ARCHIVED – Safety Advisory SA 2015-01 – Overhead Cranes and Material Handling Equipment

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Safety Advisory SA 2015-01 – Overhead Cranes and Material Handling Equipment [PDF 83 KB]

OF-Surv-Gen 11
19 January 2015

To: All Companies under National Energy Board Jurisdiction
Canadian Energy Pipeline Association
Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers
Provincial Pipeline Regulators

National Energy Board Safety Advisory SA 2015-01
Overhead Cranes and Material Handling Equipment

Please find attached Safety Advisory SA 2015-01.

The National Energy Board (NEB or Board) expects regulated companies to demonstrate a proactive commitment to continual improvement in safety, security and environmental protection, and to promote a positive safety culture as part of their management systems.

Safety Advisories are issued periodically in order to improve the oil and gas industry’s awareness of an identified safety or environmental concern with the goal of preventing incidents from occurring. A Safety Advisory also serves to further highlight NEB requirements, and conveys the Board’s expectation that regulated companies take appropriate action to mitigate any potential impacts to people or the environment.

The Board expects this advisory to be widely circulated to company personnel and contractors involved in the testing, maintenance, inspection, training and record keeping of overhead cranes and material handling equipment operating on the pipeline systems and facilities of NEB-regulated companies.

The NEB uses its enforcement tools to obtain compliance, deter future non-compliance, and prevent harm by using the most appropriate method available. Enforcement tools available to the NEB include, but are not limited to, Notices of Non-Compliance, Inspection Officer Orders, Board-issued Safety Orders, Administrative Monetary Penalties, revocation of a company’s authorization to operate and prosecution.

If you have any questions regarding this advisory please contact the Board at 1-800-899-1265.

Yours truly,

Original signed by L. George for

Sheri Young
Secretary of the Board

Attachment


Safety Advisory
SA 2015-01
January  2015

Overhead Cranes and Material Handling Equipment

Background

In 2014, the National Energy Board (NEB) conducted several routine facility safety inspections initiated by the NEB’s Compliance Verification Program. These inspections exposed non-compliances which have the potential to significantly impact worker safety and infrastructure.

The non-compliances revealed the safe-work procedures for material handling equipment and overhead cranes were inadequate. The effectiveness of training provided to workers with respect to following established procedures for pre-operational checks was not demonstrated. In addition, it was found that regular inspections of overhead cranes had not been consistently conducted.

The NEB is raising these concerns so that industry can be proactive in verifying they meet requirements relating to material handling equipment and overhead cranes within their safety programs and the regulations.

The NEB uses its enforcement tools to obtain compliance, deter future non-compliance, and prevent harm by using the most appropriate method available. Enforcement tools available to the NEB include, but are not limited to, Notices of Non-Compliance, Inspection Officer Orders, Board-issued Safety Orders, Administrative Monetary Penalties, revocation of a company’s authorization to operate and prosecution.

Preventive Actions

The following preventive actions are recommended:

  • develop applicable, current and relevant equipment management procedures;
  • train workers in inspection and operation of equipment; and
  • conduct inspections, testing and maintenance pursuant to the schedule outlined in procedures or according to manufacturer’s specifications

If companies find deficiencies in their equipment management and training programs, companies must take corrective actions to mitigate potential safety hazards as required by National Energy Board Onshore Pipeline Regulations 6.5.

Further Information

If you have any questions regarding this advisory please contact Safety Management personnel at the NEB through our toll free number at 1-800-899-1265.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ – Avis de sécurité SA 2015-01 – Ponts roulants et matériel de manutention

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis de sécurité SA 2015-01 – Ponts roulants et matériel de manutention [PDF 119 ko]

OF-Surv-Gen 11
Le 19 janvier 2015

Destinataires :  Toutes les sociétés du ressort de l’Office national de l’énergie
Association canadienne de pipelines d’énergie
Organismes de réglementation provinciaux du secteur pipelinier
Association canadienne des producteurs pétroliers

Avis de sécurité SA 2015-01 de l’Office national de l’énergie
Ponts roulants et matériel de manutention

Madame, Monsieur,

Vous trouverez ci-joint l’avis de sécurité SA 2015-01.

