Pipeline Profiles: Foothills

Pipeline system and key points

Updated September 2018

Foothills pipeline system map

The Foothills pipeline system transports natural gas produced in the Western Canadian Sedimentary Basin and to markets in Alberta, British Columbia and Saskatchewan, as well as the United States. The pipeline commenced operations in 1981. At the end of 2016, NEB-regulated assets included 1 241 km of pipeline and various auxiliary infrastructures.

The Foothills pipeline receives natural gas from an interconnect with the NOVA Gas Transmission Ltd. system near Caroline, Alberta and other interconnection points further south.

Key points on the Foothills system include:

  • Monchy – export interconnect with the Northern Border Pipeline at the Canada U.S. border near Monchy, Saskatchewan. Northern Border supplies markets in the mid–continent U.S. and Chicago.
  • Kingsgate – export interconnect with the Gas Transmission Northwest Pipeline (GTN) at the Canada-U.S. border near Kingsgate, British Columbia. GTN supplies markets in the Pacific Northwest, California and Nevada.

Official Board documents related to the construction, operation and maintenance of the Foothills pipeline can be found here: Foothills regulatory documents [Folder 90702].

You can see the Foothills Pipeline and all NEB-regulated pipelines on the Board’s Interactive Pipeline Map. The map shows more detailed location information, the products carried by each pipeline, the operating status and more.

Condition Compliance

Updated September 2018

Every pipeline company in Canada must meet federal, provincial or territorial, and local requirements. This includes Acts, Regulations, rules, bylaws, and zoning restrictions. Pipelines are also bound by technical, safety, and environmental standards along with company rules, protocols and management systems. In addition to these requirements, the Board may add conditions to regulatory instruments that each company must meet. Condition compliance is monitored by the Board and enforcement action is taken when required. For a detailed list of conditions that Foothills must meet, and their status, please see the condition compliance table and search for “Foothills Pipe Lines Ltd.”

Safety Performance

Updated September 2018

The Board holds the companies it regulates accountable to protect the safety of Canadians and the environment. As part of this accountability, companies must report events such as incidents and unauthorized activities to the Board. For a summary of pipeline incidents and unauthorized activities on the Foothills pipeline since 2008, visit the Safety performance dashboard and select “Foothills Pipe Lines Ltd.”

Emergency Management

Updated September 2018

The NEB checks to make sure companies are keeping pipelines safe by doing inspections, in-depth safety audits, and other activities. Yet, even with these precautions, an emergency could still happen. Sound emergency management practices improve public safety and environmental protection outcomes, and provide for more effective emergency response.

The NEB holds its regulated companies responsible for anticipating, preventing, mitigating, and managing incidents of any size or duration. Each company must have an emergency management program that includes detailed emergency procedures manuals to guide its response in an emergency situation. We oversee the emergency management program of a regulated company’s projects until they cease to operate.

The Board requires companies to publish information on their emergency management program and their emergency procedures manuals on their websites so Canadians can access emergency management information. To view Foothills’ Emergency Response Plans, see TransCanada’s Rocky Mountain Region and Wild Rose Region plans at its Emergency Preparedness website.

Throughput and capacityFootnote 1

Updated quarterly

Open data can be freely used and shared by anyone for any purpose. The data for these graphs are available.

Tolls

Updated September 2018

A toll is the price charged by a pipeline company for transportation and other services. Tolls allow pipeline companies to safely operate and maintain pipelines. Tolls also provide funds for companies to recover capital (the money used to build the pipeline), pay debts, and provide a return to investors. The interactive graph below shows the tolls for key paths on the pipeline since 2006.

Open data can be freely used and shared by anyone for any purpose. The data for these graphs are available.

Foothills operated under a negotiated settlement from 2003-2017. Tolls on Foothills are zone-based and are set according to a full cost of service model. Foothills Zones 6 and 7 are located in Alberta. Zone 8 is located in British Columbia and Zone 9 in Saskatchewan. Zones 7 and 8 are also referred to as the Western Leg segment of the Foothills system; while Zones 6 and 9 are referred to as the Eastern Leg segment.

Official Board documents related to the traffic, tolls and tariffs for the Foothills pipeline can be found here: Foothills regulatory documents (tolls and tariffs) [Folder 92840].

A list of shippers on the Foothills pipeline is available in an annual filing Foothills submits to the NEB, the Statement of Rates and Charges effective January 1, 2018, (Schedule F, PDF page 19 of 24) [Folder 3346854].

