Provincial and Territorial Energy Profiles - Ontario

Table of Contents
  • Figure 1: Hydrocarbon Production

    Figure 1: Hydrocarbon Production

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    NEB (Crude oil, natural gas)

    Description:
    This graph shows hydrocarbon production in Ontario from 2006 to 2016. Over this period, crude oil production has decreased from 2.2 Mb/d to 0.6 Mb/d. Natural gas production has deceased from 25 MMcf/d to 7 MMcf/d.

  • Figure 2: Electricity Generation by Fuel Type (2016)

    Figure 2: Electricity Generation by Fuel Type (2016)

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    NEB

    Description:
    This pie chart shows electricity generation by source in Ontario. A total of 156.0 TW.h of electricity was generated in 2016.

  • Figure 3: Electricity Capacity and Primary Fuel Sources Map

    Figure 3: Electricity Capacity and Primary Fuel Sources Map

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    NEB, Natural Resources Canada

    Description:
    This map shows electricity generation facilities in Ontario. Facilities are shown by capacity and by primary fuel source.

    Download:
    PDF version [1960 KB]

  • Figure 4: Crude Oil Infrastructure Map

    Figure 4: Crude Oil Infrastructure Map

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    NEB

    Description:
    This map shows all major crude oil pipelines, rail lines, and refineries in Ontario.

    Download:
    PDF version [607 KB]

  • Figure 5: Natural Gas Infrastructure Map

    Figure 5: Natural Gas Infrastructure Map

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    NEB

    Description:
    This map shows all major natural gas pipelines in Ontario.

    Download:
    PDF version [923 KB]

  • Figure 6: End-Use Demand by Sector (2015)

    Figure 6: End-Use Demand by Sector (2015)

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    NEB

    Description:
    This pie chart shows end-use energy demand in Ontario by sector. Total end-use energy demand was 3 050 PJ in 2015. The largest sector was industrial at 35 % of total demand, followed by transportation (at 29 %), residential (at 20 %), and lastly, commercial (at 16 %).

  • Figure 7: End-Use Demand by Fuel (2015)

    Figure 7: End-use Demand by Fuel (2015)

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    NEB

    Description:
    This figure shows end-use demand by fuel type in Ontario in 2015. Refined petroleum products accounted for 1 402 PJ (46 %) of demand, followed by natural gas at 919 PJ (30 %), electricity at 494 PJ (16 %), biofuels at 130 PJ (4 %), and other at 104 PJ (3 %).

    Note: "Other" includes coal, coke, and coke oven gas.

  • Figure 8: GHG Emissions by Sector (2015)

    Figure 8: GHG Emissions by Sector (2015)

    Source and Description:

    Source:
    Environment and Climate Change Canada – National Inventory Report

    Description:
    This stacked column graph shows GHG emissions in Ontario by sector every five years from 1990 to 2015 in MT of CO2e. Total GHG emissions have decreased in Ontario from 181 MT of CO2e in 1990 to 166 MT of CO2e in 2015.

Energy Production

Crude Oil

  • Ontario produced 1.0 thousand barrels per day (Mb/d) of light oil in 2016 (Figure 1). Ontario’s production represents less than 0.1% of total Canadian oil production.
  • Ontario is home to Canada’s first commercial oil production when oil was discovered near Black Creek (later renamed Oil Springs) in 1858. Large oil deposits were discovered in the 1860s in Petrolia, just north of Oil Springs.
  • All of Ontario’s oil production occurs in southwestern Ontario.

Refined Petroleum Products (RPPs)

  • Ontario has four refineries: Imperial, Suncor, and Shell in Sarnia, and Imperial in Nanticoke. These refineries have a total capacity of 417 Mb/d, which gives Ontario the 2nd largest refining capacity after Alberta and accounts for 21% of total Canadian refining capacity.
  • Western Canada supplied the majority of Ontario’s refinery demand in 2016, although United States (U.S.) imports increased in 2016 to account for 26% of total crude oil consumed by Ontario’s refineries.

