ARCHIVED – Final Report of the National Energy Board Action Plan on Safety and Environmental Protection 2011-2012

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Background

The National Energy Board (NEB or the Board) released its Action Plan on Safety and Environmental Protection 2011-2012 (Action Plan) on 18 July 2011. The Action Plan positioned the NEB to take a leadership role on safety and environmental protection and was intended to improve results in four key areas - worker safety, integrity of installations, damage prevention, and emergency preparedness and response.

The Action Plan was part of our focus on continual improvement in safety and environmental protection outcomes. It was designed to set clear expectations for regulated companies and hold those companies accountable for results that represent the interests of Canadians. It was also intended to provide Canadians themselves, with information on the concrete actions the NEB is taking to improve the safety of energy infrastructure and the regulatory framework on which we all rely.

Action Plan Results

This is the NEB’s final report on the Action Plan; all actions committed to by the Board are complete. Detailed project information is available from the Action Plan main webpage by clicking on individual actions. Links to key documents are provided in this final report for ease of reference. For additional information, this final report also outlines further work completed beyond the Action Plan commitments in the three focus areas.

1. Clarifying Expectations

  1. 1.1 Finalize a Proposed Regulatory Change (PRC) for management system requirements to the Onshore Pipeline Regulations, 1999 (OPR) by 30 September 2011.

    Status: complete

    PRC 2011-01 was issued on 29 July 2011. This PRC clarifies the Board’s requirement that regulated companies follow a management system approach to meet their obligations under the National Energy Board Act and the OPR.

    Further work: the Board has now amended the OPR to include the PRC. Please visit the NEB’s website under Acts and Regulations to find the amended regulations.
  2. 1.2 Provide clear guidance on compliance and enforcement for damage prevention by 31 December 2011.

    Status: complete

    On 29 February 2012, the Board published a compliance enforcement framework that provides guidance on how the NEB will respond to reports of unauthorized excavation and construction activity near federally regulated pipelines. Further information on the framework and the NEB’s overall approach to damage prevention is available on our website under Damage Prevention.

    Further work: on 3 July 2013, the Board published Administrative Monetary Penalties Regulations (National Energy Board) which makes non-compliance with the Pipeline Crossing Regulations, Part I and II a violation that can be subject to a penalty. The Board has incorporated the use of penalties into the compliance and enforcement framework.
  3. 1.3 Identify key issues and develop a plan to achieve regulatory clarity for damage prevention by 29 February 2012.

    Status: complete

    In November 2011, the Board met with various representatives of the damage prevention community, including those who provided comments on the proposed Damage Prevention Regulations (DPR) to discuss key issues to be addressed to reduce risks near pipelines. Feedback collected during the discussion, in addition to concerns heard throughout the process of developing the proposed DPR, assisted the Board in developing a plan to achieve regulatory clarity for its damage prevention framework, which was released on 29 February 2012.

    Further work: the Board released a discussion paper on a proposal for regulatory change on 28 December 2012. Comment letters were published on 2 April 2013. On 4 July 2013, the Board announced that it will proceed with a Notice of Proposed Regulatory Change, which is anticipated to be available for public comment in November 2013.
  4. 1.4 Improve measurement of industry performance for safety and environmental protection by 29 February 2012.

    Status: complete

    The board finalized the pipeline performance measures on 28 March 2012 and directed 30 companies with the longest pipelines to report for the 2012 trial year. The report results were compiled and workshops were held in 2013 with companies to improve the measures and guidance for future reporting.

    Further work: the Board plans to publish 2013 industry average results on performance measures in 2014.

2. Improve accessibility of information

  1. 2.1 Improve accessibility of information on the NEB's programs and the performance of regulated companies with respect to safety and environmental protection by 31 December 2011.

    Status: complete

    On 30 August 2011, the NEB announced that it would begin to post documents related to Board-initiated safety and environmental enforcement actions (except where information is protected by law).

    Further work: as a result of the Board’s Safety Forum, the NEB committed to further improve accessibility of information. See details of this commitment in the Board’s Safety Forum Report on our website.

3. Take leadership on key safety and environmental protection issues

  1. 3.1 Work with other regulators to identify key issues and potential solutions for safety and environmental protection by 30 September 2012.

