2015 Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences

As required by the Treasury Board Directive for the Management of Expenditures on Travel, Hospitality and Conferences, this report provides information on the total annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality and conferences for the National Energy Board for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2015.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conferences incurred by the NEB support the Agency’s mandate and the government’s priorities.

The NEB provides oversight of safety, integrity, environmental and economic issues throughout the lifecycle of its regulated facilities. As we continue working on behalf of Canadians, one ultimate outcome remains clear: the safety of Canadians and the protection of the environment for future generations.

In support and development of its programs, NEB incurs travel, hospitality and conference expenses. In 2014-15, NEB spent approximately $2 million on travel, conferences and hospitality. A large portion of these expenses were in support of the program activities for Energy Regulation, which provides the Canadian public, project proponents and other government agencies with regulation of international and designated interprovincial power lines; construction, operations, and toll and tariffs on international and interprovincial pipelines; energy trade; and exploration and development in certain frontier and offshore areas.

Summary of annual expenditures for travel, hospitality and conferences for the National Energy Board for fiscal year ending March 31, 2015
Expenditure Category Expenditures
for the
year ending
March 31, 2015
(a)
Expenditures
for the
year ending
March 31, 2014
(b)
Variance
(a - b)
(in thousands of dollars)
Travel - Public Servants 1,826 2,328 (502)
Travel - Non-Public Servants 26 26 0
International Travel by Minister and Minister’s Staff 0 0 0
Travel 1,852 2,354 (502)
Hospitality 43 83 (40)
Conference Fees 128 103 25
Grand Total 2,023 2,540 (517)

Significant variances compared to the previous fiscal year:

Travel:

Public servants: Compared with fiscal year 2013-14, departmental travel expenditures by public servants decreased mainly due to the reduction in the number of hearing and engagement related activities.

Hospitality:

The NEB hosted fewer hearings and events during 2014-15.

Conferences Fees:

The description of conferences was realigned to agree with the Treasury Board guidance.

Date modified:

Rapport 2015 sur les frais annuels de voyage, d’accueil et de conférence

Produit conformément à la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil, de conférences et d’événements du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fait état des dépenses engagées à ces fins par l’Office national de l’énergie au cours de l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2015.

L’information qu’il contient est mise à jour annuellement et ne comporte aucun renseignement qui serait habituellement protégé en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyage, d’accueil et de conférence engagées par l’Office ont pour but de soutenir l’exécution de son mandat et les activités prioritaires du gouvernement.

L’Office surveille les questions liées à la sécurité, à l’intégrité, à l’environnement et à l’aspect économique pendant le cycle de vie complet des installations soumises à sa réglementation. Il continue d’œuvrer pour les Canadiens sans déroger au résultat final recherché, qui est d’assurer la sécurité de la population canadienne et la protection de l’environnement pour les générations futures.

L’Office engage des frais de voyage, d’accueil et de conférence pour élaborer et soutenir ses programmes. En 2014-2015, l’Office a dépensé environ 2 millions de dollars à ce titre. Une bonne partie de ces dépenses a servi à soutenir les activités du programme de réglementation de l’énergie, qui assure à la population canadienne, aux promoteurs de projets et à d’autres organismes gouvernementaux, la réglementation de ce qui suit : lignes internationales et interprovinciales désignées de transport d’électricité; construction, exploitation, droits et tarifs des pipelines interprovinciaux et internationaux; commerce de l’énergie; activités d’exploration et de mise en valeur dans certaines régions pionnières et zones extracôtières.

Résumés des dépenses de voyage, d’accueil et de conférence de l’Office national de l’énergie pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015
Catégorie de dépenses Dépenses
pour l’exercice
se terminant
le 31 mars 2015
(a)
Dépenses
pour l’exercice
se terminant
le 31 mars 2014
(b)
Écart
(a - b)
(en milliers de dollars)
Voyages - Fonctionnaires 1 826 2 328 (502)
Voyages - Personnes autres que fonctionnaires 26 26 0
Voyages internationaux - Ministre et cabinet 0 0 0
Voyages 1 852 2 354 (502)
Accueil 43 83 (40)
Droits d’inscription 128 103 25
Total général 2 023 2 540 (517)

Écarts importants par rapport à l’exercice précédent :

Voyages

Fonctionnaires : en comparaison avec l’exercice 2013-2014, les frais de voyage des fonctionnaires ont diminué en raison de la baisse du nombre d’audiences et d’activités de participation.

Accueil

L’Office a organisé un moins grand nombre d’audiences et d’événements en 2014-2015.

Frais de participation aux conférences

Le terme « conférence » a été redéfini en fonction de l’orientation donnée par le Conseil du Trésor.

Date de modification :