ARCHIVED - Amendment to National Energy Board Rules of Practice and Procedure - Request for Comments - 14 February 2007

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Amendment to National Energy Board Rules of Practice and Procedure - Request for Comments [PDF 94 KB]

File 185-A000-3

14 February 2007

To: Attached Distribution List

Amendment to National Energy Board Rules of Practice and Procedure, 1995 ("Rules") - Request for Comments

Board staff is considering seeking Board approval to amend and update the Rules to, among other things, reflect current practice, include technological updates, address recurring procedural issues and clarify terminology used in the Rules. While stakeholders would ultimately be consulted on a draft amendment, staff considered it to be beneficial to have some comments at this point on any suggested areas of improvement, amendment or clarification that staff may wish to consider, from counsel who are most familiar with the current Rules.

Some of the issues or areas staff has identified that may require amendment include:

  • Filing and service - reflecting efiling; timelines for service?
  • Reviews - should there be a time limit on reviews for error of law or jurisdiction?
  • Interventions - should there be a different test; should intervenors be grouped according to issue of concern?
  • Oral statements - should they be included; and if so, what rights and obligations should attach to them?
  • Are there additional or alternative ways in which the public could effectively participate in hearings before the Board?
  • Could the motion or hearing procedures be more clearly set out in the Rules?

With this distribution list, staff has attempted to capture counsel that regularly appear before the Board. This correspondence has been addressed to one person within each organization and recipients are encouraged to forward it to other counsel familiar with Board practice both within and outside their organization.

If you would like to submit any suggestions or recommendations for amendments or additions to the Rules, or if you have any comments with respect to the issues we have already identified, we would appreciate receiving your comments by 18 April 2007. Please direct any questions or comments to Jody Saunders or Lauren Bell, Legal Services. Comments can be faxed to 403-299-2710, or emailed to We would like to thank you in advance for your time and consideration.


