ARCHIVED - Safety Advisory - NEB SA 2009-01 - Fatalities During Installation of Compression Couplings

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Safety Advisory - NEB SA 2009-01 - Fatalities During Installation of Compression Couplings [PDF 139 KB]

File OF-SURV-INC 02
2 April 2009

To: All Companies under National Energy Board Jurisdiction

National Energy Board (Board) Safety Advisory
NEB SA 2009-01

As a result of an incident that occurred on a Midwestern United States pipeline undergoing maintenance in November of 2007, and in order to minimize the risk of a similar incident occurring in Canada, the Board has issued the following safety advisory regarding the hazards associated with installation of weldable compression couplings.

In the event that these couplings are used by your company, the Board directs your attention to the attached safety advisory and expects that this advisory will be given wide circulation to company personnel and contractors involved in pipeline maintenance and operation on your pipeline. If any of the factors contributing to the incident change such that the preventive actions require updating, the Board will amend and reissue this safety advisory accordingly.

If you have any questions regarding this advisory please call either Mr. Christopher Loewen (christopher.loewen@neb-one.gc.ca) (403-299-3186) or Mr. Ken Fortin (ken.fortin@neb-one.gc.ca) (403-801-9651) of the Board's Operations Business Unit.

Yours truly,

Claudine Dutil-Berry
Secretary of the Board

Attachment

cc: Canadian Energy Pipeline Association, Facsimile 403-221-8760
Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers, Facsimile 403-266-3123
Occupational Health and Safety Agencies and Other Interested Parties


Safety Advisory
NEB SA 2009-01

2 April 2009

Fatalities During Installation of Compression Couplings

Purpose of the Safety Advisory

As a result of an incident that occurred on a Midwestern United States pipeline undergoing maintenance in November of 2007, and in order to minimize the risk of a similar incident occurring in Canada, the National Energy Board (Board) has issued this safety advisory regarding the hazards associated with installation of weldable compression couplings.

In the event that weldable compression couplings are used by your company, the Board directs your attention to this safety advisory and expects that this advisory will be given wide circulation to company personnel and contractors involved in pipeline maintenance and operations on your pipeline. If any of the factors contributing to the incident change such that the preventive actions require updating, the Board will amend and reissue this safety advisory accordingly.

Incident Description

On 28 November 2007 two workers were fatally injured in a fire that occurred on a 34-inch diameter pipeline in the Midwestern United States. At the time of the incident, the pipeline company was conducting repair work, which included the excavation and replacement of a section of pipeline and installation of two compression couplings.

The compression couplings used in the repair are of a type that use radial bolts (clamp screws) to attach the coupling to the surface of the pipeline. Once attached, longitudinal bolts apply pressure to a steel ring and neoprene seal which expands, providing a compressive seal between the coupling and exterior surface of the pipe. The couplings are designed to be fillet welded to the pipe surface after bolting and sealing, making them a permanent welded repair.

The proximity of welding adjacent to the neoprene seals raises the possibility of damaging or melting the seals during welding. Common practice is to restore flow under reduced pressure in the pipeline prior to welding in order to dissipate heat from the welding operation, thereby protecting the neoprene seal. In this instance, the pipeline company was pressuring the pipeline to a predetermined pressure of 2800 kilopascals when the coupling failed at 1950 kilopascals.

Most of the company employees on site were taking a break during the repressurization of the pipeline and were not necessarily observing the repressurization. During repressurization crude oil started to spray from the end of a coupling and subsequently ignited, causing a fireball that engulfed vehicles and equipment located adjacent to the excavation. Two workers were unable to escape the area and were fatally injured.

Factors Contributing to the Incident

The U.S. Department of Transportation, Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration has identified the following factors which it believes contributed to the incident:

  • The company had made modifications to the fittings. Approximately 50% of the clamp screws used to attach the fittings to the pipe surface were removed from the coupling prior to installation;
  • The remaining clamp screws on the fittings were not tightened in accordance with the manufacturer's recommendations. The clamp screws were not checked to ensure the correct torque values had been reached;
  • The pipeline was not anchored in accordance with company and manufacturer procedures prior to repressurization of the pipeline;
  • The targeted flow pressure for the fillet welding exceeded the design pressure of the coupling for the specific joint and materials used for unrestrained pipe;
  • Ignition sources were not removed from the immediate area prior to pressurization of the pipeline;
  • Workers were not appropriately qualified and did not receive proper training in the installation of the compression couplings installed.

