Electricity Filing Manual – Chapter 4 – Project Description and Engineering

Table of Contents

This chapter describes the information an applicant needs to file with the Board with respect to describing the IPL project, including all project components, activities and related undertakings, their location and the project schedule.

4.1 Project Location

Goal

The application includes a complete description of where the project and its components are located.

Filing Requirements

Provide a description of, and maps that show, at an appropriate scale:

  • the terminal points and international boundary crossover point;
  • the route, facility sites and any proposed ancillary facilities;
  • land use features which the IPL is to cross;
  • constraints that restrict the preferred route or location of facilities or project components;
  • the power line outside Canada; and
  • the location of project components and related undertakings.

Describe the width of the right of way proposed and the reasons why that width was selected.

Guidance

Constraints that restrict the preferred route or location of facilities or project components include environmental, socio-economic, and land or resource use factors, including general land tenure; current land uses, zoning and land use plans; the nearest residences and communities; and unique or major physical features.

For some information, line drawings or site plans may be more appropriate.

Where available the Board encourages applicants to include key Global Positioning System (GPS) locations as part of their spatial information submissions, particularly for the project endpoints, boundary crossover point and main IPL route locator points.

4.2 Project Components and Activities

4.2.1 Engineering Design Details

Goal

The application provides a description of the physical design, operational details and lifecycle activities of the proposed project, with sufficient detail to:

  • identify project design features and procedures that will ensure the safe, secure and reliable operation of the proposed facilities;
  • identify potential project related interactions with the environment; and
  • identify project design features and practices that will mitigate adverse environmental and socio-economic effects.

Filing Requirements

The application shall identify and describe all project components, activities and related undertakings (e.g., conductors, substation components, access roads including temporary and permanent bridges, construction camps, temporary work space, etc.), including, but not limited to:

  • the voltage level;
  • the number and size of conductors;
  • a description of the tower or other structures that will provide physical support for the international power line; and
  • a single-line diagram identifying all the facilities that constitute the international power line.

The application should include a description of how the project will be carried out.

Provide a description of any facilities to be constructed by others which are required to accommodate the proposed facilities including temporary facilities.

Describe other permits, licenses, or authorizations that will be required before part or all of the project can proceed.

Guidance

NEB-regulated facilities are to be safe and secure. They are also to be built and operated in a manner that respects the rights of those affected. In general, the information listed above is required in order for the Board to ascertain that the electrical design and operation of the project, if it were built, would meet these goals.

The project description should address:

  • what the project is, including:
    • a complete list and thorough description of the project components, activities and, any related undertakings (i.e., any additional components or activities required for the project to proceed, such as temporary work space, means of access including temporary and permanent bridges, etc.);
    • a description of replacements or expansions of physical works and activities that are anticipated over the life of the project; and
    • preliminary drawings if available.
  • how the project will be carried out, including:
    • a thorough description of how project activities (e.g., clearing, blasting, tower foundations, tower raising, stringing, watercourse crossings, inspection, monitoring programs, testing, etc.) would be carried out during the construction and operations phases; and
    • the anticipated workforce (i.e., person days and skills required for construction and operations activities).

The above requirements generally assume that the project is of overhead construction. If the project is of underground construction, in whole or in part, substitute information should be provided as appropriate (e.g., trenching or conduit details and construction information versus information on tower structures).

The single-line diagram identifying all the facilities that constitute the international power line should include information detailing the line's connection to substation facilities in Canada. The diagram should clearly delineate what substation components form part of the line versus substation components forming part of the host Canadian power system. Components to be identified should include equipment and structures such as busbar, transformers, breakers, switches, air breaks, reactive compensation components, protective relaying and metering equipment, etc.

4.2.2 Engineering Design Philosophy

Goal

The application provides sufficient description of the applicable codes, standards and regulations and any engineering details with respect to any special design challenges, to demonstrate that the proposed facilities will be safe, secure and reliable.

