NEB issues first detailed route hearing decisions for Trans Mountain Expansion pipeline

News Release
For Immediate Release

February 6, 2018 – Calgary – National Energy Board

The National Energy Board (NEB) today issued the first four detailed route hearing decisions for the Trans Mountain Expansion pipeline.

The decisions for detailed route hearings in Segments 1 & 2 cover portions of the pipeline route west from Edmonton to just before the Jasper National Park boundary. The hearings took place in Spruce Grove, Edson and Hinton, Alberta in November and December of 2017.

In total, 11 detailed route hearings were held for Segments 1 & 2, and 18 other objections to the detailed route in these areas were withdrawn. Decisions for the remaining seven hearings in these segments are expected in the coming weeks. All written decisions for the detailed route hearings will be posted on the NEB website.

Detailed route hearings for Segment 7, in British Columbia’s Lower Mainland, were held in Burnaby between January 22-31, 2018 and are scheduled to continue for Segments 3 & 4 in Valemount and Clearwater, B.C. between February 27-March 9, 2018.

The 1,147 km pipeline project was approved by the Government of Canada in November 2016 along an approximate 150 metre-wide pipeline corridor. This project includes the reactivation of roughly 158 kilometres of existing pipeline. The detailed route approval process will determine the exact placement of the new pipeline within the approved corridor.

To date, nearly 56 per cent of the entire detailed route has been approved by the NEB. A map of the approved detailed route sections can be found on the NEB website.

While these detailed route approvals are a key regulatory step required by the NEB before construction can begin on the new pipeline, the company must also demonstrate that they have met all applicable pre-construction conditions. Currently, Trans Mountain only has NEB approval to begin construction of the project within the Westridge Marine Terminal. Please refer to the NEB’s interactive condition compliance tool for regular updates.

Associated Links

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada's energy industry. Its purpose is to regulate pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. For more information on the NEB and its mandate, please visit the National Energy Board website.

– 30 –

Contacts

James Stevenson
Communications Officer

National Energy Board
Email: james.stevenson@neb-one.gc.ca
Cell: 403-613-6126
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Sarah Kiley
Communications Officer

National Energy Board
Email: sarah.kiley@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone: 403-614-6526
Telephone: 403-292-4800
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Date modified:

L’Office national de l’énergie rend les premières décisions relativement aux audiences sur le tracé détaillé du projet d’agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain

Communiqué
Pour publication immédiate

Le 6 février 2018 – Calgary – Office national de l’énergie

L’Office national de l’énergie a rendu aujourd’hui quatre décisions relativement à des audiences sur le tracé détaillé du projet d’agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain.

Les décisions visent les audiences sur le tracé détaillé des tronçons 1 et 2 du pipeline, soit en direction ouest à partir d’Edmonton jusqu’à la limite du parc national Jasper. Les audiences ont eu lieu à Spruce Grove, Edson et Hinton, en Alberta, en novembre et décembre derniers.

L’Office a tenu, au total, 11 audiences sur le tracé détaillé des tronçons 1 et 2, quelque 18 déclarations d’opposition au tracé dans cette région ayant été retirées. La décision visant les sept audiences restantes pour ces deux tronçons est attendue au cours des prochaines semaines. Un document faisant état de chacune des décisions sera affiché dans le site Web de l’Office.

Par ailleurs, les audiences sur le tracé détaillé du tronçon 7, dans la région du Lower Mainland de la Colombie-Britannique, ont eu lieu du 22 au 31 janvier 2018, à Burnaby, et les audiences sur le tracé détaillé des tronçons 3 et 4 devraient se poursuivre à Valemount et à Clearwater, en Colombie-Britannique, du 27 février au 9 mars 2018.

Le gouvernement du Canada a approuvé en novembre 2016 le projet de pipeline de 1 147 kilomètres de long dans un couloir d’environ 150 mètres de large, qui comprend la remise en service d’un tronçon de 158 kilomètres de conduite existante. Le processus d’approbation du tracé détaillé déterminera l’emplacement exact du nouveau pipeline à l’intérieur du couloir approuvé.

Jusqu’ici, l’Office a approuvé près de 56 % de l’ensemble du tracé détaillé. Le site Web de l’Office contient une carte montrant les tronçons approuvés du tracé détaillé.

Bien que l’approbation des différents tronçons du tracé détaillé soit une étape importante du processus de réglementation de l’Office, la mise en chantier ne pourra avoir lieu tant que la société n’aura pas démontré qu’elle a rempli toutes les conditions préalables à la construction. À l’heure actuelle, Trans Mountain a l’approbation de l’Office pour entreprendre les travaux de construction liés au projet dans les limites du terminal maritime Westridge seulement. Pour vous tenir au courant des progrès de la société pour remplir les conditions qui lui ont été imposées, veuillez vous reporter à l’outil interactif d’information de l’Office.

Liens connexes

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada. Il réglemente les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie, dans l’intérêt public canadien en plaçant la sécurité au cœur de ses préoccupations. Pour un complément d’information sur l’Office et son mandat, consultez le site Web de l'Office national de l'énergie.

– 30 –

Personnes-ressources

James Stevenson
Agent de communications

Office national de l'énergie
Courriel : james.stevenson@neb-one.gc.ca
Cellulaire : 403-613-6126
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Sarah Kiley
Agente de communications

Office national de l'énergie
Courriel : sarah.kiley@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone : 403-614-6526
Téléphone : 403-292-4800
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Date de modification :