ARCHIVED - Focus on Safety and Environment - A Comparative Analysis of Pipeline Performance - Summary - 2000-2007

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Focus on Safety and Environment - A Comparative Analysis of Pipeline Performance - Summary - 2000-2007 [PDF 407 KB]

Focus on Safety and Environment - A Comparative Analysis of Pipeline Performance - 2000-2007

Copyright/Permission to Reproduce

July 2009

Photos: Left: Pipe handling hook; Top right: Maple leaves; Bottom right: Moraine Lake, Alberta

PIPELINE PERFORMANCE 2000-2007

Sideboom stringing pipeThe National Energy Board continuously searches for ways to improve its performance. This is the NEB's seventh annual report comparing the safety, integrity and environmental performance of NEB-regulated pipelines to their past performance and to that of pipelines regulated by similar organizations. It is one of the many ways the NEB meets its objective to track and regularly report on results.

Throughout 2007, hundreds of people worked on NEB-regulated pipelines. To prepare this report, the Board looked at the activities of more than 2,880 full-time equivalent workers who were involved in building, operating and maintaining more than 40,000 kilometres of pipeline in 2007.

PUBLIC AND WORKER SAFETY

Injuries and Fatalities

The year 2007 was the tenth consecutive year in which there were no fatal accidents during the construction and operation of NEB-regulated pipelines. However, the nature of the business and the number of people working in the industry means that serious accidents can happen. The NEB recognizes that minimizing the potential for fatalities requires a commitment to diligence and safe operating procedures.

Injury Frequency

Injury Frequency

In 2007, the men and women who worked on NEB-regulated pipelines suffered 1.9 injuries for every 100 full-time workers, compared to 1.6 injuries per 100 full-time workers in 2006. As this is the second consecutive year that the injury frequency rate for workers, which includes both regular, full-time employees and contractors, has increased, the NEB is concerned. The greatest contributor to this increase is the gas pipeline sector, which accounts for 65 per cent of NEB-regulated pipelines in terms of length, and has experienced a jump in injuries in 2006 and 2007 for both contractors and employees.

In contrast, the injury frequency for employees working on liquid pipelines dropped by 67 per cent in 2007. The contractor injury frequency of 2.4 injuries for every 100 full-time contractors was consistent with 2006. This rate is also lower than the eight-year average of 3.4 injuries for every 100 full-time contract workers.

The injury frequency rate for contractors working on NEB-regulated pipelines is on average very similar to that reported by the Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers in the upstream energy sector. The NEB's eight-year average indicates that two out of 100 full-time contract workers sustain serious injuries every year.

The NEB increased its safety inspections of field activities, including pipeline construction, in 2007. The purpose of these inspections is to monitor and evaluate activities in the field so that the NEB can better understand and communicate with the pipeline industry those measures that can improve worker safety. The inspections found that compliance with NEB regulations increased for the third consecutive year.

Pipeline Rights of Way Issues

Unauthorized activities such as construction, landscaping or driving a vehicle on a right of way can damage the pipeline or make it difficult for crews to access the pipe in case of an emergency. The total number of unauthorized activities on rights of way between 2005 and 2007 has stabilized at nearly 70 per year. However, this number of unauthorized activities is above the eight-year average of 53.

The number of times a pipeline is contacted or struck by someone who may be digging within a right of way is consistently low, ranging from one to two per year, or less than five per cent of the total number of unauthorized activities. However, increasing urban encroachment on pipeline rights of way is a growing concern in the future and may result in an increased number of unauthorized activities on rights of way.

Pipeline Ruptures

After four years without a rupture, there were two ruptures on liquid pipelines in 2007. In July, the Board responded to an oil pipeline spill from an NEB-regulated pipeline in Burnaby, British Columbia. An underground 24-inch pipeline was struck by a third-party contractor doing construction in the community. Approximately 232 cubic metres (1,460 barrels) of heavy synthetic crude oil was released. This incident caused significant effects on a marine environment and personal property. The site of this spill has been cleaned up to remove immediate risks to the public and the environment and the NEB is monitoring the ongoing remediation of any residual contamination.