Filing Requirements

  1. The application should clearly indicate all primary codes and standards, including the version and date of issue, that will be followed in the design and material selection for each element of the applied-for facility, subject to the following:
    • where there is a choice in the code or standard selected, provide a brief reason why the referenced code or standard is considered appropriate, and'
    • where there is no industry-recognized code or standard, provide brief reasoning why the proposed course of action would be taken with respect to affected design and material selections.
  2. The application should clearly indicate that the project will comply with applicable company design and operations manuals and confirm that, in turn, these manuals comply with the codes and standards for the project. As well applicants are expected to keep the latest versions of these manuals available for Board audit and file copies upon request.

Guidance

  1. The information listed above is desired in order for the Board to ascertain that the electrical design and operation of the project, if it were built, would be safe and secure and perceived as being so. To this end the application should demonstrate that the project would not be inconsistent with current generally-accepted industry practice and procedure for similar facilities built and operated under similar circumstances and conditions elsewhere, preferably in Canada.
  2. Where no clearly-applicable industry-recognized code or standards exist, the use of good engineering practice is recognized, respected and expected. However, to the extent possible, a course of action proposed as a consequence of doing so should be clearly traceable back to established code, standards or engineering principles.

4.3 Impacts to the Bulk Power System

Goal

The application provides sufficient information to identify and justify the effects of the proposed project on the safe operation, security and reliability of the existing and projected power system it would become a part of.

Filing Requirements

The application shall provide:

  • the total export and import power transfer capabilities, with and without the proposed international power line, of the local Canadian power system to which the proposed project will interconnect, and of the non-Canadian power system that the international power line will connect to, stating the criteria for those capabilities;
  • the proposed international power line's power transfer capability for sustained transmission of power under winter and summer conditions, and the criteria for the stated power transfer capability;
  • a description of the reliability standards to which the IPL will be subject during operation;
  • a copy of:
    • (i) each interconnection agreement that relates to the construction of the international power line, and
    • (ii) any other agreement between the applicant and the owner or the operator of the power line outside Canada that relates to the construction and operation of the international power line and the power line outside Canada;
  • confirmation ensuring compliance with the North American Reliability Corporation (NERC) reliability standards, as applicable.

Guidance

  1. Applicants should review the General Order for Electricity Reliability Standards (Appendix I) for guidance on the Board’s expections regarding reliability standards.
  2. The information listed above is required in order to ascertain that the presence, timing, design and operation of the project, if it were built, would respect others’ right to expect safe and reliable electrical service from the power system in its existing and projected future forms. It should also assist in ascertaining that the project, if it were built, would not compromise or jeopardize the power system’s physical security. To this end the application must demonstrate that the project has or will acquire all approvals required for it from provincial governments or other appropriate authorities.
  3. Where the project would be considered to form part of the bulk power system, the application for the project should provide the details of the international power line’s review, studies and  recommendations by the appropriate element(s) of governing electric system reliability organization(s), such as the Regional Reliability Organization(s) of the NERC. This could be provided in the form of copies of appropriate documents, such as study reports, issued by such organisations with respect to the project.
  4. It is the expectation of the Board that applicants will comply with the most current version of  reliability standards those are developed by a standards development authority , for example NERC, that is recognized in a province  during the design, construction, operation of the proposed facility. Applicants should confirm their commitment to the Board.

4.4 Other Required Approvals and Project Schedule

Goal

The application includes information on other regulatory approvals and processes and the project schedule.

Filing Requirements

Provide:

  • a description of provincial approvals that are required for the power line in Canada including,
    • a description of the review process for each provincial approval including any public consultation component,
    • the status of each review process and the schedule for the completion of any outstanding reviews, and
    • a copy of any provincial approvals already obtained;
  • a description of the approvals that are required to be obtained, from the appropriate authorities for the power line outside Canada;
  • for permit applications, the identity of the designated provincial regulatory agency;
  • a schedule showing the projected dates for the start and completion of construction of the international power line and the power line outside Canada; and
  • the expected in-service date.

