ARCHIVED - Safety Advisory - NEB SA 2012-02 - Injury During Vessel-to-Vessel Personnel Transfer by Pilot Ladder

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Safety Advisory - NEB SA 2012-02 - Injury During Vessel-to-Vessel Personnel Transfer by Pilot Ladder [PDF 56 KB]

File OF-SURV-INC 02
29 August  2012

To: All Companies under National Energy Board Jurisdiction
Canadian Energy Pipeline Association
Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers
Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board
Canada-Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board
Occupational Health and Safety Agencies and Other Interested Parties

National Energy Board (the Board) Safety Advisory 2012-02
Injury During Vessel-to-Vessel Personnel Transfer by Pilot Ladder

Following an incident associated with the use of a pilot ladder for a vessel-to-vessel personnel transfer at sea, the National Energy Board (Board) has issued this safety advisory regarding the evaluation and mitigation of hazards associated with all vessel-to-vessel transfers.

The Board directs your attention to this safety advisory and expects it will be given wide circulation to company personnel and contractors conducting vessel to vessel personnel transfers.

If you have any questions regarding this advisory, please contact Ms. Kim Maddin of the Board’s Operations Business Unit at 403-299-2763, or toll free at 1-800-899-1265.

Yours truly,

Sheri Young
Secretary of the Board

Attachment

cc: Transport Canada, Facsimile 619-990-1538


Safety Advisory
NEB SA 2012-02

29 August  2012

Injury During Vessel-to-Vessel Personnel Transfer by Pilot Ladder

Purpose of the Safety Advisory

Following an incident involving a vessel-to-vessel transfer of personnel at sea using a pilot ladder, the National Energy Board (Board) has issued this safety advisory regarding the effective mitigation of hazards associated with all vessel to vessel transfer methods.

Incident Description

On 7 September 2010, while transferring personnel by pilot ladder from a supply vessel to a seismic vessel, a worker fell between the vessels into the sea. The worker was wearing a self-inflating life vest but was not wearing a survival suit, and suffered serious ill effects from cold water immersion. Further details of the incident are contained in an International Association of Geophysical Contractors (IAGC) Safety Alert (http://www.iagc.org/files/2839/).

Preventative Actions

Companies must ensure personnel safety for every transfer method and operation. The transfer of personnel between vessels at sea introduces hazards and threats that are specific to the method, conditions, and frequency of the transfer operation.

Companies must undertake the necessary hazard and risk assessments to ensure that the hazards associated with a transfer method have been identified, options have been assessed and that effective controls have been selected and implemented to eliminate or reduce the risks to acceptable levels. Examples of controls and mitigation options that might be considered include transfer procedures, authority to stop the operation, training, competency assessment, illumination in low light conditions or darkness, continuous radio communications between vessels, standby emergency and rescue equipment such as fast rescue craft, personal protective equipment, properly fitted immersion suits in cold water areas, personal fitness requirements, fall protection equipment and specified operating limits for transfers.

Board regulated companies are reminded that they must be able to demonstrate through documented assessments, processes and other evidence that any transfer method that may be employed will be conducted safely.

Further Information

For further information regarding this advisory please contact:
Ms. Kim Maddin (403-299-2763)
of the National Energy Board’s Operations Business Unit.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Avis de sécurité - NEB SA 2012-02 - Blessure infligée durant un transfert de personnel entre navires à l’aide d’une échelle de pilote

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis de sécurité - NEB SA 2012-02 - Blessure infligée durant un transfert de personnel entre navires à l’aide d’une échelle de pilote [PDF 56 ko]

Dossier OF-SURV-INC 02
Le 29 août 2012

Dest. : Tous les sociétés du ressort de l’Office national de l’énergie
Association canadienne de pipelines d’énergie
Association canadienne des producteurs pétroliers
Office Canada-Nouvelle-Écosse des hydrocarbures extracôtiers
Office Canada–Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador des hydrocarbures extracôtiers
Organismes de santé et de sécurité au travail et autres parties intéressées

Objet : Avis de sécurité de l’Office national de l’énergie (l’Office) 2012-02
de l’énergie Avis de sécurité 2012-02 de l’ONÉ - Blessure infligée durant un transfert de personnel entre navires à l’aide d’une échelle de pilote

Madame, Monsieur,

Dans la foulée d’un incident lié à un transfert de personnel en mer d’un navire à un autre à l’aide d’une échelle de pilote, l’Office national de l’énergie (l’Office) publie le présent avis de sécurité au sujet de l’évaluation et de l’atténuation des dangers découlant des transferts entre navires.

