ARCHIVED - Quarterly Financial Report - For the quarter ended 31 December 2011

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Quarterly Financial Report - For the quarter ended 31 December 2011 [PDF 102 KB]

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and program

Introduction

The quarterly financial report for the National Energy Board (NEB or Board):

  • should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates;
  • has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board; and
  • has not been subject to an external audit or review.

A summary description of the NEB’s program activities can be found in Part II of the Main Estimates.

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the National Energy Board’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department, consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the 2011-12 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The National Energy Board uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

Highlights of Fiscal Quarter and Fiscal Year to Date Results

Actual Expenditures

The significant variances in the third quarter and year-to-date expenditures between 2010-11 and 2011-12 are as follows:

  • The year-to-date expenditures for personnel in 2011 is 2.7M greater than the same 9 month period in 2010. This increase is attributable to incremental Full Time Equivalents (FTEs) required due to forecasted increases in regulatory responsibility. Funding was approved for these additional FTEs in 2009-10 and the Board was able to augment the net staff complement over time.
  • Transportation and communications year to date spending is up by approximately $300K over the same period last year and about $200K over the second quarter of 2011. Much of this increase is attributable to costs associated with the Arctic Offshore Drilling Review which was conducted throughout the North.
  • Year to date spending in the rentals category is $200K higher in 2011 over the same period last year. This is a result of helicopter rentals associated with pipeline inspections and increased audio equipment rentals for the Arctic Offshore Drilling Review and other hearings.
  • The $500K increase in professional and special services expenditures in the third quarter, $1.2M year to date, is a result of increased contract spending related to the Arctic Offshore Drilling Review that is being conducted by the NEB. This increased spending was anticipated and is reflected in the planned expenditure numbers.

Planned Expenditures

During the third quarter $2.0M in temporary funding was received from Natural Resources Canada in support of the Arctic Offshore Drilling Review. These funds have been allocated and the combined appropriations have resulted in the following variances between 2010-11 and 2011-12

  • Total planned spending for personnel has decreased slightly in 2011-12. The additional funding for FTE’s related to forecasted increases in regulatory responsibility has been offset in 2011-12 by the cessation of special allowances contained in the current collective agreement which expired 31 October 2011. It is expected that funding will be renewed for these allowances prior to 31 March 2012.
  • Planned spending for professional and special services has increased by $3.6M or 81% in 2011-12. This reflects anticipated increased spending related to the Arctic Offshore Drilling Review that was conducted by the NEB. The other significant planned expenditure is in the area of upgraded software applications.
  • The final item of note is the planned spending of $1.4M for Transfer Payments which was included in the 2011-12 Main Estimates. At the end of 2009-10 participant funding provisions were added to the National Energy Board Act and funding for this provision was made available to the NEB in the third quarter of 2010-11 through Supplementary Estimates B. The NEB’s Participant Funding Program (PFP) will be used to provide financial assistance to support the engagement of Aboriginal groups, landowners, not-for-profit organizations and other eligible persons in the regulatory assessment processes for major facility projects.

Risks and Uncertainties

The final item of note is the planned spending of $1.4M for Transfer Payments which was included in the 2011-12 Main Estimates. At the end of 2009-10 participant funding provisions were added to the National Energy Board Act and funding for this provision was made available to the NEB in the third quarter of 2010-11 through Supplementary Estimates B. The NEB’s Participant Funding Program (PFP) will be used to provide financial assistance to support the engagement of Aboriginal groups, landowners, not-for-profit organizations and other eligible persons in the regulatory assessment processes for major facility projects.

Due to the nature of its mandate the NEB’s expenditures can also be influenced by unplanned external events which create uncertainty in expenditures and resource pressures.

Significant Changes in Relation to Operations, Personnel and Programs

The addition of participant funding provisions to the National Energy Board Act has resulted in a permanent increase to NEB authorities.

As a result of increased interest in offshore drilling in Canada’s North, the Board decided to conduct an Arctic Offshore Drilling Review. The NEB received additional funding for the review this year. This work has now been completed.

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by,

The original version was signed by
_________________________________
Gaétan Caron, Chair and CEO

(Calgary, Canada)
(29 February 2012)

The original version was signed by
_________________________________
Ed Jansen CA, Chief Financial Officer

STATEMENT OF AUTHORITIES (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2011-2012
(in thousands of dollars) Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2012 Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 25 - Net Operating expenditures 57,024 13,757 40,169
Budgetary statutory authorities 7,099 1,775 5,324
Total Budgetary authorities 64,123 15,532 45,493
Non-budgetary authorities      
Total authorities 64,123 15,532 45,493
Fiscal year 2010-2011
(in thousands of dollars) Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2011 Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2010 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 25 - Net Operating expenditures 53,325 12,177 36,126
Budgetary statutory authorities 6,344 1,586 4,758
Total Budgetary authorities 59,669 13,763 40,884
Non-budgetary authorities      
Total authorities 59,669 13,763 40,884

