Memorandum of Understanding between the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and the National Energy Board

Memorandum of Understanding between the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and the National Energy Board [PDF 1893 KB]

THIS ARRANGEMENT, made in duplicate as of the 3rd day of September 2013

BETWEEN

THE ROYAL CANADIAN MOUNTED POLICE (RCMP)

AND

THE NATIONAL ENERGY BOARD (NEB)

(HEREINAFTER REFERRED TO AS THE “PARTICIPANTS”)

WHEREAS pursuant to the National Energy Board Act and the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act, the NEB regulates aspects of the energy industry in Canada;

WHEREAS the NEB has certain regulatory responsibilities under the Northern Pipeline Act;

WHEREAS pursuant to section 55 of the Energy Administration Act, the NEB administers Part IV of the said Act on behalf of the Minister of Natural Resources;

WHEREAS pursuant to section 18(d) of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Act, it is the duty of members of the RCMP who are peace officers to perform such other duties and functions as are prescribed by the Commissioner; and

WHEREAS the Participants to this Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) came together to develop an MOU for the enforcement of offences under the National Energy Board Act, the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act, the Northern Pipeline Act, in so far as it relates to the NEB, and Part IV of the Energy Administration Act (hereinafter referred to as the Acts), subject to the provisions of those Acts.

FOR THE PURPOSES OF THIS MOU THE PARTICIPANTS INTEND AS FOLLOWS:

1 PURPOSE:

The purpose of this MOU is to facilitate communication, mutual support and cooperation between the Participants regarding the enforcement of offences under the Acts.

2 OBLIGATIONS:

  • 2.1 Upon receiving a request from the Secretary of the NEB in relation to a possible offence under the Acts, the RCMP will conduct an investigation as required.
  • 2.2 When warranted, the RCMP may also investigate possible offences under the Acts coming to their attention from other sources. The RCMP will provide the NEB with all necessary information as soon as reasonably practical after becoming aware of a possible offence under the Acts.
  • 2.3 The RCMP will provide the NEB with timely updates on the progress of any investigations under the Acts.
  • 2.4 Where sufficient evidence of an offence under the Acts has been uncovered by the RCMP to establish a prima facie case, prosecution action may be taken in consultation with the Department of Justice.
  • 2.5 To the extent possible and subject to applicable laws, the NEB will provide uch assistance as the RCMP may require and as the NEB may reasonably be able to provide in connection with an investigation to which this MOU applies.
  • 2.6 To the extent possible and subject to applicable laws, upon written request, the NEB will provide the RCMP with access to all pertinent records (as defined in section 3 of the Access to Information Act), as well as documents, or other information under its control relative to the offences, relating to or arising from the Acts, under investigation.
  • 2.7 At the conclusion of an investigation to which this MOU applies, the RCMP will advise the NEB of the final disposition of the case, including information regarding arrests and Court dispositions.

3 FINANCIAL ARRANGEMENTS:

The Participants will each be responsible for their own costs incurred as a result of their participation in any investigation and enforcement activities pursuant to the Acts, including the exchange of information, advice, or other forms of assistance pursuant to this MOU.

4 DISCLOSURES AND USE OF INFORMATION:

  • 4.1 The Participants will treat information exchanged pursuant to this MOU in accordance with all applicable laws and with Government of Canada standards, as it relates to the distribution, maintenance and storage of such information.
    • 4.1.1 Standards will be communicated and updated by each Participant as necessary, when such standards relating to the storage, maintenance and security of the information change.
    • 4.1.2 Except as required by law, neither Participant will disseminate or disclose information exchanged under this MOU to a third party unless permitted by law and unless the other Participant has given its express consent in writing.
    • 4.1.3 In the event of the loss of, unauthorized disclosure of and/or dissemination of classified information by one Participant, the latter will advise the other Participant immediately upon discovery and will conduct an assessment to determine the impact of the loss, unauthorized disclosure and/or dissemination of the information.

5 DEPARTMENTAL REPRESENTATIVES:

The following officials are designated as the departmental representatives for the purposes of this MOU, and any notices required under this MOU will be delivered as follows:

For the RCMP:

Title: Director-General Support Services
Federal Policing Support Services
Address: 73 Leikin Drive
Ottawa, On  K1A 0R2
Telephone: 613-843-4902

For the NEB:

Title: Business Leader, Operations
National Energy Board
Address: 444 7th Avenue SW
Calgary, AB  T2P 0X8
Telephone: 403-299-3014

6 DISPUTE RESOLUTION:

In the event of a dispute arising from the interpretation or operation of this MOU, it will be referred to the Participants' representatives set out above, who will use their best efforts to resolve the matter amicably. If such negotiation fails, the Participants intend to refer the matter to their respective Assistant Commissioner / Strategic Leader level for resolution.