L’Office national de l’énergie attend des sociétés réglementées qu’elles démontrent, dans leurs systèmes de gestion, leur engagement proactif à constamment améliorer la sécurité, la sûreté et la protection de l’environnement, ainsi qu’à promouvoir une culture de sécurité positive.

Des avis de sécurité sont publiés périodiquement pour informer le secteur pétrolier et gazier de préoccupations connues en matière de sécurité ou d’environnement, et prévenir ainsi les incidents. Les avis de sécurité servent également à mettre l’accent sur les exigences de l’Office et illustrent les attentes de celui-ci quant à la prise des mesures qui s’imposent par les sociétés réglementées pour atténuer les effets potentiels sur les personnes ou sur l’environnement.

L’Office s’attend à ce que le présent avis circule parmi l’ensemble du personnel des sociétés et des entrepreneurs qui ont un rôle à jouer dans la mise à l’essai, l’entretien, l’inspection, la formation et le maintien de registres concernant les ponts roulants et le matériel de manutention utilisés pour les installations et réseaux pipeliniers assujettis à sa réglementation.

L’Office utilise les outils d’application les plus appropriés qui sont à sa disposition pour rétablir la conformité, dissuader les comportements non conformes ultérieurs et prévenir les dommages. Au nombre de ces outils on retrouve notamment des avis de non-conformité, des ordres d’inspecteurs, des ordonnances de sécurité, des sanctions administratives pécuniaires, la révocation de l’autorisation d’exploitation d’une société et des poursuites judiciaires.

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de l’avis de sécurité, communiquez avec l’Office au 1-800-899-1265.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

La secrétaire de l'Office,

Original signé par L. George pour

Sheri Young

Pièce jointe


Avis de sécurité
SA 2015-01
Janvier 2015

Ponts roulants et matériel de manutention

Contexte

En 2014, l’Office national de l’énergie a mené plusieurs inspections régulières d’installations dans le cadre de son programme de vérification de la conformité. Ces inspections ont révélé des cas de non-conformité susceptibles d’avoir des conséquences importantes sur l’infrastructure et la sécurité des travailleurs.

Les inspections ont fait ressortir le caractère inadéquat des pratiques de travail sécuritaire pour le matériel de manutention et les ponts roulants. L’efficacité de la formation donnée aux travailleurs relativement à la marche à suivre établie pour les contrôles préalables n’a pas été démontrée. De plus, il a été découvert que les inspections de ponts roulants n’avaient pas été effectuées de façon constante.

L’Office soulève ces problèmes afin que l’industrie puisse se montrer proactive et s’assurer qu’elle respecte les règlements et les exigences des programmes de sécurité concernant le matériel de manutention et les ponts roulants.

L’Office utilise les outils d’application les plus appropriés qui sont à sa disposition pour rétablir la conformité, dissuader les comportements non conformes ultérieurs et prévenir les dommages. Au nombre de ces outils on retrouve notamment des avis de non-conformité, des ordres d’inspecteurs, des ordonnances de sécurité, des sanctions administratives pécuniaires, la révocation de l’autorisation d’exploitation d’une société et des poursuites judiciaires.

Mesures préventives

Les mesures préventives suivantes sont recommandées :

  • élaborer une marche à suivre applicable, courante et pertinente pour la gestion de l’équipement;
  • former les travailleurs sur l’inspection et l’utilisation de l’équipement;
  • effectuer les inspections, la mise à l’essai et l’entretien suivant le calendrier indiqué dans la marche à suivre ou selon les spécifications du fabricant.

Les sociétés qui trouvent des lacunes dans leurs programmes de formation et de gestion de l’équipement doivent prendre des mesures correctives pour atténuer les risques d’accident possibles, conformément à l’article 6.5 du Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur les pipelines terrestres.

Renseignements complémentaires

Si vous avez des questions sur l’avis de sécurité, veuillez vous adresser au personnel de la gestion de la sécurité de l’Office, sans frais, au 1-800-899-1265.

Date de modification :