National Energy Board Safety Advisory - NEB SA 2016-01 - Potential for Substandard Properties of Pipeline Fitting Materials

National Energy Board Safety Advisory - NEB SA 2016-01 - Potential for Substandard Properties of Pipeline Fitting Materials [PDF 184 KB]

File OF-Surv-Gen 11
5 February 2016

To: All companies under National Energy Board jurisdiction,
Canadian Energy Pipeline Association
Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers, and
Provincial and Territorial Regulators

National Energy Board Safety Advisory
NEB SA 2016-01
Potential for Substandard Properties of Pipeline Fitting Materials

Please find attached Safety Advisory SA 2016-01.

The National Energy Board (NEB or the Board) expects regulated companies to demonstrate a proactive commitment to continual improvement in safety, security and environmental protection, and to promote a positive safety culture as part of their management systems.

Safety Advisories are issued periodically in order to improve the oil and gas industry’s awareness of an identified safety or environmental concern with the goal of preventing incidents from occurring in the first place. A Safety Advisory also serves to further highlight NEB requirements, and conveys the Board’s expectation that regulated companies take appropriate action to mitigate any potential impacts to people or the environment.

If you have any questions regarding this advisory please contact Integrity Management personnel at the Board through our toll free number at 1-800-899-1265.

Yours truly,

Original signed by

Sheri Young
Secretary of the Board

Attachment


Safety Advisory
SA-2016-01
February 2016

Standards for Manufactured Pipe & Fittings and
the Potential for Substandard Material Properties

Background

The National Energy Board (NEB or the Board) is aware of instances of pipe and components having substandard material properties installed on pipelines under NEB or other regulatory bodies’ jurisdiction. In the cases examined, documentation from the manufacturers indicated that the materials provided met the required specifications. Subsequent testing indicated that some of the pipe and fittingsFootnote 1 did not meet all of the required material specifications. In some instances, the substandard materials were determined to have been a contributing factor to pipeline failure during pressure testing or during operation.

Although some of the substandard materials cases described below appeared to have been isolated, the Board subsequently identified additional cases on pipelines in Canada and the United States (US). The issue of pipe and fittings having substandard material properties entering the market place, and subsequently being installed on pipelines, is an industry wide concern.

US Advisory on Substandard Pipe Materials

In 2008, the US Department of Transportation, Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA) observed hydrostatic test failures and excessive expansions on a number of pipelines under construction in the US. Upon investigation, PHMSA attributed the cause of the incidents to the installation of pipe with substandard material properties.

In 2009, PHMSA issued an advisory bulletin (ADB-09-01) warning of the potential for micro-alloyed high strength line pipe to exhibit inconsistent chemical and mechanical properties, with yield strengths as much as 15% below specified requirements. The advisory also warns that in some cases, the pipe materials may successfully pass a hydrostatic test but still present a future concern.

Canadoil Asia Fitting Case

In December 2010, the NEB was notified of a steel fitting (elbow) that had expanded following a hydrostatic test at a pipeline facility in the US. PHMSA attributed the cause of the elbow expansion to the fitting having a yield strength lower than the specified minimum yield strength. The pipeline operator removed a number of other fittings at the facility for mechanical testing and identified additional fittings with substandard material properties.

The substandard fittings were traced to a manufacturer identified as Canadoil AsiaFootnote 2 with production originating from Thailand. The fittings were manufactured to the Manufacturers Standard Society (MSS) SP-75 Specification for High-Test, Wrought, Butt-Welding Fittings and were indicated as having met the specified material requirements on the Material Test Report (MTR). However, due to inadequacies in some processes at the manufacturing plant, not all fittings met the specified material requirements.

EZEflow Fitting Case

In 2013, a pipeline rupture occurred on a sweet natural gas pipeline in Alberta. An estimated 16.5 million cubic meters of natural gas was released. The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) released its Pipeline Investigation Report on the incident (P13H0107) on 3 November 2015.