7 STATUS:

  • 7.1 This MOU does not create any new legal powers or duties, or alter in any way the jurisdiction, powers or duties of the Participants.
  • 7.2 This MOU indicates the intentions of the Participants and is not a legally binding instrument.
  • 7.3 This MOU replaces the previous MOU between the Participants signed in 1985.

8 TERM, AMENDMENT, MONITORING:

  • 8.1 This MOU will commence and take effect upon the signature of both Participants and will expire on March 31, 2018.
  • 8.2 This MOU may be amended at any time with the written approval of both the Participants. Each Participant will notify, upon discovery, the other Participant of any changes to their legislation or policy that may impact this MOU.
  • 8.3 The designated representatives for the Participants set out in section 5 of this MOU will review, at least once annually, the operational effectiveness of this MOU.

9 TERMINATION:

Either Participant may terminate this MOU by serving a thirty-day (calendar) written notice to the other Participant.

Signed by,

For the NEB:


____________________________

Name: Sandy Lapointe
Title: Strategic Leader,
Regulatory
Address: 444 7th Avenue SW
Calgary, AB  T2P 0X8
Telephone:403-299-3673


Date: _____________________

For the RCMP:


____________________________

Name: Todd Shean
Title: Assistant Commissioner
Federal Policing Support Services
Address: 73 Leikin Drive
Ottawa, On  K1A 0R2
Telephone: 613-843-4963


Date: _____________________

Date modified:

Protocole d’entente entre la Gendarmerie royale du Canada et l’Office national de l’énergie

Protocole d’entente entre la Gendarmerie royale du Canada et l’Office national de l’énergie [PDF 1767 ko]

PROTOCOLE D’ENTENTE produit en deux exemplaires ce 3ième jour de septembre 2013

ENTRE

LA GENDARMERIE ROYALE DU CANADA (GRC)

ET

L’OFFICE NATIONAL DE L’ÉNERGIE

(DÉSIGNÉS COLLECTIVEMENT AUX PRÉSENTES SOUS LE TERME « PARTIES »

 

ATTENDU QUE l’Office réglemente plusieurs secteurs de l’industrie énergétique du Canada aux termes de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie et de la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada;

ATTENDU QUE l’Office est investi de certaines responsabilités aux termes de la Loi sur le pipe-line du Nord;

ATTENDU QUE conformément à l’article 55 de la Loi sur l’administration de l’énergie, l’Office veille à l’application de la partie IV de cette loi au nom du ministre des Ressources naturelles;

ATTENDU QUE selon l’alinéa 18d) de la Loi sur la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, les membres de la GRC qui ont qualité d’agent de la paix sont tenus d’exercer les autres attributions déterminées par le gouverneur en conseil ou le commissaire;

ATTENDU QUE les parties ont collaboré à l’élaboration du présent protocole d’entente, qui vise le contrôle d’application de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, de la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada, de la Loi sur le pipe-line du Nord, en ce qui concerne l’Office, ainsi que de la partie IV de la Loi sur l’administration de l’énergie (désignées ci-après « les Lois »), sous réserve des dispositions de ces Lois.

AUX FINS DU PRÉSENT PROTOCOLE D’ENTENTE, LES PARTIES DÉTERMINENT CE QUI SUIT.

1. OBJET

Le présent protocole d’entente vise à faciliter la communication, le soutien mutuel et la collaboration entre les parties en ce qui a trait au contrôle d’application des Lois.

2. OBLIGATIONS

  1. 2.1 La GRC mènera une enquête relativement à une infraction potentielle aux Lois, au besoin et à la demande du secrétaire de l’Office.
  2. 2.2 Lorsque cela est justifié, la GRC pourra mener une enquête sur une infraction potentielle aux Lois signalée par une autre source. La GRC fournira tous les renseignements pertinents à l’Office dans les meilleurs délais après avoir reçu le signalement d’une infraction potentielle aux Lois.
  3. 2.3 La GRC informera l’Office en temps opportun de la progression d’une telle enquête.
  4. 2.4 Lorsque la GRC aura recueilli suffisamment d’éléments de preuve d’une infraction aux Lois pour établir une preuve à première vue, des poursuites pourront être engagées en collaboration avec le ministère de la Justice.
  5. 2.5 Dans la mesure du possible et conformément aux lois applicables, l’Office apportera à la GRC l’aide dont celle-ci aura besoin et qu’il pourra raisonnablement offrir relativement à une enquête visée par les présentes.
  6. 2.6 Dans la mesure du possible et conformément aux lois applicables, l’Office, à la demande écrite de la GRC, donnera à celle-ci accès à tous les documents pertinents (selon la définition donnée au terme « document » dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information), ainsi qu’aux documents et autres renseignements sous l’autorité de l’Office qui ont trait à l’infraction, à l’une des Lois ou découlant de l’acte illégal, qui fait l’objet de l’enquête.
  7. 2.7 Une fois terminée une enquête visée par les présentes, la GRC avisera l’Office de la conclusion définitive de l’affaire et l’informera notamment des arrestations et de la décision du tribunal.

