ARCHIVED - Safety Advisory - NEB SA 2014-01 - Battery Maintenance and Battery Health Verification

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Safety Advisory - NEB SA 2014-01 - Battery Maintenance and Battery Health Verification [PDF 182 KB]

OF-Surv-Gen 1101
11 August 2014

To: All Companies under National Energy Board Jurisdiction
Canadian Energy Pipeline Association
Provincial Pipeline Regulators

National Energy Board (the Board) Safety Advisory NEB SA 2014-001
Battery Maintenance and Battery Health Verification

Please find attached Safety Advisory SA 2014-01.

The National Energy Board (NEB or Board) expects regulated companies to demonstrate a proactive commitment to continual improvement in safety, security and environmental protection, and to promote a positive safety culture as part of their management systems.

Safety Advisories are issued periodically in order to improve the oil and gas industry’s awareness of an identified safety or environmental concern with the goal of preventing incidents from occurring in the first place. A Safety Advisory also serves to further highlight NEB requirements, and conveys the Board’s expectation that regulated companies take appropriate action to mitigate any potential impacts to people or the environment.

The Board expects this advisory to be widely circulated to company personnel and contractors involved in the testing, maintenance, inspection, record keeping and trending analysis of batteries operating on the pipeline systems of NEB-regulated companies.

If you have any questions regarding this advisory please contact the Board at 1-800-899-1265.

Yours truly,

Original signed by

Sheri Young
Secretary of the Board

Attachment

cc: Transportation Safety Board of Canada, facsimile 819-953-7876


Safety Advisory
NEB SA 2014-01
August 2014

Battery Maintenance and Battery Fitness for Service Verification

Background

In 2012 and 2013, the National Energy Board (Board) investigated 11 incidents involving fire or explosion of batteries. The investigation found the batteries were not maintained adequately. That lack of maintenance eventually led to fires or explosions. The term “maintenance free” appeared on several batteries involved in the incidents and played a significant role in the operator having inadequate maintenance practices.

Preventive Actions

All batteries, along with any other physical device, require maintenance. The Board expects companies’ practices for testing, maintenance, inspection, record keeping and trending analysis of its batteries to meet, or exceed, the Canadian Electrical Code (CEC) and industry best practices. The Board also expects companies to implement applicable standards from the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers to ensure batteries operate safely and reliably and are fit for service.

Rule 26-546 of the CEC states that:

  • Storage battery rooms or areas shall be adequately ventilated; storage batteries shall not be subjected to ambient temperatures greater than 45 °C or less than the freezing point of the electrolyte.

Whenever batteries are held within containment boxes, companies must assure that the size of the vents on the boxes are sufficient to allow proper heat dissipation and prevent hydrogen build-up. Electrolyte levels should remain within appropriate limits and proper maintenance practices and schedules should be well-defined and performed accordingly.

CEC Rule 2-300(2) of the CEC states:

  • Electrical equipment deemed for emergency service, shall be periodically inspected and tested as necessary to ensure its fitness for service.

Documentation of the above practices should be available for auditing purposes. Companies must take corrective actions to mitigate potential safety hazards as required by the National Energy Board Onshore Pipeline Regulations 6.5(1)(u), if they find deficiencies in their battery maintenance program or in the operating condition of their batteries.

The Board’s compliance verification activities allow it to identify potential issues with regulated companies and, if necessary, address them with appropriate measures. This non-compliance may be assessed through future targeted facility inspections or management system audits.

Further Information

If you have any questions regarding this advisory please contact Integrity Management personnel at the Board through our toll free number at 1-800-899-1265.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Avis de sécurité - ONÉ SA 2014-01 - Vérification de l’entretien des accumulateurs et de leur état

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis de sécurité - ONÉ SA 2014-01 - Vérification de l’entretien des accumulateurs et de leur état [PDF 194 ko]

Dossier OF-Surv-Gen 1101
Le 11 août 2014

Destinataires : Toutes les sociétés du ressort de l’Office national de l’énergie
Association canadienne de pipelines d’énergie
Organismes de réglementation provinciaux du secteur pipelinier

Avis de sécurité SA 2014-01 de l’Office national de l’énergie
Vérification de l’entretien des accumulateurs et de leur état

Madame, Monsieur,

Vous trouverez ci-joint l’avis de sécurité SA 2014-01.

