ARCHIVED - National Energy Board - 2013-14 Departmental Performance Report - Section III: Supplementary Information

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Section III: Supplementary Information

Financial Statements Highlights

The National Energy Board operates on a full accrual accounting basis according to Treasury Board’s policy for reporting based on generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP). The tables below provide highlights from the NEB’s Statement of Operations and Departmental Net Financial Position and Statement of Financial Position, as presented in its 2013-14 financial statements. As such, differences do exist between these tables and those presented in other sections of the Departmental Performance Report, which are prepared on the modified cash basis of accounting.

Prior to 2013-14, the NEB prepared unaudited fiscal financial statements for inclusion in the Public Accounts of Canada as well as audited calendar financial statements in accordance with the NEB Cost Recovery Regulations.  Beginning in 2013-14 the NEB transitioned the audited statements from calendar year to the fiscal year accounting period.  This has resulted in one set of audited financial statements for inclusion in the Public Accounts of Canada that also meets the requirements of the NEB Cost Recovery Regulations. The following condensed statements are taken from the 2013-14 audited fiscal financial statements. The comparative 2012-13 numbers include minor adjustments from those previously reported as a result of this one time transition.



National Energy Board
Condensed Statement of Operations and Departmental Net Financial Position (unaudited)
For the Year Ended March 31, 2014
(dollars)
  2013–14
Planned Results
2013-13
Actual
2012-13
Actual
Difference
(2013-14 actual minus
2013–14
planned)
Difference
(2013-14
actual minus
2012-13
actual)
Total expenses 76,076,000 82,149,942 78,061,795 6,073,942 4,088,147
Total revenues - - - - -
Net cost of operations before government funding and transfers 76,076,000 82,149,942 78,061,795 6,073,942 4,088,147
Departmental net financial position (3,966,000) 5,287,449 (3,110,482) 9,253,449 8,397,931

The variance between planned and actual spending for 2013-14 is approximately $6.0 million. Salary costs account for just over $4.0 million of this difference. This increase is related to a new collective agreement that was signed in 2013-14. Expenses for rental of office space were also higher than planned in 2013-14 in preparation for a complete office move to Center 10 in the first quarter of 2014-15.

The following graph presents NEB expenses by program.

NEB expenses by program
Text description of this graph

NEB Expenses by Program

This pie chart shows the National Energy Board’s expenses by percentage and program:

  • Energy Regulation: 69%
  • Energy Information: 9%
  • Internal Services: 22%
National Energy Board
Condensed Statement of Financial Position (unaudited)
As at March 31, 2014
(dollars)
  2013-14 2012-13 Difference
(2013-14
minus
2012-13)
Total net liabilities 19,896,326 20,394,532 (498,206)
Total net financial assets 9,346,755 9,764,009 (417,254)
Departmental net debt 10,549,571 10,630,523 (80,952)
Total non-financial assets 15,837,020 7,520,041 8,316,979
Departmental net financial position 5,287,449 (3,110,482) 8,397,931

The NEB’s liabilities include short-term accounts payable and accrued liabilities of just over $9.0 million. There is also $10.5 million in employee leave and severance allowances. Net financial assets are comprised of funds to be received from the Consolidated Revenue Fund to cover the short-term accounts payable and accrued liabilities as well as a small amount of short-term accounts receivable. There was a significant increase in non-financial assets in 2013-14 due to expenditures related to the relocation to new office facilities in 2014-15.

Financial Statements

The NEB’s Financial Statements can be found on the NEB’s website.

Supplementary Information Tables

The supplementary information tables listed in the 2013-14 Departmental Performance Report can be found on the National Energy Board’s website.

Tax Expenditures and Evaluations

The tax system can be used to achieve public policy objectives through the application of special measures such as low tax rates, exemptions, deductions, deferrals and credits. The Department of Finance Canada publishes cost estimates and projections for these measures annually in the Tax Expenditures and Evaluations publication. The tax measures presented in the Tax Expenditures and Evaluations publication are the sole responsibility of the Minister of Finance.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Office national de l'énergie - Rapport ministériel sur le rendement 2013-2014 - Section III : Renseignements supplémentaires

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Section III : Renseignements supplémentaires

Faits saillants des états financiers

Conformément à la politique du Conseil du Trésor indiquant que les rapports financiers doivent respecter les principes comptables généralement reconnus (PCCR), l’Office national de l’énergie a utilisé la comptabilité d’exercice pendant toute la période à l’étude. Les tableaux ci-dessous présentent les faits saillants des états financiers de l’Office et sa situation financière nette, tels qu’ils sont présentés dans les états financiers pour l’exercice 2013-2014. Il est à noter qu’il existe des écarts entre les données fournies dans ces tableaux et celles mentionnées dans les autres sections du présent rapport, ce dernier étant préparé selon la comptabilité des crédits modifiée.

