Market Snapshot: Why do Canadians use so much oil?

Release date: 2018-01-24

Canada is the 3rd largest consumer of oil per person among the world’s most economically advanced countries (the OECDFootnote 1). This is primarily due to the transportation sector, which accounts for 60% of Canadian oil demandFootnote 2. The relatively sparse population, number of vehicles on the road, and the long distances people and goods must be transported to cross the country may explain Canada’s relatively high transportation fuel consumption per capita.

The industrial sector accounts for nearly 30% of Canada’s oil demand. Canada has relatively large mining, oil and gas extraction, and manufacturing sectors, which tend to be oil-intensive. Lastly, the commercial and agricultural sectors combined make up 9% of oil demand while the residential sector is 2%. These sectors use oil-based fuels for heating and electricity, with increased demand during the relatively cold, dark Canadian winters. All of these factors paired with a relatively small population contribute to Canada’s high oil use per person.

*Luxembourg estimated for 2016

Source and Description

Source: EIA, World Bank, NEB calculations

Description: This chart shows the four countries in the OECD with the most barrels of oil consumed per 1 000 people. It also shows the average number of oil barrels consumed per capita among all the OECD countries. In 2000, barrels per day of oil consumed per capita were: 40 in Luxembourg; 34 in South Korea; 24 in Canada; and 26 in the United States. In 2000, an average of 14 barrels were consumed per capita among the entire OECD. In 2016, the barrels per day of oil consumed per capita were: 36 in Luxembourg (estimated); 40 in South Korea; 24 in Canada; and 22 in the United States. In 2016, an average of 12 barrels were consumed per capita among the entire OECD.

Many factors can contribute to determining a county’s per capita oil consumptionFootnote 3. For example, in the U.S., a large transportation sector and high level of vehicle ownership contribute to higher oil consumptionFootnote 4. South Korea consumes a lot of oil for manufacturing and refiningFootnote 5. Luxembourg’s transportation sector accounts for 88% of total oil consumption especially freightFootnote 6. With a relatively small population, this results in high oil consumption per capita.

Date modified:

Aperçu du marché : Pourquoi le Canada consomme-t-il autant de pétrole?

Date de diffusion : 2018-01-24

Selon l’OCDENote de bas de page 1, le Canada se place au troisième rang des pays les plus avancés du monde sur le plan économique pour la consommation de pétrole. Le classement est principalement attribuable à la demande du secteur des transports, qui compte pour 60 % de la demande de pétrole de l’ensemble du paysNote de bas de page 2. En effet, la densité de population relativement faible, le nombre de véhicules sur la route et le transport des marchandises et des personnes sur de grandes distances sont autant de facteurs pouvant expliquer la grande consommation de carburant par personne.

Au Canada, près de 30 % de la demande de pétrole provient du secteur industriel. Le pays compte d’importants secteurs (mines, extraction pétrolière et gazière, fabrication [anglais seulement]), qui consomment beaucoup de pétrole. Combinés, les secteurs commercial et agricole représentent 9 % de la demande de pétrole et le secteur résidentiel, 2 %. Ces secteurs utilisent des combustibles à base de pétrole pour leurs besoins en chauffage et en électricité, dont la demande augmente pendant les mois d’hiver, où il fait froid et sombre. La faible population alliée aux facteurs susmentionnés fait en sorte que le Canada affiche une forte consommation de pétrole par habitant.

*La consommation du Luxembourg a été estimée pour 2016.

Source et description

Source : Agence internationale de l’énergie [anglais seulement], Banque mondiale [anglais seulement], et calculs de l’Office

Description : Le graphique montre les quatre pays membres de l’OCDE qui consomment le plus de pétrole, en barils par millier de personnes, ainsi que le nombre moyen de barils de pétrole consommés par habitant parmi tous les pays membres de l’OCDE. En 2000, le nombre de barils de pétrole par habitant utilisés chaque jour s’est élevé à 40 au Luxembourg, 34 en Corée du Sud, 24 au Canada et 26 aux États-Unis, alors que les autres pays membres de l’OCDE ont utilisé en moyenne chaque jour 14 barils de pétrole par habitant. En 2016, le nombre de barils de pétrole par habitant utilisés chaque jour s’est élevé à 36 au Luxembourg (estimation), 40 en Corée du Sud, 24 au Canada et 22 aux États-Unis, alors que les autres pays membres de l’OCDE ont utilisé en moyenne chaque jour 12 barils de pétrole par habitant.

De nombreux facteurs peuvent servir à déterminer la consommation de pétrole par habitant d’un paysNote de bas de page 3. Aux États-Unis, par exemple, l’importance du secteur des transports et le grand nombre de véhicules [anglais seulement] contribuent à la forte consommation de pétroleNote de bas de page 4. En Corée du Sud, ce sont les secteurs de la fabrication et du raffinage qui consomment le plus de pétroleNote de bas de page 5. Au Luxembourg, le secteur des transports compte pour 88 % [anglais seulement] de la consommation totale du pays, proportion principalement attribuable au transport des marchandises [anglais seulement]Note de bas de page 6. Compte tenu de la faible population, la consommation de pétrole par habitant y est élevée.

 

Date de modification :