Memorandum of Understanding between the National Energy Board and the Oil & Gas Commission

Memorandum of Understanding between the National Energy Board and the Oil & Gas Commission [PDF  411 KB]

  1. PURPOSE

    The National Energy Board (NEB) of Canada and the Oil & Gas Commission (OGC) of British Columbia (BC) (together, "the Parties") enter into this Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) to:
    • enhance cooperation and coordination between the Parties for the purpose of improving pipeline safety within Canada and the province of British Columbia;
    • outline a mutual aid agreement between the Parties whereby each agency may provide assistance to the other in respect of pipeline incident investigation and emergency response; and
    • establish a protocol for coordinating training and technical liaison in areas of common interest between the Parties.
  2. BACKGROUND

    The NEB regulates aspects of the energy industry in Canada including the construction and operation of inter-provincial and international pipelines; pipeline traffic, tolls and tariffs; the construction and operation of international and designated inter-provincial power lines; the export and import of natural gas; the export of oil and electricity; and Frontier oil and gas activities.

    The regulatory responsibility of the OGC extends from the exploration and development phases, through to facilities operation and ultimately decommissioning within the province of BC. Among its more specific objectives are public safety and environmental soundness in the design, construction, testing, operation, maintenance, and spill response planning for natural gas and hazardous liquid pipeline facilities within the province of BC.

