ARCHIVED - Safety Advisory - NEB SA 2010-01 - Fatigue Crack Failure Associated with Shallow Dents on Pipelines

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Safety Advisory - NEB SA 2010-01 - Fatigue Crack Failure Associated with Shallow Dents on Pipelines [PDF 124 KB]

File OF-SURV-INC 02
18 June 2010

To: All Companies under National Energy Board Jurisdiction
Canadian Energy Pipeline Association
Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers and Provincial Regulators

National Energy Board Safety Advisory 2010-01
Fatigue Crack Failure Associated with Shallow Dents on Pipelines

Following two incidents that were a result of fatigue crack failure within shallow dents, the National Energy Board has issued the following safety advisory regarding the evaluation of hazards associated with shallow dents on pipelines.

The Board directs your attention to the attached safety advisory and expects that it will be given wide circulation to company personnel and contractors involved in pipeline construction, integrity, maintenance and operation on your pipeline.

If you have any questions regarding this advisory please contact Mr. Joe Paviglianiti, joe.paviglianiti@neb-one.gc.ca, 403-299-3864 or Mr. Kyle Sherwin, 403-299-3925 of the Board's Operations Business Unit.

Yours truly,

Anne-Marie Erickson
Secretary of the Board

Attachment

cc: Mr. Larry Gales, Transportation Safety Board of Canada, facsimile 819-953-7876


Safety Advisory
NEB SA 2010-01

18 June 2010

Fatigue Crack Failure Associated with Shallow Dents on Pipelines

Purpose of the Safety Advisory

CSA Standards Z662-07 Oil and Gas Pipeline Systems, sections 6.3.3 and 10.9.4 provide requirements for inspecting, assessing and repairing dents greater than 6% of outside diameter (OD). In the following described incidents, the pipeline failures occurred within dents much shallower than the 6% of OD.

Pipeline in-line inspection tools have been known to identify dents as small as 0.5% of the pipe OD, however they have not been shown to be completely reliable in characterizing dent shape nor identifying the presence of gouges, stress concentrators or cracks within dents. Given the recent failures associated with very shallow dents, integrity management programs should be reviewed and updated where appropriate to consider these incidents.

The Board directs your attention to this safety advisory and expects that it will be given wide circulation to company personnel and contractors involved in pipeline integrity, maintenance and operation on your pipeline.

strong

Two incidents are currently under investigation by both the National Energy Board (Board) and the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB). TSB Pipeline Safety Advisory 01/10 reports the following:

  • On 29 September 2009, a leak occurred on Enbridge Pipelines Inc. (Enbridge) Line 2 near Odessa, Saskatchewan (TSB Occurrence No. P09H0084). The leak occurred at a crack within a dent at the 6 o'clock position. There was some gouging associated with the dent. The maximum depth of the dent was 0.51% of the pipe OD. A metallurgical analysis of the pipe indicated that the crack had propagated by fatigue. In 2008, an in-line inspection (ILI) tool had been run in this section of line. Although the dent had been detected by the ILI tool, it had not been included in the ILI vendor’s report to Enbridge. The gouging, however, had not been detected by the ILI tool.
  • On 5 October 2009, a leak occurred on Trans-Northern Pipelines Inc. (TNPI) Ottawa Lateral near Farran's Point, Ontario (TSB Occurrence No. P09H0086). The leak occurred at a crack within a dent at the 6 o'clock position. The maximum depth of the dent was 2.7% of the pipe OD. A metallurgical analysis of the pipe indicated that the crack had propagated by fatigue.
  • In 1988, a rock had been removed from this location but no cracking had been observed at that time. In 2007 and 2009, ILI tools had been run in this section of line. The dent had been included in both the 2007 and the 2009 vendors' ILI reports to TNPI as having depths of 3% and 2%, respectively, of the pipe OD, but had not been identified as needing attention.

