NEB Hearing for Manitoba-Minnesota Transmission Project

News Release
For Immediate Release

January 17, 2018 – Calgary – National Energy Board

The National Energy Board (NEB) will conduct a public hearing for Manitoba Hydro's Manitoba-Minnesota Transmission Project. Indigenous peoples, members of the public and other stakeholders who may be impacted by the project must apply to participate by 7 February 2018.

Participant funding is available to cover expenses such as legal or expert fees and travel expenses. The NEB’s hearing and environmental assessment will consider a broad range of topics, including the need for the project and its economic viability, as well as the potential impacts on landowners and Indigenous peoples.

To reduce duplication, the NEB requested that Manitoba Hydro file all documents from the provincial Clean Environment Commission public hearing on the NEB’s record. Also, when contemplating participation in the NEB hearing, people who took part in the provincial process are encouraged to only consider what new information they may be able to bring forward.

Today’s announcement follows an NEB recommendation [Filing A87404] to the Minister of Natural Resources that this project be subject to a hearing. This will allow the NEB to ensure Indigenous considerations are fully taken into account.

The NEB regulates the construction and operation of international power lines, such as the proposed Manitoba-Minnesota Transmission Project, so that approved projects can be built and operated safely for people and the environment.

Quick Facts

  • Manitoba Hydro is applying for authorization under the NEB Act to construct and operate a 500 kV international power line extending from the Winnipeg area to the U.S. border in southeastern Manitoba as well as upgrades to three existing electrical stations in southern Manitoba.
  • There are 84 international power lines between Canada and the United States. In 2015, these power lines transmitted $3.4 billion dollars in electricity.

Associated Links

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada's energy industry. Its purpose is to regulate pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. For more information on the NEB and its mandate, please visit the National Energy Board website.

– 30 –

Contacts

Marc Drolet
Communications Officer
National Energy Board
Email: Marc.Drolet@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone: 514-476-9911
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265

Date modified:

Le projet de ligne de transmission d’électricité Manitoba-Minnesota fera l’objet d’une audience

Communiqué
Pour publication immédiate

Le 17 janvier 2018 – Calgary – Office national de l’énergie

L’Office national de l’énergie a convoqué une audience publique pour le projet de ligne de transmission d’électricité Manitoba-Minnesota de Manitoba Hydro. Les peuples autochtones, les membres du public et les autres parties prenantes susceptibles d’être touchées par le projet doivent faire une demande de participation au plus tard le 7 février 2018.

Une aide financière sera offerte aux participants pour les aider à acquitter des dépenses, telles que des honoraires juridiques, des expertises et des frais de déplacement. L’audience et l’évaluation environnementale de l’Office viseront à étudier des sujets variés, notamment la nécessité du projet, sa faisabilité économique et ses effets potentiels sur les propriétaires fonciers et les peuples autochtones.

Afin d’éviter les chevauchements, l’Office a demandé à Manitoba Hydro de déposer devant lui tous les documents relatifs à l’audience publique tenue par la Commission de protection de l’environnement de la province. En outre, les personnes qui ont pris part au processus provincial et souhaitent participer à celui de l’Office sont invitées à ne présenter que l’information qui n’a pas déjà été présentée.

L’annonce de convocation d’une audience publique fait suite à une recommandation [dépôt A87404] de l’Office à cet effet au ministre des Ressources naturelles. Le processus d’audience publique favorisera la prise en compte des considérations autochtones.

L’Office réglemente la construction et l’exploitation des projets de lignes internationales de transport d’électricité, comme le projet proposé, de sorte que les projets approuvés soient construits et exploités de manière à ne poser aucun danger pour les personnes ni aucun risque pour l’environnement.

En bref

  • La demande de Manitoba Hydro vise à obtenir l’autorisation, aux termes de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, de construire et d’exploiter une ligne internationale de transport d’électricité de 500 kV qui relierait la région de Winnipeg à un point sur la frontière canado-américaine, dans le sud-est de la province, en plus d’apporter certaines améliorations à trois postes électriques dans le sud manitobain.
  • On compte 84 lignes internationales de transport d’électricité entre le Canada et les États-Unis. En 2015, ces lignes ont transporté de l’électricité pour une valeur de 3,4 milliards de dollars.

Liens connexes

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada. Il réglemente les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie, dans l’intérêt public canadien en plaçant la sécurité au cœur de ses préoccupations. Pour un complément d’information sur l’Office et son mandat, consultez le site Web de l'Office national de l'énergie.

– 30 –

Personnes-ressources

Marc Drolet
Agent de communications

Office national de l'énergie
Courriel : marc.drolet@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone : 514-476-9911
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265

Date de modification :