Filing Manual – Guide J – Commodity Pipeline Systems

As a result of the Canada Transportation Act, which came into force on 1 July 1996, jurisdiction over interprovincial and international commodity pipelines in Canada was transferred from the National Transportation Agency (now the Canadian Transportation Agency) to the Board. In order to assume this jurisdiction, the definition of "pipeline" in the NEB Act was broadened to include pipelines transporting commodities other than oil or gas, but excluding municipal sewer and water lines.

Due to the wide variety of fluids transported on commodity pipelines, the Board determined that it would be more practical to regulate these lines on a case-by-case basis, rather than developing new regulations that would address all potential commodity issues. The Board, therefore, issued Order MO-CO-3-96, which exempted commodity pipelines from the provisions of the OPR.

The first application filed with the Board for the construction and operation of a commodity pipeline was on 10 October 1997 by Souris Valley Pipeline Limited for the construction and operation of a carbon dioxide transmission pipeline in southern Saskatchewan. The Board made the decision that any certificate issued in respect of the proposed facilities would be conditioned to reflect many of the issues addressed by the OPR.

In regard to the application of this manual, while the requirements pursuant to sections of the NEB Act apply to commodity pipelines just as they would to traditional hydrocarbon pipelines, specific sections of the OPR do not. However, the relevant Guides within this manual may still be applicable to commodity pipelines.

Next Steps...

Next Steps...

File the completed application. Applicants are encouraged to include the completed relevant checklists from Appendix I.

Date modified:

Guide de dépôt – Rubrique J – Réseaux et productoducs

Par suite de l’adoption de la Loi sur les transports au Canada, qui est entrée en vigueur le 1er juillet 1996, les productoducs interprovinciaux et internationaux au Canada ne relèvent plus de la responsabilité de l’Office national des transports (maintenant l’Office des transports du Canada) mais bien de l’Office. Pour tenir compte de cette nouvelle responsabilité, la définition de « pipeline » dans la Loi sur l’ONÉ a été élargie pour inclure les pipelines transportant des produits autre que du pétrole ou du gaz, mais à l’exclusion des canalisations d’égout et des aqueducs municipaux.

Vu la grande variété de fluides transportée par les productoducs, l’Office a établi qu’il serait plus pratique de réglementer ces canalisations au cas par cas, plutôt que d’élaborer de nouvelles réglementations qui traiteraient de toutes les questions potentielles relatives aux produits. L’Office a donc délivré l’ordonnance MO-CO-3-96, qui exempte les productoducs des dispositions du RPT.

La première demande déposée auprès de l’Office pour la construction et l’exploitation d’un productoduc l’a été le 10 octobre 1997 par la Souris Valley Pipeline Limited en vue de la construction et de l’exploitation d’une canalisation de transport de dioxyde de carbone dans le sud de la Saskatchewan. Dans sa décision, l’Office a statué qu’un certificat délivré à l’égard des installations envisagées serait assorti de conditions reflétant de nombreuses questions abordées par le RPT

En ce qui concerne l’application du présent guide, bien que les exigences de la Loi sur l’ONÉ s’appliquent aux productoducs tout comme aux réseaux de transport d’hydrocarbures classiques, certains articles du RPT ne s’appliquent pas aux productoducs. Toutefois, les rubriques pertinentes du présent document pourraient toujours s’appliquer à ces derniers.

Étape suivante

Étape suivante

Déposer la demande une fois qu'elle est complète. Les demandeurs sont invités à remplir et à inclure les listes de contrôle pertinentes, qui figurent à l'annexe I.

Date de modification :