ARCHIVED - NEB SA 2005-03 Programmable Logic Controller (PLC) Failure

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

NEB SA 2005-03 Programmable Logic Controller (PLC) Failure [PDF 198 ko]

File AFMSA-INC-2005 48
23 December 2005

To: All companies under National Energy Board jurisdiction
Canadian Energy Pipeline Association
Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers,
and provincial regulators

Subject: National Energy Board Safety Advisory
NEB SA 2005-03

Attached is a safety advisory regarding the hazards associated with the possible ramifications of a programmable logic controller (PLC) failure. The Board expects that this advisory be given wide circulation to personnel involved in maintenance and pipeline operations within your organization.

If you have questions concerning this initiative, please call Karen Duckworth (karen.duckworth@neb-one.gc.ca) at 403-299-3669 or Ken Paulson at 403-299-3194.

Yours truly,

Mary Lou Scharf

for
Michel L. Mantha
Secretary

Attachment


Safety Advisory
NEB SA 2005-03

23 December 2005

Programmable Logic Controller (PLC) Failure

Incident Description

In October 2005, a programmable logic controller (PLC) controlling the compressor unit failed. Immediately after the failure, the suction and discharge valves closed, but the electric motor for the unit continued to operate and went into surge. This resulted in excessive vibration of the piping, severing a NPS 2 load and purge line at the flange connection outside the compressor building. Approximately 25 minutes after the PLC failure, the motor experienced an explosion. The venting of gas from the two inch pipe and the subsequent explosion caused considerable damage to the facility.

Preliminary Observations

The incident is under investigation by the National Energy Board and the Transportation Safety Board. At this point, it appears that the low signal generated by the PLC at the time of failure did not trip the breaker feeding the motor allowing the motor to continue to operate against closed valves and begin to surge. All other systems had shut down, including the lube oil system, which allowed the compressor seals to dry out. Natural gas may have entered the compressor motor via the compressor seals where an ignition source was present.

Preventive Actions

Failure of PLCs may not result in a fail safe condition. In the above case, the motor continued to operate after the suction and discharge valves closed resulting in overheating of the compressor, excessive vibration and eventual failure of the NPS 2 load and purge line, and an explosion within the motor casing.

Breaker operations should be tested regularly to ensure breakers function appropriately for all foreseeable failure modes including PLC failure.

For further information regarding this advisory please contact Karen Duckworth (karen.duckworth@neb-one.gc.ca of the National Energy Board at 403-299-3669.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - ONÉ SA 2005-03 Défaillance d'un contrôleur logique programmable (CLP)

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

ONÉ SA 2005-03 Défaillance d’un contrôleur logique programmable (CLP) [PDF 198 ko]

Dossier AFMSA-INC-2005 48
Le 23 décembre 2005

Destinataires : Toutes les sociétés relevant de la compétence de l'Office national de l'énergie
Association canadienne de pipelines d'énergie
Association canadienne des producteurs pétroliers
Régies provinciales

Sujet : Avis de sécurité de l'Office national de l'énergie
ONÉ SA 2005-03

Madame, Monsieur,

Veuillez trouver ci-joint un avis de sécurité concernant les risques associés aux conséquences possibles d'une défaillance d'un contrôleur logique programmable (CLP). L'Office s'attend à ce que cet avis soit circulé à grande échelle parmi les membres de votre personnel chargé de l'entretien et de l'exploitation de pipelines.

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de cette initiative, veuillez vous adresser à Karen Duckworth (karen.duckworth@neb-one.gc.ca) au 403-299 3669.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

Le secrétaire,

Mary Lou Scharf

pour
Michel L. Mantha

Pièce jointe


Avis de sécurité
ONÉ SA 2005-03

23 décembre 2005

Défaillance d'un contrôleur logique programmable (CLP)

Description de l'incident

En octobre 2005, un contrôleur logique programmable (CLP) assurant le contrôle d'un module de compression est tombé en panne. Les clapets d'aspiration et de refoulement se sont fermés immédiatement après cette défaillance, mais le moteur électrique du module a continué de fonctionner et a subi une surtension. Cela a causé une vibration excessive de la conduite, laquelle a occasionné la rupture d'une conduite de charge et de purge (diamètre nominal du tuyau 2), et ce, au raccord à bride situé à l'extérieur du bâtiment du compresseur. Il y a eu une explosion dans le moteur environ 25 minutes après la défaillance du CLP. L'écoulement de gaz de la conduite de deux pouces et l'explosion ultérieure ont endommagé considérablement l'installation.

Observations préliminaires

L'Office national de l'énergie et le Bureau de la sécurité des transports enquêtent actuellement sur cet incident. Pour l'instant, il semble que le signal de faible intensité émis par le CLP lors de la défaillance n'a pas déclenché le disjoncteur alimentant le moteur. C'est pourquoi le moteur a continué de fonctionner malgré la fermeture des clapets et a commencé à être en surtension. Tous les autres systèmes s'étaient éteints, y compris le système d'huile lubrifiante, qui a laissé sécher les joints d'étanchéité du compresseur. Il est possible que du gaz naturel soit entré dans le moteur du compresseur par les joints, où il y avait une source d'allumage.

Mesures préventives

La sûreté intégrée des systèmes n'est pas nécessairement assurée après une défaillance des CLP. Dans le cas susmentionné, le moteur a continué de fonctionner après la fermeture des clapets d'aspiration et de refoulement, ce qui a causé une surchauffe du compresseur, une vibration excessive et en bout de ligne le bris de la conduite de charge et de purge (diamètre nominal du tuyau 2), ainsi qu'une explosion dans le boîtier du moteur.

Les disjoncteurs devraient être testés régulièrement pour assurer leur bon fonctionnement en cas de défaillance prévisible, y compris de défaillance de CLP.

Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet du présent avis, communiquez avec Karen Duckworth (karen.duckworth@neb-one.gc.ca) (Office national de l'énergie) au 403-299-3669.

Date de modification :