Investigations by the TSB, the NEB, as well as the pipeline operator, indicated substandard materials were present in the manufactured elbow where the failure initiated. Fitness for service testing was conducted on the pipeline fittings prior to their installation in 2008, after two fittings failed during the pressure test. Although hardness testing indicated the elbow in question had lower mechanical properties, the operator determined that the elbow was acceptable for use, as the wall thickness would compensate for the lower mechanical properties. Neither the manufacturer nor the pipeline operator physically verified the wall thickness of this specific fitting. The investigation determined that the wall thickness was less than that indicated on the MTR.

Since this incident, the pipeline operating company has increased its manufactured fitting specifications beyond the manufacturing standards acceptable under the current Canadian Standards Association (CSA) Z662-15 Oil and Gas Pipeline Systems to prevent a similar incident from occurring. The fitting manufacturer, EZEflow, has made improvements to both its manufacturing procedures and its quality assurance (QA) programs. The quality issue appears to be limited to Grade 550 elbows manufactured for a single customer.

Preventive Actions

The Board holds companies wholly responsible for assuring that the pipe and fittings they purchase meet the specifications requested and required for the intended project.

As part of the NEB’s mandate to promote safety and security of pipelines, a more widespread and proactive approach is being taken.

Existing industry-accepted standards such as CSA Z245.11, CSA Z245.1, and MSS SP-75 have appeared to be insufficient in preventing the manufacture of pipe and fittings with substandard material properties. The CSA and MSS standards are living documents that are updated as needed. Both CSA and MSS are receptive to making any required updates to the standards, and the Board will continue to communicate with them on this issue.

As the changes necessary to identify substandard material properties have not yet been made in the standards, the Board expects companies to develop or enhance their own fitting specifications beyond the current standards to ensure that the fittings they acquire and install meet the material property requirements.

Pipeline companies regulated by the NEB must develop specifications for the pipe and components to be used in a pipeline and shall submit them to the Board when required to do so, as per section 14 of the National Energy Board Onshore Pipeline Regulations (OPR). Companies shall have QA programs in place to ensure that the pipe and components meet the specifications developed by the company, as required by section 15 of the OPR. Reviewing MTRs, without independent onsite verification, may not provide sufficient protection against the introduction of substandard components. Companies should exert greater oversight in the manufacturing process directly and/or indirectly through third party QA.

The NEB may issue additional guidance to companies on what changes are expected to be made to companies’ internal specifications and QA programs.

Further Information

If you have any questions regarding this advisory please contact Integrity Management personnel at the Board through our toll free number at 1-800-899-1265.

Footnote

Footnote 1

Fittings are manufactured components such as elbows, reducers, and tees that connect sections of pipeline.

Return to Footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

The Canadoil Asia facility in Thailand is no longer in operation. Canadoil Asia is no longer affiliated with Canadoil Forge and CFC Canadoil.

Return to Footnote 2 referrer

Avis de sécurité SA 2016-01 de l’Office national de l’énergie - Raccords pouvant comporter des matériaux aux propriétés de qualité inférieure

Avis de sécurité SA 2016-01 de l’Office national de l’énergie - Raccords pouvant comporter des matériaux aux propriétés de qualité inférieure [PDF 196 ko]

Dossier OF-Surv-Gen 11
Le 5 février 2016

Destinataires : Toutes les sociétés du ressort de l’Office national de l’énergie
Association canadienne de pipelines d’énergie
Association canadienne des producteurs pétroliers
Organismes de réglementation provinciaux et territoriaux

Avis de sécurité SA 2016-01 de l’Office national de l’énergie
Raccords pouvant comporter des matériaux aux propriétés de qualité inférieure

Madame, Monsieur,

Vous trouverez ci-joint l’avis de sécurité SA 2016-01.

L’Office national de l’énergie attend des sociétés réglementées qu’elles démontrent, dans leurs systèmes de gestion, leur engagement proactif à constamment améliorer la sécurité, la sûreté et la protection de l’environnement, ainsi qu’à promouvoir une culture de sécurité positive.

Des avis de sécurité sont publiés régulièrement afin de renseigner le secteur pétrolier et gazier sur des préoccupations connues en matière de sécurité ou d’environnement et, ainsi, de prévenir les incidents. Les avis de sécurité servent également à mettre l’accent sur les exigences de l’Office et illustrent les attentes de celui-ci quant à la prise des mesures qui s’imposent par les sociétés réglementées pour atténuer les effets potentiels sur les personnes ou sur l’environnement.