Preventive Actions

Steps in a compression coupling installation program should include, but not be limited to, the following:

  • Conducting a task hazard analysis prior to starting the job and when process changes occur.
  • Verifying that procedures and protocols are complete, adequate and are followed.
  • Obtaining approval from the manufacturer for any modifications to compression couplings and ensuring the modifications are supported by qualified and defensible engineering design and analysis.
  • Conducting flexibility and stress analyses whenever pipelines are exposed to ensure proper support of pipelines during excavation.
  • Considering anchor conditions of the pipeline when determining allowable stresses and pressures for installation of compression couplings.
  • Calculating maximum pressures to be applied to compression couplings prior to welding to meet manufacturer specifications.
  • Managing ignition hazards during pressurization of compression couplings and in all situations where the escape of flammable pipeline fluids is possible.
  • Identifying and restricting access to hazard zones during pressurization of exposed pipelines.
  • Providing training and any required certification to persons installing compression couplings.

Further Information

For further information regarding this advisory please call either Mr. Christopher Loewen (christopher.loewen@neb-one.gc.ca) (403-299-3186) or Mr. Ken Fortin (ken.fortin@neb-one.gc.ca) (403-801-9651) of the National Energy Board's Operations Business Unit.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Avis de sécurité - ONÉ SA 2009-01 - Accident mortel lors de l'installation de raccords de compression

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis de sécurité - ONÉ SA 2009-01 - Accident mortel lors de l'installation de raccords de compression [PDF 119 ko]

Dossier : OF-SURV-INC 02
Le 2 avril 2009

Destinataires : Toutes les sociétés qui relèvent de l'Office national de l'énergie

Sujet : Avis de sécurité de l'Office national de l'énergie
ONÉ SA 2009-01

Madame, Monsieur,

Par suite d'un incident survenu dans le Midwest des États-Unis en novembre 2007 pendant l'entretien d'un pipeline, et afin de réduire au minimum le risque d'incident semblable au Canada, l'Office national de l'énergie (l'Office) publie l'avis de sécurité ci-joint portant sur les dangers que peut représenter l'installation de raccords de compression soudables.

Pour le cas où ces raccords sont utilisés par votre société, l'Office attire votre attention sur cet avis de sécurité et s'attend à ce qu'il soit circulé parmi tous les employés et entrepreneurs ayant un rôle à jouer dans l'entretien et l'exploitation des pipelines. Si l'un quelconque des facteurs de l'incident devait changer de telle sorte qu'il soit nécessaire d'actualiser les mesures préventives, l'Office publiera un nouvel avis de sécurité en conséquence.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur cet avis, veuillez téléphoner à M. Ken Fortin (ken.fortin@neb-one.gc.ca) (403-801-9651) au Secteur des opérations de l'Office.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

La secrétaire de l'Office,

Claudine Dutil-Berry

Pièce jointe

c.c. : Association canadienne de pipelines d'énergie, fax 403-221-8760
Association canadienne des producteurs pétroliers, fax 403-266-3123
Organismes de santé et sécurité au travail et autres parties intéressées


Avis de sécurité
ONÉ SA 2009-01

2 avril 2009

Accident mortel lors de l'installation de raccords de compression

Objet de l'Avis de sécurité

Par suite d'un incident survenu dans le Midwest des États-Unis en novembre 2007 pendant l'entretien d'un pipeline, et afin de réduire au minimum le risque d'incident semblable au Canada, l'Office national de l'énergie (l'Office) publie le présent avis de sécurité portant sur les dangers que peut représenter l'installation de raccords de compression soudables.

Pour le cas où ces raccords sont utilisés par votre société, l'Office attire votre attention sur cet avis de sécurité et s'attend à ce qu'il soit circulé parmi tous les employés et entrepreneurs ayant un rôle à jouer dans l'entretien et l'exploitation des pipelines. Si l'un quelconque des facteurs de l'incident devait changer de telle sorte qu'il soit nécessaire d'actualiser les mesures préventives, l'Office publiera un nouvel avis de sécurité en conséquence.

