ARCHIVED - National Energy Board - 2011-2012 Departmental Performance Report - Section III: Supplementary Information

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Section III: Supplementary Information

Financial Highlights

During 2011, amendments were made to Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.2 - Departmental and Agency Financial Statements to improve financial reporting by government departments and agencies. The amendments are effective for financial reporting of fiscal years ending March 31, 2012, and later. The significant changes to the NEB’s financial statements are described below. These changes have been applied retroactively, and comparative information for 2010-11 has been restated.

Net debt (calculated as liabilities less financial assets) is now presented in the Statement of Financial Position. Accompanying this change, the NEB now presents a Statement of Change in Net Debt and no longer presents a Statement of Equity.

Revenue and related accounts receivable are now presented net of non-respendable amounts in the Statement of Operations and Departmental Net Financial Position and Statement of Financial Position. The effect of this change was to increase the net cost of operations after government funding and transfers by $64,944,000 for 2012 ($65,260,000 for 2011) and decrease total financial assets by $25,446 for 2012 ($29,035 for 2011).

The most significant change in the Statement of Financial position relates to liabilities and, specifically, Other Payables which represents the balance at year-end of Greenfield fees that have been invoiced to external parties. These amounts are recognized as adjustments to other regulated parties and will be settled via reduced billings in 2012.



Condensed Statement of Financial Position (Unaudited)
As at March 31, 2012
($ millions)
  Change % 2011-12 2010-11
Total net liabilities 111.5% 33.2 15.7
Total net financial assets 19.7% 7.3 6.1
Departmental net debt 169.8% 25.9 9.6
Total non-financial assets 19.3% 6.8 5.7
Departmental net financial position (389.7)% (19.1) (3.9)


Condensed Statement of Operations and Departmental Net Financial Position (Unaudited)
For the Year Ended March 31, 2012
($ millions)
Change % 2011-12 2010-11
Total expenses 7.9% 72.1 66.8
Total revenues   - -
Net cost of operations before government funding and transfers 7.9% 72.1 66.8
Departmental net financial position (389.7)% (19.1) (3.9)

Financial Highlights - Charts and Graphs

Due to the amendments to the Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.2 - Departmental and Agency Financial Statements, revenue and related accounts receivable are now presented net of non-respendable amounts in the Statement of Operations and Departmental Net Financial Position and Statement of Financial Position. The following graph compares the non-respendable revenues collected by the NEB on behalf of Government to the Expenses of the NEB for 2011-12 and 2010-11. A change in the accounting treatment for the billing adjustment that was implemented in 2009-10 continued to impact the non-respendable revenue for 2010-11 but has stabilized to a normal trend in 2011-12.

Non-respendable Revenues vs. Expenses
(000’s)

Non-respendable Revenues vs. Expenses
Text description of this graph

Revenues vs. Expenses

This bar chart shows the National Energy Board’s non-respendable revenues versus expenses for fiscal years 2011-12 and 2010-11.

Expenses by period are as follows:

  • 2011-12: $72,095,000
  • 2010-11: $66,834,000

Non-respendable Revenues by period are as follows:

  • 2011-12: $64,944,000
  • 2010-11: $65,260,000

 

Financial Statements

The NEB’s Financial Statements can be found on the NEB’s website.

List of Supplementary Information Tables

Electronic supplementary information tables listed in the 2011–12 Departmental Performance Report can be found on the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat’s website.

 

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Office national de l'énergie - Rapport ministériel sur le rendement 2011-2012 - Section III : Renseignements supplémentaires

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Section III : Renseignements supplémentaires

Principales données financières

Au cours de 2011, des modifications ont été apportées à la Norme comptable 1.2 du Conseil du Trésor - États financiers des ministères et des organismes pour permettre à ces organisations de fournir de meilleures informations financières. Ces modifications s’appliquent aux rapports financiers des exercices se terminant le 31 mars 2012 et après. Les changements importants que ces modifications ont entraînés aux états financiers de l’Office sont présentés ci-dessous. Ils ont été appliqués rétroactivement, et les données comparatives pour l’exercice 2010-2011 ont été ajustées.