    The pipeline infrastructure in the province of BC and neighboring Canadian provinces or territories is interconnected, and the continued safe operation of this infrastructure is dependent on the adequacy and effectiveness of design, construction, operation, maintenance, and other aspects of pipeline transportation activities in both the federal and provincial jurisdictions. The Parties recognize that the conduct of their responsibilities has and will in the future require them to examine, regulate, or otherwise oversee interconnecting pipelines, pipeline facilities or activities. The Parties further recognize that appropriate cooperation in the development and implementation of regulatory programs will provide greater regulatory certainty to companies who own and/or operate pipelines that cross the boundary between British Columbia and neighboring Canadian provinces or territories.
  3. TERMS OF AGREEMENT
    • Cooperation and Coordination on Pipeline Safety
      • When either party undertakes a compliance audit on a pipeline that is owned and/or operated by a company whose pipeline network includes both federally regulated and provincially regulated pipeline infrastructure, the party undertaking the audit will notify either the NEB Business Unit Leader, Operations or the OGC Operations Lead as appropriate. Where appropriate, such notification may include an invitation to observe the audit.
      • When either party commences an enforcement action on a pipeline as described above, the party commencing the action will notify either the NEB Business Unit Leader, Operations or the OGC Operations Lead as appropriate.
      • If an Alaskan natural gas pipeline is authorized by law to be designed, constructed and operated, the Parties will coordinate and collaborate in the manner described herein as appropriate.
    • Response to Pipeline Incidents or Emergencies
      • Where incidents occur on NEB-regulated pipelines and/or facilities within BC, the OGC agrees, at the request of the NEB, to provide assistance in respect of any emergency response.
      • The OGC's assistance will normally be provided by the OGC Area Office closest to the incident site. The role of the OGC field staff will be to monitor and assess the pipeline operator's response in respect of the operator's ability to manage the emergency, ensure the safety of the public, and minimize damage to the environment. The OGC staff will provide timely updates to the NEB and, on the basis of its assessment, recommend to the NEB any action that may be required by the operator. The initial response by the OGC will continue until the hazards at the site are under control or until such time as the NEB personnel arrive at the site.
      • The investigation of the accident and the evaluation of the effectiveness of the clean-up and rehabilitation operations will remain the responsibility of the NEB.
      • Upon request from the NEB, the OGC will provide the NEB with suitable space in the Fort St. John area for storage of equipment and materials to be accessed by NEB staff when responding to an incident in northeast BC.
      • Where incidents occur on OGC-regulated pipelines and/or facilities, the NEB agrees, at the request of the OGC, to provide assistance in respect of any emergency response or investigation.
      • Subsequent to a response to an incident on the other Party's behalf, the responding Party will provide a copy of the final incident report, subject to the provisions outlined in Clause 'V' below.
    • Training and Technical Cooperation
      • The Parties will examine and pursue areas or opportunities where training and technical cooperation and collaboration would minimize duplication of effort, more effectively or efficiently use existing staff and technical knowledge, reduce regulatory burden, achieve consistency in methodologies and approach, and set the tone for cooperative efforts.
      • The Parties will pursue technical exchange of staff as considered suitable and appropriate.
  4. INFORMATION EXCHANGE
    • To the extent any investigation reports, findings, and company intelligence are shared in furtherance of the purposes of this MOU, each party shall protect any non-public records or portions thereof provided by the other party from unauthorized disclosure in accordance with applicable law, if possible, and shall obtain the consent of the providing party before disclosing any confidential information.
    • Both Parties agree that they will specify when information it provides is being submitted "in confidence" so that that the receiving Party can refuse disclosure of that material in accordance with either the Canada Access to Information Act, the BC Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act, or other applicable legislation.
  5. COSTS
    • Cost recovery for activities associated with this agreement is not part of this MOU and will be negotiated individually where agreed to by the parties.
    • The Parties will cover all relevant costs for their respective staff involved in a technical exchange.
  6. LEGAL LIABILITY
    • This MOU indicates the intentions of the Parties, but does not create a contractual obligation between them.
    • Nothing in this MOU or any annex shall be construed to conflict with current law, regulation, or directive of the NEB or the OGC. If a term of this MOU or any annex is determined to be inconsistent with such authority, that term shall be invalid to the extent of the inconsistency. The remainder of that term and all other terms shall remain in effect.
    • Nothing in this MOU or any annex is intended to create any right or benefit, substantive or procedural, enforceable at law by any person or organization against either party, its agencies or officers, agencies or officers carrying out programs authorized under federal or provincial law, or any other person.
  7. OTHER PROVISIONS
    • Nothing in this MOU or any annex is intended to impose any funding obligations on either of the Parties. Nothing in this MOU or any annex is intended to diminish or otherwise affect the authority of either party to carry out its statutory, regulatory or other official functions or to commit either party to providing a particular service they would not otherwise provide in the scope of each party's individual mission and functions.
    • This MOU and any annexes hereto may be amended or modified at any time by written agreement of the NEB Chair and Chief Executive Officer and the OGC Commissioner.
    • Should disagreement arise on the interpretation of any provision of this MOU or any amendments and/or modifications thereto that cannot be resolved at the operating level, the area(s) of disagreement shall be stated in writing by each party and presented to the other party for consideration. If agreement on interpretation is not reached within thirty days, the Parties shall forward the written presentation of the disagreement to respective higher officials for appropriate resolution.
  8. PRINCIPAL CONTACTS

    The Parties designate the principal contacts identified in Attachment A. Each party's contact may be changed at its discretion upon notice to the other party.
  9. EFFECTIVE PERIOD/TERMINATION

    This MOU will be effective as of the date of final signature by both of the Parties and will remain in effect until terminated by either party. Either party may terminate this MOU and any annexes hereto upon written notice to the other party.
  10. PERIODIC REVIEW/CONSULTATION

    The Parties agree that on an annual basis the appropriate staff from both organizations will meet to review the content and continued relevance of this MOU. Proposals for changes to this MOU can be made at any time, and appropriate amendments made as may be agreed upon.

