ARCHIVED - NEB SA 2005-01 Faulty Equipment

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

NEB SA 2005-01 Faulty Equipment [PDF 186 KB]

File 9700-A000-1-30
3 March 2005

To: All companies under National Energy Board jurisdiction,
Canadian Energy Pipeline Association,
Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers, and
provincial regulators

Subject: National Energy Board Safety Advisory
NEB SA 2005-01

Attached is a safety advisory regarding the hazards associated with the use of faulty tools and equipment. The Board expects that this advisory be given wide circulation to personnel involved in construction, maintenance and pipeline operation within your organization.

If you have questions concerning this initiative, please call Karen Duckworth (karen.duckworth@neb-one.gc.ca) at 403-299-3669.

Yours truly,

Michel L. Mantha
Secretary

Attachment


Safety Advisory
NEB SA 2005-01

March 2005

Faulty Equipment

Incident Description

The fuel line of a jumping jack caught fire while it was being used to compact clay around a piping manifold at an oil transmission facility.

Both the fuel line and the electrical wiring on the jumping jack were burnt. It is suspected that electrical wiring for a stop button may have either broken and punctured the adjacent fuel line or may have overheated and burned through the fuel line. The stop button was not functional and the equipment had not been removed from service. The workers were using the fuel shut-off to shut down the machine. In reality, the defective equipment should have been removed from site.

This incident did not result in injuries to workers; however, there is a potential for harm to workers and to property.

Cause of the Incident

The cause of this incident was the use of defective equipment. Though it is unknown what motivated the workers to use the equipment with the stop button malfunctioning, it could be suggested that it is fairly common for people to "make do" with the minor nuisances of a broken shut off button if they could shut the equipment down using another means.

Preventive Actions

Supervisors and management need to emphasize that defective equipment, no matter how trivial the defect seems, needs to be removed from site for immediate replacement and/or repair.

For further information regarding this advisory please contact the National Energy Board at 403-292-4800 and ask for assistance from staff in Operations Compliance.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - ONÉ SA 2005-02 Équipement défectueux

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

ONÉ SA 2005-01 Équipement défectueux [PDF 191 ko]

Dossier : 9700-A000-1-30
Le 3 mars 2005

Destinataires : Toutes les sociétés relevant de la compétence de l'Office national de l'énergie
Association canadienne de pipelines d'énergie
Association canadienne des producteurs pétroliers
Régies provinciales

Sujet : Avis de sécurité de l'Office national de l'énergie
ONÉ SA 2005-01

Madame, Monsieur,

Veuillez trouver ci-joint un avis de sécurité concernant les dangers qui découlent de l'utilisation d'outils et d'équipement défectueux. L'Office s'attend à ce que cet avis soit circulé à grande échelle parmi les membres de votre personnel chargé de la construction, de l'entretien et de l'exploitation de pipelines.

Pour obtenir des renseignements complémentaires, veuillez vous adresser à Karen Duckworth (karen.duckworth@neb-one.gc.ca) au 403-299-3669.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

Le secrétaire,

Michel L. Mantha

Pièce jointe


Avis de sécurité
ONÉ SA 2005-01

Mars 2005

Équipement défectueux

Description de l'incident

La conduite d'essence d'une grenouille s'est enflammée pendant qu'on utilisait la machine pour compacter de l'argile se trouvant autour d'un collecteur de tuyaux d'une installation de transport de pétrole.

Tant la canalisation d'essence que le câblage électrique de la grenouille ont été brûlés. Il y a des raisons de penser que le câblage électrique d'un bouton d'arrêt a peut être brisé ou perforé la conduite d'essence adjacente, ou qu'il a peut être chauffé au point de percer la conduite. Le bouton d'arrêt était hors d'usage et les employés continuaient d'utiliser cet équipement. Les travailleurs se servaient de l'interrupteur d'arrêt de l'essence pour éteindre la machine. En fait, l'équipement défectueux aurait dû être retiré du site.

Aucun travailleur n'a été blessé lors de l'incident. Cependant, il existe un risque de tort pour les travailleurs et les biens.

Cause de l'incident

L'utilisation d'un équipement défectueux a causé l'incident. Bien qu'on ignore la raison pour laquelle les travailleurs ont utilisé de l'équipement dont le bouton d'arrêt fonctionnait mal, il semble qu'il soit assez courant pour eux d'« endurer » les légers désagréments occasionnés par un bouton d'arrêt hors d'usage s'ils sont en mesure d'éteindre l'équipement d'une autre façon.

Mesures préventives

Les superviseurs et la direction doivent mettre l'accent sur l'importance du retrait des outils et des équipements défectueux du site, peu importe le caractère anodin de la défectuosité, aux fins de réparation ou de remplacement immédiat.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements concernant le présent avis, veuillez communiquer avec l'Office national de l'énergie, au 403-292-4800, et demander l'aide du personnel de la section Vérification de la conformité - Exploitation.

Date de modification :