Natural Gas/Natural Gas Liquids (NGLs)

  • In 2016, natural gas production in Ontario averaged 11.0 million cubic feet per day (MMcf/d) (Figure 1). Ontario’s production represented less than 1% of total Canadian natural gas production in 2016.
  • Natural gas is produced in southwestern Ontario near Sarnia.
  • There is no field production of NGLs in Ontario. Small volumes of propane and butane are produced in Ontario’s refineries.

Electricity and Renewables

  • In 2016, Ontario generated 156.0 terawatt hours (TW.h) of electricity (Figure 2), which is approximately 24% of total Canadian generation. Ontario is the 2nd largest producer of electricity in Canada and has a generating capacity of 40 215 megawatts (MW).
  • About 90% of electricity in Ontario is produced from zero-carbon emitting sources: 58% from nuclear, 23% from hydroelectricity, 8% from wind, and 2% from solar. The remaining 9% is primarily from natural gas, with some biomass and diesel. Ontario’s electricity generating capacity is primarily located in the southern portion of the province with significant hydro generating stations located in eastern Ontario in the Ottawa River basin and northeastern Ontario in the Moose River basin (Figure 3).
  • Three nuclear stations with a combined 13 500 MW of capacity provide the bulk of Ontario’s baseload generation. Bruce Power on the east shore of Lake Huron is the largest, with eight generation units and a capacity of about 6 000 MW. It is the largest nuclear power plant currently operating in the world.
  • Ontario has over 65 hydroelectricity generation facilities and a total hydroelectric capacity of
    8 872 MW.
  • Ontario leads Canada in wind capacity. About 4 826 MW of wind capacity was added between 2005 and 2016.
  • About 98% of solar capacity in Canada is installed in Ontario. In 2016, solar in Ontario had a total capacity of 2 291 MW.
  • Ontario Power Generation is the largest utility in Ontario’s competitive electricity market, with over 16 000 MW of capacity.

Energy Transportation and Trade

Crude Oil and Liquids

  • Sarnia is the major oil pipeline, petrochemical, and refinery hub in Ontario. Sarnia receives crude oil from western Canada and North Dakota via Enbridge’s Line 5 and 6B, which have capacities of 540 Mb/d and 500 Mb/d, respectively (Figure 4).
  • Enbridge’s Lines 9 and 7 run eastwards from Sarnia to supply refineries in eastern Ontario and Quebec. Line 9 has a capacity of 300 Mb/d and transports crude oil to Westover, Ontario and Montreal, Quebec. Line 7 has a capacity of 180 Mb/d and also delivers crude oil to Westover. At Westover, both pipelines interconnect with Enbridge’s Line 10 and Line 11.
  • Line 10 has a capacity of 74 Mb/d and delivers crude oil to the Union Oil refinery in Warren, Pennsylvania. Line 11 has a capacity of 117 Mb/d and supplies Imperial’s Nanticoke refinery.
  • The Trans-Northern Pipeline delivers refined petroleum products, such as gasoline and diesel, and links refineries in Montreal, Quebec with major markets and distribution centres in Ontario.
  • There are no crude-by-rail offloading facilities in Ontario.

Natural Gas

  • The TransCanada Mainline begins at the Alberta/Saskatchewan border and transports western Canadian gas through the prairies to Ontario (Figure 5).
  • The Mainline has interconnects with other pipelines at several import/export points in southern Ontario. It also connects to the Trans-Quebec and Maritimes (TQM) pipeline at the Ontario/Quebec border.
  • Historically, Ontario was a consumer of western Canadian natural gas and flowed through more natural gas to the U.S. than it imported. In recent years, Ontario has become a net importer and has increased gas imports from the U.S. Northeast and Midcontinent.
  • Dawn Hub, one of North America’s major natural gas trading hubs and pricing benchmarks, is located in Ontario. With a capacity of about 240 billion cubic feet (Bcf), Dawn is home to approximately 30% of Canada’s underground natural gas storage.
  • Ontario’s two main distribution companies are Union Gas and Enbridge Gas Distribution Inc. (EGDI). Union operates more than 69 000 kilometres (km) of main, service, and transmission lines in Ontario and serves 1.4 million customers in over 400 communities. EGDI operates more than 82 600 km of pipelines in Ontario and serves 2.1 million customers in over 100 communities. Both Union and EGDI are regulated by the Ontario Energy Board.

Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG)

  • Union Gas operates a small-scale LNG facility near Sudbury, Ontario. It has been in operation since 1968.
  • A small-scale LNG facility in Thorold, Ontario has been proposed by Northeast Midstream. The project has received local and provincial permits, and has a proposed capacity of 29.7 MMcf/d.  

Electricity

  • Most of Ontario’s electricity trade flows from north to south. Ontario’s net exports were 14.0 TW.h in 2016.
  • Hydro One owns and operates almost all of Ontario’s transmission capacity and has 29 000 km of transmission lines. There are over 70 distribution companies operating in Ontario.
  • Ontario has interconnections with Manitoba, Quebec, Michigan, Minnesota, and New York.

Energy Consumption and Greenhouse Gas (GHG) Emissions

Total Energy Consumption

  • End-use demand in Ontario was 3 050 petajoules (PJ) in 2015. The largest sector for energy demand was industrial at 35% of total demand, followed by transportation at 29%, residential at 21%, and commercial at 16% (Figure 6). Ontario’s total energy demand was the 2nd largest in Canada, and the 9th largest on a per capita basis.
  • Natural gas was the largest fuel type consumed in Ontario, accounting for 1 402 PJ, or 46%. Refined petroleum products and electricity accounted for 919 PJ (31%) and 494 PJ (16%), respectively (Figure 7).

Refined Petroleum Products (RPPs)

  • Refineries in the province produce roughly 70% of Ontario’s demand for RPPs, including gasoline. Imports are mainly from Quebec, delivered via the Trans-Northern Pipeline, rail, and truck. Imports also come from the U.S. Midwest. In 2015, roughly 16% of total Canadian RPP imports were for the Ontario market.
  • Ontario is the largest market in Canada for RPPs. Total 2016 demand in Ontario for RPPs was 607 Mb/d, or 34% of total Canadian RPP demand. Of Ontario’s total demand, 284 Mb/d was for motor gasoline and 90 Mb/d was for diesel.

Natural Gas

  • Ontario consumed an average of 2.3 billion cubic feet per day (Bcf/d) of natural gas in 2016. Ontario demand represented 28% of total Canadian demand and made it the largest consuming province after Alberta.
  • Ontario’s largest consuming sector for natural gas was the industrial sector, which consumed 1.0 Bcf/d in 2016. The residential and commercial sectors consumed 0.79 Bcf/d and 0.53 Bcf/d, respectively.

Electricity

  • In 2015, annual electricity consumption per capita in Ontario was 9.8 megawatt hours (MW.h). Ontario ranked 12th in Canada for per capita electricity consumption and consumed 32% less than the national average.
  • Ontario’s largest consuming sector for electricity in 2015 was residential at 47.9 TW.h. The commercial and industrial sectors consumed 47.1 TW.h and 41.7 TW.h, respectively. Ontario’s electricity demand has grown only 5% since 2005.

GHG Emissions

  • Ontario’s GHG emissions in 2015 were 166.2 megatonnes (MT) of carbon dioxide equivalent (CO2e). Ontario’s emissions have declined 8% since 1990.Footnote 1
  • Ontario’s emissions per capita are the 3rd lowest in Canada, at 12.0 tonnes of CO2e – 40% below the Canadian average of 20.1 tonnes per capita.
  • The largest emitting sectors in Ontario are transportation at 33% of emissions, buildings (residential and commercial) at 22%, and heavy industries (including iron, steel, and chemicals) at 12% (Figure 8).
  • Ontario’s GHG emissions from the oil and gas sector in 2015 were 10.3 MT CO2e. Of this total, 2.2 MT were attributable to production, processing, and transmission and 8.0 MT were attributable to petroleum refining and natural gas distribution.
  • In 2015, Ontario’s electricity sector emitted 5.2 MT CO2e emissions, or 7% of total Canadian GHG emissions attributable to power generation. Ontario’s GHG emissions from power generation peaked in 2000 at 42.6 MT CO2e and then saw emissions decline as it phased out coal-fired generation from 2005 to 2014.

