ARCHIVED - National Energy Board - 2012-2013 Departmental Performance Report - Section III: Supplementary Information

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Section III: Supplementary Information

Financial Statements Highlights

The National Energy Board operates on a full accrual accounting basis according to Treasury Board’s policy for reporting based on generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP). The tables below provide highlights from the NEB’s Statement of Operations and Departmental Net Financial Position and Statement of Financial Position, as presented in its 2012-13 financial statements. As such, differences do exist between these tables and those presented in other sections of the Departmental Performance Report, which are prepared on the modified cash basis of accounting.

Condensed Statement of Operations and Departmental Net Financial Position
National Energy Board
Condensed Statement of Operations and
Departmental Net Financial Position (Unaudited)
For the Year Ended March 31, 2013
($ millions)
  2012–13
Planned Results (Restated)[a]
2012-13
Actual
2011-12
Actual
$ Change
(2012-13 Planned vs. Actual)
$ Change
(2012–13 Actual vs. 2011–12 Actual)
Total expenses 72.0 77.0 72.1 5.0 4.9
Total revenues - - - - -
Net cost of operations before government funding and transfers 72.0 77.0 72.1 3.0 4.9
Departmental net financial position   3.1 19.1 [a] (16.0)
[a] The 2012-13 Planned Results have been restated to incorporate amendments made to Treasury Board Accounting 1.2 - Departmental and Agency Financial Statement. Departmental net financial position was not calculated for the 2012-13 RPP. Please refer to the complete set of 2012-13 Financial Statements for additional information.

Total expenses for 2012-13 have increased by approximately $5.0 million over the previous year. Budget 2012 included additional funding for the NEB to strengthen pipeline safety and expenditures in this area, which contributed to the increase in expenses from 2011-12 and is also the explanation for the variance between planned and actual spending.

The following graph presents NEB expenses by program.

NEB expenses by program

Text description of this graph

NEB Expenses by Program

This pie chart shows the National Energy Board’s expenses by percentage and program:

  • Energy Regulation: 67%
  • Energy Information: 8%
  • Internal Services: 25%
Condensed Statement of Financial Position
National Energy Board
Condensed Statement of Financial Position (Unaudited)
As at March 31, 2013
($ millions)
  2012–13 2011–12 $ Change
Total net liabilities 19.3 33.2 (13.9)
Total net financial assets 8.7 7.3 1.4
Departmental net debt 10.6 25.9 (15.3)
Total non-financial assets 7.5 6.8 0.7
Departmental net financial position (3.1) (19.1) 16.0

Total net liabilities have decreased by almost $14 million from 2011-12. This decrease is related to Other Payables which represents the year-end balance of levies collected from newly regulated parties under Section 5.2(1) of the National Energy Board Cost Recovery Regulations. In 2011-12 the balance of these levies was $15.7 million. This amount was offset against the 2012-13 billings of other regulated parties.

Financial Statements

The NEB’s Financial Statements can be found on the NEB’s website.

Supplementary Information Tables

All electronic supplementary information tables listed in the 2012–13 Departmental Performance Report can be found on the National Energy Board’s website.

Tax Expenditures and Evaluations Report

The tax system can be used to achieve public policy objectives through the application of special measures such as low tax rates, exemptions, deductions, deferrals and credits. The Department of Finance publishes cost estimates and projections for these measures annually in the Tax Expenditures and Evaluations publication. The tax measures presented in the Tax Expenditures and Evaluations publication are the sole responsibility of the Minister of Finance.

 

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Office national de l’énergie - Rapport ministériel sur le rendement 2012-2013 - Section III : Renseignements supplémentaires

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

 

Section III : Renseignements supplémentaires

Faits saillants des états financiers

Conformément à la politique du Conseil du Trésor indiquant que les rapports financiers doivent respecter les principes comptables généralement reconnus (PCCR), l’Office national de l’énergie a utilisé la comptabilité d’exercice pendant toute la période à l’étude. Les tableaux ci-dessous présentent les faits saillants des états financiers de l’Office et sa situation financière nette, tels qu’ils sont présentés dans les états financiers pour l’exercice 2012-2013. Il est à noter qu’il existe des écarts entre les données fournies dans ces tableaux et celles mentionnées dans les autres sections du présent rapport, ce dernier étant préparé selon la comptabilité des crédits modifiée.