    Status: complete

    Following the Incident Reduction Workshop and the Arctic Offshore Drilling Review, the NEB identified key safety and environmental protection issues relevant to the performance of regulated companies in the following two areas:

    a) implementing highly integrated and effective management systems
    b) growing a robust and sustainable safety culture

    The NEB engaged with several provincial and international regulators on these two topics in the months leading up to the Safety Forum.  This work culminated with the Regulator’s panel discussion at the NEB’s Safety Forum in June 2013. 

    Further work: there were several areas of interest for further collaboration identified before and during the safety forum. Discussion and collaboration is ongoing, an example being the NEB’s collaboration with Canadian offshore regulators to develop a definition, dimensions and attributes of safety culture for public consultation.
  2. 3.2 Convene a forum on pipeline and facility safety - Spring 2013.

    Status: complete

    The Safety Forum took place on June 5th and 6th, 2013 and the Safety Forum Report was released on 30 September 2013. The Forum attracted 385 participants representing the public, Aboriginal peoples, industry, consultants, academia, government, National Energy Board representatives and youth. Key topics discussed at the Forum included corporate leadership’s role in building and maintaining a safety culture, effectiveness of management systems and performance measurement’s role in risk management. Other areas explored included how industry can work to earn public trust, the role of leadership in safety, public expectations around transparency of information, and the evolving role of the regulator.

    Further work:

    In the Safety Forum Report, the NEB committed to concrete actions it will take in order to move industry, and itself, forward in achieving the goal of zero incidents. This includes:
    • Undertaking public consultation on safety culture in order to develop a clear definition, attributes and indicators;
    • Developing guidance intended to improve the prevention of catastrophic events;
    • Improving how Canadians get the information they want and need;
    • Setting a path for continual improvement through collaboration with other regulators and reporting on safety and enforcement tools the Board has recently implemented such as Administrative Monetary Penalties.

    Next Steps

    The NEB confirmed at the Forum that a goal of zero incidents is not only the right goal but also an achievable goal. With strong, well-implemented management systems and a safety culture that permeates every aspect of the organization, incidents are preventable. An industry-wide effort to achieve a strong safety culture will increase protection of the public, workers and the environment and at the same time help to strengthen public trust in the energy sector and its regulators, a critical component to its continued success.

    The Board remains committed to continual improvement of safety and environmental protection outcomes. For this reason, the Board will develop a new set of commitments incorporating the NEB’s actions resulting from the outcomes of the recent Safety Forum and potentially other actions that will result in continual improvement of safety and environmental protection outcomes.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ – Rapport final sur le plan d’action en matière de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement 2011-2012

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Contexte

C’est le 18 juillet 2011 que l’Office national de l’énergie avait publié son plan d’action en matière de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement 2011-2012 (le plan d’action). Ce plan orientait l’Office vers un rôle de leadership en matière de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement en vue d’une amélioration des résultats dans quatre secteurs clés : la sécurité des travailleurs, l’intégrité des installations, la prévention des dommages ainsi que la protection civile et les interventions d’urgence.

Le plan d’action faisait partie des efforts déployés par l’Office pour une amélioration continue des résultats en matière de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement. Il a été conçu de telle manière à définir des attentes claires pour les sociétés réglementées et tenir celles-ci responsables de résultats qui prennent en compte les intérêts des Canadiens. Il avait aussi comme but de fournir aux Canadiens eux-mêmes de l’information sur les mesures concrètes que l’Office prend afin d’améliorer la sécurité de l’infrastructure énergétique et le cadre réglementaire dont tous dépendent.

Résultats découlant du plan d’action

Voici le rapport final de l’Office sur le plan d’action, car toutes les mesures auxquelles il s’était alors engagé ont maintenant été prises. Il est possible d’obtenir des renseignements détaillés disponibles à la page d’accueil du plan d’action dans le site Web en cliquant sur chacun des projets. Des liens vers les documents clés sont fournis dans ce rapport final afin d’en faciliter la consultation. Pour un complément d’information, le rapport présente en outre ce qui a été accompli au-delà du plan d’action dans les trois secteurs qui suivent.

1. Attentes plus claires

  1. 1.1 Finaliser un projet de modification réglementaire (PMR) applicable aux exigences relatives aux systèmes de gestion pour le Règlement de 1999 sur les pipelines terrestres (RPT) au plus tard le 30 septembre 2011.

    État d’avancement : Terminé

    Le PMR 2011-01 a été rendu public le 29 juillet 2011. Il clarifie les exigences de l’Office concernant les systèmes de gestion dont les sociétés doivent se doter pour respecter les obligations prescrites par la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie et le RPT.

    Étapes subséquentes : L’Office a maintenant modifié le RPT de manière à y inclure le PMR. Prière de consulter son site Web sous Lois et règlements pour trouver le règlement modifié.

  2. 1.2 Imprimer une orientation claire en matière de conformité et d’exécution pour la prévention des dommages au plus tard le 30 décembre 2011.

    État d’avancement : Terminé

    Le 29 février 2012, l’Office a rendu public un cadre de conformité et d’exécution qui décrit la façon dont il réagira aux signalements de travaux d’excavation et de construction non autorisés à proximité de pipelines de ressort fédéral. Son site Web renferme d’autres renseignements sur ce cadre et sur la démarche d’ensemble quant à toute cette question à la page Prévention des dommages.

    Étapes subséquentes : Le 3 juillet 2013, l’Office a publié le Règlement sur les sanctions administratives pécuniaires (Office national de l’énergie) aux termes duquel les cas de non-conformité au Règlement sur le croisement de pipe-lines, partie I et au Règlement sur le croisement de pipe-lines, partie II constituent des infractions susceptibles d’être sanctionnées. L’Office a intégré la possibilité de sanctions au cadre de conformité et d’exécution.

  3. 1.3 Cerner les enjeux clés et élaborer un plan visant la clarté de la réglementation en matière de prévention des dommages au plus tard le 29 février 2012.

    État d’avancement : Terminé

    En novembre 2011, l’Office a rencontré divers représentants du milieu de la prévention des dommages, y compris des personnes qui ont fourni des commentaires sur le projet de Règlement sur la prévention des dommages (RPD), pour discuter des enjeux clés à aborder afin de diminuer les risques à proximité des pipelines. La rétroaction obtenue pendant la discussion, ajoutée aux préoccupations exprimées tout au long du processus d’élaboration du RPD, a aidé l’Office à dresser un plan, rendu public le 29 février 2012, pour assurer la clarté du cadre de prévention des dommages.

    Étapes subséquentes : L’Office a publié un document de travail sur les modifications proposées à sa réglementation le 28 décembre 2012. Les lettres de commentaires reçues ont été rendues publiques le 2 avril 2013. Le 4 juillet 2013, l’Office a annoncé qu’il produira un avis de projet de modification réglementaire qui devrait être présenté au public pour commentaires en novembre 2013.

  4. 1.4 Améliorer la mesure du rendement de l’industrie en matière de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement au plus tard le 29 février 2012.

    État d’avancement : Terminé

    L’Office a finalisé les mesures de rendement des pipelines le 28 mars 2012 et a ordonné à 30 sociétés possédant les réseaux les plus longs de faire rapport pour l’année d’essai 2012. Les résultats ont été colligés et des ateliers ont été tenus en 2013 en vue de l’amélioration des mesures et des notes d’orientation pour les futurs rapports.

    Étapes subséquentes : L’Office prévoit publier en 2014 la moyenne des résultats obtenus par l’industrie en 2013 sur les mesures de rendement.

2. Accessibilité plus grande à l’information

  1. 2.1 Améliorer l’accessibilité à l’information sur les programmes de l’Office et le rendement des sociétés réglementées au chapitre de la sécurité et de la protection de l’environnement au plus tard le 31 décembre 2011.

    État d’avancement : Terminé

    Le 30 août 2011, l’Office a annoncé qu’il commencerait à rendre publiques les mesures d’exécution en matière de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement dont il serait l’auteur (sauf l’information dont le caractère confidentiel est protégé par la loi).

    Étapes subséquentes : À la suite de son Forum sur la sécurité, l’Office s’est engagé à une accessibilité encore plus grande de l’information. Les détails de cet engagement sont présentés dans le rapport produit à la conclusion du Forum, sur le site Web de l’Office.