Preventive Actions

Regulated companies should review and update their integrity management programs. Reviews should include:

  • A review of procedures employed during construction for identifying and recording the characteristics and location of dents and the assessment of acceptability of dents with depths less than 6% of OD, including dents without known stress concentrators (gouges, grooves, arc burns, or cracks);
  • Consideration of inspection tool limitations to identify dent geometry and stress concentrators (gouges, grooves, arc burns, or cracks) associated with dents;
  • Review records to identify shallow dents and assess their susceptibility to the presence of gouges, stress concentrators or cracks and determine whether validation is required;
  • Revision of dent assessment and management models as appropriate to consider the potential for fatigue crack initiation and propagation within very shallow dents (i.e. < 6% OD) including those without known stress concentrators (gouges, grooves, arc burns, or cracks) in the pipe body and/or seam and girth welds; and
  • Re-examine previous in-line and field inspections and assessments of existing shallow dents in operating pipelines to confirm that all hazards and conditions (e.g. proximity to seam and girth welds, pressure cycling and pipe material properties) that could affect the integrity of the pipeline have been identified and effectively managed.

Further Information

If you have any questions regarding this advisory please contact Mr. Joe Paviglianiti joe.paviglianiti@neb-one.gc.ca or by phone at 403-299-3864 or Mr. Kyle Sherwin by phone at 403-299-3925.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Avis de sécurité - NEB SA 2010-01 - Fissure de fatigue reliée à de légères bosselures sur des pipelines

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis de sécurité - NEB SA 2010-01 - Fissure de fatigue reliée à de légères bosselures sur des pipelines [PDF 155 ko]

Dossier : OF-SURV-INC 02
Le 18 juin 2010

Destinataires : Toutes les sociétés du ressort de l'Office national de l'énergie
Association canadienne de pipelines d'énergie
Association canadienne des producteurs pétroliers
Organismes de réglementation provinciaux

Objet : Avis de sécurité de l'Office national de l'énergie 2009-01
Fissure de fatigue reliée à de légères bosselures sur des pipelines

Madame, Monsieur,

À la suite de deux accidents dus à des fissures de fatigue à l'intérieur de légères bosselures, l'Office national de l'énergie a publié l'avis de sécurité ci-joint concernant l'évaluation des dangers reliés aux légères bosselures sur les pipelines.

L'Office attire votre attention sur cet avis de sécurité et s'attend à ce vous le fassiez circuler parmi tous les employés de la société et les entrepreneurs ayant un rôle à jouer dans la construction, l'intégrité, l'entretien et l'exploitation de votre pipeline.

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de cet avis, veuillez communiquer avec M. Ken Fortin (ken.fortin@neb-one.gc.ca, 403-801-9651), du Secteur des opérations de l'Office.

Je vous prie d'agréer Madame, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

La secrétaire de l'Office,

Anne-Marie Erickson

Pièce jointe

c. c. M. Larry Gales, Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada, 819-953-7876


Avis de sécurité
NEB SA 2010-01

18 juin 2009

Fissure de fatigue reliée à de légères bosselures sur des pipelines

Raison d'être de l'avis de sécurité

Les sections 6.3.3 et 10.9.4 de la norme CSA Z662-07 - Oil and Gas Pipeline Systems, énoncent les exigences relatives à l'inspection, à l'évaluation et à la réparation des bosselures dépassant 6 % du diamètre extérieur (DE). Dans les exemples décrits ci-dessous, les ruptures de pipeline se sont produites à l'intérieur de bosselures beaucoup plus minces que 6 % du DE.

Les outils d'inspection interne de pipeline ont déjà permis de détecter des bosselures correspondant à aussi peu que 0,5 % du DE de la canalisation, mais ils n'ont pas démontré une fiabilité totale pour caractériser la forme des bosselures ou déceler la présence de rainures, de concentrations de contrainte ou de fentes dans les bosselures. Vu les ruptures associées aux très légères bosselures qui sont survenues récemment, les programmes de gestion de l'intégrité devraient être revus et mis à jour au besoin en fonction de ces accidents.

L'Office attire votre attention sur cet avis de sécurité et s'attend à ce vous le fassiez circuler parmi tous les employés de la société et les entrepreneurs ayant un rôle à jouer dans la construction, l'intégrité, l'entretien et l'exploitation de votre pipeline.

