National Energy Board Safety Advisory - NEB SA 2016-02 - Thermal Expansion - Pipeline Design and Operating Considerations

National Energy Board Safety Advisory - NEB SA 2016-02 - Thermal Expansion - Pipeline Design and Operating Considerations [PDF 185 KB]

File OF-Surv-Gen 11
5 February 2016

To: All companies under National Energy Board jurisdiction,
Canadian Energy Pipeline Association
Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers, and
Provincial and Territorial Regulators

National Energy Board Safety Advisory
NEB SA 2016-02
Thermal Expansion - Pipeline Design and Operating Considerations

Please find attached Safety Advisory SA 2016-02.

The National Energy Board (NEB or the Board) expects regulated companies to demonstrate a proactive commitment to continual improvement in safety, security and environmental protection, and to promote a positive safety culture as part of their management systems.

Safety Advisories are issued periodically in order to improve the oil and gas industry’s awareness of an identified safety or environmental concern with the goal of preventing incidents from occurring in the first place. A Safety Advisory also serves to further highlight NEB requirements, and conveys the Board’s expectation that regulated companies take appropriate action to mitigate any potential impacts to people or the environment.

If you have any questions regarding this advisory please contact Integrity Management personnel at the Board through our toll free number at 1-800-899-1265.

Yours truly,

Original signed by

Sheri Young
Secretary of the Board

Attachment


Safety Advisory
SA-2016-02
February 2016

Thermal Expansion
Pipeline Design and Operating Considerations

Background

In 2013, a pipeline rupture occurred on a sweet natural gas pipeline in Alberta that caused the release of an estimated 16.5 million cubic meters of natural gas. The rupture did not result in a fire, and no injuries occurred.

Investigation into the incident (see Transportation Safety Board Pipeline Investigation Report P13H0107) indicated that the rupture occurred due to the lack of clear operating criteria and thermal expansion of the pipeline. Other contributing causes of the failure are as follows:

Discrepancy between the specified design limits, and the potential operating envelope used for stress analysis:
The Design Basis Memorandum (DBM) for the project specified a maximum discharge temperature of 58°C at the upstream compressor station. However, the stress analysis conducted for this project had used 45°C as the maximum discharge temperature, as well as a non-conservative maximum temperature decay profile decreasing linearly from 45°C to a ground temperature of 10°C, over a distance of 10 km.

Operating conditions outside the design limits of the pipeline:  Over the 50-day period leading up to the failure, the pipeline was operated at a temperature of 42°C to 48°C, despite the fact the stress analysis was performed for a maximum of 45°C temperature. Just prior to the rupture, the discharge temperature at the upstream compressor station was 51.5°C. The rupture initiated at an overbend elbow due to the excessive stress impressed upon it by the combination of thermal expansion and internal pressure.

Lack of communication between teams:
The operator’s project team (design team members and consultants) did not effectively communicate the maximum discharge temperature of the upstream compressor station.

Lack of Quality Assurance:
The design review process did not identify the discrepancy in the maximum compressor station discharge temperatures between the DBM and the subsequent pipeline stress analysis. In addition, no verification of assumptions was made at the time of design compared to the actual operating envelope during operation (those are, pressure and temperature).

Preventive Actions

Section 40 of the National Energy Board Onshore Pipeline Regulations (OPR) requires that a company’s integrity management program:

  • ...anticipates, prevents, manages and mitigates conditions that could adversely affect safety or the environment during the design, construction, operation, maintenance or abandonment of a pipeline.

Pipeline companies are expected to implement processes and procedures for quality assurance (QA) in the design phase of a pipeline. These QA programs must include a means to:

  • Ensure that odels and parameters used for stress analysis are appropriate for the anticipated construction and potential operating envelope of the pipeline, as per Canadian Standards Association (CSA) Z662-15, Clauses 4.2.1.1 and 4.2.2.1.
  • Ensure that the pipeline’s operating envelope is within its design limits prior to operating the pipeline, as per CSA Z662-15, Clause 10.5.1.
  • Verify that assumptions made during the design are still appropriate once the pipeline is in operation. If the design assumptions are no longer valid and changes to the operation of the pipeline are required, management of change procedures must be followed, as per paragraph [6.5(1)(i) of the OPR.
  • Consider thermal expansion during design, as per CSA Z662-15, Clause 4.2.2.2 - identify locations that may be susceptible to thermal expansion, and implement mitigation measures where required.

Pipeline companies are expected to consider inadequate design as a potential integrity threat for the safe operation of their pipelines. As for any other threat, its associated risk needs to be assessed and mitigated to an acceptable level.

Further Information

If you have any questions regarding this advisory please contact Integrity Management personnel at the Board through our toll free number at 1-800-899-1265.

Avis de sécurité SA 2016-02 - Expansion thermique - Points à prendre en considération concernant la conception et l’exploitation d’un pipeline

Avis de sécurité SA 2016-02 - Expansion thermique - Points à prendre en considération concernant la conception et l’exploitation d’un pipeline [PDF 196 ko]

Dossier OF-Surv-Gen 11
Le 5 février 2016

Destinataires : Toutes les sociétés du ressort de l’Office national de l’énergie
Association canadienne de pipelines d’énergie
Association canadienne des producteurs pétroliers
Organismes de réglementation provinciaux et territoriaux

Avis de sécurité SA 2016-02
Expansion thermique - Points à prendre en considération concernant la conception et l’exploitation d’un pipeline

Madame, Monsieur,

Vous trouverez ci-joint l’avis de sécurité SA 2016-02 de l’Office national de l’énergie.

