ARCHIVED - Safety Advisory - NEB SA 2013-01 - Pipe contact results in gas release and fire

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Safety Advisory - NEB SA 2013-01 - Pipe contact results in gas release and fire [PDF 2341 KB]

File OF-Surv-Inc-2009-112
2 April 2013

Office national de l'energie

To: All pipeline companies under National Energy Board Jurisdiction

National Energy Board (the Board) Safety Advisory NEB SA 2013-001 Pipe contact results in gas release and fire

Following an incident that occurred during installation of a new section of pipe that resulted in a gas release and fire in September 2009, the Board has issued a safety advisory regarding proper identification and management of hazards that can arise at the interface of distribution and transmission systems due to differences between the practices of those industries.

On 30 September 2009, a contractor damaged a 2-inch threaded blow down nipple connected to a 24-inch gas line while performing work within the fenced boundaries of a facility that joins a natural gas transmission system to a distribution system. Subsequently, the gas ignited, damaging a building and destroying several vehicles and construction equipment. No workers or members of the public were injured, although nearby businesses, including a strip mall and day care centre, were evacuated as a precautionary measure. Damage to the environment was limited to local soil and vegetation inside the fenced area of the station property.

The immediate cause of the gas release and fire was contact with the two inch threaded nipple at the centre of a blind flange installed on the end of a length of existing 20-inch diameter pressurized pipeline that was open to the distribution system. This contact occurred while workers were lining up another length of pipe in preparation for welding it in place.

The NEB has made eight findings as to incident cause and contributing factors. The NEB identified the following factors that contributed to the event:

  • inadequate hazard identification and mitigation;
  • inadequate communication between company and contractor staff;
  • inadequate contractor oversight; and
  • ineffective operational control.

Companies are expected to have systems in place to identify and manage known or foreseeable hazards that workers or the public may be exposed to. The information related to this incident should be reviewed by company management. This hazard should be added to existing hazard inventories, as appropriate in order to proactively manage similar threats as part of a company's management system.

All workers present at a construction site must be made aware of the hazards so that they may participate in addressing those hazards and reducing risk. Companies are to have systems in place that promote actions at every level that contribute to a safe workplace.

The NEB will take all available actions to protect Canadians and the environment and requires pipeline companies to anticipate, prevent, manage, and mitigate potentially dangerous conditions associated with their pipelines. As part of this, the NEB expects companies to have appropriately designed, well implemented, and regularly reviewed management systems that provide the tools necessary to conduct business in a manner that serves to keep people safe and protect the environment. The NEB holds its regulated companies accountable for the adequacy and effectiveness of their management systems in all work processes, including the work conducted by contract workers. The findings related to this incident can all be attributed to management system failures.

The safety advisory focuses on what the worker must look for when conducting activities near pressurized piping and the interface of transmission and distribution systems. The Board expects that the safety advisory will be given wide circulation to workers and any other personnel involved in maintenance and construction operations.

If you have any questions regarding these advisories, please contact Karen Duckworth at karen.duckworth@neb-one.gc.ca, 403-299-3669 or toll free at 1-800-899-1265. The full investigation report can be found at Investigation Report[1].

Yours truly,
Sheri Young
Secretary of the Board

Attachment

c.c. Canadian Energy Pipeline Association, Facsimile 402-221-8760 Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers, Facsimile 403-261-4622 Provincial Pipeline Regulators
ATCO Gas and Pipelines Ltd., Facsimile 403-245-7788
ATCO Pipelines Edmonton Centre, Facsimile 780-420-7411
SaskEnergy Incorporated, Facsimile 306-777-9991
Gaz Metro Inc., Facsimile 418-577-3320 BC Gas Inc., Facsimile 604-293-8749 FortisBC, Facsimile  888-224-2720 Union Gas, Facsimile 519-436-4621 Heritage Gas, Facsimile 902-466-2140
Enbridge Gas Distribution, Facsimile 506-452-2868
Manitoba Hydro, Facsimile 204-360-6129

[1] Investigation under the National Energy Board Act In the Matter of 30 September 2009 release of gas and subsequent fire at the Enbridge Gas Distribution Inc. Lisgar Gate Station in Mississauga, Ontario


Safety Advisory
NEB SA 2013-001

April 2013

Pipe contact results in gas release and fire

Incident Description
On 30 September 2009, a contractor damaged a 2-inch blow down valve connected to a 24-inch gas line while performing work within the fenced boundaries of a facility that connects a natural gas transmission system to a distribution system. Subsequently the gas ignited, damaging a building and destroying several vehicles and construction equipment. No workers or members of the public were injured, although nearby businesses, including a strip mall and day care centre, were evacuated as a precautionary measure. Damage to the environment was limited to soil and vegetation inside the fenced area of the station property.

Cause of the Incident
The immediate cause of the gas release and fire was contact with the 2-inch threaded nipple at the centre of a blind flange installed on the end of a length of existing pressurized pipeline that was open to the distribution system. This contact occurred while workers were lining up another length of pipe in preparation for welding it in place.

