Board Members

Chair/CEO

Chair – Accountability Profile

Peter Watson (Chair/CEO)

peter watsonBiographical Snapshot:

  • Deputy Minister, Executive Council, Government of Alberta. 2011-2014.
  • Deputy Minister, Alberta Energy, Government of Alberta. 2008-2011.
  • President, Clean Air Strategic Alliance, a multi-stakeholder alliance composed of representatives selected by industry, government and non-government organizations, to provide strategies to assess and improve air quality for Albertans, using a collaborative consensus process, 2005-2011.
  • President, Alberta Water Council, a multi-stakeholder partnership with 24 Members from governments, industry, and non-government organizations. Its primary task is to monitor and steward implementation of the Alberta’s Water for Life strategy and to champion achievement of the strategy’s three goals, namely, a safe, secure drinking water supply, healthy aquatic ecosystems and reliable, quality water supplies for a sustainable economy, 2005-2008.
  • Deputy Minister, Alberta Environment, Government of Alberta. 2005-2008.
  • Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Assurance Division, Alberta Environment, Government of Alberta. 2002-2005.

Professional Affiliations, Degrees and Distinctions:

  • Member of the Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists of Alberta.
  • Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering
  • Completed Directors Education Program through the Institute of Corporate Directors.
  • Named Alberta’s Resource Person of the Year, 2011.
  • B.Sc. Civil Engineering.

Vice-Chair

Vice-Chair – Accountability Profile

Lyne Mercier (Vice-Chair)

lyne mercierBiographical Snapshot:

  • Before joining the NEB, Ms. Mercier worked at Gaz Métro for over 29 years, serving 10 years in executive positions. At Gaz Métro she was Director of the gas supply division, where she was responsible for strategic policy related to natural gas supply and, for the management of natural gas transmission, storage and supply contracts. Prior to that, she was head of the pricing division, where she was responsible for toll design and cost-of-service allocation studies.

Professional Affiliations, Degrees and Distinctions:

  • Bachelor of Commerce, St. Mary’s University.
  • Executive MBA from l’École des Hautes Études Commerciales.

Members

Accountability Profile

Roland George

Board Member: Roland George Biographical Snapshot:

  • Mr. George has worked primarily in the private energy sector for over three decades. He was Senior Principal at Purvin & Gertz, an international energy-consulting firm (1998-2006; Calgary). There Mr. George led the North American natural gas practice. He also held increasingly senior positions with: the Canadian Energy Research Institute (Vice President Electricity & Natural Gas Research; 1994-1997; Calgary), Gaz Métropolitain (Chief Economist & Executive Advisor – Strategy; Director – Marketing Programs; and other positions in gas supply, regulatory affairs, and business development; 1983-1993; Montréal), Téléglobe Canada (Advisor – Corporate & Regulatory Affairs; 1981-1983; Montréal) and Canadian Pacific Limited (Analyst – Economic & Financial Analysis; 1979-1981; Montréal).

Professional Affiliations, Degrees and Distinctions:

  • Member of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners’ (NARUC) Gas Committee and subcommittee on Pipeline Safety and was a Member of the Energy Resources and Environment Committee, the Centre for Public Utilities’ Advisory Council, and the International Association of Energy Economists.
  • He was previously a member of the Executive Committee and the Chair of the Regulatory Affairs Committee of the Canadian Association of Members of the Public Utility Tribunal (CAMPUT) (now Canada’s Energy and Utility Regulators).
  • Masters of Business Administration (MBA) degree from École des Hautes Études Commerciales (HEC).
  • Master’s degree in Economics (MA) from Carleton University.
  • Bachelor of Science degree (BSc) in Mathematics (major) and Computer Science from McGill University (1977).

Philip H. Davies, LLB, ICD.D, Q. Arb.

Philip Davies, LLB, ICD.DBiographical Snapshot:

  • Before joining the NEB, Mr. Davies spent over 30 years acquiring, constructing and operating energy infrastructures and facilities in North America’s oil, gas and electric power industries.
  • During his career, Mr. Davies served as a member of several senior management teams – notably as Vice-President, Law and General Counsel of SaskPower; Vice-President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary of Encana Gas Storage; and Associate General Counsel of Encana Midstream and Marketing.

