ARCHIVED - Pipeline Incidents: Spills of Hydrocarbon Liquids

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

In our recently released annual report to Canadians, the National Energy Board provided safety information relating to our regulated pipelines and facilities. This included a detailed list of all incidents considered reportable under the National Energy Board Onshore Pipeline Regulations (OPR). Reported incidents are not limited to liquid spills. They can also include fires, equipment failures, security issues or the operation of a pipeline beyond its design limits.

Pipeline safety and the development of natural resources in a responsible and sustainable way are top of mind for Canadians. The public is asking for more information on how regulated companies are performing, specifically in the areas of safety and environmental protection. The NEB is listening and working to provide clear and accurate information on important issues such as liquid spills.

The total volume of the releases on NEB-regulated pipelines has declined over the last five years. While this is a step in the right direction, the NEB expects its regulated companies to strive for zero incidents.

Liquid Release Volume (m³) per 1000 km of Liquid Pipelines

Liquid Release Volume (m3) per 1000 km of Liquid Pipelines

*The National Energy Board regulates over 18,000 kilometres of liquid pipelines in Canada.

From January 2008 to the end of April 2013, there have been 40 reportable releases of liquid hydrocarbons. The relative seriousness of a liquid spill is categorized by volume in cubic metres and has been divided into three categories:

  • Greater than 1.5 m³ but less than 8 m³;
  • Greater than 8m ³ but less than 100 m³; and
  • Greater than 100 m³.

Companies are also required to report on spills that could have a significant adverse effect on the environment regardless of size. An example of this would be any release of hydrocarbons into a water body. Of the reportable incidents shown below, four were liquid releases into waterways.

Liquid Spill Incidents by Year & Volume
Year LIQUID SPILL INCIDENTS BY YEAR & VOLUME
Liquid Release <8 m³ Liquid Release > 8 m³,
< 100 m³
Liquid Release >100 m³
2008 8 3 1
2009 4 0 2
2010 2 5 1
2011 4 1 1
2012 1 2 0
Jan-Apr 2013 5 0 0
Total 24 11 5
5 year Average 3.8 2.4 0.8

*For a detailed year by year account of liquid releases please click here.
*To view a volume conversion table please click here.

Reportable Liquid Releases by Year

Reportable liquid releases by year

Of these reported liquid releases, almost two-thirds were between 0.00025m³ and 8m³ in size and 70 per cent were contained to company property. In all cases, the NEB conducts a thorough investigation of the spill. This includes determining the cause and contributing factors that led to the incident itself.

The ultimate goal of an NEB investigation is identifying ways to prevent similar occurrences from happening in the future. To this end, incident reports are often accompanied by corrective and enforcement actions if required. Companies may also be subject to additional compliance oversight by the Board.

Number of Liquid Releases by Volume - January 2008 - April 2013

Number of Liquid Releases by Volume - January 2008 - April 2013

Much of the work the NEB does through its regulatory oversight is aimed at preventing incidents from happening in the first place. However, when something does go wrong, the National Energy Board holds companies fully responsible and accountable for responding in a manner that protects the public, property and the environment. Companies must meet all of the NEB's required environmental remediation criteria regardless of cost.

No matter the size of the incident, the NEB maintains its expectations of regulated-companies and continues to provide a thorough and appropriate response to liquid spills.

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada's energy industry with the safety of Canadians and protection of the environment as its top priority. Its purpose is to regulate pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. The NEB is committed to providing information on the safety of Canada's energy infrastructure on an ongoing basis.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Incidents mettant en cause des pipelines : rejets d'hydrocarbures liquides

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Dans son rapport annuel rendu public récemment, l’Office national de l’énergie fournissait des renseignements sur la sécurité des pipelines et des installations relevant de sa réglementation. On y trouvait notamment une liste complète de tous les incidents qui doivent être déclarés en vertu du Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur les pipelines terrestres (RPT). Les rejets de liquides ne sont pas les seuls incidents qui doivent être déclarés; il y a aussi les incendies, les défaillances du matériel, les problèmes de sûreté et les cas d’exploitation d’un pipeline au-delà de ses tolérances de fabrication.