More Information

 

Date modified:

Profils énergétiques des provinces et territoires – Ontario

Table des matières
  • Figure 1 : Production d’hydrocarbures

    Figure 1 : Production d’hydrocarbures

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Office (pétrole brut, gaz naturel)

    Description :
    Ce graphique illustre la production d’hydrocarbures en Ontario de 2006 à 2016. Au cours de cette période, la production de pétrole brut a diminué, passant de 2,2 kb/j à 0,6 kb/j. La production de gaz naturel a diminué, passant de 25 Mpi3/j à 7 Mpi3/j.

  • Figure 2 : Production d’électricité par type de combustible (2016)

    Figure 2 :Production d’électricité par type de  combustible (2016)

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Office

    Description :
    Ce diagramme circulaire illustre la production d’électricité en Ontario par méthode de production. En 2016, la production totale d’électricité s’est élevée à 156,0 TWh.

  • Figure 3 : Carte de la capacité de production d’électricité et des sources de combustible primaire

    Figure 3 : Carte de la capacité de production d’électricité et des sources de combustible primaire

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Office, Ressources naturelles Canada

    Description :
    Cette carte montre les installations de production d’électricité en Ontario. On y indique leur capacité et leur source du combustible primaire.

    Télécharger :
    Version PDF [3537 KB]

  • Figure 4 : Carte de l’infrastructure de pétrole brut

    Figure 4 : Carte de l’infrastructure de pétrole brut

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Office

    Description :
    Cette carte montre tous les principaux oléoducs ainsi que les principales voies ferrées et raffineries en Ontario.

    Télécharger :
    Version PDF [720 KB]

  • Figure 5 : Carte de l’infrastructure de gaz naturel

    Figure 5 : Carte de l’infrastructure de gaz naturel

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Office

    Description :
    Cette carte montre tous les principaux gazoducs en Ontario.

    Télécharger :
    Version PDF [1150 KB]

  • Figure 6 : Demande pour utilisation finale par secteur (2015)

    Figure 6 : Demande pour utilisation finale par secteur (2015)

    Source et description :

    Source :
    NEB

    Description :
    Ce diagramme circulaire présente la demande d’énergie pour utilisation finale en Ontario par secteur. En 2015, la demande d’énergie pour utilisation finale a totalisé 3 050 PJ. Le secteur industriel venait au premier rang avec 35 % de la demande totale, suivi du secteur des transports (29 %) et des secteurs résidentiel (20 %) et commercial (16 %).

  • Figure 7 : Demande pour utilisation finale par combustible (2015)

    Figure 7 : Demande pour utilisation finale par combustible (2015)

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Office

    Description :
    Cette figure illustre la demande pour utilisation finale par type de combustible en Ontario en 2015. Les produits pétroliers raffinés ont compté pour 1 402 PJ (46 %) de la demande, suivis du gaz naturel, avec 919 PJ (30 %), de l’électricité, à 494 PJ (16 %), des biocarburants, à 130 PJ (4 %) et des autres, à 104 PJ (3 %).

    Remarque : Les « autres » désignent charbon, coke et gaz de cokerie.

  • Figure 8 : Émissions de GES par secteur

    Figure 8 : Émissions de GES par secteur

    Source et description :

    Source :
    Environnement et Changement climatique Canada   Rapport d'inventaire national

    Description :
    Ce graphique à colonnes empilées illustre les émissions de GES en Ontario par tranches de cinq ans, de 1990 à 2015 en Mt d’éq. CO2. Les émissions totales de GES ont diminué en Ontario, passant de 181 Mt d’éq. CO2 en 1990 à 166 Mt d’éq. CO2 en 2015.