DEPARTMENTAL BUDGETARY EXPENDITURES BY STANDARD OBJECT (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2011-2012
(in thousands of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2012 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:      
Personnel 46,903 12,327 36,858
Transportation and communications 5,067 993 2,407
Information 361 49 195
Professional and special services 8,047 1,577 4,499
Rentals 328 177 391
Repair and maintenance 826 60 412
Utilities, materials and supplies 790 97 271
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 49 16 16
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 331 210 314
Transfer payments 1,366 26 89
Public debt charges - - -
Other subsidies and payments 55 0 41
Total gross budgetary expenditures 64,123 15,532 45,493
Less Revenues netted against expenditures:      
Regulatory Revenue - (14,824) (44,562)
Miscellaneous Revenue - (23) (35)
Total Revenues netted against expenditures: - (14,847) (44,597)
Total net budgetary expenditures 64,123 685 896
Fiscal year 2010-2011
(in thousands of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2011 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2010 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:      
Personnel 47,783 11,547 34,124
Transportation and communications 3,210 695 2,150
Information 251 77 191
Professional and special services 4,433 1,093 3,331
Rentals 331 115 194
Repair and maintenance 1,067 86 389
Utilities, materials and supplies 506 126 328
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 715 4 24
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 1,291 33 115
Transfer payments - - -
Public debt charges - - -
Other subsidies and payments 82 (13) 38
Total gross budgetary expenditures 59,669 13,763 40,884
Less Revenues netted against expenditures:      
Regulatory Revenue - (14,725) (44,380)
Miscellaneous Revenue - (5) (50)
Total Revenues netted against expenditures: - (14,730) (44,430)
Total net budgetary expenditures 59,669 (967) (3,546)
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Rapport financier trimestriel - Trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Rapport financier trimestriel - Trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011 [PDF 125 ko]

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Introduction

Le rapport financier trimestriel de l’Office national de l’énergie (l’ONÉ ou l’Office)...

  • devrait être lu parallèlement avec le budget principal des dépenses;
  • a été établi par la direction conformément à l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor;
  • n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification ou d’un examen.

Une description sommaire des activités de programmes de l’ONÉ se trouve dans la partie II du Budget principal des dépenses.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été produit par la direction à l’aide d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser de l’Office national de l’énergie accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le ministère, de manière cohérente avec le budget principal des dépenses et le budget supplémentaire des dépenses pour l’exercice financier 2011-2012. Le présent rapport trimestriel a été établi à l’aide d’un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière ayant trait à l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut pas dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées sous forme de limites annuelles, au moyen de lois de crédits, ou sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées, au moyen de lois.

L’Office national de l’énergie utilise la méthode de la comptabilité financière intégrale pour préparer et présenter ses états financiers annuels, qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Néanmoins, les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement demeurent axées sur les dépenses.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

Dépenses réelles

Les écarts importants dans les dépenses du troisième trimestre et les dépenses cumulatives à ce jour entre 2010-2011 et 2011-2012 sont :

  • Les dépenses cumulatives à ce jour pour le personnel sont supérieures de 2,7 millions de dollars en 2011 comparativement à la période correspondante de neuf mois de 2010. Cette hausse est attribuable aux équivalents temps plein (ETP) supplémentaires requis en raison de l’élargissement prévu du mandat de réglementation. Des fonds ont été approuvés pour ces ETP supplémentaires en 2009-2010, et l’Office a pu augmenter l’effectif net graduellement.
  • Les dépenses à ce jour en matière de transports et de communications ont augmenté de quelque 300 000 $ comparativement à ce qu’elles étaient à l’exercice précédent, et d’environ 200 000 $ au deuxième trimestre de 2011. En majeure partie, cette augmentation est attribuable à la revue des exigences relatives au forage extracôtier dans l’Arctique alors effectuée.
  • Dans la catégorie location, les dépenses à ce jour en 2011 sont supérieures de 200 000 $ à celles de la période correspondante de l’exercice précédent, ce qui est dû à la location d’hélicoptères en rapport avec des inspections pipelinières ainsi qu’à la hausse des frais de location de matériel audio pour la revue des exigences relatives au forage extracôtier dans l’Arctique et d’autres audiences.
  • L’augmentation de 500 000 $ des dépenses au titre des services professionnels et spéciaux pendant le troisième trimestre, et de 1,2 millions de dollars à ce jour au cours de l’exercice, est reliée aux contrats concernant la revue des exigences relatives au forage extracôtier dans l’Arctique effectuée par l’ONÉ. Cette augmentation était prévue et figure dans les chiffres relatifs aux dépenses prévues.