Professional Affiliations, Degrees and Distinctions:

  • ICD.D certification, Institute of Corporate Directors of Canada.
  • Q. Arb. certification, ADR Institute of Canada.
  • Member, Law Society of Alberta.
  • Former President, Association of General Counsel of Alberta.
  • Former Chair, Canadian Energy Law Foundation.
  • Former Member of National Executive, Canadian Bar Association, Environment, Energy and Resources Law Section.
  • Former Member of the Executive Committee and Treasurer of the Canadian Association of Members of the Public Utility Tribunal (CAMPUT) (now Canada’s Energy and Utility Regulators).

Shane Parrish

Shane ParrishBiographical Snapshot:

  • Mr. Parrish brings to the National Energy Board 24 years of experience in the area of community economic development in the Northwest Territories, Nunavut, and NE British Columbia. Over the past 18 years, Mr. Parrish has worked in consultation, indigenous business development and negotiations in the petroleum and mining industries. As a consultant in the firm he founded in 2002, he has represented First Nations clients in negotiations with major Canadian energy producers and pipeline companies, with a focus on access and benefits agreements.
  • Previously, Mr. Parrish was Manager of Business Development for Canadian Petroleum Engineering Inc., where he worked with First Nations, government and industry in both Canada and Latin America. He was also the CEO of the Acho Dene Koe Corporate Group, where he oversaw the growth and development of band-owned corporations and their relationships with oil and gas companies.
  • Mr. Parrish’s experience also includes five years as an Economic Development Officer with the Government of the Northwest Territories.

Professional Affiliations, Degrees and Distinctions:

  • Bachelor of Arts in Economics from the University of Calgary.
  • Diploma in Social Development from the Coady International Institute – St. Francis Xavier University.
  • On November 20, 2013 Member Parrish’s qualifications and competencies were reviewed by the Standing Committee on Natural Resources and was found competent to perform the duties of the position.

Murray Lytle, Ph.D.

Murray Lytle, Ph.D.Biographical Snapshot:

  • Dr. Murray Lytle has nearly 40 years’ experience in the energy and mining sectors spanning North America, South America and Asia.
  • He has held a series of senior positions in the oil, gas and mining industries. Highlights include:
    • Establishing and serving as General Manager of the Lima engineering office for H.A. Simons Ltd. (now AMEC E&C) of Vancouver, BC;
    • Working as a manager and consultant on more than 30 mining projects in North and South America and Asia.
  • He served as President and owner of Tessa Resource Consultants from 2001 to 2005 and Vice-President of Development for Sienna Gold Inc. from 2005 to 2009.
  • In his most recent position, he served as the Divisional Manager for Snowden Mining Industry Consultants Inc., an internationally recognized mine engineering consultancy.
  • He is fluent in both English and Spanish.

Professional Affiliations, Degrees and Distinctions:

  • Ph.D., Mining Engineering (Corporate Social Responsibility) from the University of British Columbia.
  • Member of the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta (P.Eng.).

Steven Kelly

Steven KellyBiographical Snapshot:

  • Mr. Steven Kelly has over 30 years of practical expertise in maximizing the potential of conventional and unconventional energy resources, and brings considerable technical and commercial knowledge of North American and global energy markets.
  • Most recently he served as Vice President at IHS Energy, in the firm’s Calgary office. IHS is an international provider of market, industry and technical expertise.
  • Mr. Kelly worked for 15 years at Purvin & Gertz Inc., a global independent energy consultancy, before its acquisition by IHS in 2011. He worked in the firm’s Calgary and London offices, and was a Senior Vice President and Director of the firm.
  • Mr. Kelly began his career in the refining and marketing division at Shell Canada Limited. He progressed through various technical and planning roles in Sarnia, Edmonton and Calgary.

Professional Affiliations, Degrees and Distinctions:

  • Bachelor’s degree in Chemical Engineering from McMaster University.
  • Master’s degree in Chemical Engineering from McMaster University.
  • Master’s in Business Administration from the University of Calgary.
  • Registered Professional Engineer (P.Eng.) with the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta (APEGA).