Guidance

The NEB requires information regarding the status of all approvals or authorizations both inside and outside Canada. This is in order to reasonably assure the Board that there are no issues before other regulators that would prevent or delay either the construction or use of the applied-for facilities. Updates on status may also be provided after an application has been submitted. The NEB will consider non-NEB approvals that are filed with the application to the NEB and will minimize, to the extent possible duplications in regulatory burden. It is therefore in the applicants interest to file non-NEB approvals at the outset to improve regulatory efficiency.

While applicants may choose when to apply for their provincial and NEB authorizations, applicants should be aware that the NEB permit process is best suited for after the corresponding provincial review. Should an applicant choose to apply to the NEB before, or at the same time as, applying to the provincial regulator, it will be especially important that project routing is as detailed as possible and that public consultation (on that specific route) is as complete as possible. Should an applicant’s project planning and consultations not be far enough advanced before applying to the NEB this may result in a longer review process.

In the case of permit applications section 58.17 of the NEB Act requires that the applicant identify what provincial regulatory agency is designated for the oversight of the proposed IPL. This is an important requirement to ensure there is no regulatory gap in the jurisdiction of the IPL ultimately reverting to the province. Proponents may wish to be prudent in ensuring this issue is resolved prior to applying with the NEB.

With respect to sheduling information, the project schedule should:

  • include a breakdown of all major construction activities by sub-activities;
  • identify any timing constraints or windows which the schedule must accommodate; and
  • describe how any changes to schedule can affect the rest of the schedule and ultimately the project.

You should include a description of when proposed decommissioning and abandonment of the project might take place.

For elected certificates, you should also provide a schedule for operational activities, such as inspection, repair or maintenance.

4.5 Alternatives

Goal

The application includes a description of the alternatives considered and the rationale for the options selected.

Filing Requirements

  1. Describe other alternatives that were examined and the rationale for selecting the applied-for project over these other possible alternatives.
  2. Describe and justify the selection of the proposed route and site, including a comparison of the alternatives using selection criteria.
  3. Describe, where appropriate, any alternative designs and construction methods that were considered and the rationale for selecting the preferred design and construction methods.

Guidance

Alternatives Considered

Alternatives are functionally different ways of meeting the need and purpose of the project, or are other technically, economically, socially and environmentally feasible means of fulfilling the project. These could include an alternative:

  • interconnection strategy;
  • route or site;
  • facility design; or
  • construction methods, including different means of development, implementation and mitigation.

Selection Criteria for Alternatives

Different project, routing, design and construction alternatives should be summarized and compared using a suite of criteria that justifies and demonstrates how the proposed option was selected and why it is the best option.

When comparing project, routing, design or construction alternatives, you should elaborate on the following criteria, as appropriate:

  • engineering design;
  • economic feasibility or costs;
  • effect on reliability and security of the existing host power system;
  • demonstrated public concern;
  • environmental and socio-economic constraints, benefits or potential effects; or
  • regional concern from a cumulative effects standpoint.

The level of detail provided should be consistent with the scope of the project and any potential impacts on the stability and reliability of the host power system, other parties, and the environment.

Date modified:

Guide de dépôt – Électricité – Chapitre 4 – Description et aspects techniques du projet

Table des matières

Le présent chapitre précise les renseignements que le demandeur doit déposer auprès de l’Office en ce qui concerne la description du projet de LIT, notamment tous les éléments constitutifs du projet, les activités liées au projet et les activités connexes, ainsi que leur emplacement et le calendrier d’exécution du projet.

4.1 Emplacement du projet

But

La demande comprend une description complète de l’emplacement du projet et des éléments constitutifs du projet.

Exigences de dépôt

Fournir une description des éléments suivants, y compris des cartes et des échelles appropriées :

  • les points d’arrivée et le point de traversée à la frontière internationale;
  • le tracé, les emplacements des installations et toute installation auxiliaire projetée;
  • les caractéristiques d’utilisation des terres que franchira la LIT;
  • les contraintes qui influent sur le tracé privilégié ou l’emplacement des installations ou des éléments constitutifs du projet;
  • la ligne située à l’étranger;
  • l’emplacement des éléments constitutifs du projet et des activités connexes.

Indiquer la largeur de l’emprise proposée et les raisons qui la justifient.

