ARCHIVED - Report on Progress - January 2012

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The National Energy Board (NEB or the Board) released its Action Plan on Safety and Environmental Protection 2011-2012 on 18 July 2011.The Action Plan will improve results in four key areas - worker safety, integrity of installations, damage prevention, and emergency preparedness and response. The Action Plan is part of our focus on continual improvement and holding those we regulate accountable for results that are in the public interest.

We are pleased to report that some initiatives are complete and others are well underway. Detailed project information is available from the Action Plan main webpage by clicking on individual actions. The following is a summary of progress to date on each of the actions committed to and activities scheduled in the next quarter:

1 Clarifying Expectations

Format Table
1.1

Finalize a Proposed Regulatory Change (PRC) for management system requirements to the Onshore Pipeline Regulations, 1999 (OPR-99) by 30 September 2011

PRC 2011-01 was issued on 29 July 2011. This PRC clarifies the Board’s requirement that regulated companies follow a management system approach to meet their obligations under the National Energy Board Act and the OPR-99.

Future activities: this action is complete. The Board is proceeding to amend the OPR-99 to include the PRC.

1.2

Provide clear guidance on compliance and enforcement for damage prevention by 31 December 2011

On 18 March 2011, the Board issued a Notice of Information Session and provided a Background Paper and Questions for Discussion.In the Background Paper, the Board provided draft guidance material that explains its current approach for responding to reports of unauthorized activities near federally-regulated pipelines. The guidance explains how the NEB brings companies and people into compliance with the regulations, and how regulations will be enforced.The information session provided an opportunity to clarify this approach as well as collect feedback on a proposed reporting tool.

Future activities: this action has been delayed. The Board intends to finalize the guidance presented in the Background paper by March 2012.

1.3

Identify key issues and develop a plan to achieve regulatory clarity for damage prevention by 29 February 2012

In November 2011, the Board met with various representatives of the damage prevention community, including those who provided comments on the proposed Damage Prevention Regulations (DPR) to discuss key issues to be addressed to reduce risks near pipelines. Feedback collected during the discussion, in addition to concerns heard throughout the process of developing the proposed DPR, will assist the Board in developing a plan to achieve regulatory clarity for its damage prevention framework.

Future activities: a plan to achieve regulatory clarity for damage prevention is expected to be released on schedule by 29 February 2012.

1.4

Improve measurement of industry performance for safety and environmental protection by 29 February 2012

The Board completed consultation on draft revised performance measures in October 2011.

Future activities: this action has been delayed in order to refine certain measures as a result of input received during consultations.The Board intends to finalize the measures by March 2012.

2 Improve accessibility of information

Format Table
2.1

Improve accessibility of information on the NEB's programs and the performance of regulated companies with respect to safety and environmental protection by 31 December 2011

On 30 August 2011, the NEB announced that it would begin to post documents related to Board-initiated safety and environmental compliance actions received or issued through the Secretary (except where information is protected by law) under the National Energy Board Act. This includes:

  • a. Board Orders and letters;
  • b. filings and correspondence regarding compliance with conditions of approvals and other Board Orders;
  • c. filings and correspondence from companies to the Board related to safety and environmental compliance actions, including Corrective Action Plans; and
  • d. final operational Audit Reports.

Future activities: this action is complete.

Recent compliance actions taken by the NEB to enhance safety and environmental protection can be found on Safety and Environmental Compliance webpage.

3 Take leadership on key safety and environmental protection issues

Format Table
3.1

Work with other regulators to identify key issues and potential solutions for safety and environmental protection by 30 September 2012

Following the Incident Reduction Workshop and the Arctic Offshore Drilling Review, the NEB is working to identify and act on key safety and environmental protection issues relevant to regulated companies’ performance in the following two areas:

  • a. implementing highly integrated and effective management systems
  • b. growing a robust and sustainable safety culture

These issues will be developed in collaboration with other interested provincial and international regulators. This work should inform the agenda for the NEB’s pipeline and facility safety forum committed to under action 3.2 below.

Future activities: share NEB views of key issues with other regulators in February 2012.

3.2

Convene a forum on pipeline and facility safety by 30 September 2012

Work on the Safety Forum has commenced by defining the format, potential issues to be explored and identifying speakers. The NEB has decided to re-schedule the timing of the forum to spring 2013. This will eliminate conflicts with other conferences scheduled for the same time period.

Future activities: announcements on forum subject matter and speakers should begin by summer 2012.

 

________________________________
L. George
Acting Secretary of the Board

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Rapport d’étape - janvier 2012

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Le 18 juillet 2011, l’Office national de l’énergie (l’ONÉ ou l’Office) a lancé son plan d’action en matière de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement 2011-2012, qui vise à améliorer les résultats dans quatre secteurs clés : la sécurité des travailleurs, l’intégrité des installations, la prévention des dommages, ainsi que la protection civile et les interventions d’urgence. Ce plan d’action s’inscrit dans les efforts que nous déployons pour apporter des améliorations constantes et tenir ceux que nous réglementons responsables d’obtenir des résultats qui sont dans l’intérêt public.

