ARCHIVED - NEB SA 2004-01 Hydrates

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

NEB SA2004-01 Hydrates [PDF 170 KB]

August 2004

File 9700-A000-1-30
19 August 2004

To: All companies under National Energy Board jurisdiction,
Canadian Energy Pipeline Association, Canadian Association
of Petroleum Producers and provincial regulators

National Energy Board Safety Advisory

Attached is a safety advisory regarding the need to predict and control hydrate formation in pipeline systems. This advisory should be given wide circulation to technical personnel involved with pipeline operation and maintenance within your organization.

If you have questions concerning this initiative, please call Karen Duckworth (karen.duckworth@neb-one.gc.ca) at 403-299-3669.

Yours truly,

Michel L. Mantha
Secretary

Attachment


Safety Advisory
NEB SA 2004-01

August 2004

Hydrates

Incident Description

On 15 May 2002, an 18-inch-diameter natural gas transmission pipeline ruptured near Fort St. John, B.C. releasing sour gas (0.41 % H2S). The escaping gas did not ignite. The diffusion of the plume required the evacuation of residents downwind of the release. The rupture occurred at an S-bend section of pipe where the pipe descends underground between a sending barrel and an isolation valve. A company employee was working on the sending barrel when the rupture occurred. The force of the rupture knocked the worker to the ground, but he was otherwise unhurt.

Cause of the Incident

The ensuing investigation revealed that the likely cause of the pipeline failure was a shock wave or impact created after a hydrate or ice plug blockage was released by a differential pressure. Though the pipe ruptured at an area of pipe weakened by a manufacturing defect, the increase in pressure would have caused a rupture of the pipe somewhere between the isolation valve and the barrel door.

Preventive Actions

Companies can generally predict and control hydrate formation and can anticipate potential problem areas within pipeline systems. Great care is required to dissolve hydrates that have formed as ruptures and other damage to pipeline components can occur. Gas gathering and transmission companies should develop an increased awareness amongst their pipeline operations and maintenance staff regarding the hazards and control of hydrate formation in at risk pipeline systems, and should have procedures in place to disintegrate hydrates once they have formed.

Measures for the prevention, control and handling of hydrates are outlined in the Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers (CAPP) Guideline for Prevention and Safe Handling of Hydrates - January 1994. [Publication #1994-0002]

For further information on the pipeline rupture of 15 May 2002, see the Pipeline Incident Report - Natural Gas Pipeline Rupture near Fort St. John, British Columbia

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - ONÉ SA 2004-01 Hydrates

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

ONÉ SA 2004-01 Hydrates [PDF 158 ko]

Dossier 9700-A000-1-30
Le 19 août 2004

À : Toutes les entreprises qui relèvent de l'Office nationale de l'énergie, l'Association canadienne des pipelines de ressources énergétiques,
l'Association canadienne des producteurs pétroliers et les organismes de réglementation provinciaux

Avis de sécurité de l'Office national de l'énergie

Vous trouverez ci-joint un avis de sécurité portant sur le besoin de prévoir et de contrôler la formation d'hydrates dans les réseaux pipeliniers. Veuillez le diffuser auprès de l'ensemble du personnel technique qui participe à l'exploitation et à l'entretien des pipelines au sein de votre organisme.

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de cette initiative, veuillez téléphoner à Karen Duckworth (karen.duckworth@neb-one.gc.ca), au 403-299-3669.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

Michel L. Mantha

Le secrétaire

Pièce jointe


Avis de sécurité
ONÉ SA 2004-01

Août 2004

Hydrates

Description de l'incident

Le 15 mai 2002, un gazoduc de 18 pouces de diamètre s'est rompu près de Fort St. John, en Colombie Britannique, et a laissé échapper du gaz corrosif (0,41 % H2S). Le gaz échappé ne s'est pas enflammé. La diffusion du panache a nécessité l'évacuation des habitants en aval de la fuite. La rupture s'est produite dans une section courbe en S, entre un sas de départ et une vanne d'isolement, à un endroit où la canalisation descend sous terre. Un employé de l'entreprise travaillait sur le sas de départ lorsque la rupture s'est produite et la force d'impact de la rupture l'a projeté par terre, mais il n'a subi aucune blessure.

Cause de l'incident

L'enquête qui a suivi a révélé que la défaillance du pipeline a vraisemblablement été provoquée par une onde de choc ou un impact lorsqu'un blocage causé par un bouchon d'hydrates ou de glace a été délogé par une pression différentielle. Bien que la canalisation se soit rompue à un endroit qui était affaibli par un défaut de fabrication, la hausse de pression aurait causé une rupture de la conduite entre la vanne d'isolement et la porte du sas.

Measures de prévention

Les entreprises peuvent généralement prévoir et contrôler la formation d'hydrates et déterminer à l'avance les secteurs susceptibles de poser un problème dans un réseau pipelinier. La dissolution des hydrates qui se sont formés requiert une grande attention, car elle peut causer des ruptures ainsi que d'autres dommages aux éléments d'un pipeline. Les entreprises de collecte et de transport de gaz devraient sensibiliser davantage leur personnel d'exploitation et d'entretien de pipeline au sujet du contrôle de la formation des hydrates et des dangers que ces derniers représentent au sein des réseaux pipeliniers à risque. Elles devraient avoir en place des procédures visant à désintégrer les hydrates qui se sont formés.

Les mesures de prévention, contrôle et intervention liées aux hydrates sont présentées dans le guide Guideline for Prevention and Safe Handling of Hydrates - January 1994 [anglais seulement] de l'Association canadienne des producteurs pétroliers [Publication no 1994 0002]

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la rupture de pipeline qui s'est produite le 15 mai 2002, veuillez consulter le Rapport sur un incident pipelinier - Rupture d'un pipeline de transport de gaz naturel près de St. John, en Colombie-Britannique

Date de modification :