The Application Process

The Application Process

Issue: Application Process: how does the NEB make decisions or recommendations?

The Application Process [PDF 2709 KB]

An important part of the National Energy Board's (NEB or Board) job is to review and assess new project applications. Using the evidence that is placed before it, the NEB determines whether the project is in the public interest. A general overview of the process for the assessment of projects follows.

Pre-Application Phase

  • The NEB guidance on what is expected from a company is described in our Filing Manual. Pre-application meetings are sometimes also held with proponents to answer questions about the NEB process and filing manual requirements.
  • A company may file a project description before it files an application. This is used for project-specific public and Indigenous engagement as well as for participant funding application.
    • Participant Funding Program (PFP) provides funding to facilitate the participation of the public in hearings or environmental assessments with respect to new or abandonment projects for pipelines or powerlines.

Applications to Construct and Operate

  • When the company files its application for the construction and operation of a pipeline, the NEB reviews it to see if the proposed pipeline can be built and operated safely, and whether it is in the public interest. Under the National Energy Board Act (NEB Act), the Board must hear from directly affected people and groups (including Indigenous peoples), and may hear from those with relevant information or expertise. At the completion of the hearing process for major projects (i.e., pipeline projects greater than 40 km in length), the NEB makes a recommendation to the Federal Cabinet (with or without conditions). For smaller projects, at the completion of the hearing process the NEB may issue an approval along with any necessary conditions.
  • An environmental assessment (EA) is a review of the environmental effects likely to be associated with an energy project. This assessment is completed before the NEB makes a decision or recommendation on whether or not to approve an application.
  • Major projects cannot be constructed until the detailed route has approved by the NEB. Once a major project has received an approval, the company is required to file an application for the detailed route of the project. The Board may approve the application if there is no opposition to it. If there is opposition, the Board must have a public hearing. In either case, the Board will review the information presented and decide whether the company has proposed the best possible detailed route and the most appropriate methods and timing for construction. Smaller pipeline projects do not require detailed route approval.
  • Once a pipeline is operational, the NEB continues to regulate and oversee the safe and environmentally responsible operation of the facility until decommissioning and abandonment.

Abandonment of Facilities

  • If a company wishes to abandon a facility, it must submit an application, which includes details on the company’s proposed abandonment activities. In particular, the company must describe the safety and environmental impacts of the proposed abandonment activities, and also the consultations undertaken with affected landowners.
  • The NEB reviews the application. If the application is approved, the Board may impose conditions and inspect the abandonment activities.
  • The NEB holds companies responsible for having the funds available to address any issues during and after abandonment.
Date modified:

Processus de demande

Processus de demande

Processus de demande

Processus de demande [PDF 1220 ko]

L’une des tâches importantes de l’Office national de l’énergie consiste à examiner et à évaluer les demandes visant de nouveaux projets. Il détermine alors si ces derniers sont dans l’intérêt public en se fondant sur la preuve déposée devant lui. Suit un aperçu général du processus d’évaluation des projets.

Étape préalable à la présentation de la demande

  • C’est dans son Guide de dépôt que l’Office stipule ce qu’il attend des sociétés. Il arrive qu’avant même la présentation d’une demande des réunions soient tenues avec les promoteurs afin de répondre à leurs questions sur le processus de l’Office et les exigences de dépôt.
  • Une société peut déposer une description de projet devant l’Office avant de présenter sa demande. Cette description est utilisée, dans le cadre des activités d’engagement du grand public et des populations autochtones, expressément en ce qui concerne le projet, en plus de permettre la présentation de demandes d’aide financière par les participants.
    • Le Programme d’aide financière aux participants procure des fonds pour faciliter la participation du public aux audiences concernant des projets de construction ou de cessation d’exploitation, qu’il s’agisse de pipelines ou de lignes de transport d’électricité.

Demandes visant la construction et l’exploitation

  • Lorsqu’une société dépose une demande visant la construction et l’exploitation d’un pipeline, l’Office examine le document en question afin de déterminer s’il est possible de procéder, en toute sécurité et dans l’intérêt public. La Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie précise que l’Office doit entendre directement les particuliers de même que les groupes directement touchés (dont les peuples autochtones) et qu’il peut entendre ceux qui possèdent des renseignements pertinents ou une expertise appropriée. À la conclusion du processus d’audience dans le cas d’un projet d’envergure (pipeline d’une longueur supérieure à 40 kilomètres), l’Office présente une recommandation au Cabinet fédéral (avec ou sans conditions). Pour ce qui est des projets plus restreints, une fois le processus d’audience terminé, l’Office est en mesure d’accorder lui-même l’autorisation souhaitée, le cas échéant, assortie de toutes les conditions nécessaires.
  • Une évaluation environnementale est un examen des effets environnementaux probables associés à un projet énergétique. L’évaluation est réalisée avant que l’Office ne rende une décision ou ne formule une recommandation, quant à l’approbation ou au rejet d’une demande.
  • Aucun projet d’envergure ne peut être construit tant que son tracé détaillé n’est pas approuvé par l’Office. Une fois un tel projet autorisé, la société est tenue de déposer une demande pour son tracé détaillé, qui peut être approuvée par l’Office en l’absence de toute opposition. Il est également possible de tenir une audience publique si on s’oppose au projet. Quoi qu’il en soit, l’Office examinera l’information présentée et décidera si la société a proposé le meilleur tracé détaillé possible ainsi que les méthodes et le calendrier de construction les plus appropriés. Il n’est pas nécessaire de faire approuver le tracé détaillé des projets pipeliniers de moindre ampleur.
  • Une fois un pipeline en exploitation, l’Office continue d’en réglementer et d’en surveiller le fonctionnement, d’une façon sécuritaire et responsable pour l’environnement, jusqu’à sa désaffectation ou la cessation de son exploitation.

Cessation d’exploitation des installations

  • Quand une société souhaite cesser l’exploitation d’une installation, elle doit présenter à l’Office une demande qui comprend des renseignements détaillés sur les activités qu’elle entend mener à cette fin. En particulier, elle doit décrire les incidences de ces activités sur la sécurité et l’environnement ainsi que les consultations menées avec les propriétaires fonciers touchés.
  • L’Office examine ensuite la demande et s’il l’approuve, il peut imposer des conditions et vérifier au moyen d’inspections le déroulement des activités de cessation d’exploitation.
  • L’Office tient les sociétés responsables de prévoir suffisamment de fonds disponibles pour être en mesure de régler toutes les questions soulevées pendant ou après la cessation d’exploitation.
Date de modification :