Nous sommes heureux de déclarer que certaines initiatives sont terminées et que d’autres sont bien enclenchées. Il est possible de consulter les renseignements détaillés disponibles sur la page Web principale du Plan d’action en cliquant sur chacun des mesures. Ce qui suit résume les progrès réalisés à ce jour pour chacun des engagements pris et toutes les activités prévues au cours du prochain trimestre :

1 Attentes plus claires

Tableau de formatage
1.1

Finaliser un projet de modification réglementaire (PMR) applicable aux exigences relatives aux systèmes de gestion pour le Règlement   1999 sur les pipelines terrestres (RPT-99) d’ici le 30 septembre 2011

Le PMR 2011-01 a été lancé le 29 juillet 2011. Il clarifie les exigences de l’Office concernant les systèmes de gestion dont les sociétés réglementées doivent se doter pour respecter les obligations prescrites par la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie et le RPT-99.

Activités futures : Ce projet est terminé. L’Office s’apprête à modifier le RPT-99 pour y inclure le PMR.

1.2

Donner une orientation claire en matière de conformité et d’exécution pour la prévention des dommages d’ici le 31 décembre 2011

Le 18 mars 2011, l’Office a publié un avis de séance d’information et il a fourni un document de référence et des points de discussion. Dans le document de référence, l’Office a inclus une ébauche de principes directeurs qui expliquent sa démarche actuelle en réponse aux signalements d’activités non autorisées près des pipelines de ressort fédéral. Les principes directeurs indiquent comment l’ONÉ procède pour que les sociétés et les particuliers se conforment aux règlements et comment ces derniers sont appliqués. La séance d’information a donné l’occasion de clarifier la démarche et de recueillir de la rétroaction sur l’outil de signalement proposé.

Activités futures : Ce projet a été retardé et l’Office a l’intention de mettre la touche finale aux principes directeurs présentés dans le document de référence d’ici mars 2012.

1.3

Cerner les enjeux clés et élaborer un plan visant la clarté de la réglementation en matière de prévention des dommages d’ici le 29 février 2012

En novembre 2011, l’Office a rencontré divers représentants du milieu de la prévention des dommages, y compris les personnes qui ont fourni des commentaires sur le projet de Règlement sur la prévention des dommages (RPD) pour discuter des enjeux clés à aborder afin de diminuer les risques à proximité des pipelines. La rétroaction obtenue pendant la discussion, ajoutée aux préoccupations exprimées tout au long du processus d’élaboration du RPD, aidera l’Office à dresser un plan pour assurer la clarté du cadre de réglementation sur la prévention des dommages.

Activités futures  : Un plan visant à assurer la clarté de la réglementation sur la prévention des dommages devrait être publié d’ici le 29 février 2012 comme prévu.

1.4

Améliorer la mesure du rendement de l’industrie en matière de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement d’ici le 29 février 2012

L’Office a terminé la consultation sur l’ébauche des mesures de rendement révisées en octobre 2011.

Activités futures : Cette étape a été retardée afin de pouvoir reformuler certaines mesures en fonction des commentaires reçus pendant les consultations. L’Office prévoit finaliser les mesures d’ici mars 2012.

2 Plus grande accessibilité à l’information

Tableau de formatage
2.1

Améliorer l’accessibilité à l’information sur les programmes de l’ONÉ et le rendement des sociétés réglementées au chapitre de la sécurité et de la protection d’ici le 31 décembre 2011

Le 30 août 2011, l’ONÉ a annoncé qu’il commencerait à afficher les documents que la secrétaire de l’Office a reçus ou envoyés au sujet des mesures de vérification de la conformité en matière de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement (sauf l’information protégée par la loi) en vertu de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie. Cela comprend ce qui suit :

  • a) ordonnances et lettres de l’Office;
  • b) dossiers et correspondance sur la conformité avec les conditions d’approbation et les autres ordonnances de l’Office;
  • c) mémoires et lettres déposés par les sociétés auprès de l’Office sur les mesures mises en place en matière de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement, dont les plans d’actions correctives;
  • d) rapports définitifs de vérification des opérations.

Activités futures : Ce projet est terminé.

Les mesures de vérification de la conformité prises récemment par l’ONÉ pour améliorer la sécurité et la protection de l’environnement se trouvent sur notre page Conformité en matière de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement.

3 Leadership à l’égard des enjeux clés en sécurité et protection de l’environnement

Format Table
3.1

Travailler de concert avec d’autres organismes de réglementation pour repérer les enjeux clés et des solutions possibles en sécurité et protection de l’environnement d’ici le 30 septembre 2012

Faisant suite à l’Atelier sur la réduction des incidents et à la Revue des forages extracôtiers dans l’Arctique, l’ONÉ s’affaire à repérer et à traiter les enjeux clés en matière de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement reliés au rendement des sociétés réglementées dans les deux domaines suivants :

  • a) implantation de systèmes de gestion hautement intégrés et efficaces
  • b) établir une culture de sécurité durable

Ces enjeux seront élaborés en collaboration avec d’autres organismes de réglementation provinciaux et internationaux intéressés. Ce travail devrait déterminer l’ordre du jour pour le forum de l’ONÉ sur la sécurité des pipelines et des installations, prévu dans la mesure 3.2 ci-dessous.

Activités futures : Transmettre les vues de l’ONÉ sur les enjeux clés à d’autres organismes de réglementation en février 2012.

3.2

Convoquer un forum sur la sécurité des pipelines et des installations d’ici le 30 septembre 2012

La préparation du forum sur la sécurité est entamée : définition du format, questions pouvant être explorées, et recherche de conférenciers. L’ONÉ a décidé de reporter la tenue du forum au printemps 2013 en raison de conflits avec d’autres conférences qui doivent avoir lieu à la même période.

Activités futures : L’annonce des sujets abordés au forum et des conférenciers devrait débuter à l'été 2012.

La secrétaire de l'Office par intérim,

________________________________
L. George

Date de modification :