L’Office national de l’énergie attend des sociétés réglementées qu’elles démontrent, dans leurs systèmes de gestion, leur engagement proactif à constamment améliorer la sécurité, la sûreté et la protection de l’environnement, ainsi qu’à promouvoir une culture de sécurité positive.

Des avis de sécurité sont publiés régulièrement afin de renseigner le secteur pétrolier et gazier sur des préoccupations connues en matière de sécurité ou d’environnement et, ainsi, prévenir les incidents. Les avis de sécurité servent également à mettre l’accent sur les exigences de l’Office et illustrent les attentes de celui-ci quant à la prise des mesures qui s’imposent par les sociétés réglementées pour atténuer les effets potentiels sur les personnes ou sur l’environnement.

L’Office s’attend que les sociétés distribuent le présent avis à l’ensemble des membres de leur personnel et des entrepreneurs qui ont un rôle à jouer dans l’évaluation, l’entretien et l’inspection des accumulateurs, au même titre que dans le maintien de registres et l’analyse des tendances en la matière, pour l’exploitation des réseaux pipeliniers assujettis à sa réglementation.

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de cet avis de sécurité, veuillez communiquer avec l’Office au 1-800-899-1265.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

La secrétaire de l'Office,

Sheri Young

Pièce jointe

c.c. Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada; télécopieur : 819-953-7876


Avis de sécurité
SA 2014-01
Août 2014

Vérification de l’entretien des accumulateurs et de leur aptitude fonctionnelle

Contexte

En 2012 et 2013, l’Office national de l’énergie a mené une enquête à la suite de 11 incidents attribuables à des accumulateurs qui ont pris feu ou qui ont explosé. Cette enquête a permis d’établir que l’entretien des accumulateurs n’était pas approprié, ce qui a éventuellement mené aux incendies et explosions précités. La mention « maintenance free » (sans entretien) sur plusieurs des accumulateurs en cause a joué un rôle important dans le fait que les pratiques d’entretien de l’exploitant n’étaient pas appropriées.

Mesures préventives

Au même titre que tout autre dispositif physique, les accumulateurs nécessitent un entretien. L’Office s’attend que les pratiques des sociétés visant l’évaluation, l’entretien et l’inspection de leurs accumulateurs, au même titre que le maintien de registres et l’analyse des tendances en la matière, respectent ou même dépassent les normes du Code canadien de l’électricité (le Code) et les pratiques exemplaires de l’industrie. Il s’attend aussi que les sociétés mettent en œuvre les normes applicables de l’Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers pour s’assurer que les accumulateurs ne posent pas de danger et soient fonctionnels et fiables.

La règle 26-546 du Code stipule ce qui suit :

  • Les salles ou les zones contenant des accumulateurs doivent être adéquatement ventilées; les accumulateurs ne doivent pas être exposés à des températures ambiantes supérieures à 45 °C ou inférieures au point de congélation de l’électrolyte.

Lorsque les accumulateurs sont entreposés dans des caisses, les trous d’aération doivent être suffisamment grands pour permettre une bonne dissipation de la chaleur et éviter l’accumulation d’hydrogène. Les niveaux d’électrolyte doivent demeurer à l’intérieur de la fourchette voulue alors que des pratiques d’entretien appropriées doivent être respectées dans le cadre de calendriers bien définis.

La règle 2-300(2) du Code stipule pour sa part ce qui suit :

  • L’appareillage électrique de secours doit faire l’objet d’inspections périodiques et être éprouvé, le cas échéant, afin d’en vérifier le bon fonctionnement.

La documentation sur les pratiques précitées doit pouvoir être consultée au moment d’un audit. Conformément à l’alinéa 6.5(1)u) du Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur les pipelines terrestres, les sociétés doivent prendre les mesures correctives voulues afin d’atténuer les risques potentiels pour la sécurité en présence de lacunes dans leur programme d’entretien des accumulateurs ou à l’égard de l’utilisation de ces derniers.

Les activités de vérification de la conformité permettent à l’Office de dépister les problèmes éventuels que pourraient avoir des sociétés réglementées, et d’y parer au moyen de l’imposition de mesures appropriées, le cas échéant. L’évaluation en question peut se faire dans le cadre d’inspections ciblées des installations ou d’audits des systèmes de gestion.

Renseignements complémentaires

Si vous avez des questions sur l’avis de sécurité, veuillez vous adresser au personnel de la gestion de l’intégrité de l’Office, sans frais, au 1-800-899-1265.

Date de modification :