Market Snapshot: Growing electric vehicle incentives in Canada

Release date: 2018-01-17

Canada has a small but growing fleet of electric vehicles (EVs). EV sales are accelerating, but account for less than 1% of car sales in Canada. Various policies and incentives, lower vehicle prices, increased driving range, and faster charging times are encouraging people to buy EVs.

Subsidies and incentives

Through its Transportation Electrification Action Plan, aiming at electrifying the transportation system, the government of Quebec offers a discount up to $8 000 for each individual electric vehicle sold. Similarly, Ontario offers rebates between $3 000 and $14 000 for various types and sizes of electric vehicles under its Electric Vehicles Incentive Program. British Columbia also has its own Clean Energy Vehicle Program that offers incentives varying from $2 500 to $5 000.

Many other benefits have been implemented throughout the country as part of these programs. One benefit is privileged parking lots in strategic locations like bus terminals and shopping malls. Another is the ability to drive in reserved lanes. For example, since 2014 EVs can use the reserved lane of the Robert-Bourassa Highway in Québec city, no matter how many passengers are on board. At least 10 highways offer similar benefits to EVs in that province. Combined, these policies and incentives are intended to make EVs more attractive to the consumer. An exhaustive list of the initiatives taken by the government of Quebec can be found here.

A graph shows the driving range in kilometers and car price for 2017 North American EVs compared to the Toyota Corolla
Source and Description

Source: U.S. Department of Energy

Description: This graph shows the driving range in kilometers and car price for 2017 North American EVs compared to the Toyota Corolla. EVs from the car manufacturer Tesla are shown in blue, other EVs are in grey and the Toyota Corolla is in orange. Prices vary from $20 590 to $135 550. The ranges vary from 95km to 658km.

Vehicle price

Prices are decreasing sharply for EVs. Although Tesla has so far dominated the market with vehicles costing in excess of $60 000, less expensive new electric models are gradually becoming available, many of them in the $20 000-$40 000 price range.

Vehicle range

The range, or furthest distance an EV can travel without charging, continues to be a concern. For contrast, the Toyota Corolla, one of the top selling internal combustion engine vehicles in Canada, travels approximately 640 km between fill ups. This is about 19% further than the highest range EV, whose maximal range is 540 km. Range anxiety, the fear of a battery discharging before reaching the driver’s destination, is one of the major barriers to large scale adoption of EVs. The range of electric vehicles has been increasing sharply in the last few years.

Fuel price

Fuel price is a factor for consumers when comparing EVs to traditional internal combustion engines. Electric vehicles are more efficient, so price is an advantage, especially in regions where the price of electricity is low as in Quebec and Manitoba.

Charging time

Electric vehicles still face battery-related challenges such as considerable battery cost, decreasing electricity storage capacity over time and charging time. Fully recharging a battery can take from 4 to 8 hours with basic charging stations. Conversely, DC Fast Charging stations take around 30 minutes for an 80% charge. Fast technological advancements are likely to lessen these impacts.

Electric vehicles are a very small part of the fleet in Canada, but their market share is growing quickly and steadily. Range and price have an important impact on this market, but other factors such as public policies, incentives and future oil prices will also play a major role in determining the speed of growth of the electric vehicle market in Canada.

 

Date modified:

Aperçu du marché : Multiplication des programmes d’encouragement pour les véhicules électriques au Canada

Date de diffusion : 2018-01-17

Le parc de véhicules électriques au Canada est limité, mais il est en croissance. Malgré l’essor des ventes de ces véhicules, celles-ci comptent pour moins de 1 % de toutes les ventes de voitures au pays [anglais seulement]. La multiplication des programmes et politiques d’encouragement, la baisse des prix des véhicules, l’augmentation de leur autonomie et la réduction du temps de charge sont autant de facteurs qui incitent les gens à acheter des véhicules électriques.

Subventions et encouragements

Dans le cadre de son Plan d’action en électrification des transports, le gouvernement du Québec offre un rabais allant jusqu’à 8 000 $ à l’achat d’un véhicule électrique, selon le modèle. Pour sa part, le Programme d’encouragement pour les véhicules électriques. de l’Ontario accorde des subventions de 3 000 $ à 14 000 $, selon le type et la taille du véhicule électrique acheté. La Colombie-Britannique dispose aussi d’un programme pour les véhicules utilisant de l’énergie propre (Clean Energy Vehicle Program [anglais seulement]), dont les encouragements varient de 2 500 $ à 5 000 $.