Production d’énergie

Pétrole brut

  • L’Ontario a produit 1,0 millier de barils par jour (kb/j) de pétrole léger en 2016 (figure 1), soit moins de 0,1 % de la production canadienne totale de pétrole.
  • C’est en Ontario qu’a eu lieu la première production commerciale de pétrole au Canada, lorsqu’un gisement a été découvert en 1858, près de la ville de Black Creek (plus tard renommée Oil Springs). D’importants gisements de pétrole ont été découverts en 1860 à Petrolia, tout juste au nord d’Oil Springs.
  • L’ensemble de la production de pétrole de l’Ontario se fait dans le sud-ouest de la province.

Produits pétroliers raffinés

  • L’Ontario compte quatre raffineries, soit celles de L’Impériale, de Suncor et de Shell à Sarnia, et celle de L’Impériale à Nanticoke. Ces raffineries ont une capacité totale de 417 kb/j, ce qui confère à l’Ontario la deuxième capacité de raffinage au Canada, après l’Alberta; elle abrite 21 % de la capacité totale de raffinage au pays.
  • L’Ouest canadien a répondu à la plus grande partie de la demande des raffineries de l’Ontario en 2015; l’augmentation des importations des États-Unis en 2016 explique 26 % du total de pétrole brut consommé par les raffineries de l’Ontario.

Gaz naturel et liquides de gaz naturel (LGN)

  • En 2016, on a produit, en moyenne, 11,0 millions de pieds cubes par jour (Mpi3/j) de gaz naturel en Ontario (figure 1), soit moins de 1 % de la production canadienne totale.
  • Le gaz naturel est produit dans le sud-ouest de la province, près de Sarnia.
  • Il n’y a pas de production sur le terrain de LGN en Ontario. Les raffineries de la province produisent du propane et du butane en petites quantités.

Électricité et ressources renouvelables

  • En 2016, l’Ontario a produit 156,0 térawattheures (TWh) d’électricité (figure 2), ce qui correspond approximativement à 24 % de la production totale d’électricité au Canada. L’Ontario vient au deuxième rang au pays à ce chapitre, avec une capacité de production de 40 215 mégawatts (MW).
  • Environ 90 % de l’électricité produite en Ontario provient de sources sans émissions de carbone : 58 % de l’énergie nucléaire, 23 % de l’hydroélectricité, 8 % de l’énergie éolienne et 2 % de l’énergie solaire. Les 9 % restants proviennent principalement du gaz naturel, de la biomasse et du diesel. Les installations de production d’électricité de l’Ontario sont surtout situées dans le sud de la province, mais on trouve de grandes centrales hydroélectriques dans l’est, sur la rivière des Outaouais, et dans le nord-est, dans le bassin de la rivière Moose (figure 3).
  • Trois centrales nucléaires ayant une capacité combinée de 13 500 MW fournissent la production de base de l’Ontario. La centrale Bruce [anglais seulement], située sur la rive est du Lac Huron, est la plus imposante, avec huit réacteurs et une capacité de 6 000 MW. Il s’agit de la plus grande centrale nucléaire en exploitation dans le monde à l’heure actuelle.
  • L’Ontario compte plus de 65 centrales hydroélectriques dont la capacité totale de production s’élève à 8 872 MW.
  • L’Ontario vient au premier rang au Canada pour la capacité éolienne. Environ 4 826 MW de capacité du genre ont été ajoutés de 2005 à 2016.
  • Environ 98 % de la capacité en énergie solaire du Canada provient d’installations situées dans cette province. En 2016, la capacité de production à partir de l’énergie solaire de la province se chiffrait à 2 291 MW.
  • La centrale Ontario Power Generation [anglais seulement] est la plus grande installation dans le marché de l’électricité concurrentiel de l’Ontario, avec une capacité de plus de 16 000 MW.

