National Energy Board Information Advisory - NEB IA 2016-001 - The effect of methanol on carbon steel pipelines

National Energy Board Information Advisory - NEB IA 2016-001 - The effect of methanol on carbon steel pipelines [PDF 228 KB]

File Ad-GA-PUB-IA 0101
10 March 2016

To: All companies under National Energy Board jurisdiction,
Canadian Energy Pipeline Association,
Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers, and
Provincial and Territorial Regulators

Subject: National Energy Board Information Advisory
NEB IA 2016-001

The National Energy Board (the Board) has issued the attached Information Advisory regarding the effect of methanol used as a drying agent on carbon steel pipelines following construction. The Board expects that this Information Advisory be given wide circulation to all relevant personnel within your organization.

Yours truly,

Original signed by

Sheri Young
Secretary of the Board

Attachment

Information Advisory
NEB IA 2016-001
10 March 2016

The effect of methanol on carbon steel pipelines

Basis for Issuance

On 10 February 2014 the Transportation Safety Board of Canada issued Pipeline Safety Advisory - 01/14 regarding the effect of methanol on carbon steels. The TSB also issued its pipeline investigation report (P13H0013) for the crude oil pipeline leak on Enbridge Pipelines Inc. (Enbridge) Line 21 at kilometer post (KP) 391 near Wrigley, NWT.

Background

The TSB investigated the crude oil release of 8 February 2013 on Enbridge Line 21 at KP 391 when oil-contaminated soil was detected during an investigative dig. The TSB’s key findings into the cause and contributing factors were:

  • The pipeline failure occurred at a through-wall crack located near a girth weld;
  • The defect was a result of internal stress corrosion cracking (SCC) through 98% of the pipe wall thickness;
  • The defect had likely initiated prior the pipeline being commissioned in 1985;
  • The cracking originated near the girth weld due to the high residual tensile stress on the pipeline inner diameter at that location;
  • The defect propagated through the remaining 2% of the pipe wall thickness as a result of fatigue caused by normal pipeline operations;
  • The methanol used following the pneumatic test at the time of construction had likely produced an internal pipe environment that was conducive to the initiation and propagation of SCC; and
  • Under specific environmental and stress conditions, methanol-induced intergranular cracking can occur in some pipe steel.

In its Safety Advisory, the TSB recommended the NEB review the practices relating to the use of methanol as a drying agent and to consult with industry to better understand its effect on internal SCC in carbon steels.

Enbridge and Det Norske Veritas (USA) Inc. (DNV GL) presented a paper regarding methanol-induced axial stress corrosion cracking (SCC) in a northern Canadian liquids pipeline at the International Pipeline Conference (IPC) in fall 2014. The paper outlines the major findings from a laboratory research program initiated to determine whether pipeline steels are susceptible to methanol-induced SCC.

NEB Expectations

The NEB has consulted with regulated companies, industry associations, and other regulatory agencies and has found no basis for suspecting that methanol as a drying agent in pipelines can lead directly to SCC. However, considering the above instance encountered by Enbridge and other instances when internal SCC has been found in vessels storing methanol to be used for hydrate control or as a drying agent, NEB regulated companies are advised to avoid storing anhydrous methanol in active or to be active pipelines.

The NEB regulated companies are cautioned that in the event the use of any alcohol-based drying agent is contemplated, a thorough study (including the effect of storage time) of the potential to cause cracking (including SCC) should be undertaken and documented in the company’s Integrity Management Program.

For More Information

For further information please refer to the following documents:

  1. The TSB Safety Advisory - 01/14
  2. The TSB Pipeline Investigation Report P13H0013
  3. Proceedings of the 2014 10th International Pipeline Conference IPC2014-33033
Date modified:

Avis d'information de l'Office national de l'énergie - ONE IA 2016-001 - L’effet du méthanol sur les canalisations en acier ordinaire

Avis d'information de l'Office national de l'énergie - ONE IA 2016-001 - L’effet du méthanol sur les canalisations en acier ordinaire [PDF 240 ko]

Dossier Ad-GA-PUB-IA 0101
Le 10 mars 2016

Destinataires : Toutes les sociétés du ressort de l’Office national de l’énergie
Association canadienne de pipelines d’énergie
Association canadienne des producteurs pétroliers
Organismes de réglementation provinciaux et territoriaux

Objet : Avis d’information de l’Office national de l’énergie
ONE IA 2016-001

L’Office national de l’énergie a publié l’avis d’information ci-joint portant sur l’effet du méthanol utilisé comme agent siccatif sur les canalisations en acier ordinaire durant la construction. L’Office s’attend à ce que tout le personnel concerné dans votre organisation prenne connaissance de cet avis.

