ARCHIVÉ - 2013 Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

As required by the Treasury Board Directive for the Management of Expenditures on Travel, Hospitality and Conferences, this report provides information on the total annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality and conferences for the National Energy Board for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2013.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conferences incurred by the NEB support the Agency’s mandate and the government’s priorities.

The NEB provides oversight of safety, integrity, environmental and economic issues throughout the lifecycle of its regulated facilities. As we continue working on behalf of Canadians, one ultimate outcome remains clear: the safety of Canadians and the protection of the environment for future generations.

In support and development of its programs, NEB incurs travel, hospitality and conference expenses. In 2012-13, NEB spent approximately $2.8 million on travel, conferences and hospitality. A large portion of these expenses were in support of the program activities for Energy Regulation, which provides the Canadian public, project proponents and other government agencies with regulation of international and designated interprovincial power lines; construction, operations, and toll and tariffs on international and interprovincial pipelines; energy trade; and exploration and development in certain frontier and offshore areas.

Summary of annual expenditures for travel, hospitality and conferences for the National Energy Board for fiscal year ending March 31, 2013
Expenditure Category Expenditures
for the
year ending
March 31, 2013
(a)
Expenditures
for the
year ending
March 31, 2012
(b)
Variance
(a - b)
(in thousands of dollars)
Travel - Public Servants 2,683 2,345 338
Travel - Non-Public Servants 22 253 (231)
International Travel by Chairman and CEO,
Vice Chairman,
Chief Operating Officer
0 11 (11)
Total Travel 2,705 2,609 96
Hospitality 66 55 11
Conference Fees 71 116 66
TOTAL 2,842 2,780  

Significant variances compared to the previous fiscal year.

Travel:
Travel for Public Servants increased due to continued Northern Gateway Hearings and the start of TransCanada 2012-2013 Tolls hearings. However the cost of non-Public Servant dropped due to the termination of the Arctic Review. The Board's focus has been on the aforementioned hearings and northern engagement therefore the CEO and Vice CEO have not traveled internationally.

Hospitality:
An increase in the number of hearings resulted in increased hospitality costs.

Conferences Fees:
The allocation of costs to conferences was realigned to concur with the description of conferences per Treasury Board guidance.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Rapport 2013 sur les frais annuels de voyage, d’accueil et de conférence

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Produit conformément à la Directive sur la gestion des dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fait état des dépenses engagées à ces fins par l’Office national de l’énergie au cours de l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2013.

L’information qu’il contient est mise à jour annuellement et ne comporte aucun renseignement qui serait habituellement protégé en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les frais de voyage, d’accueil et de conférence engagés par l’Office ont pour but de soutenir l’exécution de son mandat et les activités prioritaires du gouvernement.

L’Office surveille la sécurité et l’intégrité des installations qui relèvent de sa compétence, de même que les enjeux économiques et environnementaux pertinents, durant le cycle de vie de ces installations. Il poursuit son travail pour le bien de la population canadienne en ne perdant pas de vue le résultat souhaité : la sécurité des Canadiens et Canadiennes et la protection de l’environnement pour les générations futures.

L’Office engage des frais de voyage, d’accueil et de conférence pour élaborer et soutenir ses programmes. En 2012-2013, l’Office a dépensé environ 2,8 millions de dollars à ce titre. Une bonne partie de ces dépenses a servi à soutenir les activités du programme de réglementation de l’énergie, qui assure à la population canadienne, aux promoteurs de projets et à d'autres organismes gouvernementaux, la réglementation de ce qui suit : lignes internationales et interprovinciales désignées de transport d’électricité; construction, exploitation, droits et tarifs des pipelines interprovinciaux et internationaux; commerce de l’énergie; activités d’exploration et de mise en valeur dans certaines régions pionnières et zones extracôtières.

Sommaire des dépenses annuelles pour frais de voyage, d'accueil et de conférences de l'Office national de l'énergie pour l'exercise terminé le 31 mars, 2013
Catégorie de dépenses Exercice terminé
le 31 mars 2013 (a)
Exercice terminé
le 31 mars 2012
(b)
Écart
(a - b)
(en milliers de dollars)
Voyages - Fonctionnaires 2 683 2 345 338
Voyages - Personnes autres que fonctionnaires 22 253 (231)
Voyages à l’étranger par
le président et premier dirigeant,
la vice-présidente,
le chef des opérations
0 11 (11)
Total des dépenses de voyages 2 705 2 609 96
Accueil 66 55 11
Frais de participation aux conférences 71 116 66
TOTAL 2 842 2 780  

Écarts importants par rapport à l’exercice précédent

Voyages :
Les fonctionnaires se sont déplacés davantage en raison des audiences de Northern Gateway qui se sont poursuivies et des audiences qui ont débuté relativement aux droits de TransCanada pour 2012-2013. Par contre, les frais engagés pour les non-fonctionnaires ont diminué avec la conclusion de la revue du dossier Arctique. L'Office ayant concentré ses efforts sur les audiences susmentionnées et la participation des populations du Nord, le président et premier dirigeant et la vice-présidente n'ont pas voyagé à l'étranger.

Accueil :
L'augmentation du nombre d'audiences a entraîné des frais d'accueil accrus.

Frais de participation aux conférences :
La répartition des coûts des conférences a été réalignée en fonction de la description fournie dans les directives du Conseil du Trésor.

Date de modification :