Fact Sheet - Canada’s Energy Future 2013: Energy Supply and Demand Projections to 2035 - Electricity Outlook Highlights

Fact Sheet - Canada’s Energy Future 2013: Energy Supply and Demand Projections to 2035 - Electricity Outlook Highlights

Canada’s Energy Future 2013: Energy Supply and Demand Projections to 2035 projects Canada’s "most likely" energy future to the year 2035. It includes a Reference Case, with baseline projections based on the current macroeconomic outlook, a moderate view of energy prices, and government policies and programs that were law or near-law at the time the report was prepared. The highlights below are based on the Reference Case. For detailed information, please see Chapter 8 of the full report.

Canadian electricity supply will experience a steady increase over the projection period.

Hydroelectricity is the primary source of electric power in Canada, accounting for 57 per cent of total capacity in 2012. Natural gas, coal, and nuclear plants provide most of the remaining supply, while non-hydro renewables such as wind, solar and biomass make up 5.5 per cent of capacity.

In the projection, total electricity generation capacity increases by an average of one per cent per year over the projection period, reaching 164 GW in 2035 (up from 134 GW in 2012). Sufficient capacity will also need to be constructed to meet growing demand while maintaining adequate reserve margins. In addition, as existing facilities age, they will need to be replaced for reliability, economic and/or environmental reasons.

Natural gas-fired power generation capacity increases substantially. Coal-fired generation capacity declines, largely a result of federal and provincial regulations. Non-hydro renewable capacity doubles its share of Canada’s electricity capacity mix. Total electricity generation increases 27 per cent over the projection period.

Capacity by Primary Fuel, Reference Case

Capacity by Primary Fuel, Reference Case

The electricity fuel mix in Canada changes over the projection period. The changes reflect government and industry efforts to curb energy-related greenhouse gas emissions and take into account provincial energy strategies, utility expansion plans, and the relative economics of generation options. Because of higher growth in other types of generation, the share of nuclear power in the total capacity mix declines from nine to seven per cent from 2012 to 2035, and the share of hydro decreases from 57 to 52 per cent over the same period. In contrast, the proportion of capacity from non-hydro renewables increases from six per cent to 13 per cent. The share of CO2 emitting sources (such as natural gas, diesel, oil, coke and coal) decreases slightly from 28 to 26 per cent.

Capacity Mix by Primary Fuel, 2012 and 2035, Reference Case

Capacity Mix by Primary Fuel, 2012 and 2035, Reference Case

 

Date modified:

Fiche de renseignements - Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2013 - Offre et demande énergétiques à l’horizon 2035 - Points saillants de l’analyse touchant l’électricité

Fiche de renseignements - Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2013 - Offre et demande énergétiques à l’horizon 2035 - Points saillants de l’analyse touchant l’électricité

Le rapport Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2013 - Offre et demande énergétiques à l'horizon 2035 présente la chaîne des événements « la plus probable » dans le secteur de l'énergie sur une vingtaine d'années. Il comprend un scénario de référence, c'est-à-dire des projections de base fondées sur les perspectives macroéconomiques actuelles, une vision modérée des prix de l'énergie et les politiques et programmes gouvernementaux en vigueur ou sur le point de l'être au moment de la rédaction du rapport. Les points saillants présentés ci-dessous reposent sur le scénario de référence. Pour plus de détails, prière de se reporter au chapitre 8 du rapport intégral.

L'offre d'électricité au Canada sera en croissance soutenue pendant la période de projection.

L'hydroélectricité est la principale source d'énergie électrique au Canada. En 2012, elle figurait pour 57 % de la capacité totale. Avec les centrales nucléaires, celles alimentées au gaz naturel et au charbon apportent la majeure partie de l'approvisionnement restant alors que la part des énergies renouvelables hors hydroélectricité (vent, soleil, biomasse, etc.) est de 5,5 %.

Selon nos projections, la capacité totale de production d'électricité augmente en moyenne de 1 % par an pendant la période de projection pour atteindre 164 GW en 2035 (comparativement à 134 GW en 2012). De nouvelles installations devront être construites si on entend répondre à la demande croissante et conserver une marge de réserve suffisante. Ajoutons qu'à mesure que les installations de production vieillissent, leur remplacement s'impose pour des motifs de fiabilité et des raisons économiques ou environnementales.

La capacité de production des centrales au gaz naturel augmente largement, tandis que celle des centrales au charbon diminue, en grande partie sous l'effet de la réglementation fédérale et provinciale. La capacité en énergies renouvelables hors hydroélectricité double au Canada, et production totale d'électricité s'accroît de 27 % pendant la période de projection.

Capacité en combustibles primaires, scénario de référence

Capacité en combustibles primaires, scénario de référence

La répartition des sources d'énergie dans la production d'électricité au Canada évolue au cours de la période de projection. Les changements traduisent les efforts des gouvernements et de l'industrie en vue de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre liées à l'énergie et tiennent compte des stratégies énergétiques des provinces, des projets de construction de services publics et de la rentabilité relative des possibilités qui s'offrent pour la production d'électricité. Comme d'autres formes d'énergie croissent davantage, la part de l'énergie nucléaire dans la capacité totale de production électrique diminue, de 9 % à 7 % de 2012 à 2035, tout comme celle de l'hydroélectricité, qui passe de 57 % à 52 % pendant la même période. En revanche, la part des énergies renouvelables hors hydroélectricité monte, de 6 % à 13 %. Enfin, la part des sources de production émettrices de CO2 (gaz naturel, diesel, pétrole, coke et charbon) diminue légèrement, passant de 28 % à 26 %.

Composition de la capacité en combustibles primaires, 2012 et 2035, scénario de référence

Composition de la capacité en combustibles primaires, 2012 et 2035, scénario de référence

 

Date de modification :