ARCHIVED - Focus on Safety and Environment - A Comparative Analysis of Pipeline Performance - Summary - 2000-2009

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Focus on Safety and Environment - A Comparative Analysis of Pipeline Performance - Summary - 2000-2009 [PDF 2228 KB]

Focus on Safety and Environment - A Comparative Analysis of Pipeline Performance - 2000-2009

Copyright/Permission to Reproduce

December 2011

ISSN 1927-2308

From left to right: Trenching, Unloading pipe, Pipeline right-of-way

PIPELINE PERFORMANCE 2000-2009

Inspectors on right-of-wayThe National Energy Board (NEB, the Board) continuously searches for ways to improve its performance. This is the NEB’s ninth annual report comparing the safety, and environmental performance of NEB-regulated pipelines to their past performance and to that of pipelines regulated by similar organizations. It is one of the many ways the NEB tracks and regularly reports on results.

Throughout 2009, thousands of people worked on NEB-regulated pipelines. To prepare this report, the Board looked at the activities of more than 16 000 full-time equivalent workers who were involved in building, operating and maintaining more than 71 000 kilometres of pipeline in 2009.

The year 2009 was a busy one for the pipeline industry. There were several large pipeline construction projects underway, including the South Peace Pipeline Project in Northeast BC, the Brunswick Pipeline Project in New Brunswick, the Canadian portion of Keystone XL pipeline and the 1 078 km-long Alberta Clipper Expansion Project. In fact, pipeline workers logged 32 567 727 hours in 2009, or the equivalent of 3 717 years.

PUBLIC AND WORKER SAFETY

Injuries and Fatalities

There were no fatalities on NEB-regulated pipelines in 2009. However, companies regulated by the NEB reported two fatalities in 2008, the first work-related fatalities on NEB-regulated pipelines since 1997. While the NEB recognizes the efforts companies and their contractors make to operate safe workplaces, the nature of the industry and the sheer number of workers pose a continuous risk. In order to reduce this risk, proactive safety management must be a priority for the industry.

Injury Frequency

Injury Frequency

The latest statistics show that the injury rate for pipeline workers has dropped by 47 per cent. In 2009, the men and women who worked on NEB-regulated pipelines suffered 0.53 injuries for every 100 full-time workers. In 2008, the injury rate was one injury for every 100 full-time workers. This rate includes injuries to both employees and contractors.

To better understand worker injuries, the NEB looks at how often a regular, fulltime company employee is injured on the job compared to temporary, contract workers. Traditionally, contractors were injured more often than regular company employees. The NEB’s nine-year average indicates that approximately two out of 100 full-time contractors sustain an injury every year. In 2009, that injury rate fell nearly 60 per cent to 0.5 injuries for every 100 full-time contractors. However, of the seven serious injuries reported to the NEB in 2009, five were suffered by contractors. The most common direct cause of all serious injuries suffered by pipeline workers over the past nine years is being hit by an object or equipment.

Although there was a significant decrease in the frequency, the Board remains concerned about the number of injuries sustained by workers in the pipeline industry. As a result, NEB staff conducted 71 safety inspections in 2009, up from 42 in 2008. The purpose of these inspections is to monitor and evaluate activities in the field and at facilities to ensure the company is complying with appropriate safety legislation, regulations, standards and NEB project conditions.

Erosion control at a river crossing

Pipeline Right of Way Issues

Unauthorized activities such as construction, landscaping or equipment operation on a right of way can damage the pipeline or make it difficult for crews to access the pipe in case of an emergency. Because they are buried, pipelines can be at risk for accidental damage when there is a mechanical excavation or construction project underway nearby.

In 2009 the number of unauthorized activities on pipeline rights of way increased to 149 from 126 in 2008. This rise is due, in part to continued efforts by pipeline companies to increase reporting of unauthorized activities on pipeline rights of way. The majority of these unauthorized activities were conducted by contractors, which stresses the importance of the Call Before You Dig program and the Canadian Common Ground Alliance. As the federal regulatory champion for the Canadian Common Ground Alliance, the NEB works to promote living and working safely around pipelines and other buried infrastructure.

NEB-regulated pipeline are rarely touched or struck by someone digging or performing other work on a right of way, with one to two such events per year. This is less than five per cent of the total number of unauthorized activities. For the second year in a row, no unauthorized pipeline contacts were reported in 2009. However, increasing urban encroachment on pipeline rights of way continues to be a growing concern and may result in an increased number of unauthorized activities on rights of way.

Pipeline Ruptures

There were five ruptures on NEB-regulated pipelines in 2009, all on natural gas pipelines. Three of these ruptures happened in Ontario, one in British Columbia and one in Alberta. Four of these ruptures were caused by metal loss or cracking and the fifth occurred when a contractor employed by the pipeline company struck the line with a piece of equipment. All of these incidents are currently being investigated by the NEB.

The leading cause of ruptures on NEB-regulated pipelines is cracking and metal loss caused by corrosion. In other jurisdictions, external interference by third parties is the most frequent cause of pipeline ruptures.

Ruptures on NEB-regulated pipelines are relatively rare. There were no ruptures in 2008 and the nine-year average for ruptures on NEB-regulated pipelines is 1.9 per year.

PIPELINE ENVIRONMENTAL PERFORMANCEPipeline Construction

Liquid Releases, Leaks and Spills

In the case of a spill, leak or major release, the Board’s role is to oversee the regulated company’s response and ensure that environmental site assessments are conducted and a remedial action plan for cleaning up contamination at the spill site and the site’s eventual restoration to original or equivalent capacity is provided. The NEB monitors situations where remediation of residual soil or groundwater contamination is ongoing. This process is set out in the Board’s Remediation Process Guide, which was released in May 2011 and is available on the NEB website.

NEB-regulated liquid pipelines have a ten-year average of 0.1 pipe body liquid releases per 1 000 kilometres or one reportable leak for every 10 000 kilometres of pipe. In 2009, there were two pipe body liquid releases on NEB-regulated pipelines, which discharged a total of 1 243 m³ of liquid hydrocarbon products. One of these incidents released a significant volume of hydrocarbons, although the product did not impact any water bodies in the area. The Board is monitoring the ongoing remediation of the site along with the company’s management of residual contamination.

On average, approximately 40 operational leaks per year are reported on NEB-regulated pipeline systems. In 2009, there were 51 operational liquid leaks. Operational leaks originate from pipeline components such as flanges or valves. According to the nine-year average, there are approximately three liquid operational leaks for every 1 000 kilometres of pipeline, or one operational leak every 358 kilometres. In 2009 there were 3.53 leaks for every 1 000 kilometres of pipeline reported.

Operational Liquid Leak Frequency

Operational Liquid Leak Frequency

Gas Releases

Over the past ten years, there were approximately 0.1 releases of natural gas from pipebodies for every 1 000 kilometres of NEB-regulated gas pipelines. This equates to one gas release for every 11 000 kilometres of pipe. In 2009 the frequency of releases from natural gas pipelines rose to 0.15 releases per 1 000 km of pipeline which is lower than the rate reported in 2008, but still above the 10-year average.

Operational gas leaks, or leaks from pipeline components, including venting from valves and seepage at flanges, are approximately seven times more common than pipebody releases. In 2009 there was one leak per 1 000 kilometres of gas pipeline.

LOOKING AHEAD

Protecting the environment and the safety of the public and the people who build and operate pipelines is of paramount importance to the NEB. Injury frequencies, incident trends and other indicators help the NEB to identify where improvement is needed.

Since 2007, the NEB has noticed an increased trend in the number and the severity of incidents being reported by NEB-regulated companies. The NEB recognizes that a reduction in the number and severity of pipeline incidents depends on actions taken by industry. In order to understand the reasons behind the trend in more detail, the NEB analyzed over 100 incidents related to safety, integrity and damage prevention programs. The analysis identified both technical and management system root causes that contributed to each incident. The NEB shared the results of this analysis at a full-day workshop in February 2011 to promote the generation of systemic strategies to reduce incidents.

The Board also launched an initiative to approach incidents from a management systems perspective in order to help ensure that possible systemic issues are dealt with proactively. The Board intends to clarify its expectations on management systems through a proposed amendment to the Onshore Pipeline Regulations - 1999. This will assist companies in having a systematic approach to reducing safety and environmental incidents. The Board is also planning to develop leading performance measures which could be used to help better understand the root causes of incidents, in addition to the lagging measures tracked in this report.

The Board is committed to finding ways to improve the safety performance of the pipeline industry. In 2009, the NEB continued to use a risk-informed approach to determine the degree of regulatory oversight required for its regulated companies. This approach allows the NEB to focus compliance resources on companies that will benefit the most from regulatory oversight. In 2010, NEB staff conducted 211 compliance activities.

Continuous improvement will ensure that pipelines remain the safest mode of energy transportation in Canada. Safety and environmental protection are of paramount importance to the NEB.

Welding operation

FOR A PIPELINE EMERGENCY:

Please call the Transportation Safety Board's
24-hour hotline at 819-997-7887.