Preventive Actions
Common practice in pipeline construction is to install a nipple on an existing piping system, enabling evacuation of gas prior to welding new pipe to the system; this allows continued operation during construction activities. Industry best practices require a closed valve upstream of a blind flange, or piping that contains a nipple. The valve should be a maximum of one pipe length from the flange or piping containing the nipple. This allows a margin of safety in the event that the nipple is damaged,  or fails, during construction activities. This practice limits the volume of gas release to that contained in, at most, one length of pipe. In the case of the incident described above, the duration of the release would have been significantly shorter if an additional valve had been installed upstream of the activity or if the mainline valve 300 feet away from the activity had been closed.

Practices that may be considered typical for distribution systems, which are usually small diameter and lower pressure pipeline systems, cannot be applied to large diameter pipeline systems without appropriate hazard evaluations. Gas volume and pipeline size and pressure must be taken into consideration when conducting a hazard assessment of the piping plan and when conducting hazard assessments for tasks to be conducted each day.

For further information regarding this advisory, please contact the National Energy Board at 403-292-4800 or toll free at 1-800-899-1265 and ask for assistance from staff who deal with pipeline matters.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Avis de sécurité - ONÉ SA 2013-01 - Un contact avec un pipeline cause un rejet de gaz et un incendie

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis de sécurité - ONÉ SA 2013-01 - Un contact avec un pipeline cause un rejet de gaz et un incendie [PDF 2593 ko]

Dossier OF-Surv-Inc-2009-112
Le 2 avril 2013

Destinataires : Toutes les sociétés pipelinières du ressort de l'Office national de l'énergie

Avis de sécurité de l'Office national de l'énergie ONÉ SA 2013-001
Un contact avec un pipeline cause un rejet de gaz et un incendie

Madame, Monsieur,

À la suite d'un incident survenu durant l'installation d'un nouveau tronçon de canalisation et qui a causé un rejet de gaz et un incendie en septembre 2009, l'ONÉ a délivré un avis de sécurité au sujet de l'inventaire et la gestion des dangers qui peuvent survenir à la jonction des réseaux de distribution et de transport, en raison des écarts entre les pratiques de ces deux industries.

Le 30 septembre 2009, un entrepreneur a endommagé un raccord fileté NPS 2 relié à un gazoduc NPS 24 en exécutant des travaux à l'intérieur du périmètre d'une installation reliant un réseau de transport de gaz naturel à un réseau de distribution. Après cela, le gaz s'est enflammé, endommageant un bâtiment et détruisant plusieurs véhicules et engins de chantier. Aucun travailleur ni membre du public n'a été blessé, bien que des commerces environnants, y compris un mail linéaire et une garderie, aient été évacués par mesure de précaution. Les dommages à l'environnement se sont limités au sol et à la végétation à l'intérieur du périmètre clôturé de la station de distribution.

Un raccord fileté de 2 pouces au centre d'une bride pleine qui isolait un gazoduc sous pression existant de 20 pouces de diamètre connecté au réseau de distribution a été heurté, entraînant un rejet de gaz qui s'est enflammé. Le contact est survenu lorsque les travailleurs tentaient d'aligner un nouveau tronçon de conduite, en vue du soudage.

L'ONÉ a fait huit constatations relativement à la cause de l'incident et aux facteurs y ayant contribué. L'ONÉ a relevé les facteurs suivants qui ont contribué à l'incident :

  • identification des dangers et atténuation inadéquates.
  • mauvaise communication entre l'entreprise et le personnel de l'entrepreneur;
  • surveillance inadéquate d'un entrepreneur;
  • contrôle opérationnel inefficace.

L'ONÉ s'attend à ce que les sociétés mettent en place un système pour cerner et gérer les dangers connus ou prévisibles auxquels les travailleurs et le public peuvent être exposés. Les renseignements connexes à cet incident doivent être examinés par la direction de l'entreprise. Ce danger devrait être ajouté aux listes des dangers existants, le cas échéant, afin qu'il soit convenablement intégré au système de gestion.

Tous les travailleurs présents sur le chantier de construction doivent être au courant des dangers afin qu'ils puissent les éviter et réduire les risques. Les sociétés doivent instaurer des systèmes pour promouvoir toutes les mesures possibles qui contribuent à créer un environnement de travail sûr.

L'Office prend toutes les mesures à sa disposition pour protéger la population canadienne et l'environnement, et il exige des sociétés pipelinières qu'elles prévoient, préviennent, gèrent et atténuent les conditions potentiellement dangereuses reliées à leurs pipelines. C'est pourquoi l'Office s'attend à ce que les sociétés pipelinières aient mis en place des systèmes de gestion bien pensés, soigneusement mis en œuvre et examinés régulièrement qui leur procurent les outils nécessaires pour exercer leurs activités tout en assurant la sécurité des personnes et la protection de l'environnement. L'ONÉ tient les sociétés qu'il réglemente responsables de maintenir des systèmes de gestion adéquats et efficaces pour tous les procédés de travail, y compris les travaux exécutés par les travailleurs contractuels. Les constatations relatives à cet incident peuvent toutes être reliées à des défaillances du système de gestion.

