ARCHIVED - NEB SA 2007-02 Operator Fatally Injured During Dismantling of Lattice Boom Crane - New Brunswick

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

NEB SA 2007-02 Operator Fatally Injured During Dismantling of Lattice Boom Crane - New Brunswick [PDF 134 KB]

File OF-SURV-INC 02
26 April 2007

To: All companies under National Energy Board jurisdiction,
Canadian Energy Pipeline Association,
Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers, and
Provincial Regulators

Subject: National Energy Board Safety Advisory
NEB SA 2007-02

Attached is a safety advisory regarding the hazards associated with the improper dismantling sequence of lattice boom cranes. Although this advisory pertains to boom cranes, the same preventive actions should be taken when working under any equipment and machinery. The Board expects that this advisory be given wide circulation to personnel involved in maintenance, construction and pipeline/powerline operations within your organization.

If you have questions concerning this initiative, please call Chris van Egmond (chris.vanegmond@neb-one.gc.ca) at 403-472-0696.

Yours truly,

David Young
Acting Secretary

Attachment


Safety Advisory
NEB SA 2007-02

26 April 2007

Operator Fatally Injured During Dismantling of Lattice Boom Crane - New Brunswick

Incident Description

An experienced 50 year old operator/mechanic was fatally injured while dismantling a lattice boom crane while working on a power line construction project. The victim and two workers were dismantling the crane in preparation for transport. The crane boom was lowered to five feet off the ground and supported by the engaged boom pendants. One worker removed two of the support pins. The victim positioned himself under the inner heel or base section and the center section of the boom to remove the remaining two pins. When the victim removed these two pins, the boom sections fell, striking and pinning the victim underneath. Co-workers used power jacks to raise the boom sections off the victim. Emergency medical services responded and the victim was transported to a local hospital where he later died.

Cause of the Incident

It has been determined that the operator missed a crucial step in the dismantling procedure.

Preventive Actions

Ensure that proper procedures are in place and followed to prevent movement of the boom sections when dismantling cranes.

Ensure that all workers assigned to dismantle or assist in the dismantling of cranes and other equipment are familiar with the safe work procedures and can recognize the hazards of improper dismantling sequences.

Never work under suspended loads.

Ensure appropriate locks, blocks, chocks and supports are in place before working on equipment or machinery.

For further information regarding this advisory please contact the National Energy Board at 403-292-4800 and ask for assistance from staff who deals with pipeline crossing matters.

 

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - ONÉ SA 2007-02 Grutier mortellement blessé durant le démontage d'une grue à flèche treillis au Nouveau-Brunswick

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

ONÉ SA 2007-02 Grutier mortellement blessé durant le démontage d’une grue à flèche treillis au Nouveau-Brunswick [PDF 137 ko]

Dossier : OF-SURV-INC 02
Le 26 avril 2007

À : Toutes les entreprises réglementées par l'Office national de l'énergie
Association canadienne de pipelines d'énergie
Association canadienne des producteurs pétroliers
Organismes provinciaux de réglementation

Sujet : Avis de sécurité de l'Office national de l'énergie
ONÉ SA 2007-02

Madame, Monsieur,

Vous trouverez ci-joint un avis de sécurité concernant les risques associés à une séquence de démontage incorrecte de grues à flèche treillis. Bien que cet avis se rapporte aux grues à flèche treillis, les mêmes mesures préventives devraient être prises lorsque des ouvriers travaillent sous n'importe quel équipement ou machine. L'Office s'attend à ce que cet avis soit circulé à grande échelle parmi les membres du personnel chargé de la construction, de l'entretien et de l'exploitation de pipelines et de lignes de transport d'électricité au sein de votre organisation.

Si vous avez des questions à propos de la présente initiative, communiquez avec Chris van Egmond (chris.vanegmond@neb-one.gc.ca), au 403-472-0696.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

Secrétaire par intérim,

David Young

Pièce jointe


Avis de sécurité
ONÉ SA 2007-02

26 avril 2005

Grutier mortellement blessé durant le démontage d'une grue à flèche treillis au Nouveau-Brunswick

Description de l'incident

Un mécanicien-grutier expérimenté, âgé de 50 ans, a été mortellement blessé alors qu'il démontait une grue à flèche treillis à un site de construction d'une ligne de transport d'électricité. L'homme et deux ouvriers étaient en voie de démanteler la grue aux fins de transport. La flèche avait été abaissée jusqu'à cinq pieds du sol et était soutenue par les câbles de suspension. Un ouvrier a enlevé deux des tiges de support. La victime s'est placée sous la flèche, entre la section de base et la section centrale, pour enlever les deux autres tiges. Une fois les tiges enlevées, les sections de la flèche sont tombées sur la victime, qui s'est retrouvée coincée. Ses compagnons de travail ont utilisé des crics de levage hydrauliques pour soulever les sections de la flèche et libérer l'homme. Transporté à un hôpital par les services d'urgence médicale, il est décédé peu après.

Cause de l'incident

Il a été déterminé que le grutier a sauté une étape essentielle dans la séquence de démontage.

Measures de prévention

S'assurer que des procédures adéquates sont en place et suivies pour prévenir le mouvement des sections de flèche lorsqu'elle est démantelée.

Voir à ce que tous les ouvriers désignés pour démonter ou aider à démonter des grues et d'autres pièces d'équipement connaissent bien les procédures de sécurité au travail et peuvent reconnaître les risques que pose une séquence de démontage incorrecte.

Ne jamais travailler sous des charges en suspension.

S'assurer que les mécanismes de verrouillage, les cales et les appuis appropriés sont en place avant de commencer à travailler sur de l'équipement ou des machines.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur cet avis, veuillez communiquer avec l'Office national de l'énergie au 403-292-4800 et vous adresser à un membre du personnel qui s'occupe des questions de croisement de pipelines.

Date de modification :