For other emergencies, please call the NEB at 403-807-9473.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Gros plan sur la sécurité et l'environnement - Analyse comparative du rendement des pipelines - Résumé - 2000-2009

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Gros plan sur la sécurité et l'environnement - Analyse comparative du rendement des pipelines - Résumé - 2000-2009 [PDF 2272 ko]

Gros plan sur la sécurité et l'environnement - Analyse comparative du rendement des pipelines - 2000-2009 - Décembre 2011

Droit d’auteur et droit de reproduction

Décembre 2011

De gauche à droite : Creusage d’une tranchée, Déchargement de la conduite, Emprise d’un pipeline

Rendement des pipelines pour la période 2000-2009

Inspecteurs sur l’emprise d’un pipelineL’Office national de l’énergie (ONÉ ou l’Office) recherche sans cesse de nouveaux moyens pour améliorer son rendement. Dans cette neuvième édition du rapport annuel sur cette question, l’Office compare le rendement en matière de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement des pipelines soumis à sa réglementation au rendement passé des mêmes pipelines et à celui de pipelines relevant d’autorités comparables. Il constitue l’un des nombreux moyens dont dispose l’ONÉ pour mesurer le rendement et faire rapport régulièrement des résultats.

En 2009, des milliers de personnes ont travaillé sur les pipelines réglementés par l’Office. Pour produire le présent rapport, l’ONÉ a analysé les activités de plus de 16 000 travailleurs équivalents temps plein associés, en 2009, à la construction, à l’exploitation et à l’entretien de plus de 71 000 kilomètres de pipeline.

L’année 2009 a été une période chargée dans le secteur pipelinier. Plusieurs projets d’envergure étaient en cours, notamment le projet pipelinier South Peace dans le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique, le projet de gazoduc Brunswick au Nouveau-Brunswick, la portion canadienne du projet Keystone XL et le projet d’agrandissement Alberta Clipper d’une longueur de 1 078 km. Au total, les travailleurs du secteur pipelinier ont accumulé 32 567 727 heures de travail en 2009, soit l’équivalent de 3 717 années.

SÉCURITÉ DU PUBLIC ET DES TRAVAILLEURS

Blessures et accidents mortels

Aucun accident mortel n’est survenu en 2009 sur des pipelines réglementés par l’ONÉ. On en avait compté deux en 2008, les premiers liés à des accidents du travail sur des pipelines relevant de l’ONÉ depuis 1997. L’Office reconnaît que les sociétés pipelinières et leurs entrepreneurs ont fait des efforts pour assurer la sécurité des lieux de travail. Malgré tout, en raison de la nature de l’industrie et du nombre considérable de personnes qui y travaillent, il y a toujours des risques d’incidents. Pour réduire ces risques, la gestion proactive de la sécurité doit être une priorité pour le secteur.

Taux de fréquence de blessures

Taux de fréquence de blessures

 

Les plus récentes données indiquent que le taux de fréquence de blessures pour les travailleurs pipeliniers a diminué de 47 %. En 2009, le taux de fréquence des blessures subies par les hommes et les femmes qui ont travaillé sur des pipelines réglementés par l’ONÉ s’est établi à 0,53 blessure par 100 travailleurs à temps plein. En 2008, il était d’une blessure par 100 travailleurs à temps plein. Sont incluses dans ce taux les blessures subies par les employés des sociétés pipelinières et les entrepreneurs.

Pour mieux comprendre les blessures dont sont victimes les travailleurs, l’ONÉ examine la fréquence des blessures subies par les employés à temps plein des sociétés en regard de celle des travailleurs contractuels temporaires. Dans le passé, ce taux de fréquence était plus élevé chez les entrepreneurs que chez les employés permanents des sociétés. La moyenne sur neuf ans de l’ONÉ indique que deux entrepreneurs à temps plein sur cent subissent des blessures chaque année. En 2009, ce taux a diminué de près de 60 % pour s’établir à 0,5 blessure par 100 entrepreneurs à temps plein. Toutefois, des sept blessures graves déclarées à l’ONÉ en 2009, cinq avaient été subies par des entrepreneurs. Au cours des neuf dernières années, les contacts entre un pipeline et un objet ou un équipement ont constitué la principale cause directe des blessures graves subies par les travailleurs du secteur.