L’Office national de l’énergie attend des sociétés réglementées qu’elles démontrent, dans leurs systèmes de gestion, leur engagement proactif à constamment améliorer la sécurité, la sûreté et la protection de l’environnement, ainsi qu’à promouvoir une culture de sécurité positive.

Des avis de sécurité sont publiés régulièrement afin de renseigner le secteur pétrolier et gazier sur des préoccupations connues en matière de sécurité ou d’environnement et, ainsi, de prévenir les incidents. Les avis de sécurité servent également à mettre l’accent sur les exigences de l’Office et illustrent les attentes de celui-ci quant à la prise des mesures qui s’imposent par les sociétés réglementées pour atténuer les effets potentiels sur les personnes ou sur l’environnement.

Pour toute question sur l’avis, veuillez communiquer avec le personnel de la gestion de l’intégrité ou avec l’Office au numéro sans frais 1-800-899-1265.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

La secrétaire de l’Office,

Original signé par

Sheri Young

Pièce jointe


Avis de sécurité
SA 2016-02
Février 2016

Expansion thermique
Points à prendre en considération concernant la conception et l’exploitation d’un pipeline

Contexte

En 2013, il y a eu rupture d’un pipeline de gaz naturel non corrosif en Alberta qui a entraîné le rejet dans l’atmosphère de 16,5 millions de mètres cubes de gaz naturel. Cette rupture n’a donné lieu à aucun incendie, ni blessure.

L’enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports (voir le rapport d’enquête de pipeline P13H0107) a révélé que la rupture était attribuable à l’absence de critères d’exploitation clairs et à l’expansion thermique du pipeline. Les autres causes ayant contribué à la rupture sont énoncées ci-après.

Divergence entre la tolérance nominale précisée et les conditions d’exploitation possibles qui ont été utilisées pour l’analyse des contraintes de la canalisation - Le rapport de référence sur le dimensionnement fonctionnel précisait une température de refoulement maximale de 58 °C à la station de compression en amont. Toutefois, l’analyse des contraintes de la canalisation effectuée pour ce projet a utilisé 45 °C comme température de refoulement maximale, ainsi qu’un profil non conservateur de la chute linéaire de la température maximale de 45 °C à la température du sol de 10 °C, sur une distance de 10 km.

Divergence au titre des conditions d’exploitation du pipeline - Dans les 50 jours précédant la rupture, la température du pipeline en exploitation se situait entre 42 °C et 48 °C, malgré le fait que l’analyse des contraintes de la canalisation a porté sur une température maximale de 45 °C. Juste avant la rupture, la température de refoulement à la station de compression en amont indiquait 51,5 °C. La rupture a eu lieu dans un coude vertical descendant, en raison de contraintes excessives imposées par la combinaison de l’expansion thermique et de la pression interne.

Manque de communication entre les équipes - L’équipe de projet de l’exploitant (membres de l’équipe de conception et experts conseils) n’a pas communiqué de façon adéquate la température de refoulement maximale à la station de compression en amont.

Lacunes sur le plan de l’assurance de la qualité - Le processus de révision de la conception n’a pas fait ressortir la divergence associée aux températures de refoulement maximales à la station de compression entre le rapport de référence et l’analyse des contraintes du pipeline qui a suivi. De plus, aucune vérification des hypothèses n’a été effectuée au moment de la conception comparativement aux conditions d’exploitation réelles pendant l’exploitation du pipeline (soit la pression et la température).

Mesures préventives

L’article 40 du Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur les pipelines terrestres (RPT) exige que la société adopte un programme de gestion de l’intégrité :

  • La compagnie établit, met en œuvre et entretient un programme de gestion de l’intégrité qui permet de prévoir, de prévenir, de gérer et d’atténuer les conditions pouvant avoir une incidence négative sur la sécurité ou l’environnement dans le cadre de la conception, de la construction, de l’exploitation, de l’entretien ou de la cessation d’exploitation du pipeline.

Les sociétés pipelinières sont tenues de mettre en œuvre des processus et procédures d’assurance de la qualité au cours de l’étape de la conception d’un pipeline. Les programmes d’assurance de la qualité doivent comprendre ce qui suit :

  • s’assurer que les modèles et paramètres utilisés pour l’analyse des contraintes de la canalisation sont adéquats pour la construction prévue et les conditions d’exploitation éventuelles du pipeline, conformément aux articles 4.2.1.1 et 4.2.2.1 de la norme CSA Z662-15 de l’Association canadienne de normalisation;
  • s’assurer que les conditions d’exploitation du pipeline correspondent à celles établies au moment de la conception avant la mise en exploitation du pipeline, conformément à l’article 10.5.1 de la norme CSA Z662-15;
  • s’assurer que les hypothèses établies au moment de la conception sont toujours adéquates lorsque le pipeline est en exploitation. Si elles ne sont plus valides et que des changements à l’exploitation du pipeline doivent être apportés, il faut suivre les procédures sur la gestion des changements, tel que prévu à l’alinéa 6.5(1)i) du RPT;
  • quant à l’expansion thermique prévue à la conception, conformément à l’article 4.2.2.2 de la norme CSA Z662-15, repérer les endroits où pourrait se produire une expansion thermique et mettre en œuvre des mesures d’atténuation, au besoin.

Il incombe aux sociétés pipelinières d’envisager comme menace éventuelle à l’intégrité la possibilité d’une conception inadéquate afin d’assurer l’exploitation sécuritaire de leurs pipelines. Comme c’est le cas pour toute autre menace, les risques qui y sont associés doivent être évalués et ramenés à un niveau acceptable.

Renseignements complémentaires

Pour toute question sur l’avis, veuillez communiquer avec le personnel de la gestion de l’intégrité ou avec l’Office au numéro sans frais 1-800-899-1265.