APPROVED BY:



_______________________________
Gaétan Caron
Chair and Chief Executive Officer
National Energy Board
_____________________
Date

_______________________________
Alex Ferguson
Commissioner
Oil & Gas Commission
_____________________
Date

ATTACHMENT A: PRINCIPAL CONTACTS

The following are the principal initial contacts for each party:

National Energy Board

Ms. Sandy Lapointe
Leader, Operations Business Unit

National Energy Board
E-mail: sandy.lapointe@neb-one.gc.ca
Suite 210, 517 Tenth Avenue SW
Calgary, Alberta  T2R 0A8
Telephone: 403-299-3673
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Oil & Gas Commission

Mr. Paul Jeakins
Executive Director
Technical Services and Regulatory Affairs Branch
PO Box 9331, Stn Prov Gov't
Victoria, BC V8W 9N3
Paul.Jeakins@gov.bc.ca
Telephone: 250-356-2859
Fax: 250-356-2962

Date modified:

Protocole d’entente intervenu entre l’Office national de l’énergie et la Oil & Gas Commission

Protocole d’entente intervenu entre l’Office national de l’énergie et la Oil & Gas Commission [anglais seulement : PDF  411 ko]

  1. OBJET

    L’Office national de l’énergie (ONÉ) et la Oil & Gas Commission (OGC) of British Columbia (les parties) concluent le présent protocole d’entente afin de réaliser ce qui suit :
    • favoriser la collaboration et la coordination entre les parties afin d’améliorer la sécurité pipelinière dans la province de Colombie-Britannique et les autres provinces et les territoires du Canada;
    • établir les grandes lignes d’un accord d’assistance mutuelle en matière d’investigations d’incidents pipeliniers et d’intervention d’urgence;
    • établir un protocole de coordination de la formation et de la liaison sur le plan technique dans les domaines d’intérêt commun aux deux parties.
  2. CONTEXTE

    L’ONÉ règlemente des aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada, soit la construction et l’exploitation des pipelines interprovinciaux et internationaux; le transport, les droits et les tarifs pipeliniers; la construction et l’exploitation de lignes internationales de transport d’électricité et de lignes interprovinciales désignées; l’exportation et l’importation de gaz naturel; l’exportation de pétrole et d’électricité de même que les activités pétrolières et gazières dans les régions pionnières.

    Le mandat de réglementation de l’OGC s’étend de l’exploration et de la mise en valeur à l’exploitation et, en bout de ligne, à la mise hors service des installations situées en Colombie-Britannique. La sécurité du public et le respect de l’environnement pour ce qui concerne la conception, la construction, la vérification, l’exploitation et l’entretien des pipelines de gaz naturel et de liquides dangereux dans la province de la Colombie-Britannique, ainsi que la planification des interventions en cas de fuite dans ces installations, sont parmi les objectifs particuliers de l’OGC.

