Market Snapshot: Oil Sands Bitumen Production will continue to grow to 2040

Release date: 2018-01-31

The National Energy Board’s (NEB) recently released Canada's Energy Futures 2017 (EF2017) Supplement: Oil Sands Production report shows that growth in the oil sands will continue. Raw bitumen production in 2016 averaged just under 2.6 million barrels per day (MMb/d) and is projected to reach 4.5 MMb/d by 2040.

This graph shows projected production of raw bitumen by existing, expansion and entirely new or greenfield projects from 2010 to 2040.
Source and Description

Source: EF2017 Supplement: Oil Sands Production

Description: This graph shows projected production of raw bitumen by existing, expansion, and entirely new or greenfield projects from 2010 to 2040. The projection starts in 2017. Production from existing projects increases slightly over the projection period to 2.9 MMb/d by 2040. Expansions are projected to account for 28% or 1.2 MMb/d in 2040 while 0.4 MMb/d or 9% of total production is projected to come from greenfield projects.

Nearly all currently operating projects are expected to continue operation for decades, reaching 2.9 MMb/d by 2040. In technical terms this means that they have near zero decline rates. Having this large existing production base means any new projects or expansions will add to total production. The largest contributor to this growth will be expansions of existing facilities which are projected to add over 1.2 MMb/d. Lastly, construction of completely new or greenfield projects is projected to add 0.4 MMb/d.

Oil sands bitumen production is projected to continue increasing despite persistently low oil prices. In the near term, growth is due to projects coming online that were sanctioned or had begun construction prior to the price collapse in late 2014. Longer term, growth continues but at a slower pace. This is because the oil price required to incent expansions to currently operating projects, or to construct entirely new ones has fallen significantly in the last two years. Estimates now indicate that some expansion projects can be built with a WTIFootnote 1 price lower than US$ 50/bbl, while new projects can be built with WTI lower than US$ 60/bbl.

For more information on the NEB’s latest oil sands supply projections, please explore the recently released Oil Sands Supplemental Report. In addition to oil sands, two more production supplement reports are also available: crude oil and natural gas. Each report provides additional data and analysis related to the three cases released with EF2017 in October 2017 and also include production data and analysis from three additional cases including high and low oil and gas price cases to address price volatility.

 

Date modified:

Aperçu du marché : Exploitation des sables bitumineux en croissance jusqu’en 2040

Date de diffusion : 2018-01-31

Le supplément sur la production tirée des sables bitumineux récemment publié par l’Office national de l’énergie indique que la croissance dans cette région se poursuivra. Ainsi, la production moyenne de bitume brut, qui était de 2,6 millions de barils par jour (« Mb/j ») en 2016, pourrait atteindre 4,5 Mb/j en 2040.

Ce graphique montre, pour la période de 2010 à 2040, les projections de production de bitume brut par les installations existantes, les agrandissements et les tout nouveaux projets prévus.
Source et description

Source : Supplément sur la production tirée des sables bitumineux

Description : Ce graphique montre, pour la période de 2010 à 2040, les projections de production de bitume brut par les installations existantes, les agrandissements et les tout nouveaux projets prévus. Il s’agit de données historiques avant 2017. La production des installations existantes connaît une légère hausse pour atteindre 2,9 Mb/j en 2040. Les agrandissements devraient alors compter pour 28 % de la production avec 1,2 Mb/j et les nouveaux aménagements pour 9 % ou 0,4 Mb/j.

Presque tous les projets actuellement en exploitation devraient le demeurer pendant les prochaines décennies, avec une production de 2,9 Mb/j en 2040. En termes techniques, on parle ici d’un taux de diminution de presque nul. Par conséquent, les agrandissements et nouveaux projets qui se grefferont à cette vaste base ne feront qu’ajouter à la production totale. Le principal apport à cet égard proviendra des agrandissements, qui devraient produire 1,2 Mb/j, alors qu’on s’attend à une augmentation de 0,4 Mb/j attribuable aux tout nouveaux projets.

On s’attend que l’exploitation des sables bitumineux poursuive sa progression malgré des prix du pétrole toujours faibles. À court terme, la croissance est attribuable à la mise en service de projets qui avaient été autorisés ou mis en chantier avant la chute des prix vers la fin de 2014. Elle ralentit au fil du temps, mais le prix du pétrole requis pour inciter à l’agrandissement d’installations existantes ou à de tout nouveaux aménagements a beaucoup régressé ces deux dernières années. On estime maintenant que certains projets d’agrandissement pourraient être construits à un prix du pétrole WTINote de bas de page 1 aussi faible que 50 $ US/b alors que de nouveaux projets pourraient être mis en branle à un prix inférieur à 60 $ US/b.

Pour un complément d’information sur les plus récentes projections de l’Office du côté de l’exploitation des sables bitumineux, prière de consulter son rapport supplémentaire à ce sujet. Deux autres tels rapports sont également disponibles, l’un sur le pétrole brut et l’autre sur le gaz naturel. Chacun de ces suppléments offre de nouvelles données et analyses à partir des trois scénarios du rapport sur l’avenir énergétique publié en octobre 2017 en plus d’en ajouter trois autres, dont un de prix élevé et un de prix bas, pour le pétrole et le gaz, afin de tenir compte de la volatilité à ce chapitre.

Date de modification :