National Energy Board - 2014-2015 Departmental Performance Report - Section III: Supplementary Information

Section III: Supplementary Information

Financial Statements Highlights

The National Energy Board operates on a full accrual accounting basis according to Treasury Board’s policy for reporting based on generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP). The tables below provide highlights from the NEB’s Statement of Operations and Statement of Financial Position, as presented in its 2014-15 financial statements. As such, differences do exist between these tables and those presented in other sections of the Departmental Performance Report, which are prepared on the modified cash basis of accounting.



Condensed Statement of Operations (unaudited)
For the Year Ended March 31, 2015
(dollars)
Financial Information 2014-15
Planned Results
2014-15
Actual
2014-15
Actual
Difference
(2014-15
actual
minus
2013-14
planned)
Difference
(2014-15
actual
minus
2013-14
actual)
Total expenses 87,156,971 90,281,795 82,149,942 3,124,824 8,131,853
Total revenues - - - - -
Net cost of operations before government funding and transfers 87,156,971 90,281,795 82,149,942 3,124,824 8,131,853

The variance between 2014-15 actual and planned expenditures relates to additional funding received in 2014-15 to cover expenses related to mega-hearings. The significant increase in actual expenditures from the previous year is the result of increased funding related to the mega-hearings ($2.0 million) as well as a one-time salary expense due to the elimination of the employee severance pay program in 2014-15 ($4.2 million). The NEB office relocation in 2014-15 affected various O&M expenditures, and accounts for the remaining difference.

Condensed Statement of Financial Position (unaudited)
As at March 31, 2015
(dollars)
Financial Information 2014-15 2013-14 Difference
(2014-15
minus
2013-14)
Total net liabilities 28,439,130 19,896,326 8,542,804
Total net financial assets 11,847,875 9,346,755 2,501,120
Departmental net debt 16,591,255 10,549,571 6,041,684
Total non-financial assets 24,928,416 15,837,020 9,091,396
Departmental net financial position 8,337,161 5,287,449 3,049,712

The NEB's net liabilities include short-term accounts payable and accrued liabilities as well as employee leave and severance allowances. In 2014-15, there was an additional payable of $11 million, representing levies collected from newly regulated parties under Section 5.2(1) of the National Energy Board Cost Recovery Regulations. These amounts reduce the cost recovery levies of other regulated parties and are recorded as payables to these parties until this adjustment is made in the year after the Section 5.2(1) of the National Energy Board Cost Recovery Regulations levy has been invoiced. The $8.5 million variance in 2014-15 net liabilities over the previous year is primarily the combination of this payable and the decrease in severance allowance related to the elimination of the severance pay program in 2014-15.

The difference in net financial assets is the result of an increase in receivables due from the consolidated revenue fund to cover year-end salary accruals resulting from the implementation of salary payment in arrears by the Government of Canada in 2014-15.

The increase in non-financial assets over the previous year is the result of the NEB office relocation that occurred in 2014-15.

Financial Statements

The NEB’s Financial Statements can be found on the NEB’s website.

Supplementary Information Tables

The supplementary information tables listed in the 2014-15 Departmental Performance Report are available on the National Energy Board’s website:

Tax Expenditures and Evaluations

The tax system can be used to achieve public policy objectives through the application of special measures such as low tax rates, exemptions, deductions, deferrals and credits. The Department of Finance Canada publishes cost estimates and projections for these measures annually in the Tax Expenditures and Evaluations publication. The tax measures presented in the Tax Expenditures and Evaluations publication are the responsibility of the Minister of Finance.

 

Date modified:

Office national de l'énergie - Rapport ministériel sur le rendement 2014-2015 - Section III : Renseignements supplémentaires

Section III : Renseignements supplémentaires

Faits saillants des états financiers

Conformément à la politique du Conseil du Trésor indiquant que les rapports financiers doivent respecter les principes comptables généralement reconnus (PCCR), l’Office national de l’énergie a utilisé la comptabilité d’exercice pendant toute la période à l’étude. Les tableaux ci-dessous présentent les faits saillants des états financiers de l’Office et sa situation financière nette, tels qu’ils sont présentés dans les états financiers pour l’exercice 2014-2015. Il est à noter qu’il existe des écarts entre les données fournies dans ces tableaux et celles mentionnées dans les autres sections du présent rapport, ce dernier étant préparé selon la comptabilité des crédits modifiée.