Orientation

Parmi les contraintes qui influent sur le tracé privilégié ou l’emplacement des installations ou des éléments constitutifs du projet, il faut noter les facteurs environnementaux, socioéconomiques ou liés à l’utilisation des terres ou des ressources naturelles, y compris les régimes fonciers en vigueur, de façon générale, les usages actuels des terres, les plans de zonage et d’utilisation des terres, les résidences et localités les plus proches, les caractéristiques physiques particulières ou importantes

En ce qui concerne certains renseignements, des schémas unifilaires ou des plans de situation pourraient convenir davantage.

S’ils ont accès au système de positionnement global (GPS), les demandeurs devraient indiquer les emplacements clés du projet au moyen de cartes produites avec ce système, particulièrement pour ce qui concerne les points d’arrivée, le point de traversée à la frontière internationale et les principaux points de localisation du tracé de la LIT.

4.2 Éléments constitutifs du projet et activités liées au projet

4.2.1 Détails sur la conception technique

But

La demande comprend une description de la conception physique, des détails de l’exploitation et des activités menées pendant tout le cycle de vie des installations visées par le projet proposé et comprend assez de détails pour :

  • cerner les caractéristiques techniques du projet et les processus qui permettront l’exploitation sécuritaire, sûre et fiable des installations proposées;
  • cerner les interactions potentielles du projet avec l’environnement;
  • cerner les caractéristiques techniques du projet et les pratiques qui atténueront les effets négatifs sur l’environnement naturel et socioéconomique.

Exigences de dépôt

La demande doit cerner et décrire tous les éléments constitutifs du projet, les activités liées au projet et les activités connexes (p. ex., les conducteurs, les éléments constitutifs des sous-stations, les chemins d’accès, notamment les ponts temporaires ou permanents,  les baraquements de chantier, les aires de travail temporaires, etc.), y compris, sans s’y limiter :

  • la tension,
  • le nombre et la taille des conducteurs,
  • une description des tours ou autres structures de soutien physique de la ligne internationale d’énergie électrique,
  • un schéma unifilaire montrant toutes les installations qui constituent la LIT.

La demande doit comporter une description du mode d’exécution du projet.

Le demandeur doit fournir une description des installations devant être construites par des tiers et qui sont nécessaires à la réalisation des installations proposées, même si elles sont temporaires.

Le demandeur doit préciser les autres permis, licences ou autorisations à obtenir avant qu’une partie ou l’ensemble du projet puissent être mis en chantier.

Orientation

Les installations réglementées par l’Office doivent être sûres et sécuritaires. Il faut aussi qu’elles soient construites et exploitées de manière à respecter les droits des personnes touchées. En général, les renseignements précisés plus haut sont requis de manière que l’Office puisse s’assurer que la conception électrique et l’exploitation du projet, s’il devait se concrétiser, répondront à ces critères.

La description de projet doit :

  • exposer en quoi il consiste, y compris inclure les éléments suivants :
    • une liste complète et une description exhaustive des éléments constitutifs du projet, des activités liées au projet et des activités connexes (c.-à-d. les éléments ou activités qui sont nécessaires pour la mise en chantier du projet, comme des aires de travail temporaires, des voies d’accès, notamment des ponts temporaires ou permanents, etc.);
    • une description des ouvrages que l’on envisage de remplacer ou d’agrandir, et des activités anticipées, durant la durée de vie du projet;
    • des dessins préliminaires s’ils sont disponibles.
  • décrire le mode d’exécution du projet, y compris inclure les éléments suivants :
    • une description exhaustive du mode d’exécution des activités liées au projet (déboisement, pieds des pylônes, montage des pylônes, déroulage, franchissements des cours d’eau, inspection, programmes de surveillance, essais, etc.) durant les étapes de construction et d’exploitation;
    • le nombre de travailleurs projeté (c.-à-d. le nombre de jours-personnes et les compétences requises pour exécuter les activités de construction et d’exploitation).