The second rupture was caused by pipeline fatigue which allowed approximately 990 cubic metres (6,227 barrels) of crude oil to spill in a farmer's field near Glenavon, Saskatchewan. In this case, the contaminated areas have been remediated to the NEB's satisfaction.

The leading cause of ruptures on NEB-regulated pipelines is cracking and metal loss caused by corrosion. In other jurisdictions, external interference by third parties is the most frequent cause of pipeline ruptures.

PIPELINE ENVIRONMENTAL PERFORMANCE

Liquid Releases, Leaks and Spills

As mentioned above, there were two major releases due to ruptures on liquid pipelines in 2007 that released a significant volume of fluid. In the case of a spill, leak or major release, the Board's role is to ensure that the companies responsible conduct environmental site assessments and clean up any contamination at the spill sites. The NEB monitors situations where remediation of residual soil or groundwater contamination is ongoing.

NEB inspection of right of wayOverall, NEB-regulated liquid pipelines have an eight-year average of 0.05 pipe body liquid releases per 1,000 kilometres or one reportable leak for every 20,000 kilometres of pipe. In 2007, NEB-regulated companies reached an eight-year high of liquid pipe body releases with 0.28 releases for every 1,000 km.

On average, approximately 44 operational leaks per year are reported on NEB-regulated pipeline systems. According to the eight-year average, there are approximately three liquid leaks from non-pipe body sources for every 1,000 kilometres of pipeline. In 2007 there were 2.4 leaks for every 1,000 kilometres of pipeline which is comparable to the five-year low reported in 2006.

In 2007, there were no spills of lubricants or equipment fluids during the construction or maintenance of NEB-regulated pipelines that were greater than 1.5 cubic metres. There were 36 spills, each of which was less than 1.5 cubic metres and the total volume released was less than two cubic metres.

Operational Liquid Leak Frequency

Operational Liquid Leak Frequency

Gas Releases

Pipe body gas releases for NEB-regulated pipelines occurred with a frequency of approximately 0.08 releases per 1,000 kilometres or one gas release for every 12,500 kilometres over the past eight years. In 2007 the average pipe body release frequency was 0.11 per 1,000 km which is higher than normal, but similar to levels experienced in 2004 and 2005.

Operational gas leaks on the other hand, happen through equipment, including venting from valves and seepage at flanges. With approximately 0.75 leaks per 1,000 kilometres of pipe, operational gas leaks on NEB-regulated gas pipelines occur about 10 times more often than pipeline body gas releases.

Pipe Body Gas Release Frequency

Pipe Body Gas Release Frequency

Construction truck on prairie

NEB SAFETY INITIATIVES - LOOKING AHEAD

Protecting the environment and the safety of the public and the people who build and operate pipelines is of paramount importance to the NEB. Injury frequencies, incident trends and other indicators help the NEB to identify where improvement is needed.

In 2008, the NEB noted a significant increase in the number of reported incidents. It is recognized that all companies are challenged when it comes to safety by:

  • construction activity;
  • declining experience in the work force;
  • an increasing pressure to meet deadlines; and,
  • worker complacency.

These factors may partially explain the increases in injury frequencies that have been observed in the Focus on Safety and Environment: A Comparative Analysis of Pipeline Performance report. For more information please click on “Safety Performance Indicators” under the safety tab on the National Energy Board website. The Board is committed to working with the companies it regulates and other stakeholders to find ways to improve the safety performance of the pipeline industry. The NEB's goal is to reduce the number of incidents and injuries to as low a level as possible. In 2007, the NEB adopted a risk-based approach to help determine the degree of regulatory oversight required for a project based on the project's complexity, the degree of risk involved and the company's historical compliance performance. This approach allows the NEB to focus our compliance resources on companies that will benefit the most from regulatory oversight. As a result, NEB staff conducted 216 compliance activities in 2008, more than double the number conducted in 2007.

In May 2009, the NEB held a public forum to address a wide variety of topics ranging from regulatory reform to pipeline safety. The forum included a panel discussion on pipeline safety with representatives from contractors, industry and pipeline regulators. This is one example of the ongoing dialogue on safety that the NEB conducts with industry. Continuous improvement will ensure that pipelines remain the safest mode of energy transportation in Canada. The safety of the facilities, the public and that of the men and women who build and operate them is and will remain, the Board's primary goal.