Abandonment funding

Updated May 2018

The Board requires all pipelines to set aside funds to safely cease operation of a pipeline at the end of its useful life. In 2016, Foothills estimated it would cost $245 million to do this. These funds will be collected over 30 years and are being set aside in a trust. Official Board documents related to abandonment funding can be found here, sorted by year and by company: abandonment funding documents [Folder 3300366].

Pipeline financial information

Updated March 2018

Foothills operates under a cost of service tolling methodology as negotiated with shippers. Under this methodology the return on equity has remained stable in recent years, while revenue has decreased.

Pipeline companies report important financial information to the Board quarterly or annually. A solid financial position enables companies to maintain their pipeline systems, attract capital to build new infrastructure, and meet the market’s evolving needs. The data in this table comes from Foothills’ annual Surveillance Reports [Folder 155864].

Table 1: Foothills Pipeline financial data
Foothills Pipeline financial data 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Revenues (millions) $204.1 $192.2 $194.2 $193.4 $181.8 $178.9 $173.4 $180.7
Net income (millions) $25.4 $23.5 $21.7 $20.9 $19.4 $17.7 $16.0 $18.3
Average rate base (millions) $654.6 $605.1 $559.3 $518.4 $480.6 $437.7 $398.4 $369.1
Deemed equity ratio 40% 40% 40% 40% 40% 40% 40% 40%
Return on equity 9.7% 9.7% 9.7% 10.1% 10.1% 10.1% 10.1% 10.1%

Corporate financial information

Updated January 2018

Foothills Pipe Lines Ltd. owns the Foothills pipeline system. Foothills Pipe Lines Ltd. is a wholly-owned subsidiary of TransCanada PipeLines Limited (TCPL). All financial ratios have remained stable and TCPL’s credit ratings remain investment grade.

Credit ratings and financial ratios provide an idea of the financial strength of a company, including its ability to attract capital to build new infrastructure and meet financial obligations. The credit ratings below are expert opinions of how likely the debt issuer is to live up to its obligations. The financial ratios provided below were calculated by DBRS.

Table 2: TransCanada PipeLines Limited financial ratios and credit ratings
TransCanada PipeLines Limited financial ratios and credit ratings 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Interest and fixed-charges coverage ratio 2.40 2.68 2.55 2.37 n/a
Cash flow-to-total debt and equivalents ratio 15.5% 15.9% 13.8% 11.0% n/a
DBRS credit rating A (low) A (low) A (low) A (low) A (low)
S&P credit rating A- A- A- A- A-
Moody’s credit rating A3 A3 A3 A3 A3

Financial regulatory audits

Updated March 2018

The Board audits pipeline companies to confirm compliance with the National Energy Board Act, regulations, Board orders and Board decisions. Financial regulatory audits focus on toll and tariff matters such as detecting cross-subsidies. Foothills’ last audit was completed in August 2009. Official Board documents related to Foothills’ financial regulatory audits can be found: [Folder 568135].

Date modified:

Profils des sociétés pipelinières : Foothills

Réseau et principaux points

Mise à jour : septembre 2018

Carte du réseau pipelinier de Foothills

Le réseau de gazoducs Foothills (le « réseau Foothills ») achemine du gaz naturel produit dans le bassin sédimentaire de l’Ouest canadien vers les marchés de l’Alberta, de la Colombie-Britannique et de la Saskatchewan, ainsi que vers les États-Unis. Le gazoduc est entré en service en 1981. À la fin de 2016, les actifs réglementés par l’Office national de l’énergie comprenaient 1 241 km de canalisations ainsi que diverses infrastructures auxiliaires.

Le réseau Foothills reçoit du gaz naturel à un point d’interconnexion avec le réseau de NOVA Gas Transmission Ltd., près de Caroline, en Alberta, ainsi qu’à d’autres points d’interconnexion plus au sud.

Principaux points du réseau Foothills

  • Monchy - Point d’exportation où le réseau se raccorde au pipeline Northern Border, à la frontière canado–américaine, près de Monchy, en Saskatchewan. Le pipeline Northern Border approvisionne des marchés du centre du continent américain et de Chicago.
  • Kingsgate - Point d’exportation où le réseau se raccorde au réseau de Gas Transmission Northwest Pipeline (« GTN »), à la frontière canado-américaine, près de Kingsgate, en Colombie-Britannique. GTN alimente des marchés du Nord-Ouest sur le Pacifique, de la Californie et du Nevada.

Les documents officiels de l’Office portant sur la construction, l’exploitation et l’entretien du réseau Foothills se trouvent ici : documents de réglementation relatifs au réseau Foothills [dossier 90702].