Les exigences stipulées supposent généralement qu’il s’agit d’un projet pour lequel les travaux de construction sont prévus hors terre. Si les travaux de construction envisagés sont souterrains, en tout ou en partie, d’autres renseignements doivent être fournis au besoin en remplacement, p. ex., des détails au sujet des tranchées ou des canalisations, et d’autres données sur la construction, plutôt que des renseignements sur les pylônes.

Le schéma unifilaire regroupant toutes les installations qui forment la ligne internationale de transport d’électricité doit inclure de l’information détaillée sur les raccordements prévus de la ligne aux sous-stations sur le territoire canadien. Il devra illustrer clairement les éléments des sous-stations faisant partie de la ligne et ceux intégrés au réseau énergétique canadien d’accueil. Les éléments ainsi illustrés doivent comprendre les pièces d’équipements et les structures du type barres omnibus, transformateurs, coupe-circuits, interrupteurs, coupures anti-refoulement, composantes de compensation réactive, relais de protection, compteurs, etc.

4.2.2 Principes de conception technique

But

La demande comprend une description des normes, codes et règlements s’appliquant aux aspects techniques du projet, ainsi que des détails techniques sur des conditions de conception particulières, de façon assez détaillée pour démontrer que les installations proposées seront sûres, sécuritaires et fiables.

Exigences de dépôt

  1. La demande doit inclure la liste complète et détaillée des principaux codes et normes, y compris l’édition et la date de publication, qui seront appliqués dans la conception et le choix des matériaux pour chacun des éléments des installations projetées, le tout assujetti aux dispositions suivantes :
    • s’il y a plusieurs normes et codes parmi lesquels choisir, exposer brièvement la raison pour laquelle la norme ou le code évoqué est considéré comme étant celui qui convient le mieux;
    • s’il n’y a pas de normes ou codes reconnus par l’industrie, exposer brièvement la raison pour laquelle les mesures envisagées seraient prises en ce qui a trait à la conception touchée et aux matériaux choisis.
  2. La demande doit clairement préciser que le demandeur s’engage à exécuter le projet conformément à tous les manuels de conception et d’exploitation applicables de la société et que les manuels en question sont conformes aux codes et normes pour le projet. L’Office attend de tous les demandeurs qu’ils conservent la plus récente version des manuels aux fins de vérification par lui, et en déposer un exemplaire sur demande.

Orientation

  1. Les renseignements précisés plus haut sont souhaitables de manière que l’Office puisse s’assurer que la conception électrique et l’exploitation du projet, s’il devait se concrétiser, seraient sûres et sécuritaires, et perçues comme telles. À cette fin, la demande doit montrer que le projet ne dérogerait pas aux pratiques actuelles généralement reconnues par l’industrie, pas plus qu’aux marches à suivre pour des installations semblables construites et exploitées dans des circonstances et des conditions similaires ailleurs, de préférence au Canada.
  2. En l’absence de codes ou de normes clairement applicables et reconnus par l’industrie, le recours à de saines pratiques d’ingénierie est de rigueur. Cependant, dans la mesure du possible, un plan d’action découlant du respect de ce principe devrait directement mener à des codes, normes ou principes techniques bien établis.

4.3 Incidences sur le réseau de production-transport d'électricité

But

La demande renferme suffisamment de renseignements pour déterminer et justifier les effets du projet proposé sur l’exploitation sans danger, la sûreté et la fiabilité du réseau énergétique existant et envisagé auquel il serait intégré.

Exigences de dépôt

La demande doit préciser :

  • les capacités totales de transfert de puissance à des fins d’exportation ou d’importation, avec et sans la ligne internationale de transport d’électricité, du réseau de production-transport canadien local auquel sera relié le projet envisagé, ainsi que du réseau de production-transport à l’extérieur du Canada auquel sera reliée la ligne internationale de transport d’électricité, en précisant les critères d’établissement de telles capacités;
  • la capacité de transfert de puissance de la ligne internationale de transport d’électricité dans le contexte d’un transport soutenu en fonction de conditions hivernales et estivales, ainsi que les critères d’établissement de la capacité de transfert de puissance indiquée;
  • une description des normes de fiabilité auxquelles la LIT sera soumise pendant son exploitation;
  • une copie de :
    • (i) chaque convention d’interconnexion se rapportant à la construction de la ligne internationale,
    • (ii) toute autre entente liant le demandeur et le propriétaire ou l’exploitant de la ligne située à l’étranger et portant sur la construction et l’exploitation de la ligne internationale et de la ligne située à l’étranger;
  • la confirmation de la conformité aux normes applicables de fiabilité de la North American Reliability Corporation, s’il y a lieu.