3. Leadership à l’égard des enjeux clés en sécurité et protection de l’environnement

  1. 3.1 Travailler de concert avec d’autres organismes de réglementation pour repérer les enjeux clés et des solutions possibles en sécurité et protection de l’environnement au plus tard le 30 septembre 2012.

    État d’avancement : Terminé

    Après l’atelier sur la réduction des incidents et la revue des forages extracôtiers dans l’Arctique, l’Office a cerné des questions clés en matière de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement à l’égard du rendement des sociétés réglementées dans les deux domaines suivants :

    a) mise en œuvre de systèmes de gestion hautement intégrés et efficaces;
    b) épanouissement d’une culture de sécurité robuste et durable.

    L’Office a échangé avec plusieurs organismes de réglementation provinciaux et internationaux sur ces deux sujets pendant les mois qui ont précédé le Forum sur la sécurité. Ce travail a finalement mené aux tables rondes organisées par l’Office à l’occasion de son Forum sur la sécurité en juin 2013.

    Étapes subséquentes : Plusieurs sujets d’intérêt ont été cernés pour collaboration ultérieure, avant comme pendant le Forum sur la sécurité. Les discussions et les échanges se poursuivent. Par exemple, l’Office collabore avec les organismes de réglementation canadiens sur les hydrocarbures extracôtiers afin de définir, à des fins de consultation publique, ce qu’est la culture de la sécurité, et quels en sont les attributs et les dimensions.
  2. 3.2 Convoquer un forum sur la sécurité des pipelines et des installations au plus tard au printemps de 2013.

    État d’avancement : Terminé

    Le Forum sur la sécurité a eu lieu les 5 et 6 juin 2013 et le rapport a été publié le 30 septembre 2013. Étaient réunis à ce Forum 385 personnes représentant la population générale, les Autochtones, l’industrie, les universités, l’État et l’Office, de même que des jeunes et des experts-conseils. Les sujets clés qui y ont été abordés comprennent notamment le leadership des entreprises dans la création et le maintien d’une culture de la sécurité, l’efficacité des systèmes de gestion et le rôle de l’application de mesures du rendement en gestion des risques. La façon dont l’industrie pourrait s’y prendre pour gagner la faveur du public, la qualité de meneur du secteur de l’énergie en matière de sécurité, les attentes citoyennes quant à la transparence de l’information et l’évolution du rôle joué par les organismes de réglementation ont aussi été évoquées.

    Étapes subséquentes :

    Dans le rapport qui a suivi le Forum sur la sécurité, l’Office s’est engagé à la prise de mesures concrètes pour aller de l’avant, de concert avec l’industrie, en vue de la réalisation de l’objectif de zéro incident, notamment en faisant ce qui suit.

    • Lancer une consultation publique sur la culture de la sécurité pour la définir clairement et bien en cerner les attributs ainsi que les indicateurs.
    • Élaborer des lignes directrices visant une meilleure prévention des catastrophes.
    • Faire en sorte de mieux aligner l’information diffusée sur ce que les Canadiens souhaitent et sur ce dont ils ont besoin.
    • Baliser la voie de l’amélioration continue, un parcours nécessitant la collaboration avec d’autres organismes de réglementation, et rendre compte des outils d’exécution en matière de sécurité dont l’Office s’est récemment doté, comme les sanctions administratives pécuniaires.

    Étapes suivantes

    L’Office a confirmé au Forum qu’un objectif de zéro incident n’est pas seulement le bon objectif, mais un objectif atteignable. Si on mise sur des mécanismes de gestion rigoureux et bien mis en place et sur une culture de la sécurité qui imprègne chaque aspect de l’organisation, les incidents seront évitables. Ce n’est qu’avec un effort concerté de toute l’industrie que nous parviendrons à instaurer une solide culture de la sécurité qui protégera davantage la population, les travailleurs et l’environnement, et que, parallèlement, les acteurs du secteur de l’énergie, y compris les organismes de réglementation, gagneront une plus grande confiance de la population, élément essentiel à la réussite à long terme.

    L’Office maintient le cap de l’amélioration continue des résultats en matière de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement. Pour cette raison, il façonnera un nouvel ensemble d’engagements qui comprendra les mesures découlant du récent Forum sur la sécurité, et peut-être d’autres, visant toujours une telle amélioration.

Date de modification :