Le montant net de la dette (soit le montant net des passifs moins le montant net des actifs financiers) est maintenant indiqué dans le tableau État condensé de la situation financière. Pour accompagner ce changement, l’Office présente désormais l’État de la variation de la dette nette, mais ne fournit plus l’État de l’avoir.

Les revenus et les débiteurs connexes sont maintenant présentés après soustraction des revenus non disponibles, dans l’État condensé des opérations et situation financière nette du ministère et l’État de la situation financière. Ce changement a eu comme effet d’accroître le coût net des opérations après le financement et les transferts du gouvernement de 64 944 000 $ pour 2012 (65 260 000 $ pour 2011) et de diminuer le montant total des actifs financiers de 25 446 $ pour 2012 (29 035 $ pour 2011).

Pour ce qui est de l’État de la situation financière, le changement le plus important se situe dans les passifs, plus précisément dans les autres dettes qui représentent les frais à payer par les nouveaux venus dans l’industrie qui ont été facturés à des parties de l’extérieur. Ces sommes sont constatées comme des redressements à d’autres parties réglementées, et seront réglées par voie d’une facturation moins élevée en 2012.



État condensé de la situation financière (non vérifié)
Au 31 mars 2012
(en millions de dollars)
  Variation % 2011-2012 2010-2011
Montant total net des passifs 111,5 % 33,2 15,7
Montant total net des actifs financiers 19,7 % 7,3 6,1
Montant net de la dette de l’organisation 169,8 % 25,9 9,6
Montant total des actifs non financiers 19.3 % 6.8 5.7
Situation financière nette de l’organisation (389,7) % (19,1) (3,9)


État condensé des opérations et situation financière nette de l’organisation (non vérifiés)
Pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012
(en millions de dollars)
Variation % 2011-2012 2010-2011
Montant total des dépenses 7,9 % 72,1 66,8
Montant total des revenus   - -
Coût net des opérations avant le financement et les transferts du gouvernement 7,9 % 72,1 66,8
Situation financière nette de l’organisation (389,7) % (19,1) (3,9)

Graphiques et diagrammes des principales données financières

En raison des modifications apportées à la Norme comptable 1.2 du Conseil du Trésor - États financiers des ministères et des organismes, les revenus et les débiteurs connexes sont désormais présentés après soustraction des montants non disponibles, dans l’État condensé des opérations et situation financière nette et dans l’État de la situation financière. Le graphique ci-dessous compare les revenus non disponibles perçus par l’Office pour le gouvernement aux dépenses de l’Office pour les exercices 2011-2012 et 2010-2011. Une modification du traitement comptable de l’ajustement de facture appliquée à l’exercice 2009-2010 continue d’influer sur les revenus non disponibles de l’exercice 2010-2011. Toutefois, il y a stabilisation, et on observe une tendance normale pour l’exercice 2011-2012.

Revenus non disponibles par rapport aux dépenses
(en milliers de dollars)

Revenus non disponibles par rapport aux dépenses
Interprétation de ce diagramme

Revenus comparés aux dépenses

Ce graphique présente les revenus non disponibles et les dépenses de l’Office national de l’énergie pour les exercices financiers 2011-2012 et 2010-2011.

Les dépenses par période sont les suivantes :

  • 2011-2012 : 72 095 000 $
  • 2010-2011 : 66 834 000 $

Les revenus non disponibles par période sont les suivants :

  • 2011-2012 : 64 944 000 $
  • 2010-2011 : 65 260 000 $

 

États financiers

Les états financiers de l’Office sont disponibles sur son site Web.

Liste des tableaux de renseignements supplémentaires

La version électronique de tous les tableaux de renseignements supplémentaires qui figurent dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement 2011-2012 est disponible sur le site Web du Secrétariat Conseil du Trésor du Canada.

 

Date de modification :