Dépenses prévues

Au troisième trimestre, un financement temporaire de 2,0 millions de dollars a été obtenu de Ressources naturelles Canada à l’appui de la revue des exigences relatives au forage extracôtier dans l’Arctique. Ces fonds ont été attribués et les crédits cumulés ont entraîné les écarts suivants entre 2010-2011 et 2011-2012 :

  • Le total des dépenses prévues pour le personnel a diminué légèrement en 2011-2012. Les fonds ajoutés pour les ETP reliés à l’élargissement prévu du mandat de réglementation ont été neutralisés en 2011-2012 par l’interruption des indemnités spéciales contenues dans la convention collective qui a pris fin le 31 octobre 2011. Les fonds applicables à ces indemnités devraient être renouvelés avant le 31 mars 2012.
  • Les dépenses prévues pour services professionnels et spéciaux ont augmenté de 3,6 millions de dollars, ou 81 %, en 2011-2012; cela reflète les dépenses accrues occasionnées par la revue des exigences relatives au forage extracôtier dans l’Arctique effectuée par l’ONÉ. Les autres dépenses importantes prévues portent sur les applications logicielles améliorées.
  • Le dernier point à noter a trait aux dépenses prévues de 1,4 million de dollars pour les paiements de transfert inclus dans le budget principal des dépenses de 2011-2012. À la fin de 2009-2010, des dispositions ont été ajoutées à la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie relativement à l’aide financière aux participants, et des fonds prévus à cet effet ont été mis à la disposition de l’ONÉ au troisième trimestre de 2010-2011 grâce au budget supplémentaire des dépenses B. Le Programme d’aide financière aux participants (PAFP) de l’ONÉ servira à soutenir financièrement la participation des groupes autochtones, des propriétaires fonciers, des organismes à but non lucratif et d’autres personnes admissibles aux processus d’évaluation réglementaire applicables aux grands projets d’infrastructure.

Risques et incertitudes

Le volume de travail de l’ONÉ est déterminé par des facteurs externes comme les demandes présentées par l’industrie et la complexité de ces demandes. Les préoccupations relatives à la sûreté des pipelines et à la protection de l’environnement peuvent aussi influer sur la charge de travail de l’ONÉ. La majorité (81 %) des coûts de l’ONÉ sont attribuables au personnel. Étant donné la nature concurrentielle de l’industrie énergétique, il est toujours difficile d’attirer et de garder le personnel compétent. La convention collective a pris fin le 31 octobre 2011; les négociations en vue de renouveler la convention sont en cours, mais un certain degré d’incertitude règne quant aux dépenses liées à la dotation pour les prochaines années.

Vu la nature du mandat de l’ONÉ, les dépenses peuvent aussi dépendre d’événements externes imprévus qui causent de l’incertitude dans les dépenses et la pression sur les ressources.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

L’ajout de dispositions relatives à l’aide financière aux participants dans la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie a occasionné un accroissement permanent des autorisations de l’ONÉ.

Étant donné l’intérêt accru pour le forage extracôtier dans le Nord canadien, l’Office a décidé de mener une revue des exigences relatives au forage extracôtier dans l’Arctique. Cette année, l’ONÉ a reçu des fonds supplémentaires temporaires pour la revue. Ce travail est maintenant achevé.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

La version originale a été signée par
____________________________
Gaétan Caron, président
et premier dirigeant

(Calgary, Canada)
Le 29 février 2012
La version originale a été signée par
________________________
Ed Jansen, CA,
Administrateur supérieur
des affaires financières

ÉTAT DES AUTORISATIONS (non vérifié)

Exercice financier 2011-2012 et Exercice financier 2010-2011
  Exercice financier 2011-2012 Exercice financier 2010-2011
(en milliers de dollars) Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2011 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 25 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 57 024 13 757 40 169 53 325 12 177 36 126
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 7 099 1 775 5 324 6 344 1 586 4 758
Autorités budgétaires totales 64 123 15 532 45 493 59 669 13 763 40 884
Autorisations non budgétaires            
Autorisations totales 64 123 15 532 45 493 59 669 13 763 40 884

DÉPENSES MINISTÉRIELLES BUDGÉTAIRES PAR ARTICLE COURANT (non vérifié)

Exercice financier 2011-2012 et Exercice financier 2010-2011
  Exercice financier 2011-2012 Exercice financier 2010-2011
(en milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 Dépenses engagées durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011 Dépenses engagées durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :            
Personnel 46 903 12 327 36 858 47 783 11 547 34 124
Transports et communications 5 067 993 2 407 3 210 695 2 150
Information 361 49 195 251 77 191
Services professionnels et spéciaux 8 047 1 577 4 499 4 433 1 093 3 331
Location 328 177 391 331 115 194
Services de réparations et d’entretien 826 60 412 1,067 86 389
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 790 97 271 506 126 328
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et d'installations 49 16 16 715 4 24
Acquisition de machines et de matériel 331 210 314 1,291 33 115
Paiements de transfert 1,366 26 89 - - -
Frais de la dette publique - - - - - -
Autres subventions et paiements 55 0 41 82 (13) 38
Dépenses budgétaires brutes totales 64 123 15 532 45 493 59 669 13 763 40 884
Moins les recettes affectées aux dépenses :            
Recettes tirées de la réglementation - (14 824) (44 562) - (14 725) (44 380)
Recettes diverses - (23) (35) - (5) (50)
Recettes totales affectées aux dépenses : - (14,847) (44,597) - (14 730) (44 430)
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 64,123 685 896 59 669 (967) (3 546)
Date de modification :