FOR A PIPELINE EMERGENCY:

Please call the Transportation Safety Board's 24-hour hotline at 819-997-7887.

For other emergencies, please call the NEB at 403-807-9473.

Pipe in mountainous terrain
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Gros plan sur la sécurité et l'environnement - Analyse comparative du rendement des pipelines - Résumé - 2000-2007

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Gros plan sur la sécurité et l'environnement - Analyse comparative du rendement des pipelines - Résumé - 2000-2007 [PDF 418 ko]

Gros plan sur la sécurité et l'environnement - Analyse comparative du rendement des pipelines - 2000-2007

Droit d’auteur et droit de reproduction

Juillet 2009

Photos : Gauche : Crochet de manutention des canalisations; Au-dessus à droite : Feuilles d’érable; Au-dessous à  droite : Lac Moraine (Alberta)

RENDEMENT DES PIPELINES 2000-2007

Grue latérale alignant des conduitesL'Office national de l'énergie cherche constamment à améliorer son rendement. Le septième rapport annuel sur le rendement des pipelines réglementés par l'Office établit des comparaisons sur le plan de la sécurité, de l'intégrité et de l'environnement par rapport au rendement antérieur et au rendement de pipelines réglementés par d'autres organismes semblables. C'est l'un des nombreux moyens à la disposition de l'Office pour respecter son objectif de suivre les résultats obtenus et d'en faire rapport régulièrement.

En 2007, des centaines de personnes ont travaillé sur les pipelines réglementés par l'Office. Pour produire le présent rapport, ce dernier a analysé les activités de plus de 2 880 travailleurs équivalents temps plein associés, en 2007, à la construction, à l'exploitation et à l'entretien de plus de 40 000 km de pipeline.

SÉCURITÉ DU PUBLIC ET DES TRAVAILEURS

Blessures et accidents mortels

L'année 2007 a été la dixième année consécutive à n'enregistrer aucun accident mortel durant la construction et l'exploitation de pipelines réglementés par l'Office. Toutefois, à cause de la nature de l'industrie et du nombre de personnes à y travailler, des accidents graves peuvent survenir. L'Office reconnaît que pour réduire au minimum le potentiel des accidents mortels, il faut s'engager à observer rigoureusement des pratiques d'exploitation sécuritaires avec toute la diligence voulue.

Taux de fréquence de blessures

Taux de fréquence de blessures

En 2007, les hommes et les femmes qui travaillaient sur des pipelines réglementés par l'Office ont enregistré 1,9 blessure par 100 travailleurs à temps plein, contre 1,6 blessure par 100 travailleurs à temps plein en 2006. Comme il s'agit de la deuxième année consécutive que le taux de fréquence de blessures a augmenté chez les travailleurs, incluant les employés réguliers à temps plein et les entrepreneurs, l'Office estime la situation préoccupante. La hausse est surtout attribuable au secteur des gazoducs, qui compte pour 65 % des pipelines réglementés par l'Office en termes de longueur, et où le nombre de blessures a bondi en 2006 et 2007, tant chez les entrepreneurs que chez les employés de société.

Par contre, la fréquence des blessures chez les employés de société travaillant sur les pipelines de liquides a chuté de 67 % en 2007. La fréquence des blessures chez les entrepreneurs, à 2,4 blessures par 100 entrepreneurs à temps plein, s'est maintenue par rapport à 2006. Ce taux est également inférieur à la moyenne sur huit ans de 3,4 blessures par 100 travailleurs contractuels à temps plein.

Le taux de fréquence des blessures chez les entrepreneurs travaillant sur des pipelines réglementés par l'Office est généralement assez semblable à celui signalé par l'Association canadienne des producteurs pétroliers dans le secteur énergétique en amont. La moyenne de l'Office sur huit ans indique que deux travailleurs contractuels à temps plein sur 100 subissent chaque année des blessures graves.

En 2007, l'Office a accru le nombre d'inspections de sécurité des activités sur le terrain, y compris les activités de construction de pipelines. Le but de ces inspections est de surveiller et d'évaluer les activités sur le terrain afin de pouvoir mieux comprendre les mesures propres à améliorer la sécurité des travailleurs, et de les communiquer à l'industrie pipelinière. Les inspections ont permis de constater que le taux de conformité avec les règlements de l'Office a augmenté pour la deuxième année consécutive.