L’Office attire votre attention sur cet avis de sécurité et s’attend à ce vous le fassiez circuler parmi tous les employés de la société et les entrepreneurs ayant un rôle à jouer dans le transfert de personnel d'un navire à un autre.

Pour toute autre question sur cet avis, veuillez communiquer avec madame Kim Maddin, du Secteur des opérations de l’Office, au 403-299-2763 ou au numéro sans frais 1-800-899-1265.

Veuillez agréer mes salutations distinguées.

La secrétaire de l'Office,

Sheri Young

Pièce jointe

c. c. Transports Canada, télécopieur : 619-990-1538


Avis de sécurité
NEB SA 2012-02

29  août  2012

Blessure infligée durant un transfert de personnel entre navires
à l’aide d’une échelle de pilote

Raison d’être de l’avis de sécurité

Dans la foulée d’un incident lié à un transfert de personnel en mer d’un navire à un autre à l'aide d'une échelle de pilote, l’Office national de l’énergie (l’ONÉ) a publié le présent avis de sécurité sur l’atténuation efficace des dangers afférents aux méthodes de transferts entre navires.

Description de l’incident

Le 7 septembre 2010, durant le transfert de personnel à l'aide de l'échelle de pilote d'un navire de ravitaillement vers un navire de recherche sismique, un travailleur est tombé dans la mer, entre les bateaux. La personne portait un gilet de sauvetage autogonflable, mais pas de survêtement protecteur et l’immersion dans l’eau froide a causé des effets nocifs graves. Il est possible d’obtenir davantage de renseignements sur cet incident dans l’avis de sécurité publié par l’International Association of Geophysical Contractors (IAGC) sur leur site Web http://www.iagc.org/files/2839/.

Mesures préventives

Les sociétés doivent veiller à la sécurité de leur personnel lors de chacune des opérations de transfert, peu importe la méthode utilisée. Le transfert de personnel entre navires en mer comporte des risques et des menaces qui varient selon la méthode de transfert utilisée, les conditions ambiantes et la fréquence de ces opérations.

Les sociétés doivent mener les évaluations des risques et des dangers nécessaires pour veiller à ce que les dangers afférents à une méthode de transfert soient bien cernés, que des solutions de rechange ont été étudiées et que des mesures de contrôle efficaces ont été choisies et mises en place pour éliminer ou réduire le risque à des niveaux acceptables. Voici des exemples de solutions de contrôle et d’atténuation qui pourraient être examinées : procédures pour le transfert, pouvoir d'interrompre l'opération, formation, évaluation des compétences, éclairage dans les conditions de noirceur ou de faible luminosité, communications radio continues entre les navires, équipement d'urgence et de sauvetage prêt en cas d'incident (par exemple, une embarcation rapide de sauvetage), équipement de protection individuelle, combinaisons de plongeur ajustées et convenant aux zones en eaux froides, exigences quant à la forme physique, équipement de protection en cas de chute et zones délimitées précises pour les transferts.

Les sociétés du ressort de l’ONÉ doivent se rappeler qu’elles sont tenues de prouver, à l’aide d'évaluations de processus et d’autres preuves documentés, que toute méthode de transfert qui pourrait être utilisée le sera en toute sécurité.

Renseignements complémentaires

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur cet avis, veuillez communiquer avec madame Kim Maddin, du Secteur des opérations, Office national de l’énergie, au 403-299-2763.

Date de modification :