ARCHIVED - Safety Advisory - NEB SA 2012-01 - Overpressure Protection

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Safety Advisory - NEB SA 2012-01 - Overpressure Protection [PDF 154 KB]

File OF-SURV-INC-0202
2 April 2012

To: All Companies under National Energy Board Jurisdiction
Canadian Energy Pipeline Association
Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers
Provincial Pipeline Regulators

National Energy Board (the Board) Safety Advisory 2012-01
Overpressure Protection

The Board is concerned with the recurrence of overpressure incidents on Board-regulated pipelines and related facilities, and has issued the attached safety advisory providing some preventative actions.

The Board requires companies to consider overpressure incidents to be hazards as these may lead to subsequent integrity issues. The Board expects this safety advisory to be widely circulated to company personnel and contractors involved in pipeline design, integrity, maintenance and operation on your pipeline system.

If you have any questions regarding this advisory, please contact Joe Paviglianiti at joe.paviglianiti@neb-one.gc.ca, 403-299-3864, or Nadia McCarthy at 403-221-3008, or toll free at 1-800-899-1265.

Yours truly,

Sheri Young
Secretary of the Board

Attachment

cc: Mr. Larry Gales, Transportation Safety Board of Canada, facsimile 819-953-7876


Safety Advisory
NEB SA 2012-01

2 April 2012

Overpressure Protection

Purpose

Overpressure incidents are a concern as they can lead to delayed or immediate failures of pipeline systems. In a preliminary assessment of overpressure incidents on pipeline systems the National Energy Board (the Board) notes the recurrence of overpressure incidents over time. The Onshore Pipeline Regulations, 1999 (OPR-99) does not permit operating a pipeline beyond its design limits as determined under CSA Z662.

Overpressure incidents appear to be the result of a failure to identify all potential sources of overpressure, a lack of reliability, or a lack of redundancy of the overpressure protection and its supporting systems. Supporting systems could be communication and/or SCADA (Supervisory Control And Data Acquisition). This safety advisory provides examples of overpressure incidents and some preventative actions, and should be considered in addition to the Board’s previous Safety Advisory (NEB SA99-1) on Over-pressure Protection at Receipt Points, issued in September 1999.

Incident Descriptions

  1. Thunderstorm Damage
    A liquid pipeline company reported an unexpected closure of a block valve during a thunderstorm. A lightning strike had caused damage to the valve actuator and local communication equipment. Due to the damage, pumping of liquids continued and resulted in an overpressure of 124% of the maximum operating pressure (MOP) on a 6.4 km segment of the pipeline.
  2. Erroneous Signal from Pressure Transmitter
    An erroneous signal sent by a pressure transmitter resulted in an immediate shutdown of two mainline pumps of a liquid pipeline company. This caused an overpressure of 118% of MOP in their terminal suction piping. Since this incident, the company conducted a review of its historic data and noted fifteen previously undiscovered overpressure incidents for a period of seventeen months.
  3. Failure of a Gas Regulator
    A pressure release valve (set to relieve at 3600 kPa) released sweet natural gas for more than one hour due to failure from normal wear and tear of a gas regulator of the fuel gas system. With time, the pressure relief valve also failed due to extended operation with probable chatter. This resulted in the system pressure reaching 4800 kPa (approximately 130% of the set operating pressure).
  4. Relief valves failed to operate as designed
    A pump station of a liquid operator was placed in emergency stop mode following an interruption of data communication. With time, the products trapped in the facility expanded due to changes in the ambient air conditions. This resulted in an overpressure in the station equipment and piping, leading to a product release as the thermal pressure relief valves did not operate as designed at their set pressure points.

Preventive Actions

Clause 10.9.5 of CSA Z662-11 requires inspection, assessment and testing for overpressure protection systems. CSA Z662 is incorporated by reference into the OPR-99.

Due to recurrent overpressure incidents, pipeline companies should assess and update their overpressure protection and supporting systems as part of an overall pipeline and facility integrity management system. The following factors are provided for consideration during such assessments of the overpressure protection systems:

  • past performance and reliability of all components;
  • all the sources of overpressures, including potential failure scenarios of components;
  • collateral effect of failure and whether one failure event can affect operation of the other components or the entire overpressure protection system;
  • how redundancy of the components can be improved or implemented if not already in place; and
  • whether pipeline and facility modifications affect the operation or reliability of the overpressure protection system.

In an event of an overpressure before resuming operations, companies must investigate to determine the root causes, assess the integrity of affected sections of the pipeline system and take remediation actions as appropriate.

The Board oversees compliance with the regulatory requirements for overpressure protection and incorporates the occurrence of overpressure incidents into its risk models for use in prioritizing regulatory oversight activities with respect to each company’s integrity management system.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Avis de sécurité - ONÉ SA 2012-01 - Protection contre la surpression

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis de sécurité - ONÉ SA 2012-01 - Protection contre la surpression [PDF 154 ko]

Dossier OF-SURV-INC-0202
Le 2 avril 2012

Destinataires : Toutes les sociétés du ressort de l'Office national de l'énergie
Association canadienne des pipelines d'énergie
Association canadienne des producteurs pétroliers
Organismes de réglementation provinciaux du secteur pipelinier

Objet : Avis de sécurité de l’Office national de l’énergie (l’Office) 2012-01
Protection contre la surpression

Madame, Monsieur,

L’Office est préoccupé par la récurrence des incidents liés à la surpression touchant les pipelines et les installations connexes soumis à sa réglementation. Pour cette raison, il publie l’avis de sécurité ci-joint, dans lequel on trouvera quelques mesures préventives.