État condensé des opérations et situation financière nette de l’organisation
Office national de l’énergie
État condensé des opérations et
situation financière nette de l’organisation (non vérifiés)
Pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013
(M$)
  2012-2013 Résultats prévus (recalculés)[a] 2012-2013
Résultats réels
2011-2012
Résultats réels
Variation en $
(résultats réels contre résultats prévus 2012-2013)
Variation en $
(résultats réels 2012-2013 contre résultats réels 2011-2012)
Total des charges 72,0 77,0 72,1 5,0 4,9
Total des revenus - - - - -
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement du gouvernement et les transferts 72,0 77,0 72,1 3,0 4,9
Situation financière nette de l’Office   3,1 19,1 [a] (16,0)
[a] Les résultats prévus pour l’exercice 2012-2013 ont été recalculés pour intégrer les modifications apportées à la Norme comptable 1.2 du Conseil du Trésor - États financiers des ministères et organismes. La situation nette de l’Office n’a pas été recalculée pour le Rapport sur les plans et priorités 2012-2013. Pour un complément d’information, veuillez consulter les états financiers pour l’exercice 2012-2013.

Au cours de l’exercice 2012-2013, les dépenses totales ont augmenté d’environ 5,0 millions de dollars par rapport à l’exercice précédent. prévoyait des fonds supplémentaires pour permettre à l’Office de renforcer la sécurité des pipelines et couvrir les dépenses en la matière, ce qui a contribué à la hausse des dépenses par rapport à l’exercice 2011-2012 et explique l’écart entre les dépenses prévues et réelles.

Le graphique qui suit présente les dépenses de l’Office par programme.

Dépenses de l’Office par programme
Interprétation de ce diagramme

Les dépenses de l’Office par programme

Ce diagramme présente le pourcentage par programme des dépenses de l’Office national de l’énergie :

  • Réglementation de l’énergie : 67 %
  • Information sur l’énergie : 8 %
  • Services internes : 25 %
État condensé de la situation financière
Office national de l’énergie
État condensé de la situation financière (non vérifié)
Au 31 mars 2013
(M$)
  2012-2013 2011-2012 Variation en dollars
Montant total net des passifs 19,3 33,2 (13,9)
Total des actifs financiers nets 8,7 7,3 1,4
Dette nette de l’Office 10,6 25,9 (15,3)
Total des actifs non financiers 7,5 6,8 0,7
Situation financière nette de l’Office (3,1) (19,1) 16,0

Le montant total net des passifs a diminué de quelque 14 millions de dollars par rapport à l’exercice 2011-2012. Cette diminution provient des autres créditeurs qui représentent le solde de fin d’année des redevances perçues auprès des parties nouvellement réglementées aux termes du paragraphe 5.2(1) du Règlement sur le recouvrement des frais de l’Office national de l’énergie. Pour l’exercice 2011-2012, le solde de ces redevances s’élevait à 15,7 millions de dollars. Ce montant a été annulé par la facturation des autres parties réglementées durant l’exercice 2012-2013.

États financiers

Les états financiers de l’Office sont disponibles sur son site Web.

Tableaux supplémentaires

Tous les tableaux de renseignements supplémentaires en version électronique du Rapport ministériel sur le rendement de 2012-2013 sont disponibles sur le site Web de l’Office national de l’énergie.

Rapport Dépenses fiscales et évaluations

Il est possible de recourir au régime fiscal pour atteindre des objectifs de la politique publique en appliquant des mesures spéciales, comme de faibles taux d’impôt, des exemptions, des déductions, des reports et des crédits. Le ministère des Finances publie annuellement des estimations et des projections du coût de ces mesures dans son rapport intitulé Dépenses fiscales et évaluations. Les mesures fiscales présentées dans le rapport Dépenses fiscales et évaluations relèvent de la seule responsabilité du ministre des Finances.

 

Date de modification :