Trans Mountain Expansion pipeline cleared for work at Burnaby Mountain portal

News Release
For Immediate Release

February 15, 2018 – Calgary – National Energy Board

The National Energy Board (NEB) has issued three decisions that collectively provide Trans Mountain Pipeline ULC (Trans Mountain) the ability to start construction on the Burnaby Mountain tunnel entrance, subject to other applicable federal, provincial and municipal permits.

The decisions enable Trans Mountain to begin clearing and grading work now at the entrance of the Burnaby Mountain tunnel, or portal, on its Westridge Marine Terminal property to avoid potential impacts on migratory birds that could use that area later in the spring.

Specifically, the NEB issued two detailed route hearing decisions that approved the pipeline route where the Burnaby Mountain tunnel will be constructed. Reasons for the decisions are posted on the NEB’s website. [Filing A90021] [Filing A90020]

Trans Mountain also sought relief from the NEB on the applicability of the remaining pre-construction conditions to allow tunnel portal construction to commence within the Westridge Marine Terminal property. Today, the NEB granted relief from all remaining pre-construction conditions specific to the tunnel portal at Westridge Marine Terminal. [Filing A90023]

While Trans Mountain now has the NEB’s regulatory approvals to begin work at the Westridge portal for the Burnaby Mountain tunnel, construction is not yet authorized along the rest of the pipeline route. Construction in those areas can begin once the necessary pre-construction conditions have been satisfied, and the applicable portions of the detailed route are approved.

To date, nearly 56 per cent of the entire detailed route has been approved by the NEB. A map of the approved detailed route sections can be found on the NEB website. For more information on the NEB’s regulatory compliance work for the Trans Mountain Expansion Project, please go to the NEB website.

Associated Links

– 30 –

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada's energy industry. Its purpose is to regulate pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. For more information on the NEB and its mandate, please visit the National Energy Board website.

Contacts

James Stevenson
Communications Officer

National Energy Board
Email: james.stevenson@neb-one.gc.ca
Cell: 403-613-6126
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Date modified:

Projet d’agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain – Les travaux à l’entrée du tunnel au mont Burnaby peuvent commencer

Communiqué
Pour publication immédiate

Le 15 février 2018 – Calgary – Office national de l’énergie

L’Office national de l’énergie a rendu trois décisions qui, ensemble, autorisent Trans Mountain Pipeline ULC (« Trans Mountain ») à commencer la construction à l’entrée du tunnel du mont Burnaby, sous réserve des autres permis fédéraux, provinciaux et municipaux applicables.

Les décisions permettent à Trans Mountain de lancer immédiatement les travaux de déboisement et de terrassement à l’entrée du tunnel du mont Burnaby sur la propriété du terminal maritime Westridge afin d’éviter les effets éventuels sur les oiseaux migrateurs qui pourraient utiliser la zone plus tard au printemps.

L’Office a plus particulièrement rendu deux décisions approuvant le tracé pipelinier où sera construit le tunnel du mont Burnaby. Les motifs de décisions sont publiés dans le site Web de l’Office. [dépôt A90021] [dépôt A90020]

Trans Mountain a également demandé à l’Office une exemption à l’application des autres conditions préalables à la construction afin que les travaux de l’entrée du tunnel puissent commencer sur la propriété du terminal maritime Westridge. Aujourd’hui, l’Office a accordé une exemption à toutes les autres conditions préalables à la construction propres à l’entrée du tunnel. [dépôt A90023]

Bien que Trans Mountain ait reçu les approbations réglementaires pour amorcer les travaux à l’entrée du tunnel du mont Burnaby au terminal Westridge, elle n’est toujours pas autorisée à entreprendre des activités à d’autres endroits le long du tracé pipelinier. Ces travaux pourront commencer lorsque les conditions préalables à la construction auront été remplies et que les tronçons applicables du tracé détaillé auront été approuvés.

Jusqu’ici, l’Office a approuvé près de 56 % de l’ensemble du tracé détaillé. Le site Web de l’Office contient une carte montrant les tronçons approuvés. Pour un complément d’information sur les activités de l’Office à l’égard de la conformité réglementaire dans le contexte du projet d’agrandissement du projet de Trans Mountain, consultez le site Web de l’Office.

Liens connexes

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada. Il réglemente les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie, dans l’intérêt public canadien en plaçant la sécurité au cœur de ses préoccupations. Pour un complément d’information sur l’Office et son mandat, consultez le site Web de l'Office national de l'énergie.

– 30 –

Personnes-ressources

James Stevenson
Agent de communications

Office national de l'énergie
Courriel : james.stevenson@neb-one.gc.ca
Cellulaire : 403-613-6126
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Date de modification :