3. ARRANGEMENTS FINANCIERS

Chaque partie assumera les frais engagés du fait de sa participation à une enquête ou à des activités de contrôle d’application des Lois, ce qui comprend l’échange de renseignements, l’obtention de conseils ou toute autre forme d’aide aux termes du présent protocole d’entente.

4. COMMUNICATION ET UTILISATION DES RENSEIGNEMENTS

  • 4.1 Les parties traiteront les renseignements échangés aux termes du présent protocole d’entente conformément à toutes les lois applicables et aux normes du gouvernement du Canada en matière de diffusion, de mise à jour et de stockage.
    • 4.1.1 Les normes seront communiquées et mises à jour par chaque partie au besoin, au fil des changements apportés à ces normes de stockage, de mise à jour et de sécurité de l’information.
    • 4.1.2 Ni l’une ni l’autre des parties ne pourra diffuser ou communiquer à un tiers aucun des renseignements échangés aux termes du présent protocole d’entente, sauf si la loi l’exige ou l’autorise ou si l’autre partie a donné son consentement écrit.
    • 4.1.3 Si une partie perd, communique sans autorisation ou diffuse des renseignements classifiés, cette partie doit en aviser l’autre partie dès qu’elle prend connaissance de la situation et évaluer l’incidence de la perte, de la communication non autorisée ou de la diffusion des renseignements.

5. REPRÉSENTANT DES PARTIES

Le titulaire des postes indiqués a été désigné représentant des parties au présent protocole d’entente. Tout avis exigé aux termes du présent protocole d’entente leur sera adressé.

Représentant de la GRC

Titre : Directeur général
Services de soutien
Adresse : 73, promenade Leikin
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0R2
Téléphone  613-843-4902

Représentant de l’Office

Titre : Chef de secteur, Opérations
Office national de l’énergie
Adresse : 444, 7e Avenue S.-O.
Calgary (Alberta)  T2P 0X8
Téléphone : 403-221-3014

6. RÈGLEMENT DES DIFFÉRENDS

Dans l’éventualité d’un différend découlant de l’interprétation ou de l’application du protocole, la question sera renvoyée aux représentants des parties indiqués ci-dessus, qui feront de leur mieux pour régler le différend à l’amiable. Si ces négociations échouent, les parties renvoient la question au niveau du commissaire adjoint et du chef de la stratégie aux fins de règlement.

7. STATUT

  • 7.1 Le présent protocole d’entente ne confère aucune nouvelle attribution et ne modifie en rien la compétence ni les attributions conférées aux parties par la loi.
  • 7.2 Le présent protocole d’entente indique les intentions des parties et ne constitue pas un instrument juridiquement contraignant.
  • 7.3 Le présent protocole d’entente remplace le protocole d’entente signé par les parties en 1985.

8. DURÉE, MODIFICATION ET SUIVI

  • 8.1 Le présent protocole d’entente prendra effet dès sa signature par les deux parties et expirera le 31 mars 2018.
  • 8.2 Le présent protocole d’entente peut être modifié en tout temps sous réserve du consentement écrit des deux parties. La partie qui prend connaissance d’un changement apporté à sa loi ou à ses politiques pouvant avoir une incidence sur le présent protocole d’entente doit en aviser l’autre aussitôt.
  • 8.3 Les représentants des parties indiqués à la section 5 passeront en revue l’efficacité opérationnelle du protocole d’entente au moins une fois l’an.

9. RÉSILIATION

L’une ou l’autre des parties peut résilier le présent protocole d’entente sur préavis écrit de 30 jours civils à l’autre participant.

Signé par :

Représentant de l’Office


____________________________

Nom : Sandy Lapointe
Titre : Chef de la stratégie,
Réglementation
Adresse : 444, 7e Avenue S.-O.
Calgary (Alberta)  T2P 0X8
Téléphone : 403-299-3673


Date: _____________________

Représentant de la GRC


____________________________

Nom : Todd Shean
Titre : Commissaire adjoint
Services de soutien de la police fédérale
Adresse : 73, promenade Leikin
Ottawa (Ontario)   0R2
Téléphone : 613-843-4963


Date: _____________________

Date de modification :