Pour toute question sur l’avis, veuillez communiquer avec le personnel de la gestion de l’intégrité ou avec l’Office au numéro sans frais 1-800-899-1265.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

La secrétaire de l’Office,

Original signé par

Sheri Young

Pièce jointe


Avis de sécurité
SA 2016-01
Février 2016

Normes visant les tuyaux et raccords préfabriqués
et possibilité de matériaux aux propriétés de qualité inférieure

Contexte

L’Office national de l’énergie sait que certains tuyaux et pièces installés sur des pipelines assujettis à sa réglementation ou à la réglementation d’autres organismes sont composés de matériaux de qualité inférieure. Dans les cas examinés, la documentation des fabricants indiquait que les matériaux fournis respectaient les caractéristiques techniques requises. Les essais qui ont suivi ont démontré que certains tuyaux et certains raccordsNote de bas de page 1 ne respectaient pas toutes les caractéristiques techniques exigées pour les matériaux. Dans certains cas, il a été jugé que les matériaux de qualité inférieure avaient contribué à la défaillance du pipeline au moment des essais sous pression et pendant l’exploitation.

Même si certains cas de matériaux de qualité inférieure décrits ci-dessous semblent avoir été isolés, l’Office a par la suite découvert d’autres cas liés à des pipelines au Canada et aux États-Unis. L’ensemble de l’industrie se préoccupe de la vente, et de l’installation ultérieure sur des pipelines, de tuyaux et de raccords composés de matériaux de qualité inférieure.

Avis des États-Unis sur les conduites faites de matériaux de qualité inférieure

En 2008, l’administration de la sécurité des produits dangereux et des pipelines (PHMSA) du Département américain des transports a constaté l’échec de certains essais hydrostatiques et l’expansion excessive d’un certain nombre de pipelines en construction aux États Unis. Après enquête, la PHMSA a attribué la cause des incidents à l’installation de tuyaux fabriqués avec des matériaux de qualité inférieure.

En 2009, la PHMSA a émis un avis (ADB-09-01) mettant en garde contre la possibilité que les conduites tubulaires en micro-alliage à forte résistance présentent des propriétés chimiques et mécaniques irrégulières et que leur force de rupture soit de 15 % inférieure aux exigences indiquées. L’avis signale également que dans certains cas les matériaux des tuyaux résisteront aux essais hydrostatiques, mais qu’ils constitueront toujours une préoccupation.

Affaire portant sur un raccord de Canadoil Asia

En décembre 2010, l’Office a été informé de l’expansion d’un raccord en acier (coude) après un essai hydrostatique à une installation pipelinière aux États-Unis. Selon la PHMSA, l’expansion du coude était attribuable à un raccord affichant une résistance inférieure à la force de rupture minimale précisée. L’exploitant du pipeline a retiré un certain nombre de raccords additionnels à l’installation afin de faire une vérification mécanique et a décelé d’autres raccords dont les matériaux étaient de qualité inférieure.

Les raccords de qualité inférieure ont été produits en Thaïlande par un fabricant appelé Canadoil AsiaNote de bas de page 2. Les raccords ont été fabriqués selon la norme SP-75 de la Manufacturers Standard Society (MSS) visant les raccords en acier à grande résistance soudés bout à bout et ont été déclarés conformes aux exigences relatives aux matériaux précisés, selon le rapport sur les essais des matériaux. Toutefois, en raison d’anomalies de certains processus à l’usine de fabrication, certains raccords ne respectaient pas les exigences concernant les matériaux.

Affaire portant sur un raccord d’EZEflow

En 2013, il y a eu rupture d’un pipeline de gaz naturel non corrosif en Alberta. Environ 16,5 millions de mètres cubes de gaz naturel ont été relâchés dans l’atmosphère. Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a publié son rapport d’enquête de pipeline (P13H0107), le 3 novembre 2015.