La sécurité des pipelines et la mise en valeur des ressources naturelles d’une manière responsable et durable sont au cœur des préoccupations des Canadiens et Canadiennes. De plus en plus, ils veulent qu’on les informe du rendement des sociétés réglementées, en particulier aux chapitres de la sécurité et de la protection de l’environnement. À l’écoute de la population, l’Office s’emploie à fournir des informations claires et exactes sur des sujets importants comme les rejets de liquides.

Le volume total des rejets par les pipelines réglementés par l’Office n’a pas cessé de diminuer au cours des cinq dernières années. Il s’agit certes d’un pas dans la bonne direction, mais l’Office s’attend à ce que les sociétés qu’il réglemente aient zéro incident comme objectif.

Volume de rejets liquides (en m³) par 1 000 km de pipeline acheminant des liquides

Volume de rejets liquides (en m³) par 1 000 km de pipeline acheminant des liquides

*L’Office national de l’énergie réglemente quelque 18 000 kilomètres de pipelines acheminant des liquides au Canada.

Du mois de janvier 2008 jusqu’à la fin d’avril 2013, on a dénombré 40 rejets d’hydrocarbures liquides à signaler. La gravité relative des rejets est établie d’après le volume de liquide déversé (en mètres cubes), selon trois catégories :

  • Plus de 1,5 m³, mais moins de 8 m³;
  • Plus de 8 m³, mais moins de 100 m³;
  • Plus de 100 m³.

Les sociétés sont aussi tenues de déclarer les rejets qui sont susceptibles d’avoir des effets néfastes importants sur l’environnement, sans égard au volume du rejet. C’est le cas, par exemple, de tous les rejets d’hydrocarbures dans des cours d’eau. Du nombre des incidents à déclarer compilés ci-dessous, quatre mettaient en cause des liquides déversés dans des plans d’eau.

Rejets de liquides, par année et volume
Année REJETS DE LIQUIDES, PAR ANNÉE ET VOLUME
Moins de 8 m³ Plus de 8 m³, mais moins de 100 m³ Plus de 100 m³
2008 8 3 1
2009 4 0 2
2010 2 5 1
2011 4 1 1
2012 1 2 0
Janvier à avril 2013 5 0 0
Total 24 11 5
Moyenne sur 5 ans 3,8 2,4 0,8

*Pour obtenir un compte rendu annuel complet des rejets de liquides, cliquez ici.
*Le lecteur trouvera un tableau de conversion des unités de volume ici.

Rejets de liquides à déclarer, par année

Rejets de liquides à déclarer, par année

Du nombre des rejets de liquides signalés, près des deux tiers représentaient entre 0,00025 m³ et 8 m³, et 70 % avaient été confinés à la propriété de la société. Dans tous les cas, l’Office mène une enquête approfondie pour déterminer, notamment, la cause du rejet et les facteurs qui y ont contribué.

L’objectif final de cette enquête de l’Office est de recenser les moyens possibles d’éviter la répétition de tels événements à l’avenir. À cette fin, les rapports d’incident renferment souvent des mesures correctives et des mesures d’exécution au besoin. Il peut aussi arriver que les sociétés soient soumises à une vérification de la conformité plus serrée de l’Office.

Nombre de rejets de liquides par volume - janvier 2008 - avril 2013

Nombre de rejets de liquides par volume - janvier 2008 - avril 2013

Une bonne partie du travail de l’Office consiste en des activités de surveillance réglementaire dont le but premier est la prévention des incidents. Toutefois, quand un incident se produit, l’Office tient les sociétés entièrement responsables de l’intervention, qui doit se dérouler de manière à protéger le public, les biens et l’environnement, et il les oblige à rendre des comptes. Les sociétés doivent satisfaire à tous les critères de l’Office relatifs à la remise en état de l’environnement, peu importe les coûts.

Quelle que soit l’ampleur de l’incident, l’Office demeure ferme en ce qui a trait à ses attentes envers les sociétés réglementées et continue à assurer une intervention complète et appropriée lors des rejets de liquides.

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada en mettant la sécurité des Canadiens et la protection de l’environnement au cœur de ses priorités. Sa raison d’être consiste à réglementer, dans l’intérêt public canadien, les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie. Il s’est engagé à fournir régulièrement de l’information sur la sécurité de l’infrastructure énergétique au Canada.

Date de modification :