Safety and environmental performance dashboard - June 2016

It is the National Energy Board’s (NEB) job to make sure companies are doing what it takes to keep their pipelines safe. The NEB does not simply make a decision or recommendation on a project and walk away. The NEB oversees safety for the full lifecycle of a project – from construction and operation to the end of its use. We hold those we regulate accountable so that the safety of Canadians and the environment is protected.

Pipeline incidents

Details
  • An event can be the result of one or more concurrent reportable incidents. A fire and a serious injury is an example of a single event with multiple reportable incidents.
Details
  • A significant adverse effect on the environment occurs when any chemical substance is released at a concentration or volume that has the potential to change the ambient environment in a manner that would cause harm to human life, wildlife or vegetation (e.g., glycol, potassium carbonate, methanol, methanol mix from hydrostatic testing, etc.).
  • Operation beyond design limit is typically linked to an over-pressure of the product in the pipe; however, if a pipe was exposed to excessive vibration and was not designed for this, this could be considered operation beyond design limits. Operation beyond design limits does not include equipment contacting the pipe, or corrosion pits, etc.
Details
  • The immediate cause(s) of an incident are the circumstances that directly lead to the occurrence of the incident. An incident may have more than one immediate cause.
Details
  • The basic cause(s) of an incident are the underlying reasons behind the immediate cause that explain why the immediate circumstances existed. An incident may have more than one basic cause.
Details
  • The immediate cause(s) of an incident are the circumstances that directly lead to the occurrence of the incident. An incident may have more than one immediate cause.
Details
  • The basic cause(s) of an incident are the underlying reasons behind the immediate cause that explain why the immediate circumstances existed. An incident may have more than one basic cause.
Details
  • Volumes of natural gas releases are typically not estimated as there is no accurate method of estimating the release on a per event basis. As a result of this, the Onshore Pipelines Regulations require that companies report all unintended releases of natural gas regardless of volume.

Unauthorized Activities (UA)

Details

UAs:

  • every contravention of the National Energy Board Pipeline Damage Prevention Regulations – Authorizations;
  • all damage to its pipe caused or identified during the construction of a facility across, on, along or under a pipeline, the operation, maintenance or removal of a facility, an activity that caused a ground disturbance within the prescribed area or the operation of vehicles or mobile equipment across the pipeline; and
  • any activity related to the construction of a facility across, on, along or under a pipeline, an activity that caused a ground disturbance within the prescribed area or the operation of vehicles or mobile equipment across a pipeline that the pipeline company considers could impair the safety or security of the pipe.
Details

UAs:

  • every contravention of the National Energy Board Pipeline Damage Prevention Regulations – Authorizations;
  • all damage to its pipe caused or identified during the construction of a facility across, on, along or under a pipeline, the operation, maintenance or removal of a facility, an activity that caused a ground disturbance within the prescribed area or the operation of vehicles or mobile equipment across the pipeline; and
  • any activity related to the construction of a facility across, on, along or under a pipeline, an activity that caused a ground disturbance within the prescribed area or the operation of vehicles or mobile equipment across a pipeline that the pipeline company considers could impair the safety or security of the pipe.
Details

UAs:

  • every contravention of the National Energy Board Pipeline Damage Prevention Regulations – Authorizations;
  • all damage to its pipe caused or identified during the construction of a facility across, on, along or under a pipeline, the operation, maintenance or removal of a facility, an activity that caused a ground disturbance within the prescribed area or the operation of vehicles or mobile equipment across the pipeline; and
  • any activity related to the construction of a facility across, on, along or under a pipeline, an activity that caused a ground disturbance within the prescribed area or the operation of vehicles or mobile equipment across a pipeline that the pipeline company considers could impair the safety or security of the pipe.
Details

UAs:

  • every contravention of the National Energy Board Pipeline Damage Prevention Regulations – Authorizations;
  • all damage to its pipe caused or identified during the construction of a facility across, on, along or under a pipeline, the operation, maintenance or removal of a facility, an activity that caused a ground disturbance within the prescribed area or the operation of vehicles or mobile equipment across the pipeline; and
  • any activity related to the construction of a facility across, on, along or under a pipeline, an activity that caused a ground disturbance within the prescribed area or the operation of vehicles or mobile equipment across a pipeline that the pipeline company considers could impair the safety or security of the pipe.