Keith Chaulk, Ph.D.

Keith ChaulkBiographical Snapshot:

  • Dr. Keith Chaulk has published numerous peer reviewed articles ranging from terrestrial and marine ecology to indigenous land use.
  • His northern regulatory experience includes tenures on the Voiseys Bay Environmental Management Board, the Nunatsiavut Land Use Planning Authority, the Lower Churchill Environmental Assessment Panel.
  • Dr. Chaulk has held senior leadership positions in a number of different settings.
    • From 2013-2015 he was the Vice President Indigenous with the University of the Arctic. The University of the Arctic is an international consortium of over 150 of the world’s top universities sharing an interest in promoting education and research in the North. As Vice President Indigenous (VPI) Dr. Chaulk provided strategic visioning to the UArctic leadership team and was an ex-officio member of the UArctic Board of Governors.
    • From 2007-2015 Dr. Chaulk was the Director of the Labrador Institute of Memorial University and led its revitalization and transformation into a multi-disciplinary research and education institute with a focus on sustainable development.
  • Early in his career Dr. Chaulk worked on the environmental mitigation program for low level military flight training in Labrador and Quebec and conducted baseline research for the Voiseys Bay Mine/Mill environmental impact statement.
  • He spent over a decade working for Environment Canada in Labrador, while mainly focused on work of the conservation branch, he also conducted work for other divisions of the department including environmental protection.

Affiliations, Degrees and Distinctions:

  • B.Sc., Biology, Dalhousie University, 1994
  • M.Sc., Biology, Acadia University, 2001.
  • PhD, Cognitive and Behavioural Ecology, Memorial University, 2006.

Temporary Members

Alison Scott

Alison ScottBiographical Snapshot:

  • Ms. Scott retired from the Nova Scotia government in 2012.
  • During her thirty years of Public Service she served in various capacities including Clerk of the Executive Counsel and Secretary to Cabinet, Deputy Minister of Energy and Intergovernmental Affairs.
  • Prior to her time as a Deputy Minister, she was a litigator with the Nova Scotia Department of Justice, specializing in administrative law and constitutional law. While with the NS Department of Energy Ms. Scott oversaw the development of Nova Scotia’s energy research strategy and was instrumental in establishing ocean energy research institutions to further advance the development of Nova Scotia’s offshore petroleum, tidal energy and carbon capture and storage opportunities.
  • In 2009 Ms. Scott was seconded to Environment Canada to advise the Deputy Minister in the development of Canada’s approach to climate change negotiations.
  • She is a former member of: the federal government’s Energy Sector Sustainability Table, Petroleum Research Atlantic, the Oil and Gas Administration Advisory Council (established under the Canadian Oil and Gas Act), and past chair of the Canadian Bar Association Constitutional Law and Human Rights section, a former part-time member of the faculty at Dalhousie law School, and the Attorney General’s representative on Nova Scotia Barrister’s Society Bar Council.
  • She is currently a member of the Board of Directors of the Dalhousie Law School Alumni Association.
  • Ms. Scott is the co-author of seven editions of the travel guide, “Exploring Nova Scotia” (Formac Publishing, Halifax NS).

Professional Affiliations, Degrees and Distinctions:

  • Graduate of Dalhousie Law School (LLB) and St FX University (BA Hons.).
  • Recipient of the Premiers Award for outstanding Public Service in 2008 and 1992.
  • Recipient of the Queen’s 125th Anniversary of the Confederation of Canada Medal (1992), for significant service to her community and Canadians.

Damien Côté

Damien CoteBiographical Snapshot:

  • Mr. Côté comes to the Board with broad legal, regulatory and management experience in Canada’s North, most recently as Chief Operating Officer of the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation where he served as principal advisor to the Chair and Chief Executive Officer since 2015.
  • Between 2012 and 2014, Mr. Côté was the Executive Director of the Nunavut Water Board where he administered the technical, legal and operational aspects of the regulatory permitting process for the world’s 5th largest freshwater resource (by km²).
  • Prior to Mr. Côté’s experience as an executive in northern regulatory affairs, he worked for the Department of Justice Canada and the Public Prosecution Service of Canada, both in Iqaluit, and also as an economic researcher and consultant, providing program-specific advice and research to municipal, national and international clients.