Emprises pipelinières

Les activités non autorisées, comme la construction, l'aménagement paysager ou la conduite d'un véhicule sur une emprise, peuvent endommager le pipeline ou compliquer la tâche des équipes de travail qui doivent avoir accès aux pipelines en cas d'urgence. Le nombre total d'activités non autorisées le long d'emprises entre 2005 et 2007 s'est stabilisé à environ 70 par an, mais il demeure plus élevé que la moyenne sur huit ans, qui est de 53.

Le nombre de fois où une personne a touché ou heurté un pipeline en voulant creuser dans une emprise demeure faible d'une année à l'autre, soit un ou deux annuellement, représentant moins de 5 % de toutes les activités non autorisées. L'empiètement croissant des régions urbaines sur les emprises pipelinières devient une préoccupation de taille et risque d'entraîner une augmentation du nombre d'activités non autorisées le long des emprises.

Ruptures de pipelines

Après quatre années sans une seule rupture, l'Office a relevé en 2007 deux ruptures sur des pipelines de liquides. En juillet, il a répondu à un déversement de pétrole d'un pipeline de son ressort à Burnaby, en Colombie-Britannique. Un pipeline souterrain d'un diamètre de 24 pouces a été heurté par un entrepreneur exécutant des travaux dans cette localité. Environ 232 m³ (1 460 barils) de pétrole brut synthétique lourd ont été déversés. Cet incident a causé des dégâts importants dans le milieu marin et des dommages à la propriété personnelle. Le site du déversement a été nettoyé afin de parer aux risques immédiats pour le public et pour l'environnement, et l'Office surveille la poursuite des travaux d'atténuation de toute contamination résiduelle.

La seconde rupture, causée par la fatigue du pipeline, a provoqué le déversement de quelque 990 m³ (6 227 barils) de pétrole brut dans le champ d'un agriculteur près de Glenavon, en Saskatchewan. Dans ce cas, les zones contaminées ont fait l'objet de mesures d'atténuation à la satisfaction de l'Office.

La cause première des ruptures de pipelines réglementés par l'Office est la fissuration et la dégradation du métal dues à la corrosion. Dans d'autres organismes de réglementation, l'interférence extérieure - par des tiers - est la cause de ruptures de pipelines la plus fréquente.

PROTECTION DE L'ENVIRONNEMENT

Rejets de liquides, fuites et déversements

Comme il a été mentionné plus haut, l'Office a relevé deux rejets majeurs en 2007, tous deux causés par des ruptures sur des pipelines de liquides. En cas de déversement, de fuite ou de rejet majeurs, l'Office doit s'assurer que les sociétés responsables procèdent à une évaluation environnementale et à la décontamination du site. Il continue de surveiller les situations où des travaux d'atténuation des sols résiduels ou des eaux souterraines contaminés sont en cours.

Inspection d’empriseDans l'ensemble, les pipelines de liquides réglementés par l'Office enregistrent une moyenne sur huit ans de 0,05 rejet de liquide à partir du corps de la canalisation par 1 000 km de pipelines, ou une fuite dont le signalement est obligatoire par 20 000 km de canalisations. En 2007, les sociétés réglementées par l'Office ont enregistré le taux de fréquence de rejets de liquides à partir du corps de la canalisation le plus élevé en huit ans, soit 0,28 rejet par 1 000 km de pipelines de liquide.

En moyenne, quelque 44 fuites par an sur les réseaux pipeliniers réglementés par l'Office font l'objet d'un rapport. Selon la moyenne sur huit ans, la fréquence des fuites de liquides autres qu'à partir du corps de la canalisation se situe à environ trois fuites par 1 000 km de pipelines. En 2007, il y a eu 2,4 fuites par 1 000 km de pipelines, un taux de fréquence comparable au niveau le plus bas en cinq ans enregistré en 2006

En 2007, aucun déversement de lubrifiants ou de carburants d'un volume supérieur à 1,5 m³ n'a eu lieu durant la construction ou l'entretien des pipelines réglementés par l'Office. Par contre, 36 déversements d'un volume inférieur à 1,5 m³ ont été enregistrés, et le volume total déversé représentait moins de 2 m³.