Sincères salutations,

La secrétaire de l’Office,

Original signé par

Sheri Young

Pièce jointe

Avis d’information
ONE IA 2016-001
Le 10 mars 2016

L’effet du méthanol sur les canalisations en acier ordinaire

Motif

Le 10 février 2014, le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a publié un avis de sécurité relatif aux pipelines (01/14) concernant l’effet du méthanol sur les canalisations en acier ordinaire. Le BST a également rendu public son rapport d’enquête (P13H0013) portant sur la fuite de pétrole brut survenue à la borne kilométrique 391 (BK) de la canalisation 21 d’Enbridge Pipelines Inc. (Enbridge), près de Wrigley, aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Contexte

L’enquête du BST a été déclenchée après qu’une équipe a découvert la présence de sol contaminé par du pétrole brut lors d’une fouille d’enquête menée le 8 février 2013 à la BK 391 de la canalisation 21 d’Enbridge. Les principaux faits établis par le BST quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs étaient les suivants :

  • la défaillance du pipeline s’est produite dans une fissure traversant la paroi, près d’un joint circulaire;
  • le défaut découlait d’une fissuration interne par corrosion sous contrainte (FCC) sur 98 % de l’épaisseur de la paroi de la conduite;
  • le défaut s’était probablement amorcé avant la mise en service de la canalisation en 1985;
  • la fissuration a pris naissance près du joint circulaire en raison des fortes contraintes résiduelles de traction sur le diamètre intérieur du pipeline à cet endroit;
  • la défaillance s’est propagée au 2 % restant de l’épaisseur de la paroi de la conduite en raison de la fatigue causée par l’exploitation normale du pipeline;
  • le méthanol utilisé après l’essai à air comprimé au moment de la construction a probablement produit à l’intérieur de la conduite un milieu favorable à l’amorçage et à la propagation de la fissuration par corrosion sous contrainte;
  • dans des conditions particulières de milieu et de contrainte, une fissuration intergranulaire induite par le méthanol peut se produire dans certaines conduites en métal.

Dans son avis de sécurité, le BST recommandait que l’Office revoie la pratique d’utiliser du méthanol comme agent siccatif et qu’il consulte l’industrie afin de mieux comprendre cet effet sur la FCC interne dans les aciers ordinaires.

Enbridge et Det Norske Veritas (USA) Inc. (DNV GL) ont présenté un document traitant de la fissuration axiale par corrosion sous contrainte causée par le méthanol dans une canalisation de liquides du Nord du Canada lors de la Conférence internationale sur les pipelines (CIP) qui a eu lieu à l’automne 2014. Le document décrit les principales conclusions du programme de recherche en laboratoire mis sur pied pour savoir si les aciers utilisés dans la fabrication des pipelines constituaient un milieu propice à la FCC causée par le méthanol.

Attentes de l’Office

Après consultation des sociétés réglementées, d’associations de l’industrie et d’autres organismes de réglementation, l’Office n’a découvert aucune raison de croire que le méthanol utilisé comme agent siccatif dans les pipelines pourrait être la cause directe de la FCC. Cependant, vu le cas d’Enbridge mentionné précédemment, et d’autres cas où on a constaté une FCC interne dans des conteneurs où l’on avait entreposé du méthanol en vue de l’utiliser pour la régulation des hydrates ou comme agent siccatif, les sociétés relevant de la réglementation de l’Office ont conseillé d’éviter d’entreposer du méthanol anhydre dans les pipelines en service ou appelés à l’être.

Les sociétés du ressort de l’Office sont avisées qu’avant d’utiliser un agent siccatif à base d’alcool, elles doivent réaliser une étude approfondie (tenant compte notamment de l’effet du temps d’entreposage) sur les possibilités de fissuration (dont la FCC) et documenter cette étude dans leur programme de gestion de l’intégrité.

Complément d’information

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les documents suivants :

  1. L’avis de sécurité du BST – 01/14
  2. Le Rapport d’enquête de pipeline P13H0013 du BST
  3. Les actes de la dixième Conférence internationale sur les pipelines IPC2014-33033

 

Date de modification :