Malgré la baisse marquée du taux de fréquence, l’Office demeure préoccupé par le nombre de blessures que subissent les travailleurs de l’industrie pipelinière, comme en témoignent les 71 inspections de sécurité qu’il a menées en 2009, comparativement à 42 en 2008. Ces inspections visent à surveiller et à évaluer les opérations sur le terrain et dans les installations pour veiller à ce que les sociétés observent les lois, les règlements et les normes sur la sécurité en vigueur, ainsi que les conditions auxquelles l’ONÉ assujettit les projets.

Dispositif de lutte contre l’érosion au point de franchissement d’un cours d’eau

Problèmes liés aux emprises des pipelines

Les activités non autorisées sur les emprises des pipelines, comme la construction, l’aménagement paysager ou les mouvements de véhicules, peuvent endommager les pipelines ou rendre leur accès difficile en cas d’urgence. Puisqu’ils sont enfouis dans le sol, les pipelines peuvent subir des dommages accidentels quand des travaux d’excavation mécanique ou de construction sont exécutés à proximité.

Le nombre d’activités non autorisées le long des emprises de pipelines a augmenté, passant de 126 en 2008 à 149 en 2009. Cette hausse s’explique en partie par les efforts soutenus des sociétés pipelinières pour signaler les activités non autorisées sur les emprises. La plupart de ces activités non autorisées sont l’oeuvre d’entrepreneurs, ce qui démontre bien l’importance du programme Téléphonez avant de creuser et de la Canadian Common Ground Alliance (alliance canadienne pour un terrain d’entente). À titre de champion fédéral de ce regroupement, l’Office fait la promotion du travail et de la vie en toute sécurité autour des infrastructures souterraines.

Il est rare que les pipelines réglementés par l’ONÉ soient heurtés lors de travaux d’excavation ou autres sur l’emprise, puisqu’on ne compte qu’un ou deux cas par année. Ces incidents représentent moins de 5 % de toutes les activités non autorisées. En 2009, pour la deuxième année d’affilée, aucun contact du genre n’a été signalé. Toutefois, l’empiètement croissant des populations urbaines sur les emprises pipelinières constitue une préoccupation grandissante et pourrait se traduire par une augmentation du nombre d’activités non autorisées le long des emprises.

Ruptures de pipelines

Cinq ruptures de pipelines réglementés par l’ONÉ sont survenues en 2009. Dans tous les cas, il s’agissait de gazoducs. Trois de ces ruptures se sont produites en Ontario, une en Colombie-Britannique et la dernière en Alberta. Quatre de ces cinq ruptures sont attribuables à une dégradation ou à une fissuration du métal; la cinquième est la conséquence d’un contact avec le pipeline par un entrepreneur travaillant pour la société pipelinière qui a heurté un raccord avec une pièce d’équipement. Tous ces incidents font actuellement l’objet d’enquêtes de l’ONÉ.

La fissuration et la dégradation du métal causées par la corrosion ont été les principales causes de ruptures des pipelines relevant de l’ONÉ. Pour ce qui est des pipelines relevant d’autres organismes de réglementation, ce sont les interférences extérieures qui constituent la principale cause.

Ce type d’incidents est relativement rare sur les pipelines réglementés par l’ONÉ. Aucune rupture n’a été enregistrée en 2008, et la moyenne sur neuf ans pour les pipelines réglementés par l’ONÉ est de 1,9 incident par année.

RENDEMENT DES PIPELINES À L'ÉGARD DE L'ENVIRONNEMENTConstruction de pipeline

Rejets, fuites et déversements de liquides

Lors d’un déversement, d’une fuite ou d’un rejet d’importance, le rôle de l’Office est de surveiller l’intervention des sociétés réglementées et de s’assurer qu’elles mènent des évaluations environnementales et qu’elles mettent en place un train de mesures correctives pour nettoyer toute contamination et, ultimement, remettre les lieux dans leur état original ou un état équivalent. L’Office surveille les endroits où des travaux d’atténuation de la contamination résiduelle des sols ou des eaux souterraines sont en cours. Ce processus est décrit dans le Guide sur le processus de réhabilitation de l’Office qui a été publié en mai 2011 et que l’on peut trouver sur le site Web de l’Office.

Dans l’ensemble, la moyenne sur dix ans des pipelines de liquides réglementés par l’ONÉ a été de 0,1 rejet de liquide à partir du corps de la canalisation par 1 000 km de pipeline, soit une fuite par 10 000 km de canalisation. En 2009, deux rejets de liquides à partir du corps de canalisations réglementées par l’ONÉ sont survenus, pour un rejet total d’hydrocarbures liquides de 1 243 m3. L’un de ces incidents a entraîné un rejet considérable d’hydrocarbures, sans toutefois qu’il y ait eu d’infiltration dans les plans d’eau de la région. L’Office surveille les mesures d’atténuation en cours sur le site, ainsi que la gestion que fait la société de la contamination résiduelle.