Description des accidents

Deux accidents font actuellement l'objet d'une enquête par l'Office national de l'énergie (l'Office) et le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST). L'avis de sécurité de pipeline du BST 01/10 comprend ce qui suit :

  • D'une part, le 29 septembre 2009, une fuite est survenue sur la canalisation 2 de Pipelines Enbridge Inc. (Enbridge) près d'Odessa, en Saskatchewan (BST P09H0084). La fuite s'est produite par une fente à l'intérieur d'une bosselure à la position de 6 h. Une rainure était reliée à la bosselure. L'épaisseur de la bosselure correspondait au maximum à 0,51 % du DE de la canalisation. Une analyse métallurgique de la canalisation a montré que la fente s'était étendue en raison de la fatigue. En 2008, un outil d'inspection interne avait été utilisé dans ce tronçon de la canalisation. Bien que la bosselure ait été détectée, elle n'a pas été incluse dans le rapport remis à Enbridge par le fournisseur de l'outil. Par contre, la rainure n'avait pas été décelée par l'outil d'inspection interne.
  • D'autre part, le 5 octobre 2009, une fuite est survenue sur le latéral d'Ottawa de Pipelines Trans-Nord Inc. (PTNI) près de Farran's Point, en Ontario (BST P09H0086). La fuite s'est produite par une fente à l'intérieur d'une bosselure à la position de 6 h. L'épaisseur de la bosselure correspondait au maximum à 2,7 % du DE de la canalisation. Une analyse métallurgique de la canalisation a montré que la fente s'était étendue en raison de la fatigue.
  • En 1988, un caillou avait été retiré de cet endroit, mais aucune fente n'avait été observée à ce moment-là. En 2007 et 2009, des outils d'inspection interne avaient été utilisés dans ce tronçon de la canalisation. La bosselure avait été indiquée dans les deux rapports (2007 et 2009) remis par les fournisseurs des outils à TNPI, l'épaisseur ayant été établie à 3 % et 2 % respectivement du DE de la canalisation, mais il n'était précisé nulle part qu'il fallait intervenir.

Mesures préventives

Les sociétés réglementées devraient revoir et mettre à jour leur programme de gestion de l'intégrité. Les examens devraient comprendre ce qui suit :

  • Revue des méthodes employées pendant la construction pour déterminer et inscrire les caractéristiques et l'emplacement des bosselures, et évaluation de l'acceptabilité des bosselures ayant une épaisseur inférieure à 6 % du DE, y compris celles qui semblaient libres de concentration de contrainte (rainures, sillons, étincelles d'arc électrique ou fissures);
  • Examen des limites des outils d'inspection pour déterminer la géométrie des bosselures et les concentrations de contrainte (rainures, sillons, étincelles d'arc électrique ou fissures) qui y sont reliées;
  • Examiner les dossiers pour retracer les bosselures légères et évaluer leur prédisposition aux rainures, concentrations de contrainte ou fissures, puis déterminer si une validation est requise.
  • Revue des modèles d'évaluation et de gestion des bosselures pour déceler le risque de fissure due à la fatigue ayant pris naissance ou s'étant propagée à l'intérieur de bosselures très légères (< 6 % du DE), y compris celles qui semblaient libres de concentration de contrainte (rainures, sillons, étincelles d'arc électrique ou fissures) dans le corps de la canalisation ou les soudures continues et circulaires;
  • Réexaminer les inspections internes et sur le terrain ainsi que les évaluations des bosselures légères existantes dans les pipelines en exploitation pour confirmer que tous les dangers ou états (proximité des soudures continues et circulaires, cycles de pression et propriétés des matériaux de la canalisation) susceptibles de nuire à l'intégrité du pipeline ont été relevés et bien gérés.

Renseignements

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de cet avis, veuillez communiquer avec M. Ken Fortin ken.fortin@neb-one.gc.ca, 403-299-3195), du Secteur des opérations de l'Office.

Date de modification :