Orientation

  1. Les demandeurs sont invités à prendre connaissance de l’ordonnance générale visant les normes de fiabilité de l’électricité (annexe I) pour savoir quelles sont les attentes de l’Office à l’égard des normes de fiabilité.
  2. Les renseignements précisés plus haut sont requis de manière à s’assurer que le projet, son calendrier, sa conception et son exploitation, si un tel projet devait se concrétiser, n’iraient pas à l’encontre du droit d’autrui à s’attendre à un service électrique sûr et fiable de la part du réseau, dans sa forme existante et tel qu’envisagé. Ils devraient en outre aider à s’assurer que le projet, s’il devait être construit, ne compromettrait pas ni ne mettrait en péril la sécurité physique du réseau énergétique. À cette fin, la demande doit montrer que le projet dispose ou disposera de toutes les autorisations requises de la part des gouvernements des provinces et des autres autorités compétentes.
  3. Si le projet est considéré comme faisant partie du réseau de production-transport d’électricité, la demande devrait fournir les détails pertinents de l’examen de la ligne internationale de transport d’électricité effectué, les études et les recommandations formulées par les différents organismes chargés de la réglementation en matière de fiabilité du réseau électrique, comme les conseils régionaux sur la fiabilité de la NERC. Ces renseignements pourraient consister en des copies des documents pertinents, comme les rapports d’étude produits par les organisations en question à l’égard du projet.
  4. L’Office s’attend à ce que les demandeurs se conforment aux versions les plus à jour des normes de fiabilité, celles en cours d’élaboration par les autorités compétentes, par exemple, celles reconnues par une province, pendant la conception, la construction et l’exploitation des installations proposées. Les demandeurs devraient confirmer cet engagement auprès de l’Office.

Autres autorisations requises et calendrier d’exécution du projet

But

La demande comporte des renseignements sur les autres autorisations et processus réglementaires ainsi que sur le calendrier d’exécution du projet.

Exigences de dépôt

Fournir :

  • une description des autorisations des autorités provinciales qui sont exigées pour la ligne de transport d’électricité située au Canada, notamment ce qui suit :
    • une description du processus d’examen pour chaque autorisation des autorités provinciales, y compris une description du processus de consultation publique;
    • une indication de l’état d’avancement des démarches entreprises et un calendrier précisant quand les examens toujours en cours seront terminés;
    • une copie des autorisations déjà accordées par les autorités provinciales compétentes;
  • une description des autorisations qui doivent encore être obtenues des autorités compétentes concernant la ligne située à l’étranger;
  • le nom de l’organisme de réglementation provincial désigné, dans le cas d’une demande de permis;
  • un calendrier précisant les dates projetées pour l’obtention de chaque autorisation susmentionnée ainsi que pour la mise en chantier et la fin des travaux de construction de la ligne internationale et de la ligne située à l’étranger;
  • la date prévue de la mise en service.

Orientation

L’Office exige des renseignements sur l’état d’avancement des démarches entreprises pour obtenir toutes les approbations ou autorisations nécessaires, au Canada et à l’étranger. Ces renseignements visent à lui fournir une assurance raisonnable qu’aucune question devant d’autres organismes de réglementation risque d’empêcher ou de retarder la construction ou l’utilisation des installations visées par la demande. Le demandeur peut aussi présenter des mises à jour sur l’état d’avancement des démarches après avoir déposé sa demande. Pour éviter le plus possible les chevauchements réglementaires, l’Office prendra en considération les autorisations accordées par d’autres organismes qui sont jointes à la demande. Les demandeurs ont donc avantage à lui transmettre toutes les approbations du genre dès le début du processus afin de rendre celui-ci plus efficace.

