionnelle et opérationnelle constituent tout autant des facteurs de responsabilité et d’efficacité durable en matière de gestion et de rendement financiers. Disons enfin que, au-delà des conséquences tragiques d’un accident avec les dommages et les pertes irréparables qui s’ensuivent, il y a les coûts de réparation et d’indemnisation qui peuvent écloper financièrement une organisation, ruiner sa réputation et, dans certains cas, lui faire perdre toute crédibilité sociale et morale pour la poursuite de ses activités. On peut donc voir que, quel que soit l’horizon de formation d’un chef de la direction, il lui est facile de s’occuper d’abord de sécurité.

La tolérance zéro part d’une bonne intention, mais ne nuit-elle pas à la confiance et aux valeurs au niveau des travailleurs? Ne crée-t-elle pas des comportements erronés dans l’entreprise?

Il est essentiel que les exécutants (et leurs dirigeants) comprennent bien les raisons et les bases de l’adoption de cet objectif, ainsi que les programmes et les engagements qui sous-tendent la façon de le réaliser. Il importe tout autant que l’on veille à ce que les bons comportements et les bonnes mesures « avancées » servent à renforcer et à reconnaître ce qu’apportent les exécutants à la réalisation de ce même objectif. Si on se concentre uniquement sur un indicateur retardé et que l’objectif revêt un caractère absolu (zéro incident, par exemple) et se trouve perçu comme irréalisable par les exécutants qui en seront tenus pour les seuls responsables, il est peu probable qu’il devienne un facteur de motivation efficace, d’où le risque que des comportements erronés soient adoptés en la matière.

Comment savez-vous que la culture de sécurité est positive chez vous?

Voir la question 1.

Qui peut se prononcer scientifiquement et de manière crédible sur les pratiques de l’industrie et aider à influencer les perceptions du public?

D’après les recherches en communication, il n’y a pas d’autorité à laquelle toute la population s’en remette expressément pour se renseigner sur un sujet. Il ne devrait probablement pas y en avoir non plus. Il revient à tous d’agir sur les perceptions populaires des pratiques de l’industrie. L’organisme de réglementation a une énorme responsabilité, celle de créer et de faire connaître des règlements efficaces pour la gouverne de l’industrie et de les appliquer d’une manière équitable et crédible et en toute transparence pour la population. En dépit de la perception d’un parti pris chez certains, l’industrie doit continuer à livrer librement l’information à la population sur ses pratiques et à répondre aux demandes de renseignements émanant du public. Après tout, elle est la spécialiste de fait des disciplines liées à la sécurité de sa propre infrastructure. La communauté scientifique et nos établissements d’enseignement ont l’obligation de mener des études et des recherches impartiales sur les pratiques de l’industrie et de les faire connaître à la population clairement et efficacement. Les médias ont pour responsabilité de leur côté de veiller à ce que leur information soit pondérée, objective et fouillée. Enfin, la population se doit de se familiariser avec l’information disponible sur les questions qui l’intéressent et de former ses propres avis en fonction d’une diligence raisonnable et d’après les données scientifiques par opposition à tout ce qui est supputations et conjectures.

Comment gérez-vous les indicateurs qui peuvent nuire au rendement dans le domaine de la sécurité (compressions de coûts, par exemple)?

TransCanada se sert d’un tableau de bord équilibré pour évaluer son rendement dans l’ensemble. Elle s’assure ainsi que, au moment de juger en définitive du succès de l’organisation, tous les aspects des activités sont dûment pris en considération. S’il s’agit de sécurité, les décisions sont fondées sur certaines valeurs seuils à respecter ou à maintenir. En cas de défaillance, le critère de la sécurité l’emportera sur tout autre critère de décision. C’est une assurance de plus que des initiatives de compression des coûts, par exemple, n’iront pas à l’encontre de valeurs comme celle de la sécurité.

Où la norme PAS-55 ou ISO-55000 s’insère-t-elle dans la perception de l’avenir d’un chef de la direction pour ce qui est des systèmes de gestion, y compris dans les questions de sécurité et de vérifiabilité?

Il existe des normes sectorielles pouvant être adoptées par un organisme et qui fourniront un cadre et un modèle de gouvernance permettant de contrôler son système de gestion. On dénombre dans ce domaine diverses normes aux avantages équivalents. Ajoutons que bien des entreprises se sont dotées de systèmes maison ayant beaucoup d’éléments en commun avec ces normes. Le Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur les pipelines terrestres exige aujourd’hui des exploitants canadiens de pipelines qu’ils disposent d’un système de gestion répondant à certaines exigences minimales, dont beaucoup sont communes aux normes PAS-55 et ISO-55000. Ce qui importe plus encore que la norme applicable au système de gestion est que les organismes exploitant une infrastructure énergétique complexe implantent de solides systèmes de gestion qui incarnent les concepts communs à toutes les normes de qualité en place ET que, dans ces mêmes organisations, une culture de la sécurité fasse que les systèmes soient convenablement mis en application et qu’ils se révèlent durables.

Croyez-vous que l’intégration des communications d’entreprise aux pratiques de sécurité serait avantageuse pour l’organisation (communications internes et externes)?

Oui, TransCanada a souvent incité ses propres équipes des communications internes à aider à la communication des messages et des données de sécurité internes et externes.

Date de modification :