Jody Saunders
Legal Services

Lauren Bell
Legal Services


Distribution List

Distribution List
Jill Page
Alberta Department of Energy
300, 801 - 6 Avenue SW
Calgary, AB
T2P 3W2
Patrick Keys
TransCanada PipeLines Limited
450 - 1 Street SW
Calgary, AB
T2P 5H1
Sandra Folkins
Alberta Justice
1710, 639 - 5 Avenue SW
Calgary, AB
T2P 0M9
William Christensen
Alliance Pipeline
600, 605 - 5 Avenue SW
Calgary, AB
T2P 3H5
Lawrence Smith, Q.C.
Bennett Jones LLP
855 - 2 Street SW
4500 Bankers Hall East
Calgary, AB
T2P 4K7
Paul Jeffery
Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP
3500, 855 - 2 Street SW
East Tower Bankers Hall
Calgary, AB
T2P 4J8
Gordon K. Cameron
Blake, Cassels & Graydon, LLP
World Exchange Plaza, 20th Floor
45 O'Connor Street
Ottawa, ON
K1P 1A4
Frank Foran
Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
1000 Canterra Tower
400 - 3 Avenue SW
Calgary, AB
T2P 4H2
Peter Thompson
Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
World Exchange Plaza
1100, 100 Queen Street
Ottawa, ON
K1P 1J9
Ms. M.F. Swanson
BP Canada Energy Company
240 - 4 Avenue SW
Calgary, AB
T2P 2H8
Dave Bursey
Bull, Housser & Tupper LLP
3000, 1055 West Georgia Street
P.O. Box 11130, Royal Centre
Vancouver, BC
V6E 3R3
Keith Miller
Burnet Duckworth & Palmer LLP
1400, 350 - 7 Avenue SW
Calgary, AB
T2P 3N9
Nick Schultz
Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers
2100, 350 - 7 Avenue SW
Calgary, AB
T2P 3N9
Ian Blue
Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP
2100, 40 King Street W
Toronto, ON
M5H 3C2
Marcia Decter
Chevron Canada Resources
500 - 5 Avenue SW
Calgary, AB
T2P 0L7
Brent Molesky
ConocoPhillips Canada Resources Corp.
401 - 9 Avenue SW
PO Box 130
Calgary, AB
T2P 2H7
Darryl Carter
Darryl Carter & Company
103, 10134 - 97 Avenue
Grande Prairie, AB
T8V 7X6
Terence Dalgleish
Davis & Company LLP
400 - 4 Avenue SW
3000 Shell Centre
Calgary, AB
T2P 0J4
Scott D. Duke
Department of Justice
2nd Floor, 5020 - 48 Street
PO Box 815
Yellowknife, NT
X1A 2N1
Greg Cartwright
Enbridge Pipelines Inc.
21st Flr., 10201 Jasper Avenue
Box 398
Edmonton, AB
T5J 2J9
Al Reid
Encana Corporation
1800, 855 - 2 Street SW
PO Box 2850
Calgary, AB
T2P 2S5
Cal Johnson
Fasken Martineau Dumoulin LLP
2100, 1075 West Georgia Street
Vancouver, BC
V6E 3G2
John Campion
Fasken Martineau Dumoulin LLP
4200, 66 Wellington Street W
P.O. Box 20 TD Centre
Toronto, ON
M5K 1N6
Rick Neufeld
Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP
237 - 4 Avenue SW
29th Floor, Fifth Avenue Place
Calgary, AB
T2P 4X7
Jerry H. Farrell
Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP
39, 100 King Street W
PO Box 100
Toronto, ON
M5X 1B2
Louis-Charles Ratelle
1717, rue du Havre
Montréal, Québec
H2K 2X3
Alan Hollingworth
Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP
1200, 700 - 2 Street SW
Calgary, AB
T2P 4V5
Susan Anderson
Husky Oil Ltd.
707 - 8 Avenue SW
Box 6525, Stn D
Calgary, AB
T2P 3G7
Peter Forrester
Kinder Morgan Canada Inc.
2700, 300 - 5 Avenue SW
Calgary, AB
T2P 5J2
Louis LeClerc
Lavery, DeBilly
1, Place Ville Marie
Bureau 4000
Montréal, Québec
H3B 4M4
Lewis Manning
Lawson Lundell LLP
3700, 205 - 5 Avenue SW
Calgary, AB
T2P 3V7
Ken MacDonald
Macleod Dixon
400 Third Avenue SW
3700 Canterra Tower
Calgary, AB
T2P 4H2
Tim Howard
Mandell Pinder
422, 1080 Mainland Street
Vancouver, BC
V6B 2T4
Brent Czarnecki
Manitoba Hydro
820 Taylor Avenue
PO Box 815
Winnipeg, MN
R3C 2P4
Mr. D.G. Davies
McCarthy Tetrault LLP
3300, 421 - 7 Avenue SW
Calgary, AB
T2P 4K9
David MacDougall
McInnis Cooper
1600, 5151 George Street
PO Box 247
Halifax, NS
B3J 2N9
M. Ronald Richard
Direction du développement des hydrocarbures
Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune
5700, 4e Avenue Ouest, A-412
Québec (Québec)
G1H 6R1
John Turchin
Counsel, Legal Services Branch, Environment
Ministry of Energy
900 Bay Street, 4th Floor, Hearst Block
Toronto, ON
M7A 2E1
Shannon Young
Nexen Inc.
2900, 801 - 7 Avenue SW
Calgary, AB
T2P 3P7
Mr. W. (Val) Mirosh
Nova Chemicals Corporation
1000 - 7 Avenue SW
PO Box 2518, Stn M
Calgary, AB
T2P 5G6
Gord Nettleton
Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP
2500, 450 - 1 Street SW
Calgary, AB
T2P 5H1
Chuck Morin
Paramount Resources Ltd.
4700, 888 - 3 Street SW
Calgary, AB
T2P 5C5
Scott R. Miller
Petro-Canada Law Department
37th Flr, 150 - 6 Avenue SW
Calgary, AB
T2P 3E3
Jeffery K. Davidson
Rath & Company
Box 44, Site 8, R.R. 1
Priddis, AB
T0L 1W0
David W. Rowbotham
Rowbotham Law Office
320, 703 - 6 Avenue SW
Calgary, AB
T2P 0T9
Steven Shrybman
Sack Goldblatt Mitchell LLP
1100, 20 Dundas Street W
PO Box 180
Toronto, ON
M5G 2G8
Mary Henderson
Shell Canada Limited
400 - 4 Avenue SW
PO Box 100, Stn M
Calgary, AB
T2P 2H5
Paul Falvo
Sierra Legal Defence Fund
4910 - 50 Street, 3rd Floor
PO Box 933
Yellowknife, NT
X1A 2N7
Heather Piercy
Spectra Energy
2600, 425 - 1 Street SW
Calgary, AB
T2P 3L8
Kemm Yates
Stikeman Elliott LLP
4300, 888 - 3 Street SW
Calgary, AB
T2P 5C5
Joan Moffat
Talisman Energy Inc.
3400, 888 - 3 Street SW
Calgary, AB T2P 5C5


Date modified: