Fact Sheet - Canada's Energy Future 2013: Energy Supply and Demand Projections to 2035 - Crude Oil and Bitumen Highlights

Fact Sheet - Canada's Energy Future 2013: Energy Supply and Demand Projections to 2035 - Crude Oil and Bitumen Highlights

Canada's Energy Future 2013: Energy Supply and Demand Projections to 2035 projects Canada's "most likely" energy future to the year 2035. It includes a Reference Case, with baseline projections based on the current macroeconomic outlook, a moderate view of energy prices, and government policies and programs that were law or near-law at the time the report was prepared. The highlights below are based on the Reference Case. For detailed information, please see Chapter 5 of the full report.

By 2035, Canadian crude oil production reaches 928 10³m³/d (5.8 MMb/d), nearly 75 per cent higher than 2012 production.

Oil sands production is the main contributor to this growth, much of which is via in situ production. Mined oil sands production also grows, but at a slower pace. Tight oil production increases early in the projection, and by 2016 it makes up a quarter of all Canadian non-oil sands production.

Total Canadian Crude Oil and Equivalent Production - Reference Case

Total Canadian Crude Oil and Equivalent Production - Reference Case

Production:

  • Oil Sands Production: By 2035, oil sands bitumen production reaches 796 10³m³/d (5.0 MMb/d), 2.6 times the production for 2012. The majority of the growth occurs in the in situ category, as these projects tend to have better economics compared to mining projects.
  • Oil Sands Upgrading: Upgraded bitumen volumes grow to 252 10³m³/d (1.6 MMb/d) by 2035, but do not keep pace with the overall increase in bitumen production. The portion of total bitumen production that is upgraded declines from 47 per cent in 2010 to 32 per cent in 2035.
  • Tight Oil: Conventional crude oil in the Western Canada Sedimentary Basin has reversed its long-standing declining trend. Production continues to ramp up as a result of the successful application of horizontal drilling and multi-stage hydraulic fracturing methods to tight oil reservoirs. Tight oil production increases until 2016, at which point it makes up a quarter of all Canadian non-oil sands production. After 2016, tight oil production declines slowly over the projection period. The decline is uncertain since many of the prospective tight oil plays in Canada are new and have limited information related to drilling and production results.
  • Eastern Canada: Eastern Canada production includes relatively small amounts of oil production from Ontario, but primarily represents the Newfoundland and Labrador offshore fields. Production from Newfoundland and Labrador has been in decline since 2006. A variety of additional offshore production comes online in the medium term. These additions reverse the declining trend, but the decline then resumes in the long-term projection.

Crude Oil Reserves:

  • Canada has remaining oil reserves of 27.2 109m³ (171 billion bbls) as of December 2012, with 98 per cent of this attributed to oil sands bitumen, and the remaining to conventional oil sources. According to the Oil & Gas Journal[1], Canada ranks third globally in terms of proven oil reserves, behind Saudi Arabia and Venezuela.

[1] Oil & Gas Journal, December 6, 2012

 

Date modified:

Fiche de renseignements - Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2013 - Offre et demande énergétiques à l’horizon 2035 - Points saillants de l’analyse touchant le pétrole brut et le bitume

Fiche de renseignements - Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2013 - Offre et demande énergétiques à l’horizon 2035 - Points saillants de l’analyse touchant le pétrole brut et le bitume

Le rapport Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2013 - Offre et demande énergétiques à l’horizon 2035 présente la chaîne des événements « la plus probable » dans le secteur de l’énergie sur une vingtaine d’années. Il comprend un scénario de référence, c’est-à-dire des projections de base fondées sur les perspectives macroéconomiques actuelles, une vision modérée des prix de l’énergie et les politiques et programmes gouvernementaux en vigueur ou sur le point de l’être au moment de la rédaction du rapport. Les points saillants présentés ci-dessous reposent sur le scénario de référence. Pour plus de détails, prière de se reporter au chapitre 5 du rapport intégral.

En 2035, la production canadienne de pétrole brut atteint 928 10³m³/j (5,8 Mb/j), soit presque 75 % de plus qu’en 2012.

La production tirée des sables bitumineux est le principal facteur de croissance, surtout par la récupération in situ. La production par extraction à ciel ouvert augmente aussi, mais plus lentement. La production de pétrole de réservoirs étanches monte dans les premières années de la période de projection, et en 2016 elle représente le quart de toute la production non bitumineuse au Canada.

Production Canadienne totale de pétrole brut et d’équivalents, scénario de référence

Production Canadienne totale de pétrole brut et d’équivalents, scénario de référence

Production

  • Production tirée des sables bitumineux : En 2035, la production de bitume des sables pétrolifères atteint 796 10³m³/j (5,0 Mb/j), soit 2,6 fois la production de 2012. La progression s’opère en majeure partie dans la catégorie de la récupération in situ, les projets en question étant souvent plus rentable que les projets d’extraction à ciel ouvert.
  • Valorisation du bitume des sables pétrolifères : La valorisation du bitume monte en volume à 252 103m³/j (1,6 Mb/j) en 2035, mais sans rester à la hauteur de la croissance globale de la production bitumineuse. La proportion que représente la valorisation dans la production totale de bitume régresse, de 47 % en 2010 à 32 % en 2035.
  • Pétrole de réservoirs étanches : Dans le bassin sédimentaire de l’Ouest canadien, la production de pétrole brut classique a inversé sa tendance à la baisse des dernières années. Elle demeure en progression grâce à l’application fructueuse, aux réservoirs pétroliers étanches, des méthodes de forage horizontal et de fracturation hydraulique en plusieurs étapes. La production de pétrole en réservoir étanche augmente jusqu’en 2016, année où elle représente le quart de toute la production pétrolière canadienne ne provenant pas des sables bitumineux. Après 2016, elle diminue lentement sur la période de projection. Cette diminution est incertaine, car un grand nombre de réservoirs étanches prometteurs au Canada sont nouveaux et les résultats des activités de forage et de production sont encore méconnus.
  • Est du Canada : Dans l’Est du Canada, la production comprend de petites quantités en provenance de l’Ontario, mais vient surtout des gisements extracôtiers de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Dans cette dernière province, la production est en baisse depuis 2006. Divers nouveaux gisements extracôtiers entreront en exploitation à moyen terme. Ces nouveaux apports inverseront le mouvement descendant, mais la production continuera de fléchir à plus long terme pendant la période de projection.

Réserves de pétrole brut

  • Les réserves restantes de pétrole du Canada totalisent 27,2 Gm³ (171 Gb) en décembre 2012 avec 98 % pour le bitume des sables pétrolifères et le reste pour les sources de pétrole classique. D’après le Oil & Gas Journal[1], le Canada se classe au troisième rang mondial pour les réserves de pétrole prouvées et n’est devancé que par l’Arabie saoudite et le Venezuela.

[1] Oil & Gas Journal, 6 décembre 2012.

 

Date de modification :