Canada’s Energy Future 2017 Supplement: Oil Sands Production – Appendix

Canada’s Energy Future 2017 Supplement: Oil Sands Production [PDF 3109 KB]
Appendix Data and Figures [EXCEL 4911 KB]

Aerial photo of Cenovus’ Foster Creek oil sands project in Northern Alberta

January 2018

Copyright/Permission to Reproduce

ISSN 2369-1479

Table of Contents

Appendix A

Projecting Oil Sands Production: Methods

Oil sands production is projected by applying utilization rates to the capacities of 1) existing oil sands projects, and 2) a timeline of new projects and expansion phases expected to be built in the future. Projections do not consider changes to production from weather, equipment failure, or other potential interruptions. Raw bitumen production and synthetic crude oil production are projected for each case.

The main differences between the cases are oil prices, carbon taxes, and technology assumptions. Varying oil prices affect industry revenues, and the reinvestment of a portion of the revenue as capital expenditures. Varying carbon taxes affect the net revenue available: the higher the carbon taxes, the higher the cost of production and the lower the net revenue. Technological advancements affect both bitumen production as well as the steam to oil ratio (SOR). These variations do not affect all oil sands projects uniformly. For instance, the better a project’s SOR, the less impact rising carbon taxes have. This results in an emissions credit for some projects in some years. More details about how emissions are calculated are provided in Section A4.4.

Mining and in situ production are estimated using the same method. Projects are assessed based on their announced capacities and start dates and then risked in terms of start time. Production from all projects of each type (i.e. mining, in situ) is then aggregated. Production from projects that are currently operating is held relatively constant for the majority of the projection. In some cases, depending on the age of the facility, production is decreased towards the end of the projection period. Increases in production for any given project are largely the result of new phases coming online and, to a lesser extent, process improvements in the early years of that project or phase. These methods significantly differ from conventional oil projections, which are well-based and use decline-curve analysis.

Details on oil sands producing areas are in Appendix A1.1. How production is determined is discussed in Appendix A1.2. Projection results can be found in Appendix B.

A.1 Oil Sands Production Categories

For this analysis, oil sands production is categorized by type of production, type of recovery, geography, and recovery method.  Figure A.1 shows the breakdown.

Figure A1.1 – Oil Sands Production Categories

Figure A1.1 – Oil Sands Production Categories

Description:

This figure shows a flow chart depicting the breakdown of components that are analyzed to reach a projection of raw bitumen production. The same process is used for each of the cases. Raw bitumen production is projected for each type of production facility (Experimental, EOR, SAGD, CSS, Mining) within each of the three oil sands regions (Athabasca, Cold Lake, Peace River) where applicable. The results of this work is then aggregated to form the projection for total raw bitumen production. Synthetic crude oil is also forecast and is a combination of mining and in situ production that is upgraded within Alberta.

A.1.1 Oil Sands Areas

Oil sands production occurs in three areas in Alberta:  Athabasca, Cold Lake, and Peace River. Athabasca has the majority of activity and production, including SAGD, CSS, and EOR in situ projects. Athabasca also has mining projects, upgrading, off gas refinery projects, and primary projects. Cold Lake has SAGD and CSS in situ projects as well as primary projects. Peace River has SAGD, CSS, and EOR in situ projects and primary projects.

Figure A1.2 – Oil Sands Areas Map

Figure A1.2 – Oil Sands Areas Map

Description:

This figure contains a map showing the aerial extent of each of the three oil sands areas, Athabasca, Cold Lake and Peace River.

A.1.2 Type of Production – Raw Bitumen and Synthetic Crude Oil

Both raw bitumen production and synthetic crude oil production are projected as part of the analysis. The majority of mined bitumen is upgraded within Alberta with some notable exceptions. In addition, production from two in situ facilities, Suncor’s Firebag and MacKay River projects, is partially upgraded to synthetic crude oil. The remaining volumes of in situ production, as well as production from Imperial’s Kearl Mine Suncor’s Fort Hills Mine (once it is completed), are marketed as diluted bitumen.

A.1.3 Type of Recovery – In Situ, Mining, Primary, EOR

Bitumen is produced in one of four ways. Roughly 90 per cent is either mined or extracted using in situ methods. Remaining production comes from Primary and Enhanced Oil Recovery (EOR). Primary bitumen production is slightly less viscous than in situ bitumen and can flow to the surface without applying heat or solvents. However, these projects are of a smaller scale than in situ developments. EOR uses reservoir flooding similar to the technology used for conventional oil. These too are a smaller scale than either mining or in situ projects. Combined, there were over 150 Primary and EOR projects operating within Alberta in 2016. 

A.1.4 In Situ Recovery Method – SAGD, CSS, EOR

There are three types of in situ recovery technologies included in this report: SAGD, CSS, and EOR.

SAGD typically uses pairs of horizontal wells to produce bitumen. Steam is injected into an upper well to heat the bitumen, which then drains by gravity into a lower well and is pumped to the surface.

CSS also uses steam to produce bitumen. The steam is injected into a reservoir through a well over a period of several months, heating and decreasing the bitumen’s viscosity. Later, the steam is turned off and the emulsion of water and bitumen flows back into the well over a period of several months. The process is repeated for the economic life of the well.

EOR extracts oil from reservoirs once pressures have fallen to a point where natural production is no longer economically viable, even with artificial lifts like pump jacks. This includes pressure maintenance, cycling, water flooding, thermal methods, chemical flooding, and the use of miscible and immiscible displacement fluids.

A.2 Methods to Project Bitumen Production

For this report, historical production data, plans announced by producers, and industry and government consultations were used to derive projections. Monthly projections out to the end of 2040 are made for existing projects, for future (new) projects, and for expansions of both existing and new projects.

A.2.1 Method for Existing Projects

Projects that are, or have, produced are categorized as existing projects and their historical monthly production trend is used to project future production. For the most part, existing projects’ production is held constant out to 2040. Projections for projects whose production is currently declining maintain that decline. Projects whose production is currently zero but produced in the past will either have zero production over the projections (retired projects) or return to the expected levels at a given time based on publicly available information (i.e., projects that have been temporarily shut down).

A.2.2 Method for Expansions

Expansions are additions to existing projects. Given the oil price assumptions, most future increases in bitumen production will come from expansions of existing projects rather than new projects. Publically available information is used to determine the size and timing of expansions.

A.2.3 Method for Future Projects

Given a projected oil price and other assumptions, it may be warranted to include one or more new projects in the projection. New in situ projects are expected to be built as well though the timing, size and number of projects differs between the cases.

A.3 Synthetic Crude Oil Production Projection Methods

Synthetic crude oil is raw bitumen that is processed into a lighter crude oil. Most mined bitumen is currently upgraded and it is assumed this trend will continue throughout the projection period. In addition to mining, some in situ and heavy oil production is upgraded.

A.4 Other Assumptions and Analysis

A.4.1 Capital Expenditures

Capital expenditures are made up of two things: sustaining and construction.

Sustaining capital expenditure is the investment needed to maintain existing projects, and is generally closely linked to production levels. If production is expected to trend upwards over the projection, so too will the sustaining capital expenditures. In this analysis sustaining capital is set at:

  • $1 500 / b/d of gross bitumen produced per year for primary production
  • $9 000 / b/d of gross bitumen produced per year for mining production
  • $5 000 / b/d of synthetic oil produced per year for upgraded production
  • $6 300 / b/d of gross bitumen produced per year for in situ production

Construction capital expenditure is the cost for new projects or expansions. The cost is assumed to start in the first month of construction, and is spread evenly over the construction months. Most projects or expansions’ construction periods are assumed to take 18 to 24 months. New projects and expansions also have ramp-up times for production, since production generally does not start at the maximum amount in the first month of operation. Construction costs are based on available information and consultation. Costs differ between producers and projects, but generally range from:

  • $30 000 – 60 000 per b/d of capacity for in situ
  • $80 000 – 95 000 per b/d of capacity for mining
  • $50 000 – 70 000 per b/d of capacity for upgrading

The wide range reflects the highly variable nature of the quality of reservoirs available to each producer as well as technology assumptions.

A.4.2 SOR and Natural Gas Use Assumptions

A steam-oil-ratio (SOR) is the number of barrels of steam used to produce a barrel of oil used for the thermal (SAGD, CSS) in situ projects. The lower the SOR, the more efficient the project is, and generally has a lower supply cost than a project with a higher SOR. For most projects, the steam is generated by burning natural or synthetic gas. If the SOR is available, the ratios assumed to estimate gas use are:

  • Dry SOR * 0.41 Mcf/b of steam = Mcf/b of bitumen production for SAGD
  • Wet SOR * 0.32 Mcf/b of steam = Mcf/b of bitumen production for CSS

For some projects, the historical SOR is unknown, and so the general ratios used would be:

  • 0.187 Mcf/b of bitumen produced for EOR
  • 2.0 Mcf/b of bitumen produced for SAGD and CSS

Projected monthly SORs for a project are based on historical trends, technology and efficiency projections, and schedule of expansions (which will generally temporarily increase the SOR, because new projects or expansions commence steaming in preparation for production startup). Given the projected SOR or general ratios, monthly gas use in the oil sands industry is also projected.

Mining, upgrading, and primary projects do not use steam, but may use natural gas for operations. The historical ratios for each project are carried forward in the projection to calculate future gas use from these projects.

A.4.3 Electricity Assumptions

Historical electricity use for mining and upgrading projects is available for most projects. The ratios of electricity use per unit of production are carried forward over the projection to calculate electricity use. For other projects, the electricity use assumptions are:

  • 18.9 kW.h/b of bitumen production for primary and EOR
  • 15.0 kW.h/b of bitumen production for SAGD and CSS

A.4.4 CO2 Assumptions

The cost of carbon dioxide emissions are included in the analysis. The cost of emissions decreases industry revenue and cash flow available for future capital expenditures. However, on a project by project basis, the cost of carbon may or may not affect the production projection. More efficient projects with lower SORs won’t have their economics affected as much as less efficient projects. Thus, for most projects, given current and projected SORs, the production projection is the sameFootnote 1 for varying carbon prices. Less efficient, usually smaller, projects are assumed to be affected with some production taken out of the projection given the carbon and oil price assumptions.

The amount of gas consumed, and CO2 emitted, can be calculated using the gas use per barrel of bitumen or synthetic oil discussed in section A.4.2. The assumed ratio is:

0.0019 tonnes of CO2 / m3 of natural gas use

An output-based adjustment, as based on Alberta’s climate plan, was then applied to the actual cost of CO2, for each project by year. For a given year, the projects are ranked from lowest SOR to highest SOR. The 25th percentile lowest SOR is a threshold level. The carbon cost associated with that SOR is the output-based adjustment and all projects’ carbon costs are adjusted by that amount. Thus, the projects with lower SORs than the threshold end up with a carbon cost less than zero (revenue is adjusted up) and the rest of the projects have lower, but still positive carbon costs (revenue is adjusted lower). More information on carbon calculations and provincial policies can be found in the Energy Future 2017 report.

Appendix B – Detailed Data Tables

Data for the figures in Appendices A and B are available in a Microsoft Excel file [EXCEL 4911 KB].

 

Date modified:

Supplément Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2017 – Production tirée des sables bitumineux – Annexe

Supplément Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2017 – Production tirée des sables bitumineux [PDF 2688 ko]
Données des annexes et figures [EXCEL 4911 ko]

Photo aérienne des installations du projet d’exploitation de sables bitumineux Foster Creek de Cenovus, dans le Nord de l’Alberta

Janvier 2018

Droit d’auteur et droit de reproduction

ISSN 2369-1479

Table des matières

Annexe A

Projections pour l’exploitation des sables bitumineux : Méthodes

Les projections pour l’exploitation des sables bitumineux sont obtenues en appliquant des taux d’utilisation aux capacités, d’abord des projets existants, puis en tenant compte d’un calendrier d’exécution prévu pour de futurs agrandissements et la construction de nouvelles installations. Elles ne tiennent pas compte de variations à la production en raison des conditions météorologiques, de pannes de matériel ou d’autres interruptions possibles. La production de bitume brut et celle de pétrole brut synthétique font l’objet de projections pour chacun des scénarios.

Les principales différences entre les divers scénarios sont le résultat de variations des prix du pétrole, taxes sur le carbone et avancées technologiques. Les variations des prix du pétrole influent sur les revenus de l’industrie et la partie qui sera réinvestie sous forme de dépenses en immobilisations. Celles des taxes sur le carbone jouent sur le revenu net disponible, ce qui fait que plus ces taxes sont élevées, plus le sont également les coûts de production, ce qui diminue d’autant le revenu net. Les avancées technologiques ont une incidence à la fois sur la production de bitume et sur le ratio vapeur-pétrole (« RVP »). Tous les projets ne sont pas touchés dans la même mesure par de telles variations. Par exemple, meilleur est le RVP, moins grandes sont les répercussions d’une hausse des taxes sur le carbone. Certaines années, des projets peuvent ainsi profiter d’un crédit d’émissions. Des précisions sur le calcul des émissions sont présentées à la section A.4.4.

La production estimative par extraction à ciel ouvert et récupération in situ est obtenue de la même manière. Les projets sont évalués en fonction des capacités et dates d’entrée en service annoncées tout en tenant compte des risques de report à cet égard. La somme de la production de tous les projets pour chacun des types (extraction à ciel ouvert et récupération in situ) est ensuite calculée. La production des projets déjà en exploitation est maintenue à un niveau relativement constant pendant la plus grande partie de la période de projection. Dans certains cas, en raison de l’âge des installations, la production régresse vers la fin de cette période. Les hausses de production pour un projet donné sont surtout le fruit de la mise en service d’agrandissements et dans une moins grande mesure d’amélioration des processus au cours des premières années du projet lui-même ou de l’agrandissement. Ces méthodes diffèrent grandement de celles servant aux projections pour le pétrole classique, fondées sur le nombre de puits et ayant recours à une analyse de la courbe de diminution de la production.

Des précisions sur les zones productrices de sables bitumineux sont présentées à l’annexe A1.1. La façon dont la production est déterminée est traitée à l’annexe A1.2. Les résultats des projections constituent l’annexe B.

A.1 Catégories d’exploitation des sables bitumineux

Aux fins de l’analyse, l’exploitation des sables bitumineux est divisée en catégories selon le type de production et de récupération, la zone géographique et la méthode utilisée, ce qu’illustre la figure A.1.

Figure A.1.1 – Catégories d’exploitation des sables bitumineux

Figure A.1.1 – Catégories d’exploitation des sables bitumineux

Description :

Cette figure est celle d’un graphique illustrant les différentes composantes analysées pour les projections de production de bitume brut. Le même processus est utilisé quel que soit le scénario. La production de bitume brut est projetée pour chaque type d’installation (expérimentale, RAH, DGMV, SCV et extraction à ciel ouvert) et chacune des trois régions de sables bitumineux (Athabasca, Cold Lake et Peace River) lorsqu’il y a lieu. Les résultats sont ensuite mis en commun pour obtenir la production totale attendue de bitume brut. Des calculs sont également effectués pour le pétrole brut synthétique, sur la base de la production obtenue par extraction à ciel ouvert et par récupération in situ qui est valorisée en Alberta.

A.1.1 Zones de sables bitumineux

Les sables bitumineux sont exploités dans trois régions en Alberta : Athabasca, Cold Lake et Peace River. L’activité et la production sont principalement concentrées dans la région de l’Athabasca avec notamment des projets de récupération in situ, qu’il s’agisse de drainage par gravité au moyen de vapeur (« DGMV »), stimulation cyclique par la vapeur d’eau (« SCV ») ou récupération assistée des hydrocarbures (« RAH »). Cette région compte aussi des projets d’extraction à ciel ouvert, de valorisation, de raffinage des dégagements gazeux et de production primaire. Celle de Cold Lake abrite des projets de récupération in situ par DGMV ou SCV et d’autres de production primaire. La région de Peace River compte elle aussi des projets de récupération in situ, qu’il s’agisse de DGMV, SCV ou RAH, ainsi que de production primaire.

Figure A1.2 – Carte des zones de sables bitumineux

Figure A1.2 – Carte des zones de sables bitumineux

Description :

Cette figure est en fait une carte illustrant l’aire couverte par chacune des trois régions de sables bitumineux, soit celles de l’Athabasca, Cold Lake et Peace River.

A.1.2 Type de production – Bitume brut et pétrole brut synthétique

La production de bitume brut et celle de pétrole brut synthétique font l’objet de projections dans le cadre de l’analyse. À quelques exceptions près, le bitume produit par extraction à ciel ouvert est valorisé en Alberta. En outre, la production de deux installations de récupération in situ, soit celle des projets MacKay River et Firebag, de Suncor, est partiellement valorisée sous forme de pétrole brut synthétique. Le reste du produit récupéré in situ est commercialisé sous forme de bitume dilué, au même titre que celui extrait des mines Kearl de L’Impériale et Fort Hills de Suncor.

A.1.3 Type de récupération – In situ, extraction à ciel ouvert, production primaire et RAH

Le bitume peut être produit de quatre façons. Dans une proportion de plus ou moins 90 %, il fait soit l’objet d’une extraction à ciel ouvert, soit celui d’une récupération in situ. Pour le reste, il s’agit de production primaire ou de RAH. Le bitume de production primaire est légèrement moins visqueux que celui obtenu par récupération in situ, ce qui fait qu’il peut être amené à la surface sans recours à de la chaleur ou à des solvants. Toutefois, l’échelle de tels projets est moindre que celle des aménagements in situ. La RAH privilégie une technologie d’injection d’eau dans le réservoir semblable à celle utilisée pour le pétrole classique. Encore une fois, ces projets ont moins d’ampleur que ceux d’extraction à ciel ouvert ou de récupération in situ. Au total en 2016, on comptait plus de 150 projets de production primaire et de RAH exploités en Alberta.

A.1.4 Méthodes de récupération in situ – DGMV, SCV et RAH

Le présent rapport aborde trois types de technologies de récupération in situ : DGMV, SCV et RAH.

Le DGMV a habituellement recours à des puits horizontaux en paires pour extraire le bitume. De la vapeur est injectée dans le puits supérieur afin de chauffer le bitume, qui est ensuite drainé par gravité dans le puits inférieur et pompé jusqu’à la surface.

La SCV compte elle aussi sur la vapeur pour produire du bitume. Celle-ci est injectée dans le réservoir à partir d’un puits pendant une période de plusieurs mois pour chauffer le bitume et ainsi en diminuer la viscosité. Une fois que l’injection de vapeur a cessé, l’émulsion d’eau et de bitume reflue dans le puits pendant aussi plusieurs mois. Le procédé est répété tout au long de la durée de vie économique du puits.

La RAH permet d’extraire du pétrole des réservoirs une fois que les gisements ont été exploités au point où la production naturelle n’est plus économiquement viable, même avec les moyens d’ascension artificielle comme les chevalets de pompage. Elle peut prendre la forme de maintien de pression, de réinjection, d’injection d’eau ou de produits chimiques, de méthodes thermiques ou de recours à des fluides de déplacement, miscibles ou non.

A.2 Méthodes de projection de la production de bitume

Dans le présent rapport, les projections sont dérivées des données de production historiques, des plans dévoilés par les producteurs ainsi que de consultations avec des représentants de l’industrie et du gouvernement. C’est à partir des projets existants ou à venir et des agrandissements prévus dans les deux cas que les projections mensuelles ont été établies jusqu’à la fin de 2040.

A.2.1 Méthode pour les projets existants

Les projets en exploitation ou qui l’ont été sont considérés des projets existants et les tendances historiques de production mensuelle servent à déterminer celle à venir. Dans la plupart des cas, la production des projets existants demeure constante jusqu’en 2040. Les projections pour les projets dont la production est déjà en régression poursuivent dans la même voie. Dans le cas de ceux dont la production est actuellement nulle mais qui ont déjà produit, soit que celle-ci demeurera à ce niveau pendant toute la période de projection (projets mis hors service), soit qu’elle reprendra au moment et aux niveaux prévus compte tenu de l’information publique disponible à ce sujet (c’est le cas de projets temporairement mis hors service).

A.2.2 Méthode pour les agrandissements

Les agrandissements constituent des ajouts à des projets existants. En tenant compte des hypothèses avancées quant aux prix du pétrole, les augmentations futures de la production de bitume seront surtout le fruit d’agrandissements à des projets existants plutôt que de nouveaux projets. C’est sur la base de l’information publique disponible que l’ampleur des agrandissements et le moment de leur entrée en service sont déterminés.

A.2.3 Méthode pour les projets à venir

En se fondant sur les prix envisagés pour le pétrole et d’autres hypothèses, il peut être de mise d’inclure un ou deux nouveaux projets dans les projections. Il est donc prévu que de nouveaux projets de récupération in situ seront construits, mais le moment de leur réalisation, leur taille et leur nombre diffèrent selon les scénarios.

A.3 Méthodes de projection pour la production de pétrole brut synthétique

Le pétrole brut synthétique est du bitume brut transformé en produit plus léger. Pour la majeure partie, le bitume actuellement obtenu par extraction à ciel ouvert est valorisé et on prévoit que cette tendance se poursuivra pendant toute la période de projection. De plus, une partie de la production d’installations de récupération in situ et de pétrole brut lourd est aussi valorisée.

A.4 Autres hypothèses et analyses

A.4.1 Dépenses en immobilisations

Les dépenses en immobilisations prennent deux formes : maintien et construction.

Dans le premier cas, il s’agit d’investissements requis dans des projets existants qui sont généralement étroitement liés aux niveaux de production. Si on prévoit une augmentation de la production pendant la période de projection, les dépenses en immobilisations pour son maintien augmenteront aussi. Dans la présente analyse, l’échelle des investissements de maintien est la suivante :

  • 1 500 $ par b/j de production annuelle brute de bitume – production primaire
  • 9 000 $ par b/j de production annuelle brute de bitume – extraction à ciel ouvert
  • 5 000 $ par b/j de production annuelle de pétrole synthétique – installations de valorisation
  • 6 300 $ par b/j de production annuelle brute de bitume – récupération in situ

Dans le second cas, il s’agit du coût des nouveaux projets ou des agrandissements. Ce coût est calculé à compter du mois de mise en chantier et distribué mensuellement à parts égales jusqu’à la réalisation des travaux. La plupart du temps, qu’il s’agisse de nouveaux projets ou d’agrandissements, la période de construction prévue varie entre 18 et 24 mois. Par ailleurs, la production s’amplifie toujours au fil du temps puisqu’elle n’est habituellement pas maximale dès le premier mois de mise en service. Les coûts de construction sont fondés sur l’information disponible et la consultation effectuée. Ils diffèrent selon les producteurs et les projets mais demeurent normalement à l’intérieur des fourchettes suivantes :

  • Entre 30 000 $ et 60 000 $ par b/j de capacité – récupération in situ
  • Entre 80 000 $ et 95 000 $ par b/j de capacité – extraction à ciel ouvert
  • Entre 50 000 $ et 70 000 $ par b/j de capacité – valorisation

L’importance des écarts rend compte de la grande variabilité quant à la qualité des réservoirs pour chaque producteur et aussi des hypothèses avancées en matière de technologie.

A.4.2 Hypothèses pour le RVP et la consommation de gaz naturel

Le RVP représente le nombre de barils de vapeur consommés pour la production d’un baril de pétrole dans le contexte de projets thermiques de récupération in situ (DGMV et SCV). Plus faible est ce ratio, plus efficace est le projet et généralement moindres sont les coûts de l’offre comparativement à un RVP supérieur. Dans la plupart des cas, la vapeur est obtenue en faisant brûler du gaz naturel ou de synthèse. Lorsque le RVP est connu, les ratios de consommation gazière utilisés pour les projections sont les suivants, en milliers de pieds cubes (« kpi3 ») :

  • vapeur sèche * 0,41 kpi3/baril de vapeur = kpi3/baril de bitume produit pour le DGMV
  • vapeur humide * 0,32 kpi3/baril de vapeur = kpi3/baril de bitume produit pour la SCV

Les ratios généraux utilisés pour certains projets lorsque le RVP historique n’est pas connu sont les suivants :

  • 0,187 kpi3/baril de bitume produit pour la RAH
  • 2,0 kpi3/baril de bitume produit pour le DGMV et la SCV

Les RVP mensuels envisagés pour un projet sont fondés sur les tendances historiques, sur la technologie et l’efficacité attendues ainsi que sur le calendrier des agrandissements (lesquels d’habitude pousseront temporairement le RVP vers le haut, car de la vapeur commence à être injectée avant l’entrée en production, pour les agrandissements comme pour les nouveaux projets). C’est sur la base des RVP projetés ou des ratios généraux que la consommation mensuelle de gaz à venir dans l’industrie des sables bitumineux est établie.

Même si les projets d’extraction à ciel ouvert, les installations de valorisation et la production primaire ne consomment pas de vapeur, cela n’exclut pas pour autant la consommation de gaz naturel. Les ratios historiques à cet égard pour chacun de ces projets sont projetés dans le temps pour obtenir les volumes futurs de gaz qui seront consommés.

A.4.3 Hypothèses pour l’électricité

La consommation historique d’électricité des projets d’extraction à ciel ouvert et de valorisation est connue dans la plupart des cas. Les ratios déjà établis par unité de production servent à calculer la consommation d’électricité à venir pendant la période de projection. En l’absence d’antécédents connus, les hypothèses de consommation d’électricité utilisées sont les suivantes, en kilowattheures (« kWh ») :

  • 18,9 kWh/baril de bitume obtenu avec la production primaire ou la RAH
  • 15,0 kWh/baril de bitume obtenu avec le DGMV ou la SCV

A.4.4 Hypothèses pour le CO2

L’analyse tient compte du coût des émissions de dioxyde de carbone. Ce coût réduit les revenus de l’industrie et les flux de trésorerie disponibles pour de futures dépenses en immobilisations. Cependant, il peut ou non avoir une incidence sur les projections de la production selon le projet. Les plus efficaces d’entre eux présentant un RVP moindre seront moins touchés, économiquement, que les autres. Ainsi, dans la plupart des cas, compte tenu des RVP actuels et projetés, la production attendue ne variera pasNote de bas de page 1 en fonction des prix du carbone. Ce n’est qu’une partie de la production des projets moins efficaces, habituellement de moindre envergure, qui sera retranchée pendant la période de projection en raison des prix du carbone et du pétrole.

La quantité de gaz consommé et les émissions de CO2 peuvent être calculées à partir de la consommation gazière par baril de bitume ou de pétrole synthétique dont il est question à la section A.4.2. Le ratio utilisé est le suivant :

            0,0019 tonne de CO2/m3 de gaz naturel consommé

Un rajustement en fonction de la production, semblable à celui prévu dans le plan de l’Alberta en matière de climat, a ensuite été appliqué au coût réel du CO2 pour chaque projet, par année. Selon l’année, les projets sont placés en ordre, de celui présentant le RVP le plus faible jusqu’à celui pour lequel ce ratio est le plus élevé. Les 25 premiers centiles représentent une catégorie distincte et le coût du carbone associé au RVP sous cette barre mènent au calcul du rajustement en fonction de la production appliqué à l’ensemble des projets. Ceux dont le RVP se situe dans cette première tranche profitent ainsi d’un coût du carbone inférieur à zéro (produisant donc un rajustement des revenus vers le haut) alors que ce coût augmente graduellement pour les autres (avec rajustement correspondant des revenus vers le bas). Des précisions sur les calculs propres au carbone et les politiques provinciales sont présentées dans le rapport avenir énergétique 2017.

Les données pour les figures des années A et B peuvent être consultées sous forme de fichiers Excel.

 

Date de modification :