ARCHIVED - NEB SA 2004-02 Failures of Threaded Connections

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

NEB SA2004-02 Failures of Threaded Connections [PDF 254 KB]

File 9700-A000-1-30
23 December 2004

To: All Companies under National Energy Board Jurisdiction,
Canadian Energy Pipeline Association,
Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers, and
Provincial Regulators

Subject: National Energy Board Safety Advisory
NEB SA 2004-02

Attached is a safety advisory regarding the hazards associated with the use of threaded connections in applications where they may be subject to external forces and moments. The Board expects that this advisory be given wide circulation to technical personnel involved in design, construction and pipeline operation within your organization.

If you have questions concerning this initiative, please call Karen Duckworth (karen.duckworth@neb-one.gc.ca) at 403-299-3669.

Yours truly,

Michel L. Mantha
Secretary

Attachment


Safety Advisory
NEB SA 2004-02

December 2004

Failures of Threaded Connections

Incident Description

On 15 October 2004 a 33.4 mm (NPS 1) x 100 mm (4 inch) threaded both ends nipple failed at the interface between the threads of the nipple and a flange in high pressure sweet natural gas service. The failure was noted as the piping assembly was being pressurized. An undetermined small amount of sweet natural gas was released to the atmosphere. A photograph of the failed piping assembly is provided.

Failed Component

The National Energy Board has received reports of four similar failures in 2004. During the history of the Board, numerous such failures have occurred, some on sour service.

Though these failures have resulted in a low consequence to date, the high frequency of these events merits a warning to industry as the potential for a high consequence failure exists.

Cause of the Incident

The failures typically occur as a result of stresses imposed through normal operation compounded by the stress concentrating effect of the threaded connection. The nipple acted as a lever arm in applying a moment at the connection to the flange. Operation of a plug valve mounted on the nipple and vibration of the piping contributed to the failure.

Preventive Actions

Piping should be designed to avoid unnecessary stress concentrators where practicable. Extreme caution should be taken in the design of threaded connections where movement or externally applied forces can apply excessive stress to threaded joints. Where these stresses are unavoidable, the use of welded connections is preferable. In addition, piping supports should be considered as a means to reduce the moments applied to the joint by external forces.

Existing piping configurations should be assessed and, where necessary, modifications should be made to reduce the possibility of failure.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - ONÉ SA 2004-02 Bris de raccords filetés

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

ONÉ SA 2004-02 Bris de raccords filetés [PDF 231 ko]

Dossier 9700-A000-1-30
23 décembre 2004

À : Toutes les entreprises pipelinières qui relèvent de l'Office nationale de l'énergie,
l'Association canadienne des pipelines de ressources énergétiques,
l'Association canadienne des producteurs pétroliers et
les organismes de réglementation provinciaux

Sujet : Avis de sécurité de l'Office national de l'énergie
ONÉ SA 2004-02

Vous trouverez ci-joint un avis de sécurité concernant les risques associés à l'utilisation de raccords filetés lorsqu'ils sont soumis à des forces et à des moments de force extérieurs. L'Office prévoit diffuser le présent avis à grande échelle au personnel technique chargé de la conception, de la construction et de l'exploitation de pipelines au sein de votre organisme.

Si vous avez des questions à propos de la présente initiative, communiquer avec Karen Duckworth (karen.duckworth@neb-one.gc.ca) au numéro 403-299-3669.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

Le secrétaire

Michel L. Mantha

Pièce jointe


Avis de sécurité
ONÉ SA 2004-02

Décembre 2004

Bris de raccords filetés

Description de l'incident

Le 15 octobre 2004, un raccord de 33,4 mm (NPS 1) sur 100 mm (4 po), fileté aux deux extrémités, s'est brisé au niveau du point de contact entre les filets du raccord et une bride dans une conduite de gaz naturel non corrosif sous haute pression. Le bris a été décelé alors que la tuyauterie était mise sous pression. Une petite quantité non déterminée de gaz naturel non corrosif a été libérée dans l'atmosphère. Une photographie de la conduite brisée accompagne le présent avis.

L'Office national de l'énergie (l'Office) a reçu des rapports concernant quatre bris semblables en 2004. Depuis la création de l'Office, nombre de bris similaires se sont produits, dont quelques-uns dans des conduites de gaz sulfureux.

Bien que ces bris aient eu peu de conséquences jusqu'à présent, la fréquence élevée de tels incidents justifie un avertissement à l'industrie, car il y a un risque réel de conséquences graves en cas de bris.

Conduite brisée

Cause de l'incident

En général, ces bris résultent de contraintes imposées en fonctionnement normal, qui sont aggravées par l'effet de concentration du raccord fileté. Le raccord agit comme un levier qui exerce un moment de force au niveau du raccordement à la bride. Le fait d'actionner un robinet à tournant sur le raccord et les vibrations de la tuyauterie ont contribué au bris.

Mesures préventives

Dans la mesure du possible, la tuyauterie doit être conçue de façon à éviter tout élément favorisant les concentrations de contraintes. La conception des raccords filetés doit se faire avec des précautions extrêmes lorsqu'un mouvement ou l'application de forces extérieures peuvent exercer une contrainte excessive sur des joints filetés. Lorsque de telles contraintes sont inévitables, il est préférable d'avoir recours à des raccords soudés. De plus, il faudrait envisager l'utilisation de supports de tuyau afin de réduire les moments de force exercés sur le joint par des forces extérieures.

Il faudrait évaluer les configurations de tuyauterie existantes, et le cas échéant, les modifier pour réduire le risque de bris.

Date de modification :