Near Misses

Details
  • Near misses are predictors of future behaviour, so this metric is a leading indicator for events/incidents that may be prevented if the at-risk behaviour is changed. The NEB studies the data and looks for trends, outliers and indicators then will use the information to develop compliance verification and promotion plans.

Your comments on the information presented on the Safety and Environmental Performance Dashboard are important to us. Please send any feedback on the content of this page to:dashboard@neb-one-gc.ca. For inquiries, reports or requests on this content, please refer to the NEB’s Contact Us page.

Previous safety and environment performance dashboards are also available through the archive web page.

Back to - Safety performance portal

Date modified:

Bilan du rendement sur le plan de la sécurité et de l’environnement - juin 2016

C’est à l’Office national de l’énergie qu’il revient de voir à ce que les sociétés prennent les mesures voulues pour que les pipelines continuent de fonctionner sans danger. Sa tâche ne s’arrête pas une fois qu’il a rendu une décision ou formulé une recommandation au sujet d’un projet. Elle s’étend sur tout le cycle de vie du projet, de la proposition à la construction et à l’exploitation et jusqu’à la fin de son utilisation.  En outre, il tient les sociétés qu’il réglemente responsables de veiller à la sécurité de la population canadienne et à la protection de l’environnement.

Incidents mettant en cause des pipelines

Détails
  • Un seul incident devant être signalé peut entraîner un événement. Une situation où se produisent un incendie et une blessure grave est un exemple d’événement comportant plusieurs incidents à signaler.
Détails
  • Des effets négatifs importants sur l’environnement surviennent lorsqu’une substance chimique (comme le glycol, le carbonate de potassium, le méthanol ou un mélange de méthanol issu des essais hydrostatiques) est rejetée à une concentration ou un volume qui risque de changer l’environnement et de causer ainsi du tort à la vie humaine, à la faune ou à la végétation.
  • L’exploitation au-delà des tolérances de fabrication est généralement liée à une surpression du produit dans le pipeline; si une conduite a été exposée à une vibration excessive et qu’elle n’a pas été conçue pour cela, cela pourrait être considéré comme une situation d’exploitation au-delà des tolérances de fabrication. L’exploitation au-delà des tolérances de fabrication ne comprend pas le contact d’un engin avec la conduite, les piqûres de corrosion, etc.
Détails
  • Les causes immédiates sont les circonstances directement à l’origine de l’incident. Il peut y en avoir une seule ou plusieurs.
Détails
  • Les causes fondamentales d’un incident sont les raisons sous-jacentes aux causes immédiates qui expliquent l’existence de celles-ci. Il peut y en avoir une seule ou plusieurs.
Détails
  • Les causes immédiates sont les circonstances directement à l’origine de l’incident. Il peut y en avoir une seule ou plusieurs.
Détails
  • Les causes fondamentales d’un incident sont les raisons sous-jacentes aux causes immédiates qui expliquent l’existence de celles-ci. Il peut y en avoir une seule ou plusieurs.
Détails
  • Le volume des rejets de gaz naturel n’est généralement pas estimé, car il n’existe pas de méthode pour quantifier le volume rejeté lors d’un incident. C’est pourquoi le Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur les pipelines terrestres prescrit aux sociétés de signaler tous les rejets de gaz naturel non intentionnels, quel que soit le volume.