Description de l'incident

Le 28 novembre 2007, deux travailleurs ont perdu la vie dans un incendie qui s'est déclaré sur les lieux d'un pipeline de 34 pouces de diamètre dans le Midwest des États-Unis, pendant l'exécution, par la société pipelinière, de réparations comprenant l'excavation et le remplacement d'une section du pipeline et l'installation de deux raccords de compression.

Les raccords de compression utilisés pour les réparations étaient du type qui sont fixés à la surface du pipeline au moyen de boulons radiaux (vis de blocage). Une fois les raccords fixés, des boulons longitudinaux serrent un anneau d'acier et un joint d'étanchéité en néoprène, lequel prend de l'expansion pour assurer un joint à compression entre le raccord et la surface extérieure du pipeline. Les raccords sont conçus pour être fixés par soudure d'angle après le boulonnage et l'installation du joint, de façon à ce que la soudure soit permanente.

L'exécution de travaux de soudage à proximité de joints en néoprène augmente le risque d'endommagement ou de fonte des joints. La marche à suivre habituelle consiste à rétablir l'écoulement du fluide sous pression réduite avant le soudage afin de dissiper la chaleur produite par le soudage pour ainsi protéger le joint en néoprène. La société pipelinière était en train de porter la pression du pipeline au niveau prédéterminé de 2800 kilopascals lorsque le raccord a fait défaut; la pression atteignait alors 1950 kilopascals.

La plupart des employés de la société sur les lieux prenaient une pause pendant la remise sous pression du pipeline et n'observaient pas nécessairement cette opération. Au cours de la remise sous pression, du pétrole s'est mis à gicler par l'extrémité d'un des raccords et s'est enflammé. Les flammes ont entouré des véhicules et de l'équipement près du lieu d'excavation; deux travailleurs n'ont pu s'enfuir et ont péri.

Facteurs de l'incident

La Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration, Department of Transportation des États-Unis a cerné les facteurs qui selon elle auraient contribué à l'incident :

  • La société avait modifié les raccords. Environ la moitié des vis de blocage utilisées pour fixer les raccords au tube avaient été retirées avant l'installation.
  • Les autres vis de blocage n'avaient pas été serrées en conformité avec les recommandations du fabricant. Aucune vérification des vis de blocage n'avait été faite pour assurer qu'elles soient vissées au couple recommandé.
  • Le pipeline n'était pas ancré conformément aux procédés de la société et du fabricant des raccords avant la remise sous pression.
  • La pression d'écoulement ciblée dans le cas des soudures d'angle était supérieure à la pression nominale applicable au raccord compte tenu du joint et des matériaux utilisés dans le cas d'un tube non ancré.
  • Les sources d'inflammation présentes sur les lieux immédiats n'avaient pas été enlevées avant la remise sous pression.
  • Les travailleurs n'avaient ni les compétences ni la formation appropriées pour installer les raccords de compression utilisés.

Mesures de prévention

Les étapes d'installation de raccords de compression devraient inclure ce qui suit, mais sans s'y limiter :

  • Réaliser une analyse des dangers de l'opération avant d'entreprendre le travail et lorsque des modifications sont apportées au procédé.
  • S'assurer que les procédés et protocoles soient complets, adéquats et suivis.
  • Obtenir l'approbation du fabricant pour toute modification à un raccord de compression et veiller à ce que les modifications soient appuyées par une conception et une analyse techniques favorables et défendables.
  • Effectuer des analyses de flexibilité et de résistance aux contraintes chaque fois qu'un pipeline est mis à nu, de manière à ce qu'il soit convenablement supporté au cours de l'excavation.
  • Tenir compte des conditions d'ancrage du pipeline au moment de déterminer les contraintes et pressions permises en vue de l'installation de raccords de compression.
  • Avant le soudage, calculer les pressions maximales auxquelles les raccords de compression doivent être soumis pour respecter les caractéristiques du fabricant.
  • Gérer les risques d'inflammation au cours de la mise sous pression des raccords de compression et dans toutes les circonstances où la fuite d'un fluide pipelinier inflammable est possible.
  • Cerner les zones dangereuses et en limiter l'accès au cours de la mise sous pression d'un pipeline mis à nu.
  • Former et accréditer les personnes chargées d'installer des raccords de compression.

Renseignements

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur cet avis, veuillez téléphoner à M. Ken Fortin (ken.fortin@neb-one.gc.ca) (403-801-9651) au Secteur des opérations de l'Office national de l'énergie.

Date de modification :