Transport et commerce de l’énergie

Pétrole brut et liquides

  • Sarnia constitue le plus important carrefour de pétrochimie, d’oléoducs et de raffinage en Ontario. Elle reçoit du pétrole brut de l’Ouest canadien et du Dakota du Nord par l’intermédiaire des canalisations 5 et 6B d’Enbridge, dont la capacité respective est de 540 kb/j et 500 kb/j (figure 4).
  • Les canalisations 9 et 7 d’Enbridge s’étendent vers l’est depuis Sarnia et approvisionnent les raffineries de l’Est de l’Ontario et du Québec. La canalisation 9 a une capacité 300 kb/j et transporte du pétrole brut vers Westover (Ontario) et Montréal (Québec). La canalisation 7 possède une capacité of 180 kb/j; elle achemine aussi du pétrole brut vers Westover. À cet endroit, les deux pipelines se raccordent aux canalisations 10 et 11 d’Enbridge.
  • La canalisation 10, d’une capacité de 74 kb/j, alimente en pétrole brut la raffinerie d’Union Oil à Warren, en Pennsylvanie. D’une capacité de 117 kb/j, la canalisation 11 approvisionne la raffinerie de l’Impériale, à Nanticoke.
  • Le pipeline Trans-Nord transporte des produits pétroliers raffinés, comme de l’essence et du diesel, et relie les raffineries de Montréal, au Québec, aux plus importants marchés et centres de distribution en Ontario.
  • Il n’y a pas d’installation de déchargement ferroviaire de pétrole brut en Ontario.

Gaz naturel

  • Le réseau principal de TransCanada prend son origine à la frontière de la Saskatchewan et de l’Alberta et transporte du gaz naturel de l’Ouest canadien à travers les Prairies vers l’Ontario (figure 5).
  • Le réseau principal se raccorde à d’autres canalisations à plusieurs points d’importation et d’exportation dans le Sud de l’Ontario. Il rejoint également le pipeline Trans-Québec et Maritimes (TQM) à la frontière entre l’Ontario et le Québec.
  • L’Ontario était traditionnellement une consommatrice de gaz naturel de l’Ouest canadien et il y circulait plus de gaz naturel vers les États-Unis qu’elle en importait. Ces dernières années, elle est devenue importatrice nette et elle a augmenté ses importations de gaz du Nord-Est des États-Unis et du centre du continent.
  • Le carrefour Dawn, une des principales plaques tournantes de commerce de gaz naturel et d’établissement des prix de référence en Amérique du Nord, est situé en Ontario. Avec une capacité d’environ 240 milliards de pieds cubes (Gpi3), Dawn est le lieu d’entreposage souterrain d’environ 30 % du gaz naturel au Canada..
  • Les deux plus grandes sociétés de distribution de l’Ontario sont Union Gas [anglais seulement] et Enbridge Gas Distribution Inc. [anglais seulement] (EGDI). Union Gas exploite plus 69 000 km de canalisations de réseau, d’approvisionnement et de transport en Ontario, en plus de desservir 1,4 million de clients dans au-delà de 400 collectivités. EGDI exploite plus de 82 600 km de canalisations en Ontario et dessert 2,1 millions de clients dans plus de 100 collectivités. Union Gas et EGDI sont toutes deux assujetties à la réglementation de la Commission de l’énergie de l’Ontario.

Gaz naturel liquéfié (GNL)

  • Union Gas exploite une petite usine de GNL près de Sudbury, en Ontario, qui est en activité depuis 1968.
  • La société Northeast Midstream [anglais seulement] a proposé une autre usine de GNL de petite taille à Thorold, en Ontario. Le projet a reçu les autorisations locales et provinciales; elle aurait une capacité de 29,7 Mpi3/j.  

Électricité

  • La plupart des échanges commerciaux d’électricité de l’Ontario se font du nord au sud [anglais seulement]. En 2016, les exportations nettes d’électricité de l’Ontario ont totalisé 14,0 TWh.
  • Hydro One [anglais seulement] possède et exploite presque toute l’infrastructure de transmission de l’Ontario, notamment 29 000 km de lignes de transport. Il existe plus de 70 sociétés de distribution en activité en Ontario.
  • L’Ontario a des interconnexions avec le Manitoba, le Québec, le Michigan, le Minnesota et l’État de New York.