Professional Affiliations, Degrees and Distinctions:

  • Juris Doctor (J.D.), University of Ottawa
  • Licentiate of Laws (LL.L.), University of Ottawa
  • Masters of Arts in Economics (MA), University of Toronto
  • Bachelor of Engineering – Environmental (B.Eng), Carleton University
  • Bachelor of Arts Honours – Economics (B.A. Hons.), Carleton University
  • Member of the Law Society of Upper Canada
Date modified:

Membres de l'Office

Président et premier dirigeant

Président – Profil de responsabilisation

Peter Watson (président et premier dirigeant)

Peter Watson (président et premier dirigeant)Notice biographique

  • Sous-ministre, Conseil exécutif, gouvernement de l’Alberta (2011-2014)
  • Sous-ministre, ministère de l’Énergie, gouvernement de l’Alberta (2008-2011)
  • Président de Clean Air Strategic Alliance, un multipartenariat composé de représentants sélectionnés par l’industrie et des organismes gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux, pour fournir des stratégies servant à évaluer et améliorer la qualité de l’air pour les Albertains, à l’aide d’un processus de collaboration fondé sur le consensus (2005-2011)
  • Président de l’Alberta Water Council, un multipartenariat composé de 24 membres provenant de gouvernements, de l’industrie et d’organisations non gouvernementales, dont le rôle principal consiste à surveiller et gérer la mise en œuvre de la stratégie Water for Life de l’Alberta, et à se faire le champion de la réalisation des trois objectifs de la stratégie : une alimentation en eau potable sûre, des écosystèmes aquatiques sains et fiables, et des réserves d’eau de qualité pour une économie durable. (2005-2008)
  • Sous-ministre, ministère de l’Environnement, gouvernement de l’Alberta (2005-2008)
  • Sous-ministre adjoint, division de l’assurance environnementale, ministère de l’Environnement, gouvernement de l’Alberta (2002-2005)

Affiliations professionnelles, diplômes et distinctions

  • Membre de l’Association of Professional Engineers Geologists and Geophysicists of Alberta
  • Fellow de l’Académie canadienne du génie
  • A suivi le Programme de perfectionnement des administrateurs de l’Institut des administrateurs de sociétés
  • Nommé personne-ressource de l’année en Alberta en 2011
  • Baccalauréat ès sciences en génie civil

Vice-présidente

Vice-présidente – Profil de responsabilisation

Lyne Mercier (vice-présidente)

Membre de l’Office – Lyne Mercier (vice-présidente) Notice biographique

  • Avant de devenir membre de l’Office, Lyne Mercier a travaillé chez Gaz Métro pendant plus de 29 ans, dont 10 ans à des postes de direction. Chez Gaz Métro, elle a été directrice de la division de l’approvisionnement en gaz, où elle était responsable de la politique stratégique d’approvisionnement en gaz naturel, et de la gestion du transport du gaz naturel, du stockage et des contrats d’approvisionnement. Auparavant, elle a été chef de la division de la tarification, où elle était responsable de la conception des droits et des études sur la répartition des coûts de service.

Affiliations professionnelles, diplômes et distinctions

  • Baccalauréat en commerce, université Saint Mary’s
  • MBA pour cadres, École des Hautes Études Commerciales

Membres

Profil de responsabilisation

Roland George

Membre de l’Office – Roland George Notice biographique

  • Pendant plus de 30 ans, Roland George a travaillé principalement dans le secteur privé de l’énergie. Il a été associé principal chez Purvin & Gertz, une société internationale d’experts-conseils dans le domaine de l’énergie (1998-2006, Calgary). À ce titre, M. George a dirigé le groupe du gaz naturel nord-américain. Il a également occupé des postes à responsabilités croissantes au Canadian Energy Research Institute (vice-président à la recherche en électricité et gaz naturel, 1994-1997, Calgary); chez Gaz Métropolitain (économiste en chef et conseiller de la direction à la stratégie; directeur des programmes de marketing et autres postes occupés en approvisionnement en gaz, affaires réglementaires et développement des affaires, 1983-1993, Montréal); chez Téléglobe Canada (conseiller aux affaires générales et réglementaires, 1981-1983, Montréal) et pour Canadien Pacifique Limitée (analyste économique et financier, 1979-1981, Montréal).