En moyenne, environ 40 fuites liées à l’exploitation sont signalées chaque année sur les réseaux pipeliniers réglementés par l’ONÉ. En 2009, il y a eu 51 fuites du genre. Les fuites de liquides liées à l’exploitation sont des fuites qui proviennent de composants comme les brides ou les vannes. Si l’on examine la moyenne sur neuf ans, environ trois fuites de liquides liées à l’exploitation sont signalées par 1 000 km de pipeline, soit une fuite tous les 358 km. En 2009, on a rapporté 3,53 fuites par 1 000 km de pipeline.

Taux de fréquence de fuites de liquides liées à l’exploitation

Taux de fréquence de fuites de liquides liées à l’exploitation

Rejets de gaz

Au cours des dix dernières années, il y a eu environ 0,1 fuite de gaz liée à l’exploitation par 1 000 km de gazoduc réglementé par l’ONÉ. Cela correspond à une fuite par 11 000 km de canalisation. En 2009, le taux de fréquence des rejets provenant des gazoducs a augmenté à 0,15 rejet par 1 000 km de pipeline. Bien que ce taux soit inférieur à celui de 2008, il demeure néanmoins plus élevé que la moyenne sur dix ans.

Les fuites de gaz liées à l’exploitation, ou fuites provenant d’un composant du gazoduc, comprennent les purges depuis les vannes et les suintements aux joints des brides. Ces fuites sont environ sept fois plus fréquentes que celles provenant du corps de la canalisation. En 2009, on a enregistré une fuite par 1 000 km de pipeline.

PERSPECTIVES

L’ONÉ accorde une importance considérable à la protection de l’environnement ainsi qu’à la sécurité du grand public et de ceux et celles qui construisent ou exploitent des pipelines. La fréquence des blessures, les tendances en matière d’incidents et les autres indicateurs étudiés aident l’ONÉ à déterminer les facteurs susceptibles d’amélioration.

Depuis 2007, l’Office a noté une tendance à la hausse du nombre et de la gravité des incidents qui sont déclarés par les sociétés soumises à sa réglementation. L’ONÉ est conscient que toute réduction du nombre et de la gravité des incidents mettant en cause des pipelines repose sur les mesures prises par l’industrie. Afin de comprendre davantage cette tendance, l’ONÉ a étudié plus de 100 situations liées à des programmes de sécurité, d’intégrité et de prévention des dommages. Cette analyse a permis de dégager les causes fondamentales de chaque incident, aussi bien celles d’ordre technique que celles se rattachant au système de gestion. L’ONÉ a dévoilé ces résultats dans le cadre d’un atelier d’une journée tenu en février 2011 pour encourager l’élaboration de stratégies systémiques afin de réduire les incidents.

L’Office a aussi lancé une initiative qui consiste à aborder les incidents sous l’angle des systèmes de gestion, de manière à favoriser le traitement proactif des enjeux d’ordre systémique. L’ONÉ prévoit également préciser ses attentes à l’égard des systèmes de gestion en proposant une modification au Règlement de 1999 sur les pipelines terrestres. Cette mesure aidera les sociétés à mettre en place une démarche systématique pour réduire les incidents liés à la sécurité et à l’environnement. L’Office prévoit en outre élaborer des indicateurs avancés qui pourraient servir à mieux comprendre les causes fondamentales des incidents et qui agiraient comme compléments aux indicateurs retardés qui font l’objet du présent rapport.

L’Office s’est engagé à trouver des moyens d’améliorer le bilan du secteur pipelinier en matière de sécurité. En 2009, l’ONÉ a continué de préconiser une démarche tenant compte des risques afin de déterminer le niveau de surveillance réglementaire requis pour les entreprises de son ressort. Cette démarche lui donne la possibilité de diriger ses ressources affectées à la conformité vers les sociétés les plus susceptibles de profiter du régime réglementaire de surveillance. En 2010, les membres du personnel de l’ONÉ ont mené 211 activités de vérification de la conformité.

L’amélioration continue des indicateurs permettra d’assurer que les pipelines demeurent le mode de transport d’énergie le plus sûr au Canada. La sécurité et la protection de l’environnement sont de la plus haute importance à l’ONÉ.

Opération de soudure

EN CAS D'URGENCE PIPELINIÈRE

Ligne d'urgence du Bureau de la sécurité des transports :
819-997-7887

Autres urgences - ONÉ : 403-807-9473

Date de modification :