Activitiés non autorisées

Détails

Activitiés non autorisées :

  • toute infraction au Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur la prévention des dommages aux pipelines (régime d’autorisation);
  • tout dommage à ses conduites survenu ou relevé au cours de la construction d’une installation au-dessus, en dessous ou le long d’un pipeline, de l’exploitation, de l’entretien ou de l’enlèvement d’une installation, une activité qui a entraîné un remuement du sol dans la zone réglementaire ou le franchissement d’un pipeline par un véhicule ou de l’équipement mobile;
  • toute activité reliée à la construction d’une installation au-dessus, en dessous ou le long d’un pipeline, une activité qui a entraîné un remuement du sol dans la zone réglementaire ou le franchissement d’un pipeline par un véhicule ou de l’équipement mobile et qui, selon la compagnie pipelinière, pourrait compromettre la sécurité ou la sûreté de la conduite.
Détails

Activitiés non autorisées :

  • toute infraction au Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur la prévention des dommages aux pipelines (régime d’autorisation);
  • tout dommage à ses conduites survenu ou relevé au cours de la construction d’une installation au-dessus, en dessous ou le long d’un pipeline, de l’exploitation, de l’entretien ou de l’enlèvement d’une installation, une activité qui a entraîné un remuement du sol dans la zone réglementaire ou le franchissement d’un pipeline par un véhicule ou de l’équipement mobile;
  • toute activité reliée à la construction d’une installation au-dessus, en dessous ou le long d’un pipeline, une activité qui a entraîné un remuement du sol dans la zone réglementaire ou le franchissement d’un pipeline par un véhicule ou de l’équipement mobile et qui, selon la compagnie pipelinière, pourrait compromettre la sécurité ou la sûreté de la conduite.
Détails

Activitiés non autorisées :

  • toute infraction au Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur la prévention des dommages aux pipelines (régime d’autorisation);
  • tout dommage à ses conduites survenu ou relevé au cours de la construction d’une installation au-dessus, en dessous ou le long d’un pipeline, de l’exploitation, de l’entretien ou de l’enlèvement d’une installation, une activité qui a entraîné un remuement du sol dans la zone réglementaire ou le franchissement d’un pipeline par un véhicule ou de l’équipement mobile;
  • toute activité reliée à la construction d’une installation au-dessus, en dessous ou le long d’un pipeline, une activité qui a entraîné un remuement du sol dans la zone réglementaire ou le franchissement d’un pipeline par un véhicule ou de l’équipement mobile et qui, selon la compagnie pipelinière, pourrait compromettre la sécurité ou la sûreté de la conduite.
Détails

Activitiés non autorisées :

  • toute infraction au Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur la prévention des dommages aux pipelines (régime d’autorisation);
  • tout dommage à ses conduites survenu ou relevé au cours de la construction d’une installation au-dessus, en dessous ou le long d’un pipeline, de l’exploitation, de l’entretien ou de l’enlèvement d’une installation, une activité qui a entraîné un remuement du sol dans la zone réglementaire ou le franchissement d’un pipeline par un véhicule ou de l’équipement mobile;
  • toute activité reliée à la construction d’une installation au-dessus, en dessous ou le long d’un pipeline, une activité qui a entraîné un remuement du sol dans la zone réglementaire ou le franchissement d’un pipeline par un véhicule ou de l’équipement mobile et qui, selon la compagnie pipelinière, pourrait compromettre la sécurité ou la sûreté de la conduite.

Quasi-incidents

Détails
  • Les quasi-incidents sont un indicateur des comportements futurs. Ce sont des indicateurs avancés des événements ou des incidents qui peuvent être évités si le comportement à risque est modifié. L’Office analyse les données afin d’en dégager les différents facteurs, tendances et indicateurs. Il utilise ensuite ces renseignements pour concevoir des plans de vérification et de promotion de la conformité.

Prière de transmettre tout commentaire ou toute question au sujet du contenu de la présente page à l’adresse tableaudebord@neb-one.gc.ca. Pour toute demande de renseignements, rapports ou autres sur les données présentées ici, prière de se rendre à la page Contactez-nous du site de l’Office.

Il est possible d’accéder aux bilans antérieurs du rendement sur le plan de la sécurité et de l’environnement à partir de la page Archives.

Retourner au portail sur le rendement en matière de sécurité

 

Date de modification :