Consommation d’énergie et émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES)

Consommation totale d’énergie

  • En 2015, la demande pour utilisation finale en Ontario a totalisé 3 050 pétajoules (PJ). Le secteur industriel vient au premier rang pour la demande d’énergie, avec 35 % de la demande totale, suivi des transports, à 29 %, du secteur résidentiel, à 21 %, et du secteur commercial, à 16 % (figure 6). L’Ontario arrive au deuxième rang au Canada pour la demande totale d’énergie et au neuvième rang pour la plus forte consommation par habitant.
  • Le gaz naturel est le principal type de combustible utilisé en Ontario, avec une consommation de 1 402 PJ, ou 46 % de la demande totale. Suivaient les produits pétroliers raffinés et l’électricité avec 919 PJ (31 %) et 494 PJ (16 %), respectivement (figure 7).

Produits pétroliers raffinés

  • Les raffineries dans la province produisent environ 70 % de la demande produits pétroliers raffinés de l’Ontario, y compris l’essence. Les importations proviennent principalement du Québec, par le pipeline Trans Nord, par train et par camion. Il y a aussi des importations qui viennent du Midwest américain. En 2015, environ 16 % du total des produits pétroliers raffinés importés au Canada étaient destinés au marché ontarien.
  • L’Ontario constitue le plus grand marché au Canada pour les produits pétroliers raffinés. En 2016, la demande totale de produits pétroliers raffinés de l’Ontario s’est élevée à 607 kb/j, soit 34 % de la demande pour l’ensemble du Canada. De ce volume, on estime que 284 kb/j étaient pour l’essence automobile et 90 kb/j pour le diesel.

Gaz naturel

  • En 2016, la consommation de gaz naturel de l’Ontario a totalisé, en moyenne, 2,3 milliards de pieds cubes par jour (Gpi3/j), soit 28 % de la demande canadienne totale, ce qui fait de cette province la plus grande consommatrice de gaz naturel au pays après l’Alberta.
  • En 2016, le plus grand consommateur de gaz naturel en Ontario a été le secteur industriel, avec une consommation de 1,0 Gpi3/j. La consommation des secteurs résidentiel et commercial s’est quant à elle chiffrée 0,79 Gpi3/j et 0,53 Gpi3/j, respectivement.

Électricité

  • En 2015, la consommation d’électricité par habitant en Ontario s’est établie à 9,8 mégawattheures (MWh). La province arrive au douzième rang au Canada pour la consommation d’électricité par habitant, qui se situe à 32 % sous la moyenne nationale.
  • En Ontario, c’est le secteur résidentiel qui a enregistré la plus forte consommation d’électricité en 2015, avec 47,9 TWh. Viennent ensuite les secteurs commercial et résidentiel, à 47,1 TWh et 41,7 TWh, respectivement. La demande d’électricité en Ontario n’a augmenté que de 5 % depuis 2005.

Émissions de GES

  • En 2015, les émissions de GES de l’Ontario ont totalisé 166,2 mégatonnes (Mt) d’équivalent en dioxyde de carbone (éq. CO2), une baisse de 8 % depuis 1990.Note de bas de page 1
  • Les émissions par habitant de l’Ontario sont les troisièmes plus basses au Canada, à 12,0 tonnes d’éq. CO2, soit 40 % sous la moyenne nationale de 20,1 tonnes par habitant.
  • Les secteurs qui émettent le plus de GES en Ontario sont les transports, avec 33 % du total, les bâtiments (résidentiels et commerciaux), à 22 %, et les industries lourdes (fer, acier et produits chimiques), à 12 % (figure 8).
  • En 2015, les émissions de GES du secteur pétrolier et gazier de l’Ontario ont totalisé 10,3 Mt d’éq. CO2. De ce total, 2,2 Mt étaient attribuables à la production, à la transformation et au transport, et 8,0 Mt découlaient du raffinage du pétrole et de la distribution du gaz naturel.
  • En 2015, le secteur de la production d’électricité de la province a émis 5,2 Mt d’éq. CO2, soit 7 % du total des émissions canadiennes de GES provenant de la production d’électricité. Les émissions de GES de l’Ontario découlant de la production d’énergie ont connu un sommet en 2000, à 42,6 Mt d’éq. CO2, puis ont diminué graduellement, au fur et à mesure que cette province délaissait la production d’énergie par le charbon, de 2005 à 2014

Complément d’information

 

Date de modification :