De nombreux autres privilèges sont accordés un peu partout au pays dans le cadre de tels programmes. Au nombre de ceux-ci, on trouve des espaces de stationnement réservés dans des endroits stratégiques, comme les terminus d’autobus et les centres commerciaux. L’autorisation d’emprunter les voies réservées en est un autre. C’est le cas, notamment, depuis 2014, sur l’autoroute Robert-Bourassa, à Québec, et cela, sans égard au nombre de passagers à bord du véhicule. Des privilèges du genre sont offerts sur au moins dix autoroutes de la province. Collectivement, ces politiques et privilèges visent à rendre les véhicules électriques plus attrayants pour les consommateurs. Vous trouverez une liste complète des mesures mises en place par le gouvernement du Québec.

Ce diagramme compare l’autonomie, en kilomètres, et les prix de voitures électriques nord-américaines 2017 à la Corolla de Toyota
Source et description

Source : Département américain de l’Énergie [anglais sulement]

Description : Ce diagramme compare l’autonomie, en kilomètres, et les prix de voitures électriques nord-américaines 2017 à la Corolla de Toyota. Les véhicules électriques de marque Tesla sont indiqués par des points bleus et les autres véhicules électriques par des points gris. La Corolla de Toyota est représentée par des points orange. Les prix varient de 20 590 $ à 135 550 $ et l’autonomie, de 95 km à 658 km.

Prix des véhicules

Les prix des véhicules électriques ont considérablement baissé. Bien que le marché ait été dominé jusqu’à présent par des véhicules de marque Tesla coûtant plus de 60 000 $, l’offre de nouveaux modèles électriques plus abordables – beaucoup d’entre eux se situant dans la fourchette de 20 000 $ à 40 000 $ – augmente sans cesse.

Autonomie des véhicules

L’autonomie, c’est-à-dire la distance maximale qu’un véhicule électrique peut parcourir sur une seule et même charge, demeure une préoccupation. Or, la Corolla de Toyota, l’un des véhicules à moteur à combustion interne les plus vendus au Canada, peut parcourir quelque 640 km avec un plein. Il s’agit d’un avantage de 19 % sur le plan de l’autonomie par rapport aux véhicules électriques les plus autonomes, qui peuvent parcourir 540 km. La crainte entourant l’autonomie – soit que la charge de la batterie s’épuise avant de parvenir à destination – constitue l’un des principaux obstacles à l’adoption répandue des véhicules électriques. Cependant, on a enregistré des gains considérables à ce chapitre depuis quelques années.

Prix du carburant

Le prix du carburant est un élément que les consommateurs prennent en considération quand ils comparent les véhicules électriques à ceux propulsés par un moteur à combustion interne classique. Les véhicules électriques sont plus efficaces; le prix est donc un avantage, en particulier dans les régions où l’électricité coûte peu cher, comme au Québec et au Manitoba.

Temps de charge

Les défis liés aux batteries [anglais seulement] des véhicules électriques sont nombreux : coût très élevé, diminution progressive de la capacité de stockage d’énergie et temps de charge. Il faut compter entre quatre et huit heures pour recharger complètement la batterie d’un véhicule électrique dans un poste de charge de base. Par contre, dans les postes de charge rapide à courant continu [anglais seulement] il ne faut qu’une trentaine de minutes pour retrouver 80 % de la charge. Il est probable que les avancées technologiques, réalisées à un rythme soutenu, atténueront ces inconvénients.

Les véhicules électriques ne représentent qu’une très petite fraction du parc de véhicules au Canada, mais leur part de marché progresse rapidement et de façon constante. Ce marché est très sensible à l’autonomie et aux prix, mais d’autres facteurs, notamment les politiques publiques, les encouragements et les prix futurs du pétrole, joueront un rôle important dans l’essor que connaîtra le marché des véhicules électriques au Canada.

 

Date de modification :