    L’infrastructure pipelinière de la Colombie-Britannique est raccordée à celles des provinces et territoires voisins, et l’exploitation sécuritaire en permanence de cette infrastructure repose, entre autres aspects, sur la conception, la construction, l’exploitation et l’entretien adéquats et efficaces des pipelines de ressort fédéral et provincial. Les parties reconnaissent que l’exercice de leurs responsabilités a exigé par le passé, et le fera à l’avenir, qu’elles examinent, réglementent ou surveillent les pipelines et installations ou activités pipelinières interconnectés. Les parties reconnaissent en outre qu’une collaboration appropriée en matière d’élaboration et de mise en oeuvre de programmes de réglementation conférera davantage de certitude aux sociétés propriétaires et/ou exploitantes des pipelines qui franchissent les limites entre la Colombie-Britannique et les provinces ou territoires canadiens voisins.
  3. CLAUSES
    • Collaboration et coordination pour la sécurité pipelinière
      • Une partie qui entreprend la vérification de la conformité d’un pipeline faisant partie d’un réseau qui comprend une infrastructure pipelinière réglementée à la fois par le gouvernement fédéral et le gouvernement provincial avise, selon le cas, le chef du Secteur des opérations de l’ONÉ ou le chef des opérations de l’OGC. Le cas échéant, l’avis offre la possibilité d’observer le processus de vérification.
      • Une partie qui prend une mesure d’exécution relative à un pipeline tel que celui décrit ci-dessus en avise, selon le cas, le chef du Secteur des opérations de l’ONÉ ou le chef des opérations de l’OGC.
      • Si la loi autorise la conception, la construction et l’exploitation d’un gazoduc de l’Alaska, les parties coordonnent leurs activités et collaborent de la manière décrite aux présentes s’il y a lieu.
    • Intervention en cas d’incident ou d’urgence concernant un pipeline
      • Si un incident se produit sur un pipeline et/ou une installation du ressort de l’ONÉ en Colombie-Britannique, l’OGC convient de participer à toute intervention d’urgence si l’ONÉ en fait la demande.
      • La participation de l’OGC est normalement assurée par du personnel de son bureau régional situé le plus près des lieux de l’incident. Le personnel de l’OGC sur le terrain est chargé de surveiller et d’évaluer la capacité de l’exploitant de gérer l’urgence, d’assurer la sécurité du public et de réduire les dommages environnementaux au minimum. Le personnel de l’OGC fait parvenir des mises à jour à l’ONÉ au moment opportun et, en se fondant sur son évaluation, recommande à l’ONÉ toute mesure que, selon elle, l’exploitant doit prendre. L’intervention initiale de l’OGC se poursuit jusqu’à ce que les situations dangereuses soient maîtrisées ou que le personnel de l’ONÉ arrive sur les lieux.
      • L’investigation de l’accident et l’évaluation de l’efficacité des activités de nettoyage et de remise en état incombent à l’ONÉ.
      • Sur demande de l’ONÉ, l’OGC lui fournit suffisamment d’espace dans un local de la région de Fort St. John pour l’entreposage de matériel auquel le personnel de l’ONÉ peut accéder pour intervenir sur les lieux d’un incident dans le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique.
      • Si l’incident se produit sur un pipeline et/ou une installation du ressort de l’OGC, l’ONÉ convient de participer à toute intervention d’urgence ou investigation si l’OGC en fait la demande.
      • Après une intervention au nom de l’autre partie lors d’un incident, la partie intervenante remet une copie du rapport définitif, sous réserve des dispositions de la clause « V » ci-dessous.
    • Formation et collaboration sur le plan technique
      • Les parties recherchent et saisissent les occasions de formation et de collaboration sur le plan technique dans la mesure où elles permettent de réduire les situations de double emploi, d’employer le personnel et les connaissances techniques de manière plus efficace ou efficiente, de réduire le fardeau de la réglementation, de rendre les méthodes et démarches cohérentes et de donner le ton aux mesures de collaboration.
      • Les parties recherchent les occasions d’échange de personnel technique lorsque les circonstances le justifient.
  4. ÉCHANGE DE RENSEIGNEMENTS
    • Dans la mesure où une partie porte à la connaissance de l’autre partie un rapport d’investigation, des constatations et des renseignements sur la société selon les visées du présent protocole d’entente, chacune des parties doit protéger les dossiers non publics, en tout ou en partie, de l’autre partie contre toute divulgation non autorisée, si possible et en conformité avec les lois en vigueur, et doit obtenir le consentement de la partie qui fournit un tel dossier avant de divulguer tout renseignement confidentiel que ce soit.
    • Le cas échéant, les deux parties conviennent de préciser que les renseignements sont soumis « à titre confidentiel » de façon à ce que la partie qui reçoit les renseignements peut en refuser la divulgation en invoquant soit la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (Canada), soit la loi de Colombie-Britannique intitulée Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act, soit toute autre loi applicable.
  5. FRAIS
    • Le recouvrement des frais engagés pour les activités objet de l’entente ne fait pas partie du présent protocole et est négocié au cas par cas sur entente des parties.
    • Les parties assument les frais pertinents de leur personnel respectif participant à un échange technique.
  6. RESPONSABILITÉ LÉGALE
    • Le présent protocole d’entente précise les intentions des parties, mais ne crée aucune obligation contractuelle réciproque.
    • Le présent protocole et ses annexes n’ont pas pour effet de contrevenir à une loi, un règlement ou une directive de l’ONÉ ou de l’OGC actuellement en vigueur. Toute modalité du présent protocole ou de ses annexes qui est jugée incompatible, en tout ou en partie, avec un tel instrument habilitant est invalide, mais le reste du protocole demeure en vigueur.
    • Le présent protocole et ses annexes n’ont pas pour effet de créer un droit ou un avantage, de fond ou procédural, qu’une personne ou organisation peut faire valoir contre l’une ou l’autre des parties, de leurs mandataires ou de leurs dirigeants, les mandataires ou dirigeants qui exécutent des programmes autorisés par les lois fédérales ou provinciales, ou toute autre personne.
  7. AUTRES DISPOSITIONS
    • Le présent protocole et ses annexes n’ont pas pour effet d’imposer des obligations de financement aux parties. Le présent protocole et ses annexes n’ont pas pour effet de modifier le pouvoir des parties relativement à l’exécution de leurs fonctions officielles, notamment celles prévues par la loi ou réglementaires, ni d’engager les parties à fournir un service qu’elles ne fourniraient pas normalement dans le cadre de leur mission ou de leurs fonctions respectives.
    • Le présent protocole d’entente et ses annexes sont modifiables sous réserve du consentement obtenu par écrit du président et premier dirigeant de l’ONÉ et du commissaire de l’OGC.
    • Dans l’éventualité d’un désaccord sur l’interprétation d’une quelconque des dispositions du présent protocole d’entente ou de ses versions modifiées qui ne peut être résolu par le personnel d’exploitation, chacune des parties établit par écrit la nature du désaccord et présente son document à l’autre partie aux fins d’examen. S’il est impossible de régler le désaccord dans les trente jours suivants, les parties adressent le document énonçant les détails du désaccord à leurs supérieurs respectifs pour règlement.
  8. PRINCIPALES PERSONNES-RESSOURCES