L'avis de sécurité met l'accent sur les éléments auxquels les travailleurs doivent faire attention lorsqu'ils réalisent des activités à proximité de canalisations sous pression et de points de jonction des réseaux de transport et de distribution. L'Office s'attend à ce vous fassiez circuler le présent avis de sécurité parmi toutes les personnes ayant un rôle à jouer dans les activités de construction et d'entretien.

Si vous avez des questions sur le processus, veuillez vous adresser à Karen Duckworth à karen.duckworth@neb-one.gc.ca, ou par téléphone au 403-299-3669 ou à notre numéro sans frais, le 1-800-899-1265. Vous pouvez consulter le rapport d'enquête complet à Rapport d'enquête[1].
Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

La secrétaire de l'Office,

Sheri Young

Pièce jointe

c. c. : Association canadienne de pipelines d'énergie, Télécopieur 402-221-8760
Association canadienne des producteurs pétroliers, Télécopieur 403-261-4622
Organismes de réglementation provinciaux du secteur pipelinier
ATCO Gas and Pipelines Ltd., Télécopieur 403-245-7788
ATCO Pipelines Edmonton Centre, Télécopieur 780-420-7411
SaskEnergy Incorporated, Télécopieur 306-777-9991
Gaz Metro Inc., Télécopieur 418-577-3320
BC Gas Inc., Télécopieur 604-293-8749
FortisBC, Télécopieur 888-224-2720
Union Gas, Télécopieur 519-436-4621
Heritage Gas, Télécopieur 902-466-2140
Enbridge Gas Distribution, Télécopieur 506-452-2868
Manitoba Hydro, Télécopieur 204-360-6129

[1] Enquête en vertu de la Loi sur l'Office national de l'énergie relativement au rejet de gaz et à l'incendie survenus le 30 septembre 2009 à la station de distribution Lisgar d'Enbridge Gas Distribution Inc. à Mississauga (Ontario)


Avis de securite
ONE SA 2013-001

Avril 2013

Un contact avec un pipeline cause un rejet de gaz et un incendie

Description de l'incident
Le 30 septembre 2009, un entrepreneur a endommagé une vanne de purge NPS 2 reliée à un gazoduc NPS 24 en exécutant des travaux à l'intérieur du périmètre d'une installation reliant un réseau de transport de gaz naturel à un réseau de distribution. Après cela, le gaz s'est enflammé, endommageant un bâtiment et détruisant plusieurs véhicules et engins de chantier. Aucun travailleur ni membre du public n'a été blessé, bien que des commerces environnants, y compris un mail linéaire et une garderie, aient été évacués par mesure de précaution. Les dommages à l'environnement se sont limités au sol et à la végétation à l'intérieur du périmètre clôturé de la station de distribution.

Cause de l'incident
Un raccord fileté de 2 pouces au centre d'une bride pleine qui isolait un gazoduc sous pression existant connecté au réseau de distribution a été heurté, entraînant un rejet de gaz qui s'est enflammé. Le contact est survenu lorsque les travailleurs tentaient d'aligner un nouveau tronçon de conduite, en vue du soudage.

Mesures préventives
Une pratique courante lors de la construction de pipelines est d'installer un mamelon sur le réseau pipelinier existant, lequel permet l'évacuation du gaz avant le soudage d'une nouvelle canalisation au réseau. Cela permet entre autres de poursuivre l'exploitation durant les activités de construction. Les pratiques exemplaires en vigueur dans l'industrie prévoient également l'installation d'une vanne fermée en amont d'une bride d'obturation ou de la canalisation équipée d'un mamelon. La vanne ne doit pas être placée à plus d'une longueur de conduite de la bride ou de la canalisation comportant le mamelon; cette pratique garantit une marge de sécurité advenant le bris ou la défaillance du mamelon durant les activités de construction. Cela limite ainsi tout rejet de gaz à la quantité qui se trouve dans une longueur de conduite. Dans le cas de l'incident décrit ci-dessus, la durée du rejet aurait été considérablement plus courte si une vanne additionnelle avait été installée en amont des activités ou si la vanne de la canalisation principale à 300 pieds des travaux avait été fermée.

Les pratiques employées couramment pour les réseaux de distribution, ayant habituellement un plus petit diamètre et fonctionnant à une pression plus basse, ne peuvent pas être appliquées aux réseaux pipeliniers à grand diamètre sans une évaluation appropriée des dangers. Lors de l'évaluation des dangers pour un plan pipelinier ou pour les tâches quotidiennes, il faut tenir compte du volume de gaz, de la taille du pipeline et de la pression.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le présent avis de sécurité, communiquez avec l'Office national de l'énergie au 403-292-4800 ou au numéro sans frais 1-800-899-1265, et demandez l'aide du personnel responsable des questions pipelinières.

Date de modification :