L’Office exige des sociétés qu’elles considèrent les incidents liés à la surpression comme des dangers, puisqu’ils peuvent ultérieurement amener des problèmes d’intégrité. Il s’attend à ce que cet avis de sécurité soit distribué à grande échelle aux employés de la société et aux entrepreneurs jouant un rôle dans la conception, l’intégrité, l’entretien et l’exploitation de votre réseau pipelinier.

Pour toute question concernant le présent avis, veuillez vous adresser à Nadia McCarthy au numéro 403-221-3008, ou encore à Joe Paviglianiti, à l’adresse joe.paviglianiti@neb-one.gc.ca, ou au numéro 403-299-3864, ou sans frais au 1-800-899-1265.

Veuillez agréer mes salutations distinguées.

La secrétaire de l'Office,

Sheri Young

pièce jointe

c. c. M. Larry Gales, Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
(télécopieur 819-953-7876)


Avis de sécurité
ONÉ SA 2012-01

2 avril 2012

Protection contre la surpression

Raison d’être

Les incidents liés à la surpression constituent une source d’inquiétudes, car ils peuvent entraîner des défaillances des réseaux pipeliniers dans l’immédiat ou plus tard. Dans le cadre d’un examen préliminaire des incidents liés à la surpression survenus sur les réseaux pipeliniers, l’Office national de l’énergie (l’Office) constate la récurrence de ce genre d’incidents avec le temps. Le Règlement de 1999 sur les pipelines terrestres (RPT-99) interdit l’utilisation d’un pipeline audelà de sa tolérance de fabrication, telle que définie dans la norme CSA Z662.

Les incidents liés à la surpression semblent découler d’une incapacité à déceler toutes les sources éventuelles de surpression, d’un manque de fiabilité ou d’un manque de redondance dans la protection contre la surpression et les systèmes connexes, tels que la communication et les systèmes d’acquisition et de contrôle des données (SCADA). Le présent avis de sécurité renferme des exemples d’incidents liés à une surpression et propose quelques mesures préventives. Il doit être considéré comme un complément au précédent avis de sécurité de l’Office (ONÉ SA 99-1) intitulé Protection contre la surpression aux points de réception, publié en septembre 1999.

Descriptions d’incidents

  1. Dommage causé par la foudre
    Une société exploitant un pipeline transportant des liquides a signalé la fermeture inattendue d’une vanne de sectionnement pendant un orage. La foudre a endommagé le poussoir et l’équipement de communication locale. Par suite des dommages, le pompage des liquides s’est poursuivi, entraînant une surpression de 124 % de la pression maximale d’exploitation (PME) sur un tronçon de 6,4 km du pipeline.
  2. Faux signal du transmetteur de pression
    Un faux signal envoyé par un transmetteur de pression a causé l’arrêt immédiat de deux pompes de canalisation principale d’une société exploitant un pipeline transportant des liquides. Cela a entraîné une surpression de 118 % de la PME dans la conduite d’aspiration du terminal. Depuis cet incident, la société a examiné ses données historiques et a noté 15 autres incidents liés à la surpression survenus à son insu au cours d’une période de 17 mois.
  3. Défaillance d’un régulateur de pression de gaz
    Une soupape régulatrice de pression (réglée pour se détendre à 3 600 kPa) a libéré du gaz naturel non corrosif pendant plus d’une heure à la suite d’une défaillance due à l’usure normale d’un régulateur de pression de gaz du réseau d’alimentation en gaz combustible. Avec le temps, la soupape de surpression a fait défaut elle aussi après avoir fonctionné probablement de manière saccadée pendant longtemps. Cela a fait grimper la pression du système à 4 800 kPa (environ 130 % de la pression d’exploitation fixée).
  4. Fonctionnement des soupapes de surpression non conforme
    Une station de pompage d’une société exploitant un pipeline transportant des liquides est passée en mode d’arrêt d’urgence après une interruption dans la transmission des données. Avec le temps, les conditions de l’air ambiant ont changé et provoqué une expansion des produits emprisonnés dans l’installation. Une surpression dans l’équipement de la station et la canalisation a suivi, avec comme conséquence qu’il y a eu un rejet de produit, les soupapes de surpression thermique ne semblant pas fonctionner comme prévu à leurs points de pression.

Mesures préventives

La clause 10.9.5 de la norme CSA Z662-11 exige l’inspection, l’évaluation et l’essai des systèmes de protection contre la surpression. Cette norme est incorporée par renvoi au RPT-99.

Le système global de gestion de l’intégrité des pipelines et des installations des sociétés pipelinières devraient prévoir l’évaluation et la mise à jour des systèmes de protection contre la surpression et des systèmes connexes. Les facteurs ci-après sont proposés aux fins de l’intégration à ces évaluations des systèmes de protection contre la surpression :

  • le rendement et la fiabilité antérieurs de tous les éléments;
  • toutes les sources de surpression, y compris les scénarios de défaillance éventuelle des éléments;
  • les effets secondaires des défaillances et les conséquences possibles sur le fonctionnement des autres éléments ou du système complet de protection contre la surpression;
  • la façon d’améliorer ou de mettre en place un mécanisme de redondance de la protection;
  • la façon, s’il y a lieu, dont les modifications apportées aux pipelines et aux installations se répercutent sur le fonctionnement ou sur la fiabilité du système de protection contre la surpression.

Dans toute situation de surpression, les sociétés doivent, avant la remise en service des installations, faire enquête pour déterminer les causes fondamentales de l’incident, vérifierl’intégrité des tronçons touchés du réseau pipelinier et prendre les mesures correctives appropriées.

L’Office veille au respect des exigences réglementaires en matière de protection contre la surpression et intègre les incidents liés à la surpression à ses modèles de risques, puis utilise ceuxci pour définir les priorités de ses activités de surveillance au titre de la réglementation pour les systèmes de gestion de l’intégrité de chaque société.

Date de modification :