Les enquêtes menées respectivement par le BST, l’Office et l’exploitant du pipeline ont révélé que le coude préfabriqué qui a causé la rupture comportait des matériaux de qualité inférieure. L’essai d’aptitude fonctionnelle a été effectué sur les raccords du pipeline avant leur installation en 2008, après l’échec de deux raccords à l’essai sous pression. Même si l’essai de dureté a révélé que le coude en question affichait des propriétés mécaniques plus faibles, l’exploitant a jugé que le coude pouvait être utilisé, car l’épaisseur des parois compenserait les propriétés mécaniques plus faibles. Ni le fabricant, ni l’exploitant du pipeline n’a vérifié l’épaisseur des parois de ce raccord particulier. L’enquête a déterminé que l’épaisseur des parois était inférieure à celle indiquée dans le rapport sur les essais des matériaux.

Depuis cet incident, la société qui exploite le pipeline a adopté des caractéristiques techniques visant la fabrication des raccords qui sont supérieures aux normes de fabrication acceptables selon la norme CSA Z662-15 (Association canadienne de normalisation) sur les réseaux de canalisations de pétrole et de gaz, afin d’empêcher qu’un incident similaire ne se reproduise. Le fabricant du raccord, EZEflow, a apporté des améliorations à ses procédures de fabrication et à ses programmes d’assurance de la qualité. Le problème de qualité semble être limité aux coudes de nuance 550 fabriqués pour un seul client.

Mesures préventives

L’Office tient les sociétés pleinement responsables de s’assurer que les tuyaux et les raccords qu’elles achètent sont conformes aux caractéristiques techniques exigées pour le projet prévu.

Dans le cadre de son mandat de promouvoir la sûreté et la sécurité des pipelines, l’Office a adopté une approche plus large et proactive.

Les normes existantes qui sont acceptées par l’industrie, soit CSA Z245.11, CSA Z245.1 et MSS SP-75, ont semblé incapables d’empêcher la fabrication de tuyaux et de raccords comportant des matériaux de qualité inférieure. Les normes de la CSA et de la MSS sont des documents évolutifs qui sont mis à jour au besoin. Tant la CSA que la MSS sont disposées à mettre à jour les normes en conséquence, et l’Office continuera de communiquer avec elles sur cette question.

Étant donné que les modifications nécessaires pour pouvoir reconnaître les matériaux de qualité inférieure n’ont pas encore été apportées aux normes, l’Office s’attend à ce que les sociétés établissent leurs propres caractéristiques techniques relativement aux raccords, ou les rehaussent, pour qu’elles surpassent les normes actuelles, afin de s’assurer que les raccords qu’elles achètent et installent respectent les propriétés exigées pour les matériaux.

Les sociétés pipelinières réglementées par l’Office doivent mettre au point des caractéristiques techniques visant les tuyaux et les pièces utilisés dans les pipelines et présenter les renseignements afférents à l’Office lorsque celui-ci le demande, conformément à l’article 14 du Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur les pipelines terrestres (RPT). Les sociétés doivent avoir mis en œuvre des programmes d’assurance de la qualité afin de s’assurer que les tuyaux et les pièces respectent les caractéristiques techniques établies par la société, conformément à l’article 15 du RPT. L’examen des rapports sur les essais auxquels sont soumis les matériaux, sans une vérification indépendante sur place, peut ne pas constituer une protection suffisante contre l’introduction de pièces de qualité inférieure. Les sociétés devraient pouvoir mieux surveiller le processus de fabrication directement ou indirectement au moyen du processus d’assurance de la qualité effectué par une tierce partie.

L’Office pourrait donner d’autres directives aux sociétés sur les modifications à apporter à leurs caractéristiques techniques internes et à leurs programmes d’assurance de la qualité.

Renseignements complémentaires

Pour toute question sur l’avis, veuillez communiquer avec le personnel de la gestion de l’intégrité ou avec l’Office au numéro sans frais 1-800-899-1265.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Les raccords désignent des pièces préfabriquées comme des coudes, des réducteurs et des raccords en « T » qui permettent d’emboîter les tronçons du pipeline.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

L’installation de Canadoil Asia en Thaïlande n’est plus en exploitation. Canadoil Asia n’est plus affiliée à Canadoil Forge et CFC Canadoil.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2