Affiliations professionnelles, diplômes et distinctions

  • Il est membre du comité sur le gaz et du sous-comité sur la sûreté des pipelines, de la National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC). Il a été membre du comité sur les ressources énergétiques et l’environnement, du conseil consultatif du Centre for Public Utilities et de l’Association internationale des économistes de l’énergie.
  • M. George a été membre du comité exécutif et président du comité des affaires réglementaires de l’Association canadienne des tribunaux d’utilité publique (CAMPUT)) (maintenant Les régulateurs en énergie et de services publics du Canada).
  • Maîtrise en administration des affaires, École des Hautes Études Commerciales (HEC)
  • Maîtrise en économie, université Carleton
  • Baccalauréat ès sciences en mathématiques (majeure) et en informatique, Université McGill (1977)

Philip H. Davies, LLB, ICD.D, Q. Arb.

Philip DaviesNotice biographique

  • Avant de devenir membre de l’Office, Philip Davies a travaillé pendant plus de 30 ans en acquisition, construction et exploitation d’infrastructures et installations énergétiques dans les secteurs du pétrole, du gaz et de l’électricité en Amérique du Nord.
  • Au cours de sa carrière, M. Davies a fait partie de plusieurs équipes de haute direction. Il a été vice-président des questions de droit et avocat général à SaskPower; vice-président, avocat général et secrétaire général d’Encana Gas Storage, et avocat général adjoint d’Encana Midstream and Marketing.

Affiliations professionnelles, diplômes et distinctions

  • Titre ISA.A, Institut des administrateurs de sociétés
  • Titre Arb.B, Institut d’arbitrage et de médiation du Canada
  • Membre de la Law Society of Alberta
  • Ancien président de l’Association of General Counsel of Alberta
  • Ancien président de la Canadian Energy Law Foundation
  • Ancien membre du comité exécutif national de l’Association du Barreau canadien, Section du droit de l’environnement, de l’énergie et des ressources
  • Ancien membre du comité exécutif et trésorier de l’Association canadienne des membres des tribunaux d’utilité publique (CAMPUT) (maintenant appelé les régulateurs des secteurs de l’énergie et des services publics).

Shane Parrish

Shane ParrishNotice biographique

  • Au moment de sa nomination à l’Office national de l’énergie, Shane Parrish comptait 24 années d’expérience en développement économique communautaire dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, au Nunavut et dans le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique. Au cours des 18 dernières années, il a travaillé en consultation, développement d’entreprises autochtones et négociations dans les secteurs pétrolier et minier. En tant que consultant pour le cabinet qu’il a fondé en 2002, il comptait au nombre de ses clients des Premières Nations qu’il a représentées au cours de négociations avec de grands producteurs d’énergie et d’importantes sociétés pipelinières du Canada en vue d’en arriver à des accords d’accès et de retombées.
  • Auparavant, M. Parrish a été directeur du développement commercial de Canadian Petroleum Engineering Inc., où il a côtoyé des Premières Nations, des gouvernements et des représentants de l’industrie, au Canada et en Amérique latine. Il a aussi été chef de la direction d’Acho Dene Koe Corporate Group, où il a supervisé la croissance et le développement d’entreprises détenues par la bande, ainsi que les rapports avec les sociétés pétrolières et gazières.
  • M. Parrish compte par ailleurs cinq années d’expérience en tant qu’agent de développement économique pour le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Affiliations professionnelles, diplômes et distinctions

  • Baccalauréat ès arts en économie de l’université de Calgary
  • Diplôme en développement social, Coady International Institute, université St. Francis Xavier
  • Le 20 novembre 2013, les qualifications et compétences de M. Parrish ont été examinées par le Comité permanent des ressources naturelles, et il a été jugé apte à exercer les fonctions du poste.

