Trans Mountain Expansion Project detailed route hearings announced for interior B.C.

News Release
For Immediate Release

January 26, 2018 – Calgary – National Energy Board

The National Energy Board (NEB) announced this week that detailed route hearings for Segment 5 of the Trans Mountain Expansion Project are expected to begin in late April or early May 2018. Hearings will take place in Merritt and Kamloops, British Columbia (B.C.).

Previously, the NEB announced detailed route hearings for Segments 1, 2, 3 and 4 in B.C. and Alberta, as well as Segment 7 in the Burnaby, B.C. area. Hearings for the remaining Segment 6 (Kamloops, B.C. through to the Lower Mainland) will be announced at a later date.

Today, the NEB also approved portions of the detailed route in Segment 5 that were not opposed by landowners or affected persons. To date, nearly 56 per cent of the entire detailed route has been approved by the NEB. Prior to beginning construction in these areas, the company must satisfy all applicable NEB pre-construction conditions.

The 1,147 kilometre-long Trans Mountain Expansion Project – along an approximately 150 metre-wide pipeline corridor – was approved by the Government of Canada in November 2016. This project includes the reactivation of roughly 158 kilometres of existing pipeline. The detailed route approval process will determine the exact placement of the new pipeline within the approved corridor.

Quick Facts

  • The Federal Government approved the Trans Mountain expansion project last November, following a NEB recommendation in May 2016 that the project be approved subject to 157 conditions.  
  • The National Energy Board Act (NEB Act) sets out a process for the Board in determining the specific location for a new pipeline, and the methods of acquisition of land rights needed to be obtained by the pipeline companies from affected landowners.
  • The process starts with Trans Mountain providing notice to directly affected landowners and those who believe their lands could be adversely affected by the route of the pipeline. All statements of opposition that meet the requirements of the NEB Act are granted a detailed route hearing.
  • As cited in the NEB Act, statements of opposition that do not set out the grounds for opposition in regard to the detailed route, or the methods or timing of construction, or relate to issues outside of the Board’s jurisdiction, or that are found to be frivolous, vexatious or not made in good faith, or that are filed late, will not be granted a hearing.
  • Participants in detailed route hearings may submit a claim directly to Trans Mountain for reasonable costs of their participation, and advance funding arrangements may be available.
  • The NEB also offers Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) for landowners and companies. ADR processes related to the detailed route hearings are underway, and are expected to continue throughout the detailed route hearing process, with the intent to facilitate mutually agreeable solutions between the parties.

Quotes

“The detailed route hearing process is a very important part of the NEB’s regulatory oversight role. It focuses on the specific concerns of landowners or affected persons directly impacted by the proposed route. By listening to their concerns, the NEB can ensure that the pipeline is placed in the best possible location.”

– Peter Watson, Chair & CEO, National Energy Board

Associated Links

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada's energy industry. Its purpose is to regulate pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. For more information on the NEB and its mandate, please visit the National Energy Board website.

– 30 –

Contacts

Sarah Kiley
Communications Officer

National Energy Board
Email: sarah.kiley@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone: 403-614-6526
Telephone: 403-292-4800
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Date modified:

Annonce d’audiences sur le tracé détaillé du projet d’agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain dans la région intérieure de la Colombie-Britannique

Communiqué
Pour publication immédiate

Le 26 janvier 2018 – Calgary – Office national de l’énergie

L’Office national de l’énergie a annoncé cette semaine que les audiences sur le tracé détaillé du tronçon 5 du projet d’agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain devraient débuter à la fin d’avril ou au début du mois de mai 2018. Elles se tiendront à Merritt et à Kamloops, en Colombie-Britannique.

L’Office a annoncé précédemment que les audiences sur le tracé détaillé des tronçons 1, 2, 3 et 4 se dérouleraient en Alberta et que celles visant le tronçon 7 auraient lieu à Burnaby, en Colombie-Britannique. Une annonce concernant les audiences relatives au tronçon 6 (de Kamloops jusqu’au Lower Mainland de la Colombie-Britannique) sera faite à une date ultérieure.

Aujourd’hui, l’Office a approuvé des parties du tracé détaillé du tronçon 5 qui ne faisaient pas l’objet d’opposition par des propriétaires fonciers ou des personnes touchées. Jusqu’ici, l’Office a approuvé près de 56 % de l’ensemble du tracé détaillé. Avant d’entreprendre la construction à ces endroits, la société doit toutefois remplir toutes les conditions préalables applicables imposées par l’Office.

Le gouvernement du Canada a approuvé en novembre 2016 le projet de pipeline de 1 147 kilomètres de long dans un couloir d’environ 150 mètres de large, qui comprend la remise en service d’un tronçon de 158 kilomètres de conduite existante. Le processus d’approbation du tracé détaillé déterminera l’emplacement exact du nouveau pipeline à l’intérieur du couloir approuvé.

En bref

  • Le gouvernement fédéral a approuvé le projet d’agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain en novembre dernier, accueillant favorablement la recommandation de l’Office, formulée en mai 2016, d’approuver le projet sous réserve de 157 conditions.
  • La Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie précise le processus à suivre pour déterminer l’emplacement exact de tout nouveau pipeline et définir les modalités que doivent respecter les sociétés pipelinières pour acquérir les droits fonciers des terrains dont elles ont besoin.
  • Trans Mountain doit amorcer le processus en faisant parvenir un avis aux propriétaires de terrains directement touchés et à ceux qui estiment que le tracé du pipeline pourrait nuire à leurs terrains. Toutes les déclarations d’opposition conformes aux exigences de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie donnent lieu à une audience sur le tracé détaillé.
  • Conformément à la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, une déclaration qui n’établit pas les motifs d’opposition au tracé détaillé ou aux méthodes ou moments de la construction, qui traite de questions qui ne relèvent pas de l’Office ou qui, selon ce dernier, est futile, vexatoire ou dénuée de bonne foi ou encore est déposée après la date limite, ne donne pas lieu à une audience.
  • Les participants à l’une des audiences sur le tracé détaillé peuvent présenter directement à Trans Mountain une demande d’indemnisation des coûts engagés de manière raisonnable pour participer à l’audience et ils pourront peut-être prendre des dispositions pour obtenir une avance.
  • L’Office offre aussi aux propriétaires de terrains et aux sociétés un mode substitutif de résolution des conflits. Des processus de résolution des conflits sont déjà enclenchés et devraient se poursuivre pendant les audiences sur le tracé détaillé, dans le but de faciliter la recherche de solutions qui sont acceptables pour les parties.

Citations

« Le processus relatif au tracé détaillé est une composante très importante de la surveillance qu’exerce l’Office au titre de la réglementation. Il se concentre plus particulièrement sur les préoccupations des propriétaires fonciers ou des personnes directement touchées par le tracé proposé. En prenant connaissance de ces préoccupations, nous pouvons nous assurer que le pipeline sera aménagé au meilleur endroit possible. »

– Peter Watson, président et premier dirigeant de l’Office national de l’énergie

Liens connexes

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada. Il réglemente les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie, dans l’intérêt public canadien en plaçant la sécurité au cœur de ses préoccupations. Pour un complément d’information sur l’Office et son mandat, consultez le site Web de l'Office national de l'énergie.

– 30 –

Personnes-ressources

Sarah Kiley
Agente de communications

Office national de l'énergie
Courriel : sarah.kiley@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone : 403-614-6526
Téléphone : 403-292-4800
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Date de modification :