Taux de fréquence de fuites de liquides liées à l'exploitation

Taux de fréquence de fuites de liquides liées à l'exploitation

Rejets de gaz

Pour les huit dernières années, la fréquence des rejets de gaz à partir du corps de la canalisation des gazoducs réglementés par l'Office se situe à environ 0,08 rejet par 1 000 km, soit un rejet par 12 500 km. Le taux de fréquence moyen pour les gazoducs réglementés par l'Office s'établissait à 0,11 par 1 000 km en 2007, un taux supérieur à la normale mais comparable aux niveaux enregistrés en 2004 et 2005.

Par contre, les fuites de gaz liées à l'exploitation résultent du fonctionnement courant de l'équipement. Elles se produisent, par exemple, depuis les vannes ou les joints des brides. D'une fréquence moyenne d'environ 0,75 fuite par 1 000 km de pipelines, les fuites de gaz liées à l'exploitation surviennent sur les gazoducs réglementés par l'Office à peu près dix fois plus souvent que les rejets à partir du corps de la canalisation.

Taux de fréquence de rejets de gaz à partir du corps de la canalisation

Taux de fréquence de rejets de gaz à partir du corps de la canalisation

Camion de construction dans la prairie

INITIATIVES PRISES PAR L'OFFICE POUR PROMOUVOIR LA SÉCURITÉ
- REGARD EN AVANT

La protection de l'environnement et la sécurité du public et des personnes qui construisent et exploitent les pipelines revêtent une importance primordiale pour l'Office. Les taux de fréquence de blessures et les tendances relatives aux incidents, entre autres indicateurs, aident à cerner les domaines où des améliorations s'imposent.

En 2008, l'Office a constaté une hausse marquée du nombre d'incidents signalés. Il comprend que le maintien de la sécurité représente un défi difficile pour toutes les sociétés compte tenu de facteurs comme :

  • l'intensification récente des activités de construction;
  • la diminution du niveau d'expérience de la main-d'oeuvre;
  • la pression croissante des délais;
  • la complaisance des travailleurs.

Ces facteurs peuvent expliquer en partie la hausse des taux de fréquence de blessures dont fait état le rapport Gros plan sur la sécurité et l'environnement – Analyse comparative du rendement des pipelines. Pour un complément d'information, cliquez sur l'hyperlien « Indicateurs de rendement en matière de sécurité » sous l'onglet « La sécurité » sur le site Web de l'Office national de l'énergie. L'Office est déterminé à collaborer avec les sociétés et d'autres parties prenantes pour trouver des moyens d'améliorer le bilan de sécurité de l'industrie pipelinière. Son objectif est de réduire le nombre d'incidents et de blessures au niveau le plus bas possible. En 2007, il a adopté une approche axée sur le risque pour mieux connaître le degré de vigilance à exercer à l'égard d'un projet, en fonction de sa complexité, du risque encouru, et du rendement historique de la société. Cette façon de procéder lui permet de diriger ses ressources vers les sociétés qui profiteraient le plus de la surveillance de la conformité. Ainsi, le personnel de l'Office a mené 216 activités de conformité en 2008, soit plus du double qu'en 2007.

En mai 2009, l'Office a tenu un forum public au cours duquel un large éventail de sujets ont été abordés, depuis la réforme de la réglementation jusqu'à la sécurité pipelinière. La rencontre comprenait un débat de spécialistes sur la sécurité pipelinière réunissant des représentants d'entrepreneurs, de l'industrie et de régies du secteur pipelinier. Ce fut aussi une tribune pour échanger avec les parties prenantes sur les systèmes de gestion et les changements proposés à la réglementation. L'objectif du forum était de réduire le nombre d'incidents et d'améliorer le bilan de sécurité.

EN CAS D'URGENCE PIPELINIÈRE

Ligne d'urgence du Bureau de la sécurité des transports : 819-997-7887

Autres urgences - ONÉ : 403-807-9473

Canalisations en terrain montagneux
Date de modification :