Avant l’exercice 2013-2014, l’Office produisait des états financiers non vérifiés aux fins d’inclusion dans les Comptes publics du Canada, ainsi que des états financiers vérifiés correspondant à l’année civile pour se conformer au Règlement sur le recouvrement des frais de l’Office. À partir de l’exercice 2013-2014, il est passé des états financiers vérifiés couvrant l’année civile à des états financiers dont la période comptable correspond à l’exercice. Cela a donné lieu à la production d’états financiers vérifiés qui doivent être inclus dans les Comptes publics du Canada et qui répondent aux exigences du Règlement sur le recouvrement des frais de l’Office. Les états condensés qui suivent proviennent des états financiers vérifiés de l’exercice 2013-2014. Les données comparatives de l’exercice 2012-2013 comportent de légers rajustements par rapport aux chiffres fournis antérieurement. Ces rajustements tiennent à la transition non récurrente.



Office national de l’énergie
État condensé des opérations et de la situation financière nette ministérielle (non audité)
Pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014
(dollars)
  Résultats attendus
2013-2014
Résultats réels
2013-2014
Résultats réels
2012-2013
Écart
(résultats réels
2013-2014
moins résultats attendus
2013-2014)
Écart
(résultats réels
2013-2014
moins résultats réels
2012-2013)
Total des charges 76 076 000 82 149 942 78 061 795 6 073 942 4 088 147
Total des revenus - - - - -
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement du gouvernement et les transferts 76 076 000 82 149 942 78 061 795 6 073 942 4 088 147
Situation financière nette du ministère (3 966 000) 5 287 449 (3 110 482) 9 253 449 8 397 931

L’écart entre les dépenses prévues et réelles pour l’exercice 2013-2014 s’établit à environ 6,0 M$, dont 4,0 M$ proviennent des dépenses liées à la rémunération. Cette augmentation s’explique par l’entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle convention collective signée durant l’exercice 2013-2014. Les dépenses liées à la location des locaux à bureaux ont aussi été plus élevées que ce qui avait été prévu pour l’exercice 2013-2014 en préparation du déménagement complet au cours du premier trimestre de l’exercice 2014-2015.

Le graphique qui suit présente les dépenses de l’Office par programme.

Dépenses de l’Office par programme
Interprétation de ce diagramme

Les dépenses de l’Office par programme

Ce diagramme présente le pourcentage par programme des dépenses de l’Office national de l’énergie :

  • Réglementation de l’énergie : 69 %
  • Information sur l’énergie : 9 %
  • Services internes : 22 %
Office national de l’énergie
État condensé de la situation financière (non audité)
Au 31 mars 2014
(dollars)
  2013-2014 2012-2013 Écart
(2013-2014
moins
2012-2013)
Total des passifs nets 19 896 326 20 394 532 (498 206)
Total des actifs financiers nets 9 346 755 9 764 009 (417 254)
Dette nette du ministère 10 549 571 10 630 523 (80 952)
Total des actifs non financiers 15 837 020 7 520 041 8 316 979
Situation financière nette du ministère 5 287 449 (3 110 482) 8 397 931

Le passif de l’Office comprend des créditeurs et des charges à payer totalisant un peu plus de 9,0 M$. Une somme de 10,5 M$ au titre des congés et des indemnités de départ des employés est aussi incluse. Les actifs financiers nets sont constitués des fonds devant provenir du Trésor pour acquitter les créditeurs et les charges à payer, ainsi qu’une petite somme se trouvant dans les créances à court terme. Il y a eu une augmentation marquée des actifs non financiers au cours de l’exercice 2013-2014 en raison des dépenses engagées au moment de l’aménagement de l’Office dans ses nouveaux bureaux durant l’exercice 2014-2015.

États financiers

Les états financiers de l’Office sont disponibles sur son site Web.

Tableaux de renseignements supplémentaires

Les tableaux de renseignements supplémentaires énumérés dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement 2013-2014 se trouvent sur le site Web de l’Office national de l’énergie.

Dépenses fiscales et évaluations

Il est possible de recourir au régime fiscal pour atteindre des objectifs de la politique publique en appliquant des mesures spéciales, comme de faibles taux d’impôt, des exemptions, des déductions, des reports et des crédits. Finances Canada publie annuellement des estimations et des projections du coût de ces mesures dans une publication intitulée Dépenses fiscales et évaluations. Les mesures fiscales présentées dans ladite publication relèvent de la seule responsabilité du ministre des Finances.

Date de modification :