État condensé des opérations (non audité)
Pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015
(en dollars)
Information financière Résultats attendus
2014-2015
Résultats réels
2014-2015
Résultats réels
2013-2014
Écart
(résultats réels
2014-2015
moins
résultats attendus
2013-2014)
Écart
(résultats réels
2014-2015
moins
résultats réels
2013-2014)
Total des charges 87 156 971 90 281 795 82 149 942 3 124 824 8 131 853
Total des revenus - - - - -
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement
du gouvernement et les transferts
87 156 971 90 281 795 82 149 942 3 124 824 8 131 853

Les écarts entre les dépenses prévues et réelles de l’exercice 2014-2015 s’expliquent par le financement qui avait été accordé pour cet exercice au titre des dépenses pour les méga-audiences. L’augmentation marquée des dépenses réelles par rapport à l’exercice précédent provient surtout de la hausse du financement pour les méga-audiences (2,0 millions de dollars) et le versement non récurrent au titre des salaires pour l’élimination du programme d’indemnités de départ des employés au cours de l’exercice 2014-2015 (4,2 millions de dollars). Le déménagement des bureaux de l’Office durant cet exercice s’est répercuté sur les dépenses liées aux activités de fonctionnement et d’entretien; ces sommes constituent le reste de l’écart.

 

État condensé de la situation financière (non audité)
Au 31 mars 2015
(en dollars)
Information financière 2014-2015 2013-2014 Écart
(2014-2015
moins
2013-2014)
Total des passifs nets 28 439 130 19 896 326 8 542 804
Total des actifs financiers nets 11 847 875 9 346 755 2 501 120
Dette nette du ministère 16 591 255 10 549 571 6 041 684
Total des actifs non financiers 24 928 416 15 837 020 9 091 396
Situation financière nette du ministère 8 337 161 5 287 449 3 049 712

Le passif net de l’Office comprend des créditeurs et des charges à payer ainsi que les indemnités au titre des congés et des départs des employés. Pour l’exercice 2014-2015, les créditeurs représentant les redevances perçues auprès des parties nouvellement réglementées aux termes du paragraphe 5.2(1) du Règlement sur le recouvrement des frais de l’Office national de l’énergie ont totalisé 11 millions de dollars. Ces montants réduisent le total des redevances payables par les autres parties et prennent la forme d’un rajustement dans la facturation de ces autres parties au cours de l’exercice suivant celui où des redevances sont facturées aux termes du paragraphe 5.2(1). L’écart de 8,5 millions de dollars du passif net pour l’exercice 2014-2015 par rapport à l’exercice précédent vient principalement d’une combinaison de ces créditeurs et de la diminution de l’indemnité de départ découlant de l’élimination de ce programme durant l’exercice.

L’écart net de l’actif financier provient d’une augmentation des débiteurs devant être versés à même le Trésor pour couvrir les courus des salaires par suite du paiement des arrérages au titre des salaires par le gouvernement du Canada durant l’exercice 2014-2015.

L’augmentation des actifs non financiers par rapport à l’exercice précédent est attribuable au déménagement des bureaux de l’Office durant l’exercice visé par le présent rapport.

États financiers

Les états financiers de l’Office sont disponibles sur son site Web.

Tableaux de renseignements supplémentaires

Les tableaux de renseignements supplémentaires énumérés dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement 2014-2015 se trouvent sur le site Web de l’Office national de l’énergie.

Dépenses fiscales et évaluations

Il est possible de recourir au régime fiscal pour atteindre des objectifs de la politique publique en appliquant des mesures spéciales, comme de faibles taux d’impôt, des exemptions, des déductions, des reports et des crédits. Le ministère des Finances Canada publie annuellement des estimations et des projections du coût de ces mesures dans une publication intitulée Dépenses fiscales et évaluations. Les mesures fiscales présentées dans ladite publication relèvent de la seule responsabilité du ministre des Finances.

 

Date de modification :