Les demandeurs sont libres de choisir le moment auquel ils présenteront leurs demandes d’autorisation aux autorités provinciales et à lui-même, mais ils doivent savoir que le processus de l’Office se déroule plus rondement une fois que l’examen des autorités provinciales correspondantes a été mené à terme. Si le demandeur choisit de présenter sa demande à l’Office avant ou en même temps que celle à l’autorité provinciale, il est particulièrement important de fournir un tracé du projet aussi détaillé que possible et que le processus de consultation du public concernant le tracé soit le plus avancé possible. Si la planification ou les consultations du demandeur concernant le projet ne sont pas assez avancées, le processus d’examen de l’Office pourrait prendre plus de temps.

En ce qui a trait aux demandes de permis, l’article 58.17 de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie exige du demandeur qu’il précise de quelle autorité régulatrice provinciale la supervision de la LIT proposée relèvera. Il s’agit d’une exigence importante pour éviter qu’il y ait des failles dans la réglementation au sujet de la compétence des autorités responsables de la LIT et que celle-ci soit finalement transférée à la province. Les promoteurs sont invités à faire preuve de prudence sur ce plan et à clarifier toute question avant de présenter leur demande à l’Office.

En ce qui a trait au calendrier d’exécution du projet, il doit :

  • détailler toutes les principales activités liées à la construction, en sous-activités;
  • préciser les contraintes d’ordre temporel ou les créneaux favorables;
  • indiquer comment des changements de dates d’échéance risquent de nuire au reste du calendrier et, en fin de compte, au projet.

Le demandeur doit également préciser le moment prévu de la désaffectation et de la cessation d’exploitation du projet.

Pour ce qui concerne les certificats faisant suite à une décision, le demandeur doit également fournir un calendrier des activités d’exploitation, dont les inspections, les réparations ou l’entretien.

4.5 Solutions de rechange

But

La demande doit comporter une description des solutions de rechange envisagées et les raisons qui ont incité à opter pour les options choisies.

Exigences de dépôt

  1. Décrire les solutions de rechange étudiées et exposer les raisons qui ont incité à opter pour le projet demandé plutôt que pour les autres solutions de rechange possibles.
  2. Décrire et justifier le choix du tracé et du site proposés, en incluant une comparaison des solutions de rechange sur la base des critères de sélection retenus.
  3. S’il y a lieu, décrire les autres méthodes de conception et de construction envisagées et exposer les raisons qui ont incité à opter pour les méthodes choisies.

Orientation

Solutions de rechange étudiées

Les solutions de rechange sont des moyens différents sur le plan fonctionnel de répondre au besoin du projet et d’atteindre ses fins, ou d’autres moyens réalisables sur les plans technique, économique, social et environnemental pour mener à bien le projet. Cela pourrait inclure ce qui suit :

  • une autre stratégie d’interconnexion possible;
  • un autre tracé ou un autre emplacement possible;
  • une autre solution de conception possible des installations;
  • d’autres méthodes de construction, de mise en œuvre et d’atténuation.

Critères de sélection des solutions de rechange

Les demandeurs devraient faire la synthèse des diverses solutions de rechange concernant le projet, le tracé, la conception et la construction et les comparer au moyen de critères qui justifient le bien-fondé de l’option proposée et démontrent pourquoi il s’agit de la meilleure option et comment elle a été choisie.

Lors de la comparaison des solutions de rechange pour le projet, le tracé, la conception ou la construction, il y a lieu de décrire en détail les critères ci-après qui s’appliquent :

  • la conception technique;
  • la faisabilité économique ou les coûts;
  • l’incidence sur la fiabilité et la sûreté du réseau électrique hôte existant;
  • les préoccupations du public;
  • les contraintes d’ordre environnemental et socioéconomique, les avantages ou les effets potentiels;
  • les préoccupations régionales relativement aux effets cumulatifs.

Le niveau de détail fourni doit être en phase avec la portée du projet et les répercussions potentielles sur la stabilité et la fiabilité du réseau électrique hôte, sur des tiers et sur l’environnement.

Date de modification :