ARCHIVED - 2011 Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

As required by the Treasury Board Directive for the Management of Expenditures on Travel, Hospitality and Conferences, this report provides information on the total annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality and conferences for the National Energy Board for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2011.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conferences incurred by the NEB support the Agency’s mandate and the government’s priorities.

The NEB provides oversight of safety, integrity, environmental and economic issues throughout the lifecycle of its regulated facilities. As we continue working on behalf of Canadians, one ultimate outcome remains clear: the safety of Canadians and the protection of the environment for future generations.

In support and development of its programs, NEB incurs travel, hospitality and conference expenses. In 2010-11, NEB spent approximately $2.6 million on travel, conferences and hospitality. A large portion of these expenses (68% of travel; 45% of conferences and 50% of hospitality expenses) were in support of the program activities for Energy Regulation, which provides the Canadian public, project proponents and other government agencies with regulation of international and designated interprovincial power lines; construction, operations, and toll and tariffs on international and interprovincial pipelines; energy trade; and exploration and development in certain frontier and offshore areas.

Another significant portion of these expenses (27% of travel; 23% of conferences and 49% of hospitality expenses), supports the program activities for Internal Services which are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These Internal Services costs are directly related to regulatory activities and are critical to support the strategic outcome of the Board.

Energy Information which provides the Board, industry, policy makers, and the Canadian public with energy industry and market surveillance including the outlook for supply and demand of energy commodities in Canada, to assist in decision making regarding infrastructure and markets, accounts for the remaining expenses (5% travel; 32% conferences and 1% hospitality).

Summary of of annual expenditures for travel, hospitality and conferences for the National Energy Board for fiscal year ending March 31, 2011
Expenditure Category Expenditures for the year
ending March 31, 2011
(in thousands of dollars)
Travel - Public Servants 2,270.4
Travel - Non-Public Servants 164.6
International Travel by Chairman and CEO,
Vice Chairman,
Chief Operating Officer
10.4
Total Travel 2,445.40
Hospitality 81.5
Conference Fees 153.4
TOTAL 2,680.30
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Divulgation des frais de voyage et d'accueil 2011

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Produit conformément à la Directive sur la gestion des dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fait état des dépenses engagées à ces fins par l’Office national de l’énergie au cours de l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2011.

L’information qu’il contient est mise à jour annuellement et ne comporte aucun renseignement qui serait habituellement protégé en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences engagées par l’ONÉ on pour but de soutenir l’exercice de son mandat et les activités prioritaires du gouvernement.

L’ONÉ surveille la sécurité et l’intégrité des installations qui relèvent de sa compétence, de même que les enjeux économiques et environnementaux pertinents, durant le cycle de vie de ces installations. Nous poursuivons notre travail pour le bien de la population canadienne en ne perdant pas de vue le résultat souhaité : la sécurité des Canadiens et Canadiennes et la protection de l’environnement pour les générations futures.

L’ONÉ engage des dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences pour les besoins de développement et de soutien de ses programmes. En 2010-2011, l’ONÉ a dépensé 2,6 millions de dollars à ce titre. Une bonne partie de ces dépenses (voyages, 68 %; conférences, 45 %; accueil, 50 %) ont servi à soutenir les activités du programme de réglementation de l’énergie, lequel assure, à l’intention de la population canadienne, des promoteurs de projets et d’autres organismes gouvernementaux, la réglementation des lignes internationales de transport d’électricité et lignes interprovinciales désignées; de la construction et de l’exploitation des pipelines interprovinciaux et internationaux ainsi que des droits et tarifs des sociétés pipelinières; du commerce de l’énergie et des activités d’exploration et de mise en valeur dans certaines régions pionnières et zones extracôtières.

Une autre part considérable (voyages, 27 %; conférences, 23 %; accueil, 49 %) est consacrée aux activités du programme de services internes, lesquels consistent en des groupes d’activités et ressources ayant pour but d’appuyer les programmes et d’aider l’organisation à remplir ses autres obligations.

Les coûts des services internes sont directement liés aux activités de réglementation et sont d’importance critique pour la réalisation du résultat stratégique de l’Office.

Le reste des dépenses (voyages, 5 %; conférences, 32 %; accueil, 1 %) est consacré à l’information sur l’énergie, soit la surveillance, à l’intention de l’Office, de l’industrie, des responsables des politiques et du public canadien, du secteur de l’énergie et des marchés énergétiques, y compris la diffusion de perspectives sur l’offre et la demande de produits énergétiques au Canada, afin de les aider dans leurs décisions relativement à l’infrastructure énergétique et aux marchés.

Sommaire des dépenses annuelles pour frais de voyage, d'accueil et de conférences de l'Office national de l'énergie pour l'exercise terminé le 31 mars, 2011
Catégorie de dépenses Exercice terminé
le 31 mars 2011
(en milliers de dollars)
Voyages - Fonctionnaires 2 270,4
Voyages - Personnes autres que des fonctionnaires 164,6
Voyages à l’étranger par
le président et premier dirigeant,
le vice-président,
le chef des opérations
10,4
Total des dépenses de voyages 2 445,40
Accueil 81,5
Droits d’inscription à des conférences 153,4
TOTAL 2 680,30
Date de modification :