    Les parties désignent les principales personnes-ressources dont le nom figure à l’annexe A. Chacune des parties peut changer de personne-ressource à sa discrétion sur avis transmis à l’autre partie.
  9. DURÉE/CESSATION

    Le présent protocole d’entente prend effet à la date de signature définitive par les deux parties et demeure en vigueur jusqu’à ce qu’une ou l’autre des parties y mette fin. Chacune des parties peut y mettre fin, annexes comprises, sur avis adressé par écrit à l’autre partie.
  10. EXAMEN/CONSULTATION PÉRIODIQUE

    Les parties conviennent de faire examiner annuellement par des membres appropriés de leur personnel respectif le contenu et la pertinence du présent protocole d’entente. Il est possible de proposer des changements n’importe quand et de modifier le protocole comme il se doit dans la mesure où les parties y consentent.

APPROUVÉ PAR :



_______________________________
Gaétan Caron
Président et premier dirigeant
Office national de l’énergie
_____________________
Date

_______________________________
Alex Ferguson
Commissaire
Oil & Gas Commission
_____________________
Date

PIÈCE JOINTE A : PRINCIPALES PERSONNES-RESSOURCES

Les principales personnes-ressources des parties sont les suivantes :

Office national de l’énergie

Madame Sandy Lapointe
Chef, Secteur des opérations

Office national de l'énergie
Courriel : sandy.lapointe@neb-one.gc.ca
517, Dixième Avenue S.-O., bureau 210
Calgary (Alberta)  T2R 0A8
Téléphone : 403-299-3673
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Oil & Gas Commission

Monsieur Paul Jeakins
Directeur administratif
Direction des services techniques et de la réglementation
C.P. 9331, succ. Prov Gov’t
Victoria (Colombie-Britannique) V8W 9N3
Paul.Jeakins@gov.bc.ca
Téléphone : 250-356-2859
Fax : 250-356-2962

Date de modification :