Murray Lytle

Murray LytleNotice biographique

  • Murray Lytle possède près de 40 années d’expérience dans les secteurs énergétique et minier en Amérique du Nord, en Amérique du Sud et en Asie.
  • Il a occupé de nombreux postes de direction dans des entreprises pétrolières, gazières et minières. Voici les points saillants :
    • Établissement d’un bureau d’ingénierie à Lima, dont il a été directeur général, pour H.A. Simons Ltd. (maintenant AMEC E&C) de Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique;
    • directeur et ingénieur-conseil pour une trentaine de projets miniers en Amérique du Nord, en Amérique du Sud et en Asie.
  • Il a aussi été président et propriétaire de Tessa Resource Consultants de 2001 à 2005 et vice-président au développement de Sienna Gold Inc. de 2005 à 2009.
  • Par la suite, il a été chef de division à Snowden Mining Industry Consultants Inc., un cabinet d’ingénieurs-conseils de réputation internationale.
  • Il parle couramment l’anglais et l’espagnol.

Affiliations professionnelles, diplômes et distinctions

  • Doctorat en génie minier (responsabilité sociale d’entreprise) de l’université de la Colombie-Britannique
  • Membre de l’Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta

Steven Kelly

Steven KellyNotice biographique

  • Steven Kelly compte une trentaine d’années d’expérience pratique en optimisation du potentiel de ressources énergétiques classiques et non classiques, lui ayant permis d’acquérir de grandes connaissances techniques et commerciales sur les marchés énergétiques en Amérique du Nord et ailleurs dans le monde.
  • Avant d’être nommé membre de l’Office, il a été vice-président au bureau de Calgary d’IHS Energy. IHS est un fournisseur international d’expertise technique et de connaissances spécialisées sur les marchés et l’industrie.
  • M. Kelly a travaillé pendant 15 ans chez Purvin & Gertz Inc., un cabinet mondial indépendant d’experts-conseils en énergie, acquis par IHS en 2011. Il a travaillé aux bureaux de Calgary et de Londres de la société, dont il a été vice-président principal et directeur.
  • M. Kelly a commencé sa carrière à la division de raffinage et de commercialisation de Shell Canada Limited. Il a progressé en assumant divers rôles techniques et de planification à Sarnia, Edmonton et Calgary.

Affiliations professionnelles, diplômes et distinctions

  • Baccalauréat en génie chimique de l’université McMaster
  • Maîtrise en génie chimique de l’université McMaster
  • Maîtrise en administration des affaires de l’université de Calgary
  • Ingénieur professionnel enregistré auprès de l’Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta (APEGA)

Keith Chaulk

Keith ChaulkNotice biographique

  • Keith Chaulk a publié divers articles évalués par les pairs, traitant notamment d’écologie terrestre et marine et d’utilisation des terres autochtones.
  • Son expérience de la réglementation dans le Nord comprend des fonctions exercées au sein du Voisey’s Bay Environmental Management Board, de la Nunatsiavut Land Use Planning Authority et du Lower Churchill Environmental Assessment Panel.
  • M. Chaulk a occupé des postes à la haute direction de différentes organisations.
    • De 2013 à 2015, il a été vice-président autochtone à l’université de l’Arctique. L’université de l’Arctique est un consortium international regroupant plus de 150 des meilleures universités au monde qui désirent promouvoir l’éducation et la recherche dans le Nord. À titre de vice-président autochtone, M. Chaulk a fourni des services de vision stratégique à l’équipe de direction de l’université de l’Arctique, pour laquelle il a aussi été membre d’office du bureau des gouverneurs.
    • De 2007 à 2015, M. Chaulk a été directeur du Labrador Institute de l’université Memorial, dont il a dirigé la revitalisation et la transformation en établissement d’enseignement et de recherche multidisciplinaire, axé sur le développement durable.
  • Au début de sa carrière, M. Chaulk a travaillé au programme d’atténuation des impacts sur l’environnement pour la formation au pilotage militaire de bas niveau au Labrador et au Québec, et il a mené une recherche de base pour l’énoncé des incidences environnementales du projet de la mine de la baie Voisey’s.
  • Pendant plus de 10 ans, il a travaillé pour Environnement Canada au Labrador. Son travail se concentrait principalement à la direction de la conservation, mais il a également exercé des fonctions pour d’autres divisions de ce ministère, notamment en protection de l’environnement.

Affiliations professionnelles, diplômes et distinctions

  • Baccalauréat ès sciences en biologie, université Dalhousie, 1994
  • Maîtrise en biologie, université Acadia, 2001
  • Doctorat en écologie comportementale et cognitive, université Memorial, 2006

Membres temporaires

Alison Scott

Alison ScottNotice biographique

  • Alison Scott a pris sa retraite du gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Écosse en 2012.
  • Durant ses 30 années passées dans la fonction publique, elle a occupé différents postes, notamment greffière du Conseil exécutif et secrétaire auprès du Cabinet, et sous-ministre de l’Énergie et des Affaires intergouvernementales.
  • Avant d’être nommée sous-ministre, elle était avocate plaidante spécialisée en droit administratif et constitutionnel au ministère de la Justice de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Pendant son séjour au ministère de l’Énergie de la Nouvelle-Écosse, Mme Scott a supervisé l’élaboration d’une stratégie de recherche dans le domaine de l’énergie. Elle a contribué à la mise sur pied d’établissements de recherche sur l’énergie marine pour favoriser davantage la mise en valeur des ressources pétrolières et de l’énergie marémotrice de la Nouvelle-Écosse, et tirer parti des occasions offertes dans le secteur de la capture et du stockage de carbone.
  • En 2009, Mme Scott a été détachée auprès d’Environnement Canada pour conseiller le sous-ministre dans l’élaboration de l’approche du Canada en vue des négociations sur les changements climatiques.
  • Elle a aussi été membre de la Table sur le développement durable du secteur de l’énergie du gouvernement fédéral, de Petroleum Research Atlantic et du Conseil d’harmonisation constitué en vertu de la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada. Mme Scott a présidé la Section du droit constitutionnel et des droits de la personne de l’Association du Barreau canadien. Elle a en outre été membre du corps professoral, à temps partiel, de la faculté de droit de l’université Dalhousie et représentante du procureur général auprès du Barrister’s Society Bar Council de la Nouvelle-Écosse.
  • Elle siège actuellement au conseil d’administration de la Dalhousie Law School Alumni Association.
  • Mme Scott est coauteure de sept éditions du guide de voyage Explore Nova Scotia (Formac Publishing, Halifax).

Affiliations professionnelles, diplômes et distinctions

  • Baccalauréat de l’école de droit de l’université Dalhousie et baccalauréat spécialisé de l’université St. Francis Xavier
  • Récipiendaire du prix du premier ministre pour service public exceptionnel en 2008 et 1992
  • Récipiendaire de la Médaille commémorative du 125e anniversaire de la Confédération du Canada (1992) pour service important à sa collectivité et aux Canadiens

Damien Côté

Damien CoteBiographical Snapshot:

  • Monsieur Côté apporte à l’Office une vaste expérience en droit, en réglementation et en gestion dans le Nord canadien. Son plus récent poste a été celui de directeur de l’exploitation de la Société régionale inuvialuit, où il agissait, jusqu’en 2015, comme conseiller principal du président et premier dirigeant.
  • De 2012 à 2014, M. Côté a été directeur administratif de l’Office des eaux du Nunavut, où il supervisait les volets techniques, juridiques et opérationnels du processus réglementaire de délivrance de permis pour le cinquième organisme de réglementation des eaux douces en importance dans le monde (en km²).
  • Auparavant, M. Côté a travaillé au ministère de la Justice et au Service des poursuites pénales du Canada, à Iqaluit, et a été recherchiste et consultant en économie, menant des recherches liées à des programmes précis et conseillant une clientèle municipale, nationale et internationale.

Affiliations professionnelles, diplômes et distinctions

  • Juris doctor (J.D.), Université d’Ottawa
  • Licence en droit (LL.L.), Université d’Ottawa
  • Maîtrise ès arts (économie), Université de Toronto
  • Baccalauréat en génie (environnement), Université Carleton
  • Baccalauréat ès arts spécialisé en économie, Université Carleton
  • Membre du Barreau du Haut-Canada
Date de modification :