La carte interactive des pipelines montre ceux de Foothills ainsi que tous les autres qui sont réglementés par l’Office. Elle renferme des renseignements détaillés sur l’emplacement de chacun, les produits transportés, l’état d’exploitation et plus encore.

Conformité aux conditions

Mise à jour : septembre 2018

Au Canada, les sociétés pipelinières sont tenues de satisfaire à des exigences fédérales, provinciales ou territoriales et locales, qu’il s’agisse notamment de lois, règlements municipaux ou autres, règles ou restrictions de zonage. Par ailleurs, les pipelines doivent respecter des normes techniques ainsi qu’en matière de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement, sans oublier les règles internes d’une société, ses protocoles et ses systèmes de gestion. L’Office peut aussi intégrer des conditions aux instruments réglementaires qui lient les sociétés. Il s’assure ensuite de leur respect et des mesures d’exécution sont prises au besoin. Pour une liste détaillée des conditions que Foothills doit remplir et savoir ce qu’il en est au juste à ce sujet, prière de consulter le tableau de conformité aux conditions pour « Foothills Pipe Lines Ltd. ».

Bilan de sécurité

Mise à jour : septembre 2018

L’Office tient les sociétés qu’il réglemente responsables d’assurer la sécurité des Canadiens et de protéger l’environnement. À cette fin elles doivent notamment déclarer certains événements, comme les incidents et les activités non autorisées. Pour un résumé des incidents pipeliniers et des activités non autorisées sur le réseau de Foothills depuis 2008, prière de visiter le bilan du rendement en matière de sécurité pour « Foothills Pipe Lines Ltd. ».

Gestion des situations d’urgence

Mise à jour : septembre 2018

L’Office veille au grain pour s’assurer que les pipelines des sociétés ne présentent pas de danger, que ce soit au moyen d’inspections, d’audits approfondis de la sécurité ou d’autres activités. Ces précautions peuvent ne pas toujours suffire et de saines pratiques de gestion des situations d’urgence améliorent la sécurité du public, en plus de mieux protéger l’environnement et de permettre des interventions plus efficaces.

L’Office tient les sociétés qu’il réglemente responsables de prévoir, de prévenir, d’atténuer et de gérer les incidents, peu importe leur ampleur et leur durée. Chacune doit disposer d’un programme de gestion des urgences qui comprend des manuels détaillés des mesures à prendre afin de bien orienter l’intervention selon la situation. L’Office surveille la teneur de ces programmes à l’égard des projets d’une société réglementée jusqu’à la cessation d’exploitation de ces derniers.

Les sociétés sont obligées de publier sur leur site Web de l’information au sujet du programme et des manuels précités de manière que les Canadiens y aient accès pour la gestion des situations d’urgence. Pour prendre connaissance des plans d’intervention de Foothills, rendez-vous sur le site Web de TransCanada pour les régions Rocky Mountain [anglais seulement] et Wild Rose [anglais seulement] après avoir cliqué sur la page traitant de la préparation aux situations d’urgence [anglais seulement].

Débit et capacitéNote 1

Mise à jour chaque trimestre.

Les données ouvertes peuvent être utilisées et transmises librement. Les données pour ces graphiques sont disponibles.

Droits

Mise à jour : septembre 2018

Un droit est le prix exigé par une société pipelinière pour les services de transport et autres. Les droits permettent aux sociétés pipelinières d’exploiter et d’entretenir les pipelines de façon sûre. Les droits procurent également aux sociétés des fonds pour récupérer le capital engagé (l’argent ayant servi à construire le pipeline), payer les dettes et verser un rendement aux investisseurs. Le graphique interactif ci-dessous montre les droits pour les principaux parcours du réseau Foothills depuis 2006.

De 2003 à 2017, le réseau Foothills a été exploité conformément à un règlement négocié sur les besoins en produits. Les droits visant le réseau Foothills varient selon la zone et sont établis selon un modèle de recouvrement complet du coût de service. Les zones 6 et 7 du réseau se trouvent en Alberta, la zone 8, en Colombie-Britannique, et la zone 9, en Saskatchewan. Les zones 7 et 8 sont désignées par le nom de Western Leg et les zones 6 et 9, par celui d’Eastern Leg.

Les documents officiels de l’Office portant sur le transport, les droits et les tarifs pour le réseau Foothills se trouvent ici : documents de réglementation visant le réseau Foothills (droits et tarifs) [dossier 92840].

Une liste des expéditeurs présents sur le réseau de Foothills est disponible dans le relevé des taux et frais du 1er janvier 2018 [dossier 3346854], renouvelé chaque année avant d’être déposé auprès de l’Office (annexe F à la page 19 sur 24 du document PDF en anglais).

Financement de la cessation d’exploitation

Mise à jour : mai 2018

L’Office exige que toutes les sociétés pipelinières mettent de côté des fonds pour assurer la sûreté des activités de cessation d’exploitation à la fin de la vie utile des pipelines. En 2016, le coût de cessation d’exploitation du réseau Foothills a été estimé à 245 millions de dollars. Recueillie sur une période de 30 ans, la somme est versée dans un compte en fiducie. Les documents officiels de l’Office sur le financement de la cessation d’exploitation, classés par année et par société, sont accessibles ici : documents sur le financement de la cessation d’exploitation [dossier 3300366].

Renseignements financiers sur le réseau

Mise à jour : mars 2018

La méthode de conception des droits appliquée au réseau Foothills est celle du coût du service; elle tient compte de négociations avec les expéditeurs. Selon cette méthode, le rendement du capital-actions ordinaires est stable depuis des années, mais les produits ont reculé.

Chaque trimestre ou chaque année, les sociétés pipelinières déclarent des renseignements financiers importants à l’Office. Une position financière solide permet aux sociétés d’entretenir leur réseau pipelinier, d’attirer des capitaux pour construire de nouvelles infrastructures et de répondre aux besoins changeants du marché. Les données du tableau ci-après proviennent des rapports de surveillance annuels visant le réseau Foothills [dossier 155864].

Tableau 1 : Données financières sur le réseau Foothills
Données financières sur le réseau Foothills 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Produits (en millions) 204,1 $ 192,2 $ 194,2 $ 193,4 $ 181,8 $ 178,9 $ 173,4 $ 180,7 $
Bénéfice net (en millions) 25,4 $ 23,5 $ 21,7 $ 20,9 $ 19,4 $ 17,7 $ 16,0 $ 18,3 $
Base tarifaire moyenne (en millions) 654,6 $ 605,1 $ 559,3 $ 518,4 $ 480,6 $ 437,7 $ 398,4 $ 369,1 $
Ratio présumé du capital-actions ordinaires 40 % 40 % 40 % 40 % 40 % 40 % 40 % 40 %
Rendement du capital-actions 9,7 % 9,7 % 9,7 % 10,1 % 10,1 % 10,1 % 10,1 % 10,1 %

Renseignements financiers sur la société

Mise à jour : janvier 2018

Le réseau Foothills appartient à la société Foothills Pipe Lines Ltd., qui est une filiale en propriété exclusive de TransCanada PipeLines Limited. Tous les ratios financiers sont demeurés stables et les cotes de solvabilité de TransCanada PipeLines Limited continuent d’être jugées de qualité placement.

Les cotes de solvabilité et les ratios financiers reflètent la solidité financière d’une société, y compris sa capacité d’attirer des capitaux pour construire de nouvelles infrastructures et de remplir ses obligations financières. Les cotes de solvabilité qui suivent sont des opinions d’expert sur la probabilité que le débiteur remplisse ses obligations. Les ratios financiers ci-dessous ont été calculés par le Dominion Bond Rating Service, ou DBRS.

Tableau 2 : Ratios financiers et cotes de solvabilité de TransCanada PipeLines Limited
Ratios financiers et cotes de solvabilité de TransCanada PipeLines Limited 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Ratio de couverture des intérêts et des charges fixes 2,40 2,68 2,55 2,37 s.o.
Ratio flux de trésorerie-dette totale et quasi-dette 15,5 % 15,9 % 13,8 % 11,0 % s.o.
Cote accordée par DBRS A (faible) A (faible) A (faible) A (faible) A (faible)
Cote accordée par S&P A- A- A- A- A-
Cote accordée par Moody’s A3 A3 A3 A3 A3

Audit au titre de la réglementation financière

Mise à jour : mars 2018

L’Office audite les sociétés pipelinières afin de confirmer le respect de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, des règlements ainsi que de ses ordonnances et décisions. Les audits au titre de la réglementation financière portent essentiellement sur des questions de droits et tarifs, pour relever, notamment, les cas d’interfinancement. Le dernier audit auprès de Foothills a été effectué l’aout 2009. Les documents officiels de l’Office concernant les audits au titre de la réglementation financière